Nanny State Ninnies


Here is some cray shit from Don Surber:

Food deserts should embarrass residents

From the Baltimore Sun: Report: One in four Baltimore residents live in ‘food deserts’.

Which leads to today’s discussion of supply and demand.


In the food-stamp heavy districts of urban America, stores carry potato chips and tons of other read-to-eat foods, but no actual potatoes, carrots, or green leafy substances that are not smoked.

That is because stores are not museums. They stock the things people buy. Food stamp recipients buy junk food over healthy food.

Instead of shaming people who use taxpayer money to buy junk food, we get this nonsense:

One in four Baltimore residents lives in a “food desert,” according to a new study released Wednesday by Mayor Stephanie Rawlings-Blake, who pledged to improve access to affordable and healthy food.

In the 2015 Food Environment Map Report, researchers defined food deserts as areas where distance to a supermarket exceeds a quarter-mile; the median household income is at or below 185 percent of the federal poverty level; more than 30 percent of households lack a vehicle; and there’s a low score on the so-called healthy food availability index.

“We’ve never analyzed the food environment at this level before,” Rawlings-Blake said, calling the report a “monumental step forward” in making Baltimore a healthier city. “I know that we can increase access to healthy and affordable foods as we move forward to dismantle this inequality in our city.”

The study, by the Baltimore Food Policy Initiative and the Johns Hopkins Center for a Livable Future, found that children are disproportionately affected, with one in every three living in a food desert. The study also found that African-Americans have less access to quality food.”When we look at many of our neighborhoods, there are life-expectancy disparities as much as 20 years,” Rawlings-Blake said.

Rawlings-Blake said she is confident the report will become a national model for food access reform.


The best food access program would be prohibiting food stamps from buying potato chips and other snacks.

I seem to recall that the City of Baltimore had other, more pressing problems than “food deserts”. In fact, it recently had two CVS pharmacies looted and burned. Riots, a skyrocketing crime rate, urban decay, unemployment,and poverty are just a few of the problems in Baltimore. When the Freddie Gray persecutions collapse the city is gonna explode.

I guess it’s just a coinky-dink that the mayor of Baltimore is an ambitious black woman Democrat and that healthy food is the chosen cause of our current FLOTUS.

Old Cecil Calvert must be spinning in his grave from what they are doing to the town named after him.

BTW – Go to any urban “food desert” in this country and you will have no problem finding stores that sell alcohol and tobacco, despite the fact that both products are heavily regulated, restricted and taxed the shit out of.

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

98 Responses to Nanny State Ninnies

  1. Myiq2xu says:

    It goes without saying (but I’ll say it anyway) that anyone who suggests any kind of limitation or restriction on welfare and/or food stamp benefits is a cold, heartless, selfish, racist wingnut.

  2. Lulu says:

    Drunk, stoned, drugged out people who are crazy or brain damaged don’t cook. A lot of them don’t eat much either. If you handed them three prepared square meals a day they wouldn’t eat it but would try to find a way to sell it. People who cannot think, plan, defer gratification don’t make weekly shopping lists and plan menus. They also don’t care if their kids eat or not. It is easy to make generalizations blaming grocery stores or food stamps for not delivering prepared meals to people who don’t have the wherewithal because of their drug use to plan 5 minutes ahead. By the way white meth heads and stoners live like this too but that is THEIR own fault. How can this kind of problem be solved? I haven’t a clue. But it isn’t the grocery store chains or governmental agencies who try to feed people who are too fucked up to eat or feed their kids. At some point you have to let them starve unless you want to put them all on feeding tubes which of course would be inhumane and violate their rights. At some point people are going to have to blame momma the junkie instead of society for their problems.

    • swanspirit says:

      That actually is what Governor Hogan ( One of those evil Republicans) is doing. Well, not exactly blaming but directly addressing the problem. He is working on a heroin program, because the stats for heroin and drug addiction are so bad in Maryland.
      Damn those Republicans !!

    • Mary says:

      So very true, Lulu.

