The Unbearable Whiteness of Being Bobby Jindal


Just when you think it can’t get any weirder, the Washington Post goes and proves you wrong:

When Piyush “Bobby” Jindal rises Wednesday to declare his candidacy for president of the United States, the conservative Republican will probably tell the story of his family’s immigrant journey to the United States, where his engineer father and his mother, a state employee, worked hard to give him a typical American childhood.

“I wouldn’t be here today if it weren’t for my parents’ background,” Jindal said in a recent telephone interview. “My dad was one of nine. He was the only one who got past fifth grade. Part of what drove his determination and success in life was his education. My parents put a strong emphasis on education, hard work, an unshakable faith. It doesn’t matter who you are or what your last name is. You can be anything in America.”

Jindal’s status as a conservative of color helped propel his meteoric rise in the Republican Party — from an early post in the George W. Bush administration to two terms in Congress and now a second term as Louisiana governor — and donors from Indian American groups fueled his first forays into politics. Yet many see him as a man who has spent a lifetime distancing himself from his Indian roots.

As a child, he announced he wanted to go by the name Bobby, after a character in “The Brady Bunch.” He converted from Hinduism to Christianity as a teen and was later baptized a Catholic as a student at Brown University — making his devotion to Christianity a centerpiece of his public life. He and his wife were quick to say in a “60 Minutes” interview in 2009 that they do not observe many Indian traditions — although they had two wedding ceremonies, one Hindu and one Catholic. He said recently that he wants to be known simply as an American, not an Indian American.

“There’s not much Indian left in Bobby Jindal,” said Pearson Cross, a political science professor at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette who is writing a book on the governor.

Barack Obama is biracial. His mother was a white girl from Kansas. His father he barely knew was from Kenya. He was raised in Hawaii and Indonesia. He doesn’t have a single drop of “slave” blood in his entire body.

Nobody dared to question his authenticity as a black man.

That’s because Barack Obama is a Democrat and the Democrats have exclusive rights to all non-straight, non-white, non-male identities.

So Clarence Thomas isn’t authentically black. Sarah Palin isn’t authentically female. Log Cabin Republicans aren’t authentically gay. Ted Cruz and Marco Rubio aren’t authentically Cuban.

And Bobby Jindal isn’t authentically Indian.

Here is the real problem with identity politics: You can’t bring people together by dividing them. That is why this country is more divided than at any time since the Civil War.


About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

116 Responses to The Unbearable Whiteness of Being Bobby Jindal

  1. Myiq2xu says:

    Twitter is ruining my ability to express myself in paragraph form.

  2. DandyTIger says:

    Zombies are real, and they’re called Democrats.

  3. It’s a turf war. Dems have built their brand on identity and diversity. Any ticket with a male person of color is likely to give HRC a legitimate fight in a general election.

  4. DeniseVB says:

    This never gets old.

  5. helenk3 says:

    are the dems upset because Nicky Haley and Bobby Jindal did not own 7-11s.
    ask Joe Biden about that

  6. elliesmom says:

    Ellie is a 65 pound dog. When she dragged her doggie bed over to the end of my bed, I thought it was cute. When she moved it to the side of my bed so I had to climb over her to get up, I thought it was sweet. One morning I woke up and found her head on my bed staring me in the face, and I laughed. On one of those below zero nights she jumped up on the foot of my bed and snuggled down. I didn’t kick her out because she was cold, and I felt bad about that. She also kept my feet warm so there was so mutual benefit. She never moved back to her doggie bed. Now it’s not cold anymore so she wants to stretch out as much as she can under the ceiling fan, which is directly over my bed. This means she wants half of my pillow, too. I should have stopped this whole thing when she started moving her bed to where she wanted it instead of where I put it, but I didn’t see it as the camel’s nose that it was. Now I have to decide how many steps I’m going to move it back. I doubt I’ll get her across the room again. She’s taken over the whole tent. Maybe I should have defended Clarence Thomas a bit better rather than jumping on the Anita Hill bandwagon. It’s kind of hard to walk it back quite that far now. Can we get them to admit Sarah Palin is the kind of woman 2nd wave feminists were supposed to embrace? Naw, I don’t think so.

