Friday Open Thread

I owe you guys an antidote to my gloomy Alabama “I woke up this morning” video…..

Better?  :D

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Friday Open Thread

  1. DeniseVB says:

    “Tomorrow” may be syrupy, but it always makes me happy. Also the first “age appropriate” song my 8yo “Dorothy Hamill” wannabe kid skated to in her first competition. She won that group in Chicago, I was such a badass rinkmom.

    • leslie says:

      That was the song my 13 y/o Renee Fleming wannabe daughter sang in her audition for the Lyric Opera Children’s Chorus in Chicago. She “won” the audition and became a member of the chorus and sang in “Carmen” with Placido Domingo. I was one of three moms at our school whose kids made the chorus. We drove the girls to/from every rehearsal and performance over 2.5 months. I wasn’t “all that” as a backstage mom. I paid for voice lessons for her at the university, and she never went (she was a rebellious 14-15 yr old). She now regrets that she never really studied. I was sad, but never said anything. She had such a beautiful voice. 😦

      • Dora says:

        That is really wonderful! Congratulations to your daughter. It can’t get much better than working with Placido! 🙂

        • leslie says:

          Yes. He was really wonderful to the entire cast. But the children received very special treatment from him. One late afternoon he gave the children and their parents a tour and refreshments just before a rehearsal. (I was the lucky mom who drove the 3 girls into the city that day. So I got to meet him and some of the other stars of the opera world. ) It’s a good memory.

          • Dora says:

            That has to be a wonderful memory. Thanks for sharing it. The closest I’ve ever been to Placido was sitting in the audience watching him perform on stage. I think I’m a little bit jealous. 🙂

  2. mothy67 says:

    Young girls are so much harder than boys. Today three of them 8/9 science in the park swimming(indoor) taekwondo and then kick ball. So much drama. A very long day and for a lot of it all I did was deposit them. Boys are just bad girls constantly go at it. They decided on their own that 3 isn’t a good number. Lucky me next time they decided to g o f o r 4.

    • votermom says:

      When my first kid was in preschool I quickly learned that three girls is a terrible number for a playdate. One girl would always end up left out or with hurt feelings for some reasons. Two or four or more but not three.

      • mothy67 says:

        Ain’t that the truth. My pup is a very kind thoughtful child. I had to take her aside and ask her to eat it for the rest of the day. She obliged, but I’m sure I’ll be buying some minecraft thing today. I will rent a child before I do 3 again. Please tell me they outgrow it.

  3. DeniseVB says:

    Good grief, news is now back to covering those upstate NY convicts. So far, nothing. But am I the only one thinking those guys are watching the news in Mexico and laughing their asses off.

  4. HELENK3 says:

    let the music begin

  5. Dora says:

    Eating away at TX, bit by tiny bit.

    “About 130 Houston student will attend a new Arabic immersion school next year, where they will learn to speak Arabic as they learn “to be truly global citizens.”

  6. Myiq2xu says:

    I’m warning y’all now – I might sleep in tomorrow.

  7. leslie says:

    My current favorite group is Pink Martini. My brother turned me into a fan about 6 years ago and I will be celebrating my first day of retirement by seeing them in concert at Ravinia Music Festival on July 1. Can’t wait. I’ve been listening to them this evening as well as the last couple of nights. Hope you enjoy them. They are wonderful. If you follow the link, you’ll find tons more of their music…….

  8. Dora says:

    Oh great! Just what I wanted to hear! NOT!

    Clinton spokesman: The tax hikes are coming

  9. HELENK3 says:

    for the cat lovers

  10. HELENK3 says:

    government outsourced database management to IT workers with total access in China

    Do the US government help wanted ads, say only idiots need apply?

  11. Dora says:

    We’re turning into a bunch of chubbies. 🙂

    The Average American Woman Now Weighs as Much as the Average 1960s Man

  12. piper says:

    New rules on internet usage – one hour each day in order to keep what little sanity I have. Searching high and low for a bit of humor/laughter to start the day.

  13. Dora says:


    Elderly Blind Chicago Man Decapitated – Head Goes Missing

    An elderly Chicago man was found decapitated in his apartment. Robert Hollis was an elderly blind man in his 70s.

Comments are closed.