      There are other “studies” that show that even in neighborhoods where healthy choices are offered , the residents of these neighborhoods don’t CHOOSE to purchase them. They pick the quick packaged food.

    • lildoggy4u says:

      I can’t cook but I can fix a good PB&j sandwich w/soup. I also can make a great breakfast – oatmeal with apples, yogurt, frozen waffles w/honey. I hate potato chips and cheetos and am trying crockpot recipes for easy one dish meals. I’m kinda skinny though so neighbors are always cooking for me.

    • Just a word in defense of the momma junkie. I’ll grant you that she’s made the choice herself to do heroin, meth, coke, crack, or whatever her drug of choice is. She’s put the drug in front of her kids, and that’s a GD tragedy. However, it IS a problem of supply and demand, and statistics.

      How many times have you been offered one of the drugs listed above? I have never been offered anything but coke (once) and meth (once). I declined the coke and took the meth, mostly because I did not understand the term “speed” was crystal meth and I was pretty young. I put it in my coffee, that’s how naive I was.

      I never did it again after staying up for 3 days and thinking I had broken my psychological center. The day I came down is the day I truly understood addiction. I felt a literal physical pull, akin to a thread attached to the inside of my belly button trying to pull me out of the house to get more. I shut that shit down real quick, locked my doors, and called my supports. It scared me shitless. Two days later I called my sister and told her I understood her addiction experience, and I felt bad for all the trash I talked about her. I didn’t realize there was an actual physical sensation. She quit crack cold that day and has never looked back.

      Now back to the statistics. How many times has junkie momma been offered these and similar drugs? I can tell you from my experience in the field that she usually says no the first 50-100 times. Then she says yes, because when you are asked 100 times if you want a hit and you feel like shit and worthless (like poor people often do), then you might think you’ll feel better, if only for a minute. She knows it’s a shitty choice, a bad one, but she’s been subject to a statistical game that she didn’t create, and that could be corrected. We just don’t actually give a shit enough to fix it.

      The Commissioner of Safety here in Indianapolis will tell you the crime rate in this city is 85% the result of drug kingpins working just 6 city intersections in a city of 2 million people. He could shut it down tomorrow with the right funding, and he submits proposal after proposal, but the democratic-led council won’t fund it, and the republican mayor wouldn’t approve it if they did.

      The heroin-AIDS crisis in southern Indiana is afflicting a county with just 8,000 people. They could easily find the pipeline and shut it down, but they don’t have the manpower or the funding, and the sheriff got his position because of a family connection. He’s no smarter than a fucking shoebox, and twice as useless.

      Meanwhile, momma just got offered her 49th or 99th dose. Next time she’ll say yes. She’ll say yes because her food stamps ran out and she worked every single one of her natural supports on the 28th of the month, and none of them could help. The cupboards are bare except for a box of jello and some hot sauce. She has to tell 6 kids under 9 that they won’t eat tonight. 3 of them won’t understand what she means. The other 3 will hate her and every little thing for it because that’s how poverty eats at you. It makes you want to lash out at your own helplessness. She doesn’t want to face that stone cold sober.

      I don’t agree with how we run our welfare system. I think it’s a real problem and that problem will grow until the country is not safe for most people, save the very wealthy. But I do believe we should have some kind of safety net. I just think it shouldn’t be a buying program for votes when it does more harm than good. But I don’t blame that on the momma, junkie or otherwise. The shit she has to deal with is not of her own making, and she’s usually too stupid to be anything but a scheming harpy who shits out kids because nobody ever gave her an education or options.

      Trust me. I work in a social justice field. Half the people I work with in social work (and used to work with in education) do a half assed job and call it a day at 4:30, going home feeling like they made a difference when they didn’t.

      • votermom says:

        You should front page this. Very powerful.