  7. DeniseVB says:

    Jindal is announcing for President today, lucky #13 😉

    Redstate just sent me an updated schedule for their gathering, I’m getting soooooo excited…

    Thursday, August 6th
    7:00pm-11:00pm Debate Watch Party with Special Guest Joe Scarborough

    Friday, August 7th
    Morning Keynote – Governor Rick Perry
    Afternoon Keynotes – Governor Bobby Jindal, Carly Fiorina, and Senator Marco Rubio
    Welcome Reception

    Saturday – August 8th
    Morning Keynotes – Governor Mike Huckabee, Senator Ted Cruz
    Afternoon Keynotes – Governor Jeb Bush, Governor Scott Walker
    RedState Tailgate at the College Football Hall of Fame

    We also have Governors Nikki Haley, Pete Ricketts, Nathan Deal, other members of Congress, great RedState endorsed candidates and much, much more. We will be announcing more speakers very soon.

    It’s my version of a ComicCon political groupie heaven and I’m going dressed like a conservative😉

    • leslie says:

      How cool ! Do you think it will be televised?
      I am so excited for you. I wish I could be there, too.

      • Dora says:

        Sounds just great! I hope it’s on C-SPAN.

      • lyn says:

        How many more hours do you have until you are free from the workplace, Leslie?! 😀

      • DeniseVB says:

        I may have to get a smart phone just for the selfie opportunities. Honestly, I’m not a big fan of Redstate and I think Erick Erickson’s a Jeb guy, but this will probably be the last chance to see so many candiates, including all my favorites, at once. I hope to go to CPAC this winter too, which is even closer to me (DC area). Though I’m sure the field will be much smaller by then.

        Cspan did cover the last one in 2011 with the 2012 candidates, I bet they cover this one too!

        • angienc says:

          I think Eric Erickson is a total asshole. He was responsible for most of the anti-Ronmey stuff from the right in 2012, advocating for Newt to “take it to the convention” and saying that Obama winning would be “better for conservatives” in the long run. So I’m sure he’s a Jeb hack.

          • Myiq2xu says:

            Guys like EE are why the GOP has a bad reputation.

          • DeniseVB says:

            Erick’s got some pull to get these guys together in one venue. I’m going for the speeches, a lovely weekend in a swanky Buckhead hotel (deeply discounted for attendees), free food and booze and schmoozin’. Taking my laptop to play drunkblogger and twithead. Don’t worry myiq, I’ll use Stealth Magnolia so I don’t blow up TCH 😀 My biggest fear, I’ll be a Bush/Huckabee supporter after this is over. No, not really. Though I’ll offer the Fiorina and Walker people to table for them. Not sure what the set up will be yet. Usually the candidates are only there for their speeches then skadoodle to their next event.

          • Underwhelmed says:

            He’s a narcissist. Saw on the tv and my skin just started crawling. The smug, self-satisfied look on his face, the greasy glisten of overweening self importance … eeeewwwww. He is indeed a reason for loathing, and sadly it’s not unearned.

    • lyn says:


    • 49erDweet says:

      Leave more cookies – the edible variety – in the cellar or you’ll be embarrassingly outed! And have fun!

      • DeniseVB says:

        I’ll leave the cookies, but not worried about being outted as a 5%er, that is, we Indies who will decide the 2016 election😀 True story, some guy, a right leaning Nate Silver type, crunched the numbers for 2016. Ya got your Dem 47%ers solid vote, maybe a little less for the GOP’s solids = all candidates will spend about 2 billion dollars to win 5-8% of the vote. Sad, isn’t it ?

        • 49erDweet says:

          Yep. And it’s REALLY sad that about 47% is so high. Both ways. That many people who either can’t think for themselves or just plain fatuous (the stoopid).

  8. helenk3 says:

    backtrack has a few friends for dinner

  9. helenk3 says:

    one of the pictures the left does not want you to see

  10. Myiq2xu says:

  11. mothy67 says:

    I can’t help it I think Ann Coulter is funny. Yes, she is an ass but she makes liberals heads explode.

  12. Myiq2xu says:

  13. Dora says:

    SHOCK VIDEO! Black Teen Beats, Kicks White Girl Holding Her Toddler

    This is the new normal in Obama’s America.

  14. votermom says:

  15. votermom says:

    Jindal is worse than white. He’s (gasp) Asian!

    (Well, South Asian, but still Asian according to Affirmative Action)

  16. Dora says:

    If they really did this, they would have to close down Monticello. Then, of course, they’d have to remove the Washington Monument from where it stands in D.C. and close down his home at Mt. Vernon. And what about James Madison’ home? Can’t leave Montpelier open, can they? Wow! Talk about changing history!

    CNN Goes There: Asks If Thomas Jefferson Memorials Should Be Removed Because He Owned Slaves?

  17. DeniseVB says:

    Meanwhile over at the Netroots Nation Summer Camp, they too have announced their speakers, and WHO’s not. Ruh-roh Team Hillary…..

