Just Another SF Giants No-No

In case you were wondering where I was this morning, I had a little too much fun last night:

San Francisco Giants pitcher Chris Heston no-hit the Mets on Tuesday for a 5-0 victory in New York.

Heston (6-4) struck out 11 and did not allow a walk, but hit three batters — including one in the ninth inning — to ruin his chance at a perfect game. The three hit batters are the most ever in a no-hitter.

“Definitely something I’ll remember forever,” Heston said of the no-hitter.

I was watching the game but I didn’t realize Heston was working on a no-no until the 7th inning when the camera panned the scoreboard showing all the zeroes and Giants announcer Duane Kuiper said “It’s starting to get very interesting.”

(As baseball fans know, you don’t want to jinx a no-hitter by talking about it.)

The Giants have been around since before my grandparents were born and that was only the 17th no-hitter in their history. It was kind of a special night. So maybe I celebrated a little bit.

Anyway, I am still alive and still reveling in the awesomeness.

This is an open thread.

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

67 Responses to Just Another SF Giants No-No

  1. Myiq2xu says:

    It wasn’t just a no-no, he was three hit batters short of a Perfecto.

  2. Myiq2xu says:

    So there I was this morning on the couch, kissing this beautiful girl, when the doorbell rang and woke me up.

    I hate sounding like RD but Fuck Jehovah’s Witnesses.

  3. Myiq2xu says:

    Wednesday WTF:

  4. Myiq2xu says:
  5. DeniseVB says:

    This is the sign we have on our front door. It works !

  6. Myiq2xu says:

    I gotta go mow the lawn.

  7. simofish says:

    I switched over to the basketball game when an alert popped up on my phone — I didn’t realize either what was happening — I had just finished watching the top half of the 7th (granted I was overlapping a little on my laptop) — WHAT A NIGHT !!!

    • Myiq2xu says:

      On the final out I screamed “GOT HIM!” so loud it scared the hell out of the cats. They were sleeping then they all jumped up and ran out of the room.

      I was standing up waving an orange towel the entire bottom of the 9th inning.

      • simofish says:

        LOL — our moments of “i was there” — my friend sent me a video last year (her neighbor taped her) during the last couple outs game 7 of the WS – classic

    • Myiq2xu says:

      Too bad the Warriors lost.

  8. HELENK3 says:

    glad you and simofish enjoyed the game. If you cannot be at the game, shouting and jumping up and down in your living room is just a much fun.

  9. swanspirit says:

    Conversations with Maude :

    I know Facebook policy is to identify “REAL” people, and not to HURT
    people. I am as real as it gets. As long as I have been on line, and that
    is well before Facebook existed, my name has been Swan Spirit, because it
    is the name I use on line . My mother gave me that name. My internet radio station
    is the latin for Swan. My grandchildren call me Mom
    Mom Swan. It doesn’t get any more real than that.
    So unlock my profile for crying out loud, or I guess i will just give up
    facebook altogether.


    Thanks for your response. We understand your caution, and if you don’t want to reopen this account, there’s no need to respond to this email. However, if you’d like us to review your account, we’ll need help verifying your identity first.

    Your account was disabled because we detected that it may not be authentic. If you think your account was disabled by mistake, please reply to this email and attach a copy of your ID(s) so we can verify your identity. If possible, send this attachment as a JPEG.

    There are several different types of ID verification we can accept. To learn about the types of ID we accept, please visit the Help Center:


    Please be sure to cover up any personal information that we don’t need to verify your identity (ex: social security number, address, license number).

    Let us know if you have any further questions.

    View updates from your support dashboard:



  10. 49erDweet says:

    I’m sorry, but I thought you said “Philadelphia” and “Mummer’s”!
    That was great….but didn’t hold a candle to some of the strut’s I’ve seen from mummers during the Pasadena Rose Parade in years when a PA team was playing in the Rose Bowl. THOSE were STRUT’S. WHOOP!!!!!!