        • I’m fine with Klown front-paging this if he wants to. I don’t have time to organize a post about it. I’ve got 2 court reports to write tomorrow and a runaway teen on my caseload that is giving me emotional fits. I got attached and she was doing extremely well. Now she’s “laid up with bae” according to his Facebook page. Unfortunately for her she has bulldog of a case manager and I tracked down his Facebook page. Their location can’t be far behind. She’s got a porch meetin’ in her future that she is gonna hate, but she needs badly. I’ll be told to fuck off, and I’ll drop plenty of f-bombs in return. #keepin’itreal

        • lyn says:

          ^This^ Lola addressed the issue and gave me instant understanding.

  3. HELENK3 says:

    buy fresh vegetables gets expensive. how many can really cook today? My generation was taught by a generation that did not have “fast food” and knew how to economize and stretch food to feed a family. Who taught the younger generation? It was not cheaper to take the kids to McDonalds than cook a meal that would feed them.

    • Lulu says:

      The wealthy don’t cook either. They eat out or buy prepared food. Or have a cook. Cooking is work. Some people like it and a lot of people don’t. A lot of it is oriented in culture how food is valued. Is it a central part of your culture such as Italians and Cajuns or is it a chore and something that is necessary and a burden on your time? I like to cook because I like to do stuff for myself. To my father (a poor farm boy) food, good high quality food in the house was a sign of wealth rather than clothes or jewelry or other crap. I guess it is with me too. It means health, no starvation, and a type of security. My freezer is full of grass fed beef so I’m rich and have high status as a human. Or something. Some cultures have replaced food with other stuff as the most desired thing to have such a drugs or free time to loaf, etc. And young adults with little money are realizing that they don’t know how to take care of themselves because the cultural, economic, and psychological value of cooking is being lost to many.

      • Lulu says:

        Cooking is also a low status in some cultures. They are considered lower status workers. In other cultures the cook is valued highly especially if it is the mom or grandma. It was a way for women (and men in the Cajun culture especially) to be a highly valued part of their family and society. The elites have driven much of this because they don’t value what they consider servants and maybe some feminists who consider physical work in the home beneath them like the elites do.

      • Somebody says:

        I never thought of it that way Lulu. Like you my parents were both poor farm kids from LA (lower Alabama). Putting up vegetables from our garden, but mostly from various family members farms in LA and making sure the freezer was stocked with grass fed beef raised on my uncle’s property was our way of life. My uncle also had hogs and chickens. We always had fresh home cooked balanced meals on the table when I was growing up.

        I have carried that with me, it’s just second nature, my freezer is always stocked like I’m waiting for the apocalypse or something, LOL! I also enjoy cooking and have never looked at it as a chore. Sure we eat out sometimes, but my family prefers home cooked meals. In fact my family detests any kind of processed stuff. Every once in awhile if there is a good sale on something like that I’ll pick up a couple of things, thinking it will make a quick meal if I need a fall back. Invariably whatever it is eventually gets tossed because my family will turn their noses up at the thought of eating whatever it is. We go out on nights like that.

        You’re correct though some people look at cooking like it is beneath them, while others see it as a chore. I tried and tried to help baby mama learn how to put a meal on the table, but if she couldn’t pop it in the microwave forget about it. I would come up with all sorts of semi-homemade meals that I thought would be a breeze, her reply would always be “That sounds an awful lot like cooking to me”. Baby mama is a classic example of someone that had plenty of access to wholesome food and the means to purchase it, she was just too damn lazy to do anything more than microwave processed crap. Hell if she actually did pop something in the microwave she thought she deserved a medal. She also grew up eating that way, apparently cooking wasn’t her mom’s thing either.

      • votermom says:

        Cooking is a chore to me.

          • Somebody says:

            Another way to easily clean burnt on goo is with a dryer sheet. Just put some hot water in the pan and drop a dryer sheet in, leave it for at least 20 minutes up to a couple of hours. When you return whatever was burnt into that pan will slide right off. Then you have to thoroughly wash the pan to get any residue off.

            You can also use dryer sheets to wash bugs off your car, they will come off effortlessly.

        • leslie says:

          ^^ Me, too. I make awesome foods that people are always asking me to bring to get- togethers. But I really don’t enjoy cooking and it seems to be work. (But now that I’m retiring, maybe I will feel differently about it. I hope so. I subscribed to a couple of cooking magazines that I hope will inspire me.)

