Hooray for Gay Marriage!



I don’t know the details of the case that went before the SCOTUS on gay marriage, but I do know that a real disparity arose when states began to legislate against recognizing gay marriages from other states, but not straight marriages. I don’t know the legal term for the recognizing marriages across states lines, but there was a separation in treatment once gay marriage began to be legal in some states. Maybe the Klown Lawyer can shed some light on this issue for us.

I personally support gay marriage and always have. I have never had a problem with gayness conceptually or spiritually. I’ve known a lot of gay people since I was really young, and it always seemed unjust that I could marry my partner but they couldn’t. So I’m glad for the ruling, even if Roberts was right and it was not based on any constitutional consideration. He’s one to talk after those two Obamacare rulings. It looks like more “For me, not for thee” bullshit from the elites when you compare his statements on this ruling to his comments on those two rulings.

I sometimes feel like we Obama dissenters who came from the left get a little knee-jerk in our criticism of some changes. I think it’s a reaction to how much our opponents act like assholes. I don’t support Obama and I cannot stand Vile Progs. I think half the crap flying around on FB today is a little in your face from the point of view of those who’ve supported the left on this issue, and it does bother me.

I know full well there are people who have legitimate issues with legal gay marriage, predominately based on the arguments that the institution of marriage is very old and has remained structurally unchanged in definition from the beginning, and / or because it is at odds with their spiritual beliefs. I don’t feel the need to get in their faces because I’m happy today, and I don’t think it’s fair to try to shout them into silence. I think they are entitled to their views and I respect them for adhering to whatever it is they believe. But I am really happy today because I think, however it came to be and whomever may benefit politically from it, it is a just result and many others, some of who I am very close with, will benefit from it personally. I’m excited for them.

My 2 cents.

I am happy that gay marriage is now legal in all 50 states. I would be a lot happier if the voters of those 50 states had voted overwhelmingly in favor of gay marriage. A win at the ballot box is better than a win at the courthouse.

I have been a supporter of same-sex marriage for a long time now.

To the gay and lesbian people of America I would like to say “Be careful what you wish for. You might get it.” Well, you got your wish. Congratulations and best wishes. But as a guy with two failed marriages I can attest to the fact that marriage isn’t the fairy tale some people think it is.

To Barack Obama I would like to say STFU! This wasn’t your victory. You had virtually nothing to do with the case. Frankly, you have been mostly AWOL on LGBT issues since you entered politics. I haven’t forgotten that on the day of the 2008 Chicago Gay Pride parade you were in town but didn’t go, claiming you couldn’t make it because you had to get a haircut. Then there was the shunning of SF mayor Gavin Newsom in public.

Seriously, Mr. Preezy, sit down and shut up. You ratchet.

To the supporters of gay marriage who can’t seem to resist gloating, a hearty “fuck you” is in order. You won. Show some class.

To opponents of gay marriage, you need to make your peace with the fact that gay marriage is here and will be here for a while. Get over it and move on.

I had some other stuff I was gonna say but I’m tired and can’t remember what it was. I’m going back to bed.

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

144 Responses to Hooray for Gay Marriage!

  1. votermom says:

    I used to support gay marriage completely. Here’s my current view:

    • Mary says:

      Well said, votermom. Somehow I don’t think the newly “freed” gay marriage supporters will be able to resist forcing traditional churches to perform their wedding ceremonies in those churches—I just don’t believe they’ll be able to resist making it forced, if required. (see wedding cake stories, when there were plenty of other bakeries that would have made that cake for them).

      And then, where do we go? Discrimination lawsuits against those churches, especially the Black churches that were so active with Prop 8? If the Catholic church doesn’t allow it now that it’s a Constitutional right under the 14th amendment, can they lose their tax-free status?

      I’ve always been for gay marriage, too. But the manner by which it has been achieved has not made me feel that this will be enough for them, and that “other people’s freedom” will be damaged in that pursuit of the absolute.

      Thanks, Votermom.

      • How black churches and black people react to this is going to be fascinating to watch. There are a lot of black gay men and lesbians who suffer and even die due to the vehement anti-gay sentiment in that population. It’s probably a bigger problem than the issue of “police brutality” in terms of victims. When the issue comes in my college classrooms, there’s usually always some idjit who starts harping on prison rape and how that’s why the black community has so many people who are too sensitive to accept it.

        Also, all of the immigrants in my classrooms (whether they are from countries in Africa or southeast Asia, or Muslim countries, or are Hispanic), are hyper-religious and they have a real problem with this issue. I have a hard time getting them to understand that, while they can write argumentative papers about not accepting gay marriage, they cannot rely solely on the Bible for support and they must show respect for their rhetorical opponents.

