Poverty, Welfare, Addiction and Crime


Our friend Lola-at-Large from yesterday:

Just a word in defense of the momma junkie. I’ll grant you that she’s made the choice herself to do heroin, meth, coke, crack, or whatever her drug of choice is. She’s put the drug in front of her kids, and that’s a GD tragedy. However, it IS a problem of supply and demand, and statistics.

How many times have you been offered one of the drugs listed above? I have never been offered anything but coke (once) and meth (once). I declined the coke and took the meth, mostly because I did not understand the term “speed” was crystal meth and I was pretty young. I put it in my coffee, that’s how naive I was.

I never did it again after staying up for 3 days and thinking I had broken my psychological center. The day I came down is the day I truly understood addiction. I felt a literal physical pull, akin to a thread attached to the inside of my belly button trying to pull me out of the house to get more. I shut that shit down real quick, locked my doors, and called my supports. It scared me shitless. Two days later I called my sister and told her I understood her addiction experience, and I felt bad for all the trash I talked about her. I didn’t realize there was an actual physical sensation. She quit crack cold that day and has never looked back.

Now back to the statistics. How many times has junkie momma been offered these and similar drugs? I can tell you from my experience in the field that she usually says no the first 50-100 times. Then she says yes, because when you are asked 100 times if you want a hit and you feel like shit and worthless (like poor people often do), then you might think you’ll feel better, if only for a minute. She knows it’s a shitty choice, a bad one, but she’s been subject to a statistical game that she didn’t create, and that could be corrected. We just don’t actually give a shit enough to fix it.

The Commissioner of Safety here in Indianapolis will tell you the crime rate in this city is 85% the result of drug kingpins working just 6 city intersections in a city of 2 million people. He could shut it down tomorrow with the right funding, and he submits proposal after proposal, but the democratic-led council won’t fund it, and the republican mayor wouldn’t approve it if they did.

The heroin-AIDS crisis in southern Indiana is afflicting a county with just 8,000 people. They could easily find the pipeline and shut it down, but they don’t have the manpower or the funding, and the sheriff got his position because of a family connection. He’s no smarter than a fucking shoebox, and twice as useless.

Meanwhile, momma just got offered her 49th or 99th dose. Next time she’ll say yes. She’ll say yes because her food stamps ran out and she worked every single one of her natural supports on the 28th of the month, and none of them could help. The cupboards are bare except for a box of jello and some hot sauce. She has to tell 6 kids under 9 that they won’t eat tonight. 3 of them won’t understand what she means. The other 3 will hate her and every little thing for it because that’s how poverty eats at you. It makes you want to lash out at your own helplessness. She doesn’t want to face that stone cold sober.

I don’t agree with how we run our welfare system. I think it’s a real problem and that problem will grow until the country is not safe for most people, save the very wealthy. But I do believe we should have some kind of safety net. I just think it shouldn’t be a buying program for votes when it does more harm than good. But I don’t blame that on the momma, junkie or otherwise. The shit she has to deal with is not of her own making, and she’s usually too stupid to be anything but a scheming harpy who shits out kids because nobody ever gave her an education or options.

Trust me. I work in a social justice field. Half the people I work with in social work (and used to work with in education) do a half assed job and call it a day at 4:30, going home feeling like they made a difference when they didn’t.

I’m not going to comment right now except to say that my personal experience with illegal drugs is somewhat more extensive than Lola’s.

What do YOU think?

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to Poverty, Welfare, Addiction and Crime

  1. Myiq2xu says:

    I picked my first ripe tomato the other day. I also brought Ben and Tommy over to harvest my apricot crop. For the first time in years I got more than the birds did. I got zukes coming out my ears too.

  2. Kathy says:

    Wow–that is a riveting read. Stability in life until some knowledge is absorbed is key. I was lucky, and the key may boil down to just luck. Congrats on the harvest.