          • Somebody says:

            My sister didn’t really take to cooking until she retired. It’s not that she couldn’t cook, she just didn’t really enjoy it. Her job was so demanding the last thing she wanted was to spend hours in a kitchen. After she retired she and her husband actually did a couple of cooking class type trips, one trip was to a cooking school (with a spa) in northern Italy. She picked up all sorts of tips and go to easy recipes at the various classes. She loves to get in the kitchen and experiment now.

            That may be you Leslie in less than two weeks!!!!!

    • Constance says:

      I’m not a great cook but I can get a meal on the table. I use the crock pot a lot. Put 3 big peppers and an onion in the pot, add 5 pounds of boneless skinless chicken breast cover in fajita spice mixed into a paste with bottled lime juice. Cook on low 8 or 9 hours until you can shred the meat. Then put the shredded meat on salad, baked potato, sandwich bun with coleslaw, pizza, broccoli slaw, etc. You can freeze the left overs in plastic snack bags for later. That is pretty easy “cooking” and not a lot of cleanup but it’s vegetables and meat. In fact I think it is easier than getting in the car and going to the fast food joint.

      • Somebody says:

        There are so many things you pop in the crock pot and forget about. I use my crock pot a lot, especially now that I have the kiddos.

      • 49erDweet says:

        But you had to think of it a minute or three beforehand, and that’s the rub.
        Instant gratification! Promise instant gratification and the lo-fos would elect anyone to anything. Theoretically, of course.

    • Lulu says:

      I bet she was told to quit the NAACP. She was cancelling meeting, ordering people around and the NAACP executive council of the town told her you don’t have the power to cancel regular meeting with other matters to be dealt with so you can get your shit together. Their email to her was brutal. Good for them.

  4. Dora says:

    Carly Fiorina: No Citizenship ‘If You Have Come Here Illegally and Stayed Here Illegally’

    • Somebody says:

      Amen!!! I agree with her, notice she left the door open for an exception to kids that had no control over being brought here. The message needs to go out that if you come her illegally you will NEVER become a citizen and we will deport your ass when we find you.

      Australia put that kind of policy in place and it drastically reduced illegals, of course they’ve never had anywhere near the problem we have.

      We need to have serious penalties for businesses hiring illegals too and last but not least eliminating anchor babies.

      At the heart of the matter is that neither party truly wants to resolve the problem they both benefit in their own way and to hell with how if affects John Q Public.

    • Constance says:

      Good! It’s about time.

  5. Dora says:

    Just eat your Wheaties and hope for the best. 🙂

    Black and White Like You and Me

    Welcome to post-racial America, where “reverse-passing” has become a real thing. (Thanks, Obama!)

  6. DeniseVB says:

    Donald “PT Barnum” Trump is making a BIG announcement at 11 am/eastern today. And there’s your daily media squirrel😀

  7. DeniseVB says:

    There were 14 people on this balcony????

    • Somebody says:

      You can’t fix stupid, that’s why there are Darwin Awards.

    • Constance says:

      That’s been troubling me all morning. How on earth did they get 14 people out there?!

      • 49erDweet says:

        Well in the auld country balconies are designed to be viewed from, not just to support the one guy and year that washes the exterior window, and his water bucket, so it was cultural error. The beer, music and dancing had nothing to do with it.

  8. HELENK3 says:

    Dallas Police to CNN–non-apology not accepted

  9. angienc says:

    Dear Rachel was on GMO today and told Lauer she identifies as black and has done so since she was a child (drawing self portraits with brown crayons not peach). Bwahaha! She’s really fucking get up the progressive “race and gender are social constructs” line of bullshit

  10. Myiq2xu says:

    Teach armed robbers not to rob.

    • 49erDweet says:

      The brainiacs suggesting mandatory classes for adolescent males “teaching” them not to think about rape are the very same persons seen struggling while negotiating revolving doors.
      What could possibly go wrong?