    At Netroots Nation next month, you’ll hear from Democratic Presidential candidates Martin O’Malley and Bernie Sanders in a special Town Hall event.

    Former Maryland Gov. O’Malley and Sen. Sanders of Vermont will participate in the Town Hall on Saturday, July 18, at 10:30 a.m. To date, the Clinton campaign has declined our invitation to participate. We are hopeful that as the date approaches the campaign will reconsider addressing this core progressive community who are most eager to hear from her. The Town Hall will include a moderated audience Q&A.

    Click here to get your ticket to see these candidates speak at Netroots Nation 2015.

    In addition to O’Malley and Sanders, other speakers and special guests include Sen. Elizabeth Warren, Reps. Rosa DeLauro, Donna Edwards, Keith Ellison, Ruben Gallego, Raul Grijalva, Hank Johnson, Robin Kelly, Mark Takano, Senior Circuit Judge Mary Schroeder and many more. And we’ll be releasing more keynote speakers in the coming days.

    I hope you’re planning to join us for the Town Hall and other exciting events at Netroots Nation next month.

    Wonder if invites have been extended to Biden, Chafee and Webb?

    • Myiq2xu says:

      Hillary will avoid the flaming nutjobs at Nutroots like the plague. They hate her guts.

      • mcnorman says:

        But she will have to embrace them and (gag her with a spoon) force them to like her.

      • DeniseVB says:

        She declined in 2007 too, but showed up anyhow after being flogged on Daily Kos. It was starting to turn towards Sheeple for Obama by then anyhow.

        Carly’s raising the bar by appearing on The View and MSNBC and surviving unscathed. If Hillary can’t take on a vile prog assembly, she doesn’t deserve to be nominated much less be President.

  18. DeniseVB says:

    Buh-bye. No surpise here except that MA has the death penalty ?

  19. DeniseVB says:

  20. Myiq2xu says:

  21. Myiq2xu says:

    • DeniseVB says:

      True story, my very first blog was called Streams of UnConsciousness. I’m all about cool blog names, and nothing about blogging😉 Stealth Magnolia was named for the tree Andrew Jackson planted on the WH lawn in memory of his deceased wife from a sapling from his home in Tennessee. Shhhhh, don’t tell anyone, Obama might chop it down now.

  22. Myiq2xu says:

  23. leslie says:

    Boston Marathon bomber Dzhokhar Tsarnaev apologized today during his federal sentencing hearing. “I would like to now apologize to the victims and the survivors,” he said. “I am sorry for the lives that I have taken.”

    “If there is any lingering doubt, I did it along with my brother,” he said, referring to the bombing. “I ask Allah to have mercy on me, my brother and my family.”

    CNN breaking news.

  24. Dora says:

    Obamacare Guidelines: Insurance Must Cover ‘Mammogram or Pap Smear for a Transgender Man’

    • mcnorman says:

      Wow, that is some cray cray stuff. I want to see who gets paid under these rules to do that without being slapped with a lawsuit for going to a vajayjay that leads to nowhere. Ouch, that could be considered torture. I can’t imagine any licensed gyn going there unless it’s a Gosnell type.

  25. Myiq2xu says:

    • 1539days says:

      Not being a stereotype = inauthentic ethnic identity.

    • votermom says:

      They’re trying to make me rage stroke, aren’t they?

    • lizzy says:

      Once upon a time assimilation was the goal. We have abandoned our melting pot where everyone had opportunity through hard work. Now Obama’s corruptocrats only give opportunities to donor corporations. We are all victims.

  26. DeniseVB says:

    Bad, Sooper, Bad😉

  27. DeniseVB says:

    Bobby Jindal announcing now.

  28. elliesmom says:

    A few weeks ago I mentioned my brother was going to work for a conservative news site. It’s not live yet, but it’s starting to get some press. He’s the new managing editor of, mentioned in this Boston Globe article. He used to work for Arianna Huffington so we’re having some fun with him, but we’re all really proud of him.

  29. 1539days says:

    Just for the hell of it, I checked Cafepress and they’re free of the stars and bars, too. Also, I learned there are a LOT of Confederate flag style bikinis out there.

  30. left_VA_&_dems_for_TX says:

    On a different note – saw this and thought you’d like it. Kitty is in a bit of a pickle……..

    • DandyTIger says:

      Happens more than you’d think. Hangers are cat friendly places where owners like help with mouse problems. So stray cats are welcome. And occasionally they kind of hide in a plane.

  31. Dora says:

    So now what – start tearing down churches?

    Major University Claims Slavery is the Result of Christianity

Comments are closed.