        • Mary says:

          You’re right that this issue is huge in the African American community—lotta people on the “down-low,” with a beard helping hide the truth. Will the SSM crowd call them bigots and call them out? Will they harbor bitter feelings toward Obama for being the American president who legalized exactly what they find objectionable?

  2. DeniseVB says:

    Behold, Obama in your face !

  3. Lulu says:

    Overall I’m glad the issue is resolved. We had dinner out last night with several couples including a nice divorce lawyer. He said the newly free to marry in all 50 states are not going to like divorce laws nor the legal bills that go with it. He is ready for business. They get a free 20 minute consultation and then it is $5000 cash up front with no kids. He prefers cashiers checks.

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      That already hit in Maryland and there has been quite a bit of bitching. Some of the older couples say they have had a good laugh because they could not get the younger crowd to understand that in getting their trophy, custody battles and divorce are also part of the deal. Not to mention the joint property battles, credit ratings, death and the IRS.

      • 1539days says:

        Every time a state makes gay marriage legal, there’s a rush of couples at the courthouse. I wonder how any people will get married now that there’s not a statement being made. Straight marriage is at a all-time low.

        • Myiq2xu says:

          And divorce rates are still sky high.

        • lizzy says:

          Perhaps gay couples will save the institution of marriage; it’s not too popular with the rest of us. Best of luck to them.

          • 1539days says:

            Why get married? The reasons are: so I can get your stuff when you die, so I can see you in the hospital when you’re gravely ill and because straight people do it, too. Not a whole lot of positivity there.

  4. Dora says:

    This shouldn’t be a surprise. We all knew what would be coming next.

    You Knew This Was Coming: Politico, “It’s Time To Legalize Polygamy”

  5. DeniseVB says:

    The official WH.gov site running an email harvest off the #LoveWins victory. I’m sure the *required fields will be turned over to the DNC.


  6. DeniseVB says:

    Happy Ramadan ! While Obama was celebrating with his muslim pals last week, this is still going on………..

  7. jeffhas says:


    I figured if the State (Fed or Local) was issuing marriage licenses to people, they would have to treat ALL people the same. It really was about Equal Rights in my head.

    I’m so glad I don’t have to hear the prattling on about Gay Rights anymore /s. I’m a supporter, but it seemed endless and aggressively in your face – and it’s over now, right? /s Hurray for silence on that subject because it is resolved.

    PS: I don’t go to Church regular-like (or almost ever), but I do know that Churches (and other religious institutions) are not The State…

  8. Dora says:

    While Americans have understandably been distracted by Obama’s coming out party in the White House, see what the New Black Panthers have been promoting. Yikes!

    NEW BLACK PANTHER PARTY Calls For Mass Killing Of White People With Bombs

  9. lildoggy4u says:

    I have friends who have been together for over 30 years who married last year in Wisconsin. They are so happy for this ruling as am I. For myself, I’ve been in a relationship for 18 years with my partner who mentioned yesterday that we should now get married. Why? Everything has been fine for us, no discrimination has ever shown up. We’ve been through medical issues where our doctors, the hospitals etc. have all honored our relationship. We even lived in rural Tennessee and never once had an issue with our neighbors or any of the fundamentalists, very nice Christians we knew. To me marriage is a step I choose not to pursue. I’m not gonna do it just because I can. I’m afraid there will be too many jump aboard that train who have only known each other a sort time just to celebrate the right to marry not knowing what they’ve gotten themselves into. BTW, if I was straight I’d still be wary of getting married. Maybe its because my own parents didn’t seem to enjoy it very much.

  10. elliesmom says:

    If this is all about love, and I surely hope it is, then there will be a lot of weddings in the next year or so. There will be no lawsuits against bakers, photographers, florists, jewelers, and wedding chapels, and the businesses that do support same sex marriage will have bottom lines to make everyone happy. Churches will continue to marry only those couples who meet their criteria w/o incident. Then everyone who has been waiting years to get married will be married, and the homosexual community will marry at the same rate as everyone else, and their weddings will be just a blip on the radar. Those that do marry will face the same challenges everybody who gets married faces. They’ll argue over whose job it is to do what, over money and debts the other spouse incurs, the last time they had sex, and what business all of it is for mothers-in-law. They’ll discover it’s sometimes cheaper to stay married than to get divorced.

    If it’s not all about love, but about revenge instead, they’ll discover all of the rainbows from last night have no pot of gold. They’ll alienate a lot of people, including some from their own demographic, and the shunning will have a basis in their own hate, not in the hate of others.