    • HELENK3 says:

      Strutting is an learned art. Some learn to strut as they learn to walk. But it is great fun

      • 49erDweet says:

        Do they still have those high-steppin’, struttin’ drum majors for collegiate marching bands? Watching the mummers come down the road was like watchin’ a hundred drum majors and majorettes. But that’s probably all sexist, racist, white privilege and passé, now.

        • HELENK3 says:

          someday go to Philadelphia and see the mummers. it is an all day party. and just plain fun

        • leslie says:

          The last time I mentioned the Mummers to a friend from Philly, she said she “used to like them (the mummers parades) but now she feels they are just plain racist and she won’t attend them anymore. 😦

          • 49erDweet says:

            Well, it’s true there are scant white mummers, but it’s a traditional community thing – maybe analogous to another community’s annual Turkey Shoot. They’ve never made me unwelcome enjoying their performances, so possibly your friend had a different experience. (Wasn’t that a nice way to put it)?

          • leslie says:

            Very Nice. 😉

          • 49erDweet says:

            I don’t know what happened to me for a moment…….

          • HELENK3 says:

            for many years women were not allowed to march in the parade. It was tradition. does not make it right. But these parades starting in the late 1800s and things were a lot different then. I will always enjoy them as long as they last. Many mummers have left Philadelphia and now private enterprise is sponsoring the parade not the city. So they will probably only be around for a few more years.

    • HELENK3 says:

      you mean like this? I grew up with the mummers. I have been to the Rose Parade. it is beautiful, but it can not touch the Mummers

      • 49erDweet says:

        I was talking about actual mummers IN the Rose Parade. When I was a kid. Before you were born. 😁

        • HELENK3 says:

          to really enjoy the mummers, you need to see the whole parade.
          first come the comic clubs, they are the original mummers have been around for over 100 years.
          then come the fancies, the music and costumes and dancing is just amazing.
          then come the string bands , try playing and marching with the costumes.
          nothing is motorized, every thing is carried by a mummer.

          now I am homesick

  11. Myiq2xu says:

    • Myiq2xu says:

      I should have saved this and made a whole post out of it.

      • DeniseVB says:

        That might be a fun post. I still haven’t needed algebra, french or world geography since ’64. D’oh, calculators, google translator and wars (half the countries have changed their names since LBJ). I can think of other things…..but I still can’t cook or sew, can’t blame high school for that😉

        • elliesmom says:

          Every time you double a recipe or cut in half you’re doing algebra. Oh wait, I forgot you don’t cook.😉

          • DeniseVB says:

            LOL, reminds me I failed HomeEc, went on to remedial math for my h.s. diploma which was one notch above today’s equivalent to the GED. Breath. Signed up for Secretary School in DC to learn to type, voila, hired as a staffer on Capitol Hill when I hit 30 wpm🙂 At 18. Made more than my peers did starting out as teachers a few years later.

      • lizzy says:

        It has some good ideas.

    • HELENK3 says:

      don’t they teach home economics, or auto shop, or bookkeeping anymore?

      • Lulu says:

        No. If you want them to know anything about taking care of themselves you have to teach it to them yourself. They are very grateful when they hit college.

    • leslie says:

      “Wait for people to get off the elevator (or train or bus) before you try to get on” I’ve had to actually tell people this as recently as today on the el. Last week the CTA began a “courtesy” campaign and this along keeping your @#$#^&&%^43 phone calls private were 2 of the top suggestions.

    • Lulu says:

      That stuff should be taught at home. Parents or grandparents should teach some things so kids don’t grow up to be savages or starve to death. This is pathetic. Were they completely ignored by adults? Why doesn’t she say her parents should have taught her instead of the schools?

  12. Myiq2xu says:

  13. Myiq2xu says:
    • elliesmom says:

      It doesn’t outrage me. The guy is in his 70’s. If he can’t keep himself from falling in love with the women he works with, that’s his issue, not theirs. If he says mean things in a job review and makes women cry, maybe he should work on his managerial skills a bit. If Ace is just figuring out that men and women are different, and sometimes “marriages get ruined”, that says more about the state of marriage than whether women can work along side men in science laboratories. I worked with many men in the science and engineering field. Some of them were really nice guys, and we really enjoyed working together. But they went home to their wives, and I went home to Elliesdad. Because we were colleagues, not cheaters, and we had strong marriages.