    • Constance says:

      I agree that stability is most important for babies and small kids, maybe even teens. But the luck to have some kind people in your life and not happen upon the evil people until you can spot them sure helps. And there is evil people in the world.

  3. elliesmom says:

    Someone with 6 kids under 9 is at least partially responsible for the situation she’s in. I’ve been involved in education, too, and no one leaves middle school w/o knowing how babies get made. Maybe the birth control part of sex education gets uneven treatment in different schools, but the reproductive biology part doesn’t. Unless she gave birth to the first baby unattended by medical personnel, she had someone who could and would be happy to help her avoid coming back too quickly. In the United States being poor is not an excuse for being uneducated. We had homeless kids coming to school almost everyday, and they got two meals a day there. If you’re poor, there’s no easier way to feed your kids than sending them to school. It’s a twofer. I have a great deal of sympathy for kids who find themselves being parented by parents who make bad choices, but not a lot for their moms and their sperm donors. Addiction can be a terrible thing. But it’s still a choice.

    • mothy67 says:

      Have you ever seen the TV movie “I Know My First Name is Steven” about the boy abducted(from Miq2xu’s town) raised by a pedophile for years? When he was returned he, according to the film, had a dependency problem. I wonder if someone like that had much of a choice. I saw the movie once over 20 years ago but that aspect seemed so poignant. Does an undiagnosed severely mentally ill person have a choice?

      • elliesmom says:

        A child drugged against his will by an adult has no choice. As I said, I have a great deal of sympathy for children.

        • smile says:

          And how do you feel about these children once they reach adulthood? Do you expect them to then see that their addiction is now their “choice” and stop being addicted when they turn 18?

    • Somebody says:

      Elliesmom is correct addiction is a choice and I understand that choice. I understand feeling like you life sucks, nobody gives a shit if you live or die and you just want to escape your shitty life and feel good and be happy even if it’s fleeting. However, that’s still a choice and not a good one and it’s only going to make your situation worse. The only way to change your situation is to pick yourself up by the bootstraps.

      I might know just a little bit about that kind of life. When I was in high school my parents kicked me out of the house. In fact only one of their 4 kids managed to live at home all the way through high school. My parents were bible thumping, control freaks and had no tolerance for anything short of a stepford kid. I was the black sheep anyway, the wild child. Which is actually laughable because once I was on the streets, trust me I was extremely naive. I had smoked a little pot and drank a little beer, but that’s about it.

      Luckily I had a part time job, but I quickly found out that wasn’t enough to support myself. I had nowhere to go initially, so I lived under a bridge and bathed in the river for about a month until I could save up some money. I continued to go to school and I got a second part time under the table job. I had plenty of struggles, but I kept on keeping on.

      Along the way just as Lola describes I had plenty of offers and I did say yes, more than once. I made some bad choices, but underneath it all I knew the only way I was going to get out of my situation was to better myself and that is exactly what I did. I probably didn’t take the most direct route and there were times when I felt like the whole world was against me and many times when I thought if I died tonight nobody would give a shit, but I kept on. I worked multiple jobs, I saved. I got an education and even when I got a better job I still worked a second job on the weekends because I wanted a better life for myself.

      A lot of people that know me will say I got lucky when I met and married my husband and that is true I am a very lucky woman. However, I was well on my way to a much better life by then. I had long since had my own place, in fact I had moved into a much nicer area by that time and had a nest egg, HE moved in with me. Together we certainly did carve out a much more comfortable life, but I was well on my way to that long before I met him.

      Bottom line, addiction is a choice. I understand, sometimes you just want to escape, but it’s still a choice. Nobody owes you anything, if you are unhappy with your lot in life then you need to find the motivation within yourself to better yourself and your situation. There are plenty of programs and grants out there to help people do just that. Some people just decide that’s too much work and I don’t have any sympathy for people like that, because I’ve been there, done that.