    • helenk3 says:


    • There are going to be a lot of weddings this year. I’d bank on it. And that will include hetero marriages as well, as attending gay weddings will give a lot of these young anti-marriage females wedding fever while making it “cool” for the fellas. The pot of gold will be the conservatizing influence of marriage.

      If Republicans were smart, they’d use this opportunity to their advantage to change the dialogue. That will be a careful line they’ll have to tread, of course. I’m not seeing it yet, but I am seeing a promising shift in tone to protecting religious liberty instead of dogging “the lifestyle.” It’s going to be a rocky road, but I suspect it’ll smooth itself out as we acclimate.

    • votermom says:

  11. helenk3 says:


    the unintended consequences of another court ruling yesterday

    • helenk3 says:

      I am so sick of this guy and his racism
      he worships his deadbeat drunk of a dad and disses his white grandmother who worked to support his half black ass

      • Mary says:

        Amen, Helen. He USED his white grandmother to manipulate a conversation about race to protect his OWN ass.
        But then again, he did tell us “I know how to win—I’m Lebron, baby!”
        What a prick.

  12. 1. Wow, two front-page quotes in one month. I’m honored.😉

    2. You forgot about touring with Donnie McClurkin ahead of the primary in SC in 2008.

    3. Lost my coffee seeing “You ratchet”!!! LMAO

  13. Dora says:

    Do any of these three men in the photo look familiar? 🙂

    Rare Never Seen Photos Of The Past

  14. votermom says:

    I was thinking about logical consequences …

  15. helenk3 says:


    overthrow the supreme court

  16. votermom says:

    Also, correct me if I’m wrong, doesn’t this follow from Thursday’s rulings?

  17. votermom says:

    Why I have a fondness for The Donald

    • mothy67 says:

      I love the Donald because he says something. come on how real is the statement Mexico is sending us its problems.
      love coulter as well yes she is abrasive but she is no dummy. screwed up on haley. I had no idea about the Verona papers until I read her book I then looked it all up from many sources. joe McCarthy was not the evil man he is painted to be and he was right.

  18. helenk3 says:


    what’s next for gay advocates?

    good question

    • Anthony says:

      Wow. Legalizing polygamy??? Attacking religious institutions??? Had no idea you felt that way.

      • Myiq2xu says:

        I predict that SSM will be like abortion – legal but under attack. Both sides with use the issue to fundraise and whip up hysteria.

        All the people getting paid to advocate for LGBT issues will still have jobs for years to come.

        • Anthony says:

          Agreed. Its just a little shocking for me to read some opinions. This is why I think it would have been better for it to be decided state by state. Now, some assh0le (Santorum? Huckabilly?) will lead the charge for an amendment, which is only going to perpetuate the problem.

          In the end, I think a lot of people are pissed that they can no longer legally discriminate against gays for reasons that are none of their business.

          • Mary says:

            Oh good Lord. What utter horseshit.

          • elliesmom says:

            See, I don’t agree with that at all. Most of the people I know who are upset about yesterday’s ruling are upset about how it was made, not that gays can get married. We were well on our way to having a majority of the people in this country support the right of homosexuals to marry, but five people pulled a legal argument out of their asses and jumped the gun. Most of the people I know who have changed their minds about supporting gay marriage changed their minds when bakers, photographers, and florists started being sued. “If you don’t want a gay marriage, then don’t have one” didn’t have as much of a ring of truth about it after that. How the SJW folks go from here will dictate how the whole thing plays out. If women had kept the faith with abortion being “safe, legal, and rare”, a lot of the continued strife over abortion would be gone, but 55 million dead babies wasn’t part of the bargain.

          • elliesmom says:

            Mary said it better than I did in a lot fewer words.

          • Anthony says:

            Mary, just responding to what I’ve read – which I think is utter horseshit as well.

            elliesmom, if those same merchants discriminated against black folks, mixed marriages, or anyone other than gay people, there would be no brouhaha. They would simply be charged with discrimination.

            As far as the SJW’s go, I’m certainly not giving them a free pass. They start more trouble in the name of “social justice” than anyone else. But if someone wants to run their (non-religious) business according to religious guidelines, then they should make the appropriate legal changes and list their business accordingly so they don’t lose the inevitable legal action.

