Friday Open Thread

Rick Perry is my #1 back-up choice.

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

99 Responses to Friday Open Thread

  1. Myiq2xu says:

    This year is like one long acid flashback. There is so much weird shit happening every day.

  2. Myiq2xu says:
  3. Myiq2xu says:
  4. Myiq2xu says:
  5. Myiq2xu says:
    • Myiq2xu says:

      Pension payments to Chicago public union employees have become so high that today all the property taxes paid by the households of Chicago go exclusively to pensions. The operating expenses are paid by additional taxes on things from packs of cigarettes, to gasoline, sales tax, and cable TV bills.

      • leslie says:

        Someone has to explain to me how, if pension funds are invested by a company like Fidelity or Edward Jones, and there is a return on the investments, how it is property taxes actually go toward those pensions.
        Sales taxes in C(r)ook county have increased to 10.25%. Now everyone has to pay more for everything. I imagine the black market (Is that r@cist of me?) will just get larger in Chicago with that increase. I’ll probably shop in Lake or DuPage county where the sales tax is lower.
        I have a good friend who lives in Lake county. Maybe I can have my online purchases delivered to her house so that my sales tax is based on that county rather than Cook.

        • 49erDweet says:

          That’s for private pensions. The REAL kind. Government, being so much smarter than private industry, delays funding “investments” bc that would seriously increase projects’ immediate costs – and probably lower “favorables”. If you run g’ment you don’t want decreased favorables bc elections, etc., matter. So “never fail to put off until the very last moment” that which can be paid by others, later…… even if it costs a lot more.

  6. swanspirit says:

    What is the point of asking if PP does some good? That is like asking if the torture and eugenics Josef Mengele practiced was worth some of the scientific results. And how many people realize eugenics started here in the US,and was very popular on college campuses and in California?

    During the Progressive Era of the late 19th and early 20th century, eugenics was considered[by whom?] a method of preserving and improving the dominant groups in the population; it is now generally associated with racist and nativist elements[citation needed] (as the movement was to some extent a reaction to a change in emigration from Europe) rather than scientific genetics.

    Isn’t that special? The Progressives practiced eugenics. Seems they are still practicing.

    • SHV says:

      And The Progressive Sanger’s “Negro Project”;

      “From 1939 to 1942 Sanger was an honorary delegate of the Birth Control Federation of America, which included a supervisory role—alongside Mary Lasker and Clarence Gamble—in the Negro Project, an effort to deliver birth control to poor black people.[100] Sanger wanted the Negro Project to include black ministers in leadership roles, but other supervisors did not. To emphasize the benefits of involving black community leaders, she wrote to Gamble “we do not want word to go out that we want to exterminate the Negro population and the minister is the man who can straighten out that idea if it ever occurs to any of their more rebellious members.”

  7. leslie says:

    OT~ I started watching “Orphan Black” last night. Does anyone watch that series? I had heard about it before, but since it is a sci-fi series, I took little interest in it. (please be kind) But my neighbor (see next paragraph) sent me a link to a New Yorker article that was amusing and the program was mentioned in it so I thought I’d give it a try.
    This neighbor, who lives across the hall from me, called me Wednesday evening and from the way she was speaking I knew something was wrong. She’d had a stroke and still had the strength to call me and ask for a ride to the hospital. Anyway, I spent much of the night on Wednesday at the ER with her. Yesterday I took care of some cleaning up in her apartment and also took some personal items to her in the hospital. They are running tests today and so I don’t know when she’ll be coming home, but she has only one elderly cousin here, and a couple of cousins who live pretty far from here. So when she returns home, I may be the one who checks in on her daily until whenever. Lucky thing I retired when I did. But this whole situation reminds me about the relative isolation of being a single person “of a certain age” and the risks of living alone. Geez, I hope if anything like this ever happens to me, that my son will at least pick up the phone.

  8. Dora says:

    Quite a rant from Megyn Kelly. I didn’t know she had it in her.

    The Confederate Flag Needs To Be Raised, Not Lowered

  9. Dora says:

    And here is an excellent history lesson from Walter Williams on the same subject. How can we ever stop fighting the WBTS if we don’t even understand what it was about?

    Historical Ignorance

    The real historical significance of the war between the states.

  10. helenk3 says:

    I will be among the missing for about a week. beginning my move to West Florida to a house with a screened in pool

  11. DeniseVB says:

    I like all the candidates on the GOP side, and Jim Webb on the Dem’s. It’s still so early to pay attention to the polls (if they can be trusted) and why I think it’s STUPID for Fox to pick the debaters based on polling numbers. Rick Perry, Carly, Jindahl, maybe even Cruz may not make the cut, and that would be a shame.

    Change the format ! Let Frank Luntz put them all up on the risers, like he does with his focus groups, then hold a Q&A. Then let us vote online, the top ten go on to a real debate. 🙂

    • Lulu says:

      That is too reasonable a suggestion. How they gonna promote the Jebster if rigged polls can’t be used. Also Jeb! is changing his rhetoric re: acts of love. “he conceded entirely that Trump has a point in what he’s been saying and doing—completely backing down from his previous criticisms of Trump’s comments. Bush said:
      People are deeply disaffected. They’re angry. They see the country kind of moving away from its foundational principles. They see the rule of law not being applied.”

      • DeniseVB says:

        Yep, that’s the new GOPe talking point …. “people are angry and why Trump rose rapidly to the top”. The worse thing the GOP field should do is attack DT and his supporters. It’s backfired on all of them. If ya can’t handle The Donald then how are you going to handle Putin and Iran ? 😉

      • 49erDweet says:

        Jeb. Truly a candidate for all positions in all parties. WCPGW?