      • mothy67 says:

        I don’t know I find it difficult to accept that drinking mouthwash is a choice.
        Hey I can abuse the bottle and I love to gamble. When I come home sick to my stomach because I sat too long at the poker table I know it is my fault. When I hit bourbon I know what I am doing, but I can’t imagine anyone willinglydrinking generic Listerine.

        • elliesmom says:

          While drinking mouthwash for its alcohol may not be the drug of choice, choosing to get involved with drugs and alcohol to cure what ails you in the first place was. Do I believe some people are more likely to find alcohol addictive than others? Yes, and it may be genetic and it might be environmental. But that doesn’t mean I’m going to support you and your addiction. Get help when its offered or go away until you’re ready to accept it’s your problem and your responsibility to change it. It sounds harsh, but the world is full of too many enablers already.

        • Constance says:

          I had custody of my 68 year old alcoholic cousin who was a veteran. His only goal was to get drunk. He didn’t care when he died. My other cousin and I, couldn’t stand to see him wallowing in the street although he didn’t seem to worry about it. There is no place (institution) to put a alcoholic or drug addict who just wants to pursue their addiction. Evey place you try to put them requires them to stop smoking and drinking. We rented him an apartment. Got a big screen TV and a hospital bed delivered. Put a lock box on the door and had home health aids come by for an hour 4 times a day to give him the food we brought him, change his diapers and the bed if necessary and talk to him if possible. We delivered the booze and cigarets ourselves every other day. He lived two years like that. Of course we only managed to prolong his life and keep him out of squalor. Strangely, I miss him a lot now that he is gone.

          Here is an article about a program in Seattle that gives addicts housing and allows them to keep drinking.

      • I’m late to this thread because I had to work late (my runaway came back!). But I did want to stop and say I thank you for sharing your story. I know how hard it is to pull yourself up out of grinding poverty or just parental abandonment, and I’m glad you could do it.

        That said, I do kind of wince a little inside when I hear people (usually coworkers) suggest that it’s as easy as being aware of all the services out there and taking advantage of them to give yourself or your kids a leg up. I spent five years “in the system” as a teen and I would never have made it out if it wasn’t for that critical exposure to other classes, and because of my mom, who was a kind of saint.

        It really does sometimes just take having that one stable relationship, but so often in my field, I see people who don’t even have that. If they don’t have that and all they ever see if people just like them, they can’t get past the next 5 minutes, let alone plan for the future or find a way out. From your story, I would guess you had that exposure and/or at least one semi-stable relationship that allowed you to claw your way out of the hole that your parents put you in. That doesn’t negate all of your hard work, but it has probably made a difference.

  4. mothy67 says:

    This is another issue that infuriates me when I see the amount of money and support services spent on illegals. A homeless vet living under a bridge drinking dollar store mouth wash to avoid a withdrawal siezure is unacceptable. Long term solutions are the only answer. They served our country and we abandon them. A 28 day 12 step program isn’t going to do much for someone who has not functioned for years and has compounded PTSD with substance abuse. The approach obviously doesn’t work.

    • elliesmom says:

      We need better programs to integrate returning veterans back into civilian life absolutely. Good job opportunities and stable families would go long a way to help. But veterans have been dealing with the aftermath of having gone to war for millennia. PTSD isn’t a new phenomena.

  5. Dora says:

    I find this infuriating too. Hillary charged an absurd amount of money to speak at a children’s charity and then kept it all for herself!!

    Hillary Charged Kids’ Charity $200,000 For Speech

    Hillary Clinton charged a kids’ charity $200,000 to speak ­ and she pocketed every dime.


  6. DeniseVB says:

    I come from a long line of functional alcholics (except for my brother who DUI’d himself around a tree, so he’s not functioning anymore). Addiction has no socio-economic boundries, the rich and famous make headlines almost every day o.d.’ing or checking themselves into a spa-like rehab which have a high re-entry rate.