          • elliesmom says:

            Anthony, I believe if the civil rights laws had been limited to government institutions, we wouldn’t be where we are today in regards to race. Jim Crow laws prohibited businesses from treating blacks and whites equally. If those laws had just been lifted, economics and public pressure would have put people who refused to serve black people out of business. But by forcing them into submission, we created a whole race-based hate industry on both sides of the color line. There are people that benefit from that so maybe it wasn’t a bug, but a feature. Instead of suing businesses who refuse to bake you a wedding cake, why not promote the baker who will? Many people who are not gay will steer their business to him or her in solidarity. Suing the baker only makes people worry what cause will be the next one, and that one might affect them, so they stand in solidarity with the baker although they have no problem with gay marriage. It’s your attitude of “just bake the fucking cake” is what turns me off from whole-hearted support. Because what if the next thing coming down the pike is something I do have a moral objection to? Then will I just have to bake the cake, too?

          • Myiq2xu says:

            If I had to sue someone to bake me a cake I would be afraid to eat it.

          • Myiq2xu says:

            Seriously, I would not put that shit in my mouth. Ever seen “The Help”? #TwoSliceHilly

          • Anthony says:

            Agree, elliesmom. I stated earlier (yesterday? who knows…. been working a lot) that I would NEVER patronize a business who made their bias against me obvious, nor would I sue one who refused me service. I have better things to do with my time, as I suspect most gay people do. Its unfortunate that the few (one? two?) who actually did are being used to characterize ALL gay people. If they weren’t, this debate would never have started.

            Also, please re-read what I wrote that you take such exception to. I didn’t say that the baker should “just bake the fucking cake”. I said that I (meaning myself) would just bake the fucking cake (or change the legal status of my business to be in concert with my religious zeal).

          • jeffhas says:

            I know plenty of black people who don’t think Gay Rights are Civil Rights in the sense that when you are in public, everyone knows you’re black… not everyone knows you’re gay.

            So a gal walks in and orders a wedding cake – and she’s an unbearable a**hole – baker decides not to bake her cake, because she’s an asshole. If that gal turns out to be lesbian, is that discrimination based on sexual orientation? or maybe sexism?… maybe she was black and felt discriminated against because of her color? Whatever happened to taking your business elsewhere? (now they all call lawyers to find a way to make a money grab).

            I get that gay people are not to be discriminated against… I get that black people are not to be discriminated against… but who protects the business from a**holes with an a**hole agenda that just happen to be black or gay or whatever? I’m a business owner, but I don’t deal with the public (for just this reason – I like to refuse business for whatever reason I want – usually based upon people being a**holes)… I pity business owners who have to deal with the public, they aren’t paid enough to deal with every Tom, Dick and Harry’s pecadillos.

        • lyn says:

          That will suck. I’m tired of TPTB and their use of social issues to divide us. SSM doesn’t hurt anyone.

      • helenk3 says:

        I post articles on a subject to show different opinions.
        My personal opinion is that the sex life of some one else is none of my business. I do not care, it is not my bedroom.
        Making gay marriage legal is fine with me. Forcing people to go against their beliefs is not.
        My fear is that in the atmosphere of today’s America many freedoms are being lost and too many do not realize what is happening.

        • Anthony says:

          Helen – sorry if you took offense, but I was under the impression you were in agreement with that article. I’m relieved to hear that you are not.

          I share your (noted) opinions, but am a little on the fence with the last one. Freedom to simply be who we are has been non-existent for gays for as long as I can remember.

          Imagine if a bakery or florist (or any other business, for that matter) refused service to someone because they were black? or white? or rich/poor/Jewish/Christian/Muslim etc – take your pick.

          I can’t support discrimination against anyone for any reason. Defending those who do because ‘they have a right to their religious beliefs’ is handing out a free pass to someone who would be condemned as a bigot if it were any other group of people they were discriminating against.

          If I wanted to site religion as a reason to refuse service to anyone, then I would change my company from an LLC to a 501c-3 and list it as a religious charity. Otherwise, I would just bake the fucking cake and take the money. Or be legally sued for discrimination and expect to lose.

          • Myiq2xu says:

            There is a difference between refusing to hire or serve a person because of who they are and refusing (as a private individual) to participate in an activity your religion teaches is wrong.

            Should a black baker be required to bake a cake for a KKK wedding?

          • DandyTIger says:

            Should a black baker be required to bake a cake for a KKK wedding?

            Instead of dealing with those obvious consequences, the solution will be to outlaw things that offend the cultural majority. Counter-culture is to be outlawed.

        • foxyladi14 says:

          I agree Helen, And it seems to me that we are in the same position that we were in before the Revolutionary
          And the Civil war too.
          Both wars was about Freedom. 🙂

      • angienc says:

        There actually is more of a legal basis for legalizing polygamy than SSM — many cultures and religions throughout history have recognized polygamous marriage and, in fact, one major religion/slash culture today still does recognize polygamous marriages (Islam/Arabic world). SSM has never been recognized in any religion and only in a few countries very, very recently.
        I’m not saying that to be offensive or to try to sound like I’m against gays having the right to marry in this country — but facts are facts.