  11. Myiq2xu says:
    • DeniseVB says:

      Did you see where the NYT had REAL paleontologists fact-checking the accuracy of the dinosaurs depicted in the movie? LOL, the comments were wild. It’s just a movie! Also the Dino geeks weighed in explaining the movie plot and the use of DNA from other species to create the ones you see in the MOVIE.

  12. HELENK3 says:

    backtrack bunch ban trans-fat.

    look out food companies they are coming for your wallet

    • Underwhelmed says:

      The moon must be blue, because this I agree with. Trans fats are no better than arsenic. They should be banned.

  13. piper says:

    The liberals acceptance of Caitlynn Jenner pushing the mien of him as a woman yet would refuse to have sex with him/her – inconsistency?????

  14. piper says:

    Cartoons: Michael Ramirez for June 16, 2015 — The Patriot Post Definitely MacArthur Like – NOT— Piper (@MerlinBichon) June 16, 2015

  15. piper says:

    Cartoons: Rick McKee for June 15, 2015 — The Patriot Post The Old Gray Lady Kicks Marco's Butt— Piper (@MerlinBichon) June 16, 2015

  16. Dora says:

    For your summer reading list.

    ‘Adios, America’

  17. DeniseVB says:

    Trump is running ! I’m totally loving his speech. Hellfire and Brimstone!

  18. Myiq2xu says:
  19. piper says:

    Most politicians today
    Have you ever listened to someone for a while and wondered…….
    “who tied your shoelaces for you” 👿

  20. Dora says:

    She was for it before she was against it!

    45 times Secretary Clinton pushed the trade bill she now opposes

  21. Myiq2xu says:
    • lyn says:

      That’s it. I’m skipping lunch. I was hungry for French toast.

    • swanspirit says:

      I remember the book “Black Like Me” by John Howard Griffin, and how influential it was, in opening peoples eyes to real racism. Rachel Dolezal is a perfect metaphor for how things have changed, because she is such a caricature.

    • Somebody says:

      I saw a woman like that yesterday, except her hair was that fake burgundy red color. When I saw her I immediately snickered and thought of Racial Dolezal, LOL! I really wanted to tell the woman enough tanning beds, spray tan and beach.

  22. votermom says:

    I’m going to do a summer reading plug for this ebook bundle:

    full disclosure: I’m getting a promo code from one of the featured authors, JD Payne, who happens to be a commenter at Ace Of Spades HQ (aka a member of Ace’s Horde).
    I’m excited to read his book. The bundle also includes Sherwood Smith, one of my favorite writers.

  23. Myiq2xu says:
    • lyn says:

      She’s good.

      • 49erDweet says:

        Yes, she is! Looks like she could out think and out maneuver O and Joe, with one hand tied behind her back. Must.order.more.popcorn.

    • angienc says:

      And after listening to her for minutes, Whoopi — like the bumbling lefty idiot that she is — stutters out “abortion!”, reducing women to nothing but their vaginas.

  24. smile says:

    OT: Has anyone here used this website to order DVDs?
    I can’t find any customer reviews of it online and didn’t know who else to ask and thought I will ask you guys. I wanted to order the “French in Action DVDs and CDs” for someone overseas. They sell items really cheap, so I was wondering if it is a legit place. Thanks in advance. I post here very now and then, but visit everyday to read.

    • NewOrleans says:

      Every red flag I can think of is raised when I looked at that site.

      Just read their ‘FAQ’ and ‘Policy’ section – It’s laughable. They aren’t responsible if the DVDs are damaged, don’t show up or won’t play.

      Their AOL (!!!) email address is also affiliated with &

      If you place an order with them (and IF you actually receive anything), you will get a bootleg DVD-R. No doubt about it. Whether you get a good-quality bootleg or one with horrible quality grabbed from YouTube (or similar source) will be the surprise. This is from their policy: “This web site, and the products sold from this web site will be used for entertainment purposes only and are not for retail sales.”

  25. Pingback: Poverty, Welfare, Addiction and Crime | The Crawdad Hole

Comments are closed.