    When my daughter checked herself into a state rehab for heroin it was because the in-laws gave her a choice…..get well or never see your child again. She got well. I joined an NarAnon support group to help learn the best way to help her. First rule of NarAnon, DO NOT GIVE THEM MONEY OR PAY FOR ANYTHING, NOTHING, NADA, ZIP, ZILCH.

    So how I feel about addiction and welfare and food stamps is the same. Kick the habit or lose the bennies. One of my bff’s just retired after 35 years as a social worker and we go round and round about this. I see her point that if you kick the addicts off welfare, then what the hell are we going to do with them now? In her experiences, the core of the problem is not breaking the cycle of poverty, and the government doesn’t give a sh*t about that. She was on her fourth generation of the same family when she retired (well if you’re popping babies at 14 chances are you’ll be a grandma before you’re 30).

    My dad was rescued out of poverty (Cincinnati white ghetto boy) by the Civilian Conservation Corps(CCC) in the 30’s. They helped create the National Parks System I believe. He was given room/board and about a dollar a day for spending money to work his ass off. He escaped that by joining the Marines at 17, going to war seemed like a better option. He made a career of it and retired quite comfortably. He never talked about the wars but he always gave credit to the CCC for giving him a leg up and a work ethic. We need something like that today.

    Not all people on assistance are bad, but those who abuse it are.

    • lildoggy4u says:

      I see it all the time. One thing is that the social services aren’t responsive anymore. In my state, its all done electronically. There’s nobody to talk with. It must all be submitted via internet so there are no longer any social workers, just paper pushers.
      I do know and have lived it that there’s alot of mental illness undiagnosed and those people attempt to self medicate.

      • lildoggy4u says:

        Just to add, of course it wasn’t me I was talking about but a family member. I grew up in an AA program for families of alcoholics which helped me tremendously in life learning to cope with anything.

      • Somebody says:

        Our social services should be a hand up, not a hand out. It’s exactly because it’s a hand out that we have generational welfare.

        We need to completely revamp our system to truly be a hand up. Included in those changes simply must be a better way to deal with people who have mental illness.

        I certainly don’t know all the answers. I just know that what we’re doing isn’t working. There are a lot of well intentioned programs and charities too, but despite all the money spent the poverty rate has remained pretty static.

        • lildoggy4u says:

          I’ve taken a look at some of the budgets of agencies asking for donations since I get so many. Some of the salaries are crazy, as well as expenses. Most of your donations go to administrative and advertising plus a bunch of appreciation dinners. I was shocked at the outlays for events.

          • lildoggy4u says:

            I’ll add though that a couple of these charities are almost self-sustaining and those are the ones I help. One is a Catholic Charity that has a thrift store and runs a foodbank off proceeds from the store. I volunteer there also. I’m not Catholic but I’m impressed by their work.

    • mothy67 says:

      Congratulations to your daughter. I have seen the devestation of that drug. Known only a few people who survived.
      Living in NYC I saw accomplished well bred people think it was chic to snort heroin. Admittedly, I was one of them(not the well bred part)I was young and romanticized Borroughs, Jim Carrol amd that ilk. Luckily, I was able to try it for a few days and walk away. Dope sick for a few days, but we all have different responses. I can go days without a cigarette but once I have one I want another and another. I go a week cold turkey and then I rationalize I can have one. Nope. Guess that is what it is like with any drug and why the talking aspect of 12 step programs works.(more than that but it’s a part)
      I was talking to an addiction counselor after the earler discussion and she said it is far worse for women. Families hide it more. They go longer without treatment and are more along than men . Claims rehabs are ten to one male to female, however addiction itself knows no gender.
      She agrres with all of you mostly about the choice aspect.

    • So how I feel about addiction and welfare and food stamps is the same. Kick the habit or lose the bennies.

      I can actually get on board with this, and in my field, if you lose your kids because of your addiction, you do lose the bennies. But so often I have seen women who have lost 3, 4, 5, 6 kids just start having more to get them reinstated. If they have them too close to the removal and are still using we call them “after-borns” and we take them too.