        • Myiq2xu says:

          Even the ancient Greeks who were okay with homosexuality never had gay marriage.

        • elliesmom says:

          I have a good friend who has kids about the same age as mine. When we were young moms together, we used to kid about how beneficial it would be to both of us if we shared a husband. We could have shared the household responsibilities and child care with someone we trusted and had time for a career. With 3 incomes we could have afforded a house big enough for all of us. We were attracted to the same kind of men so picking a husband wouldn’t have been hard. We did want a husband. We weren’t sexually attracted to each other. We oftern included our husbands in the conversation. They thought it was very funny that kind of arrangement would be attractive to women. They assumed polygamy was all about men being able to sex with lots of women. But I could see where women would like the arrangement even more. And if all of the participants are consenting adults, why not? The government would have to work out all of the “who gets the benefits and tax deduction stuff”, but it could be done,

  19. mothy67 says:

    Having grown up gay in a less than accepting neighborhood I wonder if the push by some is to force acceptance from those nearest them. I am happy with the fact that my peeps can enjoy all the benefits that come with a union. I don’t agree with what I have read of the rationale. I don’t agree with the thought process behind R v Wade either. Personally against abortion but believe it is between a woman a man their god/conscience. Not my place to judge.
    Having difficulty expressing the point I want to make The word penumbra seems fitting. I know the wrath of homophopes kicking and pissing on me with erections at 16 walking to the store to buy my mother a pack of Virginia Slim ultra Light 100 menthols. Kept yelling we know what you want f a g g ot. Truth be told I had walked home from a dishwasher shift and found a note from mother asking me to buy her cigarettes. I was seriously not looking for a golden shower from a bunch of extras from “Dazed and Confused” I definitely did not want to be kicked in the head. I got up walked into the convenience store and bought the smokes. Their girlfriends were along for the ride(they fittingly had an el camino) came into the store and laughed at me. I bought the cigs walked back up the hill. Laid them on the table went outside kicked in the basement window and went to sleep on cold cement covered in urine. I was numb. I went to Purdue I had self hypnosis tapes at 17 that told me I was a heterosexual. I tried so hard. I loved the school but it was mid eighties. I had gone to 7 schools growing up and had always been the new poor kid. Freshman year everyone was new to a world. I was better equipped for the state of anomie. I went from outsider to leader. I transferred to Temple because I wanted to not push at that time the best year of my life.
    Many ways my life has been a gorgeous mistake. I had an outhouse for a spell with a bucket in the winter, went to a a billion different schools, gay, had open heart surgery as a kid, poor. I lived in Philly, NYC, London and visited many countries.
    I struggle with the ruling because I disagree on the grounds and I think the intent was feel goody but I wonder about the effects. You can not legislate feelings. Had my life been normal(trust me I felt angst because I was gay from teachers) I transferred to a new school in 11th grade and was told my previous school worked physics from another direction and I could not catch up. Tuesday before Thanksgiving break I completed over the long weekend the entire text book for the year. I was obviously gay and never rec’d any acknowledgement for teaching myself a years physics in four days. I felt the this kid is a queer regard.
    I am a big fan of the 70’s singer somgwriter corny Tapestry is all time fav.
    I would take it all again to have the clumsy event that had me pick up a newborn in a dreadful daycare. I now think good parenting is the highest art. Pup is the best person I know. I am so fractured some days I think about the day before me, and I want to rollover. Too bad so sad, I accepted responsibility for a child there is no longer me wanting to sleep in, its little girl is going to science in the park
    I am making no sense. I am gay and have had less than pleasant times. So what. Why is what I give to the world defined by how I was treated?
    I do not see the pup and I through social justice warriors agenda, I leave her a note with an SAT word for breakfast, Pulchritude. Eight years old her summer word of the day I make sure she incorporates pulchritude in several sentences. I have an etymology dictionary in the mud room. New words are adventures we make up stories about new words.
    Exhausted by victim shit. Get up get up for your fucking kids.

  20. lyn says:

    This cracked me up.