    • 1539days says:

      My take is that men and women are different. They relate to each other and themselves differently. I don’t really know if one group is better than another. Now, on a perfectly libertarian perspective, an employer should have the right to only hire men (or women) if they want to. If not hiring women ends up being a bad thing because they work cheaper and better, the market will punish the single sex employer.

      • mothy67 says:

        When I owned a barthe women were the best with customers but they were always calling off because of kid stuff. As an employer I could not do it. I understand kids get sick and you want to be with them. I could not run a business with a ten minute call off call. I had deliveries some one had to be there. I was very easy . My one bartender I fired nine times. She was a hot mess. Always broke but really good with people. Everytime I fired her she made me. I had no choice. During the summer all her utilities were shut off. It was so hot i let her sleep in the bar. She had pillows and sheets and she slept on the pool table. Very sad future is Applebees at best. Tons of people out there like that. I was sitting next to one guy’s wife and he was not charging her. I said you are aware I own this place. I had it for three years. Everyday was a nightmare. I paid well over minimum and they got tips. Made more than I Theft was unreal. I’d see 5 bottles of vodka in trash and see three on the computer. Guys were the worst anything with a rack got carte blanche. I think Caitlyn Jenner stopped by one day to do a bunch of cherry bombs.
        Never want to own a small business again. It is like having ten jobs at once. I fire a woman for being four days late for a shift and I am a sexist pig being ordered to pay her unemployment. I can see being 80 hours late for work but 96 is just to far.

  14. Dora says:

    I don’t know about San Francisco, but this young man from my town is being drafted to Colorado. He is all over the local news today. Our town hero. 🙂

    Massapequa Pitcher Drafted by Colorado Rockies

    The Massapequa High School alum and current St. John’s University student was drafted in the 16th round Wednesday.


  15. DeniseVB says:

    I just didn’t know how to intro this article with a clever comment for fear I’d be “raaacist” sounding..:facepalm:


  16. mothy67 says:

    I have often wondered why they don’t use food to teach math Recipes are math. Kids are brighter than we give credit. How a pinch of salt changes a meal is math. Everything is math. I don’t see why it is made a class and taught in such a non practical way. Friggin do a dear a female deer is more math than any kid gets in second grade. I am a terrible cook but I love to try. The kitchen is a lab. Thank god for tablets as I am always looking up the why. I had no idea what yeast really was to me it was just yeast. Baking bread kid asks me I have to find out. It’s all there in the kitchen. Brat knows why sugar disolves. I did not know why ice floated until junior high. It just did. Explaining molecules is much easier to a young kid than a teen. Little ones just absorb older kids complicate it.These little things command a language by 5 but we treat them like cripples. Common core is an adult trying to think like a kid. Foolish. Kids are not dumb. At least once a day I have to get the brat to help me work my phone. I am clueless. She builds a world on mine craft.(scary thing I have a friend whose 8 year old son broke a leg off a table and threatened to hurt himself because he was told that was enough mine craft for the day. They hospitalized him. He has other issues. Usual stuff bed wetting adhd. . Mine craft is kid crack. Children are obsessed with it. I tried to do it just to see. I didn’t get it. Pup will play and then watch videos of other people playing. I refuse to get into fights with her about it. I put everything on a timer. She gives me tude I shut the router off. Seems it is becoming a real issue with a lot of kids.

  17. mothy67 says:

    Has anyone watched sense8. It confuses the hell out of me. Cast is gorgeous and very eclectic. Netflix is pushing international market. I just don’t understand it. From the guys who made the Matrix. The reviews say it is about 8 people sharing one conscience
    There are just too many stories to follow and it flips from one to another. Heavy stories but it jumps all over the place. . I think it is very ambitious and conecpt is compelling. I want to like it. Being a raycist I get a kick out of asian women bringing it. Wrong but I like watching women kick ass. Interesting one of the stars was on Lost another show that was all over the place

  18. mothy67 says:

    Sense8 makes sense by episode 5 til then it has too much.

Comments are closed.