      There’s a critical piece missing related to birth control and voluntary sterilization. As an aside, I once saw a judge basically tell a mom she need to give the uterus a rest. It was an amazing moment, but it didn’t change anything because she was already going through the change after having double digits in kids and losing every. last. one.

  7. piper says:

    Lola and Somebody,
    Thank you for sharing your stories. Life doesn’t always give us fairy tale / movie type stories nevertheless we live in a country where we can change and better ourselves. Education is key – sadly many people for whatever reason(s) tune out and dismiss the value of schooling.

    • Thanks for your comments. The whatever reasons do matter. If nobody in your school gives a crap about your education including 80%+ of teachers, you won’t care either. That’s why actually support charter schools and breaking teachers unions.

  8. piper says:

    My parents immigrated to this country in the 50’s, worked many hours to support us and somehow managed to move up from a 1 bedroom apartment in the inner city to a 3 bedroom suburban ranch over a 15 year period. My father worked a full time job and after hour carpentry jobs in private homes where rich folks didn’t even offer him a glass of water during his time. Both my sister and I graduated from college, found good jobs and are now retired with pensions while my brother preferred to travel around the world probably drugging here and there but eventually settled in Canada, completed his education, married and raised a family.
    Under our immigration grant the money that was initially given to us needed to be / was repaid in a set time period.

  9. Kathy says:

    In my opinion, it’s invaluable to have parents that value education. we have a family member who raised two pos kids and he thinks it is bad luck. But he is a horrible role model for kids–so it’s a case of ‘the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree.’

  10. DeniseVB says:

    Meanwhile, as Jeb and Trump dominate the news, look who’s smiling from his throne of skulls😀


  11. piper says:

    Must read – the intellectuloids
    “But at this point, trying to convince the obtuse masses of this fraudulence is hopeless. Although Obama’s posing as an esteemed academic was and continues to be one of his most egregious deceptions, I believe that it’s now best to focus on the rest of the intellectualoids, especially the black ones, that Obama’s presidency has enabled and will leave behind.

    Intellectualoids are fairly easy to recognize. They are the “best and the brightest” in our society, people with top degrees and social connections who have positioned themselves (or been positioned) to have a great impact on our culture of politics, race, education, and economics. But at the same time, intellectualoids have severe knowledge deficits when it comes to understanding the great religious and intellectual traditions (Judeo-Christianity and the seven traditional liberal arts) that have built their civilization. They have a knack for coming up with catchy turns of phrase and sounding articulate about what they believe are their own original concepts. Minimal investigation usually reveals that they are only one or two steps ahead of the general public regarding their depth of knowledge. Ultimately, their exclusively secular knowledge is just that — temporal, belonging only to the present world. These are people who would never be able use extended reasoning to make cogent arguments for the progress of Western Civilization based on an inter-disciplinary understanding of its history.

    Higher education has been producing intellectualoids who have been raiding the riches of our civic square for decades.
    Read more: http://www.americanthinker.com/articles/2015/06/obama_and_the_black_intellectualoids_.html#ixzz3dKl3Xy9D

  12. Myiq2xu says:
    • 49erDweet says:

      I’m visualizing a class of semi-pubescant youths exposed to the idea of “respecting instead of copulating” their counterparts. What could possibly go wrong?

  13. Myiq2xu says:
  14. Myiq2xu says:

    Now that poor dog has gonorrhea and chlamydia.

    • Jeffhas says:

      … And really bad breath….

    • mcnorman says:

      That dog will need a go fund me because it’s not just the physical but emotional trauma that will have to be dealt with. As for the dumbass, she’ll probably get a reality porn show out of it.

  15. DeniseVB says:

    So sad to hear about Michelle Malkin’s daughter battling some rare disease that nobody seems to know how to treat.


  16. Dora says:

    Remember Donna Shalala ?

    Audio: Clinton Foundation Head Accused Clintons of ‘Paranoia’


Comments are closed.