  21. swanspirit says:

    I am very happy gay marriage is legal. It never made any difference to me whether gays could marry. But then it never made any difference to me whether heterosexuals could marry either. After my first and only marriage ended in paying attorneys ginormous amounts of money, I knew i was never going to do that again, and I haven’t. But that is my uniquely personal perspective; far be it from me to deny anyone their due amount of suffering, or joy, if they are fortunate.
    I am not opposed to relationships, just legal marriage😉 I just could not bring myself to give anyone that much power over my life.
    When it comes to forcing anyone to make a marriage or bake a cake, if it opposes their views or religious beliefs, I am opposed. I am also opposed to polygamy. No slippery slope for me thanks.

  22. angienc says:

    The best are the SSM advocates spouting #LoveWins while telling others to DIAF (Die in a Fire) .

    Seriously the stupid is getting exhausting.

  23. Myiq2xu says:
  24. Myiq2xu says:

    Large scale social change is usually very gradual. When social change happens fast it usually involves an event of epic proportion, like a major war.

    The pressure for LGBT rights has been building for decades. When I was a kid homosexuality was classified as a mental disease and gay sex was illegal. Now gay marriage is legal. That is a huge change in less than 50 years. Right now we are at the tipping point.

    Some people don’t embrace change as quickly as others. Hating someone for believing something that was widely accepted when they were growing up accomplishes nothing.

    • DeniseVB says:

      As a child of a 50’s Catholic family, I wasn’t allowed Jewish friends. Then Stiller and Meara got married, I can still hear those rosary beads rattling 😀

      • helenk3 says:

        could go to a wedding if it were other than Catholic.
        I drove a nun to a lot of prayer in religion class in my senior year.
        at that time the belief was that you had to marry Catholic. When i stood up and said that if I had to make the choice between a catholic who would beat me every day of the week and twice on Sunday, and someone of another religion, i would take the someone of the other religion. The nun was not a happy camper but I did get an A in religion class.

      • swanspirit says:

        My parents were married “Catholic” My mother was Catholic( Italian) and my father was Jewish. They couldn’t be married in the church itself, but they had to be married in the rectory parlor. The rectory is where the priests live. And my dad had to agree to raise the children catholic. Which is why I was subject to abuse from the SSND nuns at St Matthews for 8 years.
        Those nuns told me in no uncertain terms my father was going to hell, or at best limbo because he wasn’t baptized, and Jews were Christ killers.I didn’t know it was abuse, I just thought it was catholic education. My father just laughed it off. He was such a mensch.

        And the “publics” made fun of us on the bus, so many of us walked home the few miles from school.
        A great deal has happened in the last 40 or so years.

        • DeniseVB says:

          My dad (an Irish protestant) converted to Catholic after years of abuse from my Italian immigrant grandparents with their “old country” and Roman Catholic values. I swear my grands taught ISIS their tactics. Yes, the Pope, a crucifix and eventually JFK hung on their wall. Satan didn’t have a chance in that house😉

        • leslie says:

          Swannie, Your parents sound like my parent. And I was subjected to the Dominican nuns for 12 years. The first 8 were Sinsinawa Dominicans and the last 4 were Adrian Dominicans. I, too didn’t realize I was being abused by the Church teaching. And when the nuns asked for information about my father and his work (as they asked of everyone in school), he would say, “Tell them I’m a bank robber and that my name isn’t authentic.” So there I was – stuck in the middle all the time. we were the only kids on the block who went to the Catholic school the others were, indeed “publics”. We still played together despite the warnings of our schools.
          When I was in college, I was in the wedding of a very good friend. She was Methodist. By that time, I didn’t care if I were banned for life from “the Church” for being in her wedding. I really thought the idea that being a bridesmaid would condemn me for eternity was absurd.
          When I had my children, I chose 2 Lutherans to be my second daughter’s godparents. The priest tried to counsel me against that decision. I said I wouldn’t have my baby baptized if I had to use godparents who didn’t love God and mankind and were as good as these friends were (are). So, he asked for a compromise and we named a brother-in-law to be a third godparent. Whew! just made it! /s
          BTW, we were married at city hall. We had our marriage blessed in the cathedral rectory 3 days later. The in-laws weren’t particularly happy.

    • mothy67 says:

      Sing it. I have aunts and uncles that when I was a dying child stood in line to give me blood. Very Catholic will never agrree with who I am. I love them. I accept how they see the world. I know they care about me and I them I do not needcto make a production out of being gay every time I see them.I do SAT words with my brat the other day it was reciprocity. We spend a lot of time on words. Summer breakand it rains everyday. A wordclike reciprocity can lead to a three act play. Kind of fun for me as well. I am of Irish extraction and no one fucks with one of my kin. I watched my eighty year old grandmother jump over a fence and pull a cops hair because my Aunt Suzie had a DUI.
      Summer nights we went with my grandmother to a campground or we slept out on the porch or under a tree. Everynight from 10 to fifteen. Me, Johnny, Carole, danette, Billy, Chrissy, Casey. Wecwould ride our bikes in the darkness. They are not comfortable with me being gay. Okay by me and okay by them. We are of the ilk where piss off is hey I don’t hate you. When they thought my liver was gone everyone of the rejects was calling the hospital to do liiving donor. Color me silly but I’ll take the grit of my family over a self centered prick thinking every thought is unique and superior.

  25. helenk3 says:


    armed career criminals could see less prison time

    another supreme court ruling this week that was under the radar

    they were busy little bees this week,

    rulings on
    obamacare —well there goes the job market and states rights

    housing —well there goes the low income housing business

    criminals—well there goes citizen safety

    gay marriage— well there goes states rights and maybe religious freedom

  26. Myiq2xu says:
    • piper says:

      I swear that he wasn’t one of my students although he could have benefited from a bit of extra help from either the LD teacher or reading specialist.

      • elliesmom says:

        I had a student who couldn’t find the moon in the sky. (Because it was night, and the current phase of the moon was visible in the sky during the day.) So his college-educated mom drove him to the next town in hopes they might see it from there. When it was still invisible, she wrote me a note about it being unfair to give the kids impossible assignments. When I said he just should have looked up on his way home from school, she replied, “But what about Good Night, Moon”? So I’ll believe someone actually tweeted that.

    • DeniseVB says:

      LOL, lthe other day some sweet young thang remarked there have been 48 Super Bowls and only 44 Presidents. She thought it was pretty cool that football is older than the Presidency. I swear some of these have to be made up😛

  27. helenk3 says:


    interesting take on the gay marriage ruling and the consequences

  28. helenk3 says:


    supreme court has become a political institution, not a judicial institution

  29. mothy67 says:

    Off topic but can someone explain why state standardized test scores are not available until mid way through the following fall semester. I am confident rug rat did well but if she had a deficiency I would want to rectify it over the summer. Pup has scored high 90’s on everything so I am not personally worried but why administer a week of tests and wait six months for results. Bet your sweet ass if impossible child was scoring low in math I would rectify. What can you do half way through the next grade. It cannot take 6 months to evaluate. What kind of game are they playing. I do not fuck around with the monster’s education and will not be idle demand she take the test well I demand the results. The section 8 kids are pulling down the stats. I don’t think non section 8 kids are smarter I see there is no emohasis placed on learning and complete reliance on the school. Sorry i think educating a child is primarily the parents job looks to me that school is for a lot of parents just a baby sitter.

    • votermom says:

      I know, right?
      Btw did her school suggest TenMarks.com? It’s a free site where your kid gets math summer work. I could never convince my kid to do it but you might.🙂

    • elliesmom says:

      Most schools have a machine that will grade multiple guess tests for them. If each school did their own scoring, you could get the results the next day. But schools can’t be trusted to score the tests themselves with so much at stake. So the tests get sent out to be scored, re-scored, and certified. The companies that score them don’t have a particularly good pass-through time. Then they have to create and print all of the reports for each individual school and every student in the school. All schools have to receive their scores on the same day so none get sent out until the company has completely finished. I worked at a high school with 2400 students, three Scantron machines, and 24 hours to get final exam grades posted, and we made our deadlines every semester. The machine could grade 24 exams of 100 questions in a couple of minutes.

      I assumed the question wasn’t rhetorical.🙂

  30. left_VA_&_dems_for_TX says:

    I’m an attorney with a MPA, have always wanted to serve the public good and my country (must have been that trip to DC when I was a kid and learned about our history, saw the price people paid at Arlington Cemetery and the Vietnam Memorial, and read Lincoln’s words). I love the law, I believe in the law. I think our Federal system of government, while flawed, is our best chance at striving towards a more perfect union and the evolution of common law aids this process.

    Personally, I don’t have a problem with SSM – as many comics have stated “why shouldn’t gay people be just as miserable as the rest of us.” What concerns me is the process and the precedent this ruling (and recent rulings) sets. Also, moving forward, what is the replacement legal/social principle regarding personal unions and the resulting legal, ethical, and moral responsibilities of those unions? While many societies have had polygamy (and not SSM as posters here have pointed out), participants in these personal unions haven’t been equal and many of the societies where these occur seem unstable, violent, and abusive.

    Over time marriage in this country has evolved to allow men and women the same rights in marriage. There is a legal presumption regarding the rights of married couples to act financial and medically for each other. In theory, this should apply to SSM now. BUT – what happens when the judaeo/christian underpinnings of marriage being a union between two individuals (man and woman) is removed? What is the new legal principle courts and legislators can use to replace this? We will now have to have a flurry of legislation (probably speedily drafted, poorly thought out and executed and confusing caselaw) and people actually harmed financially, physically, and emotionally (not that there haven’t been changes in law before that had to evolve through caselaw).

    For example, if the social, historical, and legal history of marriage is no longer a union of two people (man and woman), what right does society have to place any restrictions of who/what may form a marriage union? I’m not going to go into someone marrying their dog but I can envision a man with multiple wives. Are all these people financially responsible for each other’s debts, contracting capabilities and liabilities, etc? What about medical decisions in emergency situations. A man is injured in a car wreck and five wives show up, each with a different opinion on what emergency treatment to provide. Who does the hospital recognize as having authority? In these types of marriages, wives don’t tend to be of equal level in decision-making and value. How do we deal with unequal partners in these types of marriages? Doesn’t this violate equal protection? In the confusing situation above, I can see the “state” making the medical decision. Yeah, one more thing the “state” decides for us.

    Now, instead of us having a full-throated discussion, with thoughtful consideration and public comment and input, we have social engineering by a select few. In theory the court is supposed to rule based on what is legal as enumerated in our constitution and not the effect of its ruling – it is up to the legislature to fix an unconstitutional law (or not). But the court has made it very clear that their legal principles and reasoning change on a whim based on whether they like a law or not. A sad and scary day for us all. As a kid I remember reading “It Can’t happen Here”, “Brave New World”, and “The Handmaid’s Tale.” Funny, the writers had the wrong bad guys – Big Brother is a member of the Democratic/Progressive family. Thank goodness my school also had us read “Harrison Bergeron” and “Anthem” (although I fear stories and books like that are now banned).

    • DeniseVB says:

      Thank you. I love history, the law and our country. Most of the people who hate the Viet Nam Memorial (Baby Killers!), the Confederate Flag (Haters!), Motherhood and apple pie, also don’t make a peep about ISIS, who will keel you if you don’t agree with them.

      • left_VA_&_dems_for_TX says:

        Thanks DeniseVB. Probono my husband helped women from Darfur and other countries in Africa get asylum when their cases got hung up (women who suffered FGM among other atrocities). My kids played with their kids. One of the proudest moments I had as a parent was when my little girl read all the countries listed on the Iwo Jima Memorial and found the countries where these women fled from. She, as a little girl, got it. We talked about America being a force for good in this world – and what this has cost us. It is sad that the inteligencia don’t get it. The drumbeat of how crappy we are plays on while ISIS throws people off roofs.

    • swanspirit says:

      ^Absolutely this^ and then some.

  31. Myiq2xu says:

    1 paragraph applauding gay marriage.

    15 paragraphs bashing Fox News, Christians, GOPers and conservatives.


  32. Dora says:

    Such tolerance! And dignity too. I’m impressed.

    Gawker Posts Profanity-Laden Tirade Against Same-Sex Marriage Opponents

    Gawker wrote a vulgar, profanity-laden tirade against same-sex marriage opponents. Then edited it down to just one swear word.


  33. Myiq2xu says:

    New thread up!

  34. left_VA_&_dems_for_TX says:

    For those thinking going after religious tax-exempt status is far-fetched I guess the Solicitor General was just making stuff up…


    • leslie says:

      And so . . . what is Roberts being threatened with?

    • 1539days says:

      The Catholic Churches in the US don’t exactly have a choice. Marriage ceremonies are authorized by the Pope.

      • left_VA_&_dems_for_TX says:

        Didn’t Liberation Theology start with the Catholic Church in Latin America and quickly migrate to South America? That’s some pretty scary stuff (bye-bye Democracy, hello Marxism). Where’s that new pope fella from? With some of the latest encyclicals, I’m thinking Rome’s a’changing. (Disclaimer – I’m not Catholic and don’t have a dog in this fight) We might even see our good friend Reverend Wright come out of retirement to give a speech there over the bones of St. Peter at the rate things are going. Maybe our President could headline the choir?

        • 1539days says:

          While Pope Francis is ethnically Italian, he was pretty much born and raised in Argentina. He is less traditional in policy terms, but he still opposes abortion and homosexual marriage, although he has written about not rejecting gay Catholics.

          My beef is the trend toward the Catholic Church for decades pushing for more cradle to grave socialism as a way to supplement their own charitable outreach. Obamanation pretty much shows what happens when government takes the place of everything else. You get their money and you play by their rules. The only reason some churches haven’t closed in the US is because of their tax-exempt status.

Comments are closed.