    • leslie says:

      That is such a good idea. Why don’t you send it to FOX. Maybe tweet it to Luntz or every talking head there. I’d like that myself. Especially since the ones I’m most interested in may not even be included.

    • AFVet says:

      I wonder how much influence Karl Rove has on the format.
      I think that there should be two debates, not one with ten people.
      I like your idea with Luntz, but not the candidates.
      Rinse and press should get out of the way, he never has impressed me.

    • Myiq2xu says:

      Have they considered the optics of eliminating Carly, Carson, Rubio, Jindal and/or Cruz?

      • Myiq2xu says:

        They could eliminate Rubio or Cruz, as long as they keep the other, but Carly, Jindal and Carson have to be in. That means no more than 6 OWG’s.


        • AFVet says:

          I’ll take six.
          Far more conceivable than ten, or 15.
          ? Carly
          ? Cruz
          ? Jindal

          I would like to see the inaction between Trump and Fiorina.
          The interaction between Walker and Jindal.

          I will be stocked up that night no matter who steps up on the stage
          I just hope the moderator doesn’t piss me off..

  12. Dora says:

    Oh Wow! Mr. Klein is getting serious!

    Time to Arrest Hillary

    Clinton’s secret arms dealing — and how it led to disaster in Libya.

  13. Dora says:

    It looks like Hillary has found an issue to run on. BTW it was Pres GHW Bush who signed the appropriations bill for the Human Genome Project. Hillary neglects to mention that, which is pretty sleazy.

    Hillary Clinton sounds the alarm on meteorites

    • Somebody says:

      Well since Obama destroyed NASA that is going to be a little tough to do. Perhaps she can combine missions and have the Muslims NASA is now tasked with reaching out to map the meteorites and asteroids.

  14. Myiq2xu says:

    Friday Facepalm:

  15. DeniseVB says:

    HOLY SH*T …. I just got this update from Redstate.

    Still looking for a chance to attend the biggest conservative event of the summer?
    We’re currently offering the RedState Gathering Party Pass – a chance to attend our RedState Tailgate at the College Football Hall of Fame with Donald J. Trump!
    Don’t miss out on your chance to celebrate with us August 6th the 9th in Atlanta – we can’t wait to see you there!

    I already have the all event pass which includes the Tailgate Party which sold out last month. Funny that Trump’s got his own event instead of with the regular line up of speakers ?

  16. Myiq2xu says:
  17. Myiq2xu says:
    • DeniseVB says:

      Have you been following #NN15 on twitter? All I’ve read about is Warren and Sanders, nothing (yet) about O’Malley, Hillary or Webb? Chaffee? I think there’s five? This should have been a BFD for the candidates like it was in ’07.

  18. Myiq2xu says:
    • Lulu says:

      I have met Rick Perry in person. He is astonishing good looking, personable AND dumb. He is not a bad guy. Would he pick a fight with a wildcat and loose? Why yes. Yes he would. Because….dumb. Texas is a weak governor state. All the real power belongs to the Lt Gov and the state leg.

      • leslie says:

        I’ve always thought of him as a hunk who couldn’t think his way out of a room. Thanks for the validation.

      • DeniseVB says:

        That explains GWB then🙂 I like Rick too and Texas has thrived under both of them.

      • 1539days says:

        The LT has more power than the governor? One of the problems I have with Perry is that he’s just a little too corrupt. He passed an HPV vaccine for teens and then the (conservative) media found out he had a relative who would benefit from the program.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Why hasn’t the Texas border been secured? And McCain called Trump supporters “crazies”. How should the pushback be, uhm, PC worded ? In my little head, I keep going back to the Trumpism “I’m not beholding to any donors by returning favors, the others are”.

  19. Myiq2xu says:

    • swanspirit says:

      Goddess that was delightful. Absolutely refreshing. Destructfully delicious!

      • leslie says:

        Fiorina is so smart and shuts down the not-so-smart so graciously and with such style and intelligence. That was wonderful.

    • angienc says:

      Psst: “Climate change” fanatics, here’s a pro-tip for you: science doesn’t require a consensus, it is self-proving/independently verifiable. So stop repeating that phrase ad naseum to defend your pseudo-religion.

  20. Dora says:

    White House Refuses To Condemn Planned Parenthood Selling Baby Body Parts For Research…

    Hell would freeze over before Obama would criticize Planned Parenthood.

  21. Myiq2xu says:

    Read this whole thread:

  22. Myiq2xu says:

    This is for the Trumpettes:

    • mothy67 says:

      Not sure what a Trumpette is. I love The Donald because he is saying what I have been screaming at the TV for years. I am sick of cute little stories about life of the little people. I am sick of lawyer speak. I can see all of Donalds flaws myself do not need an assist from Katie Cowlick. I am quite brash in person. I like that Trump is a dude. Abrasive brutal. No metrosexual touchy feely guy. My kid goes to school with this boy they are 8/9. Kid is fucked up. Both parents are shrinks and the boy cannot breath. He is afraid to exist. Reminds me of the other Republican candidates. So afraid to say anything. Held hostage. Along comes Donald. He makes me laugh good God the way he goes after Jeb and Hillary.Macy’s, comcast. He has no boundaries. Buck up folks you want to be leader of the free world you better be able to stomach him. He’s not nice. Who gives a shit.
      Almost 9 years and I have never raised my voice to the kid(partly because me trying to be mad makes me laugh) Not once has she ever gotten in any trouble of any kind. Shrinks kid is selling his meds. He is 9 and a drug dealer. We were at the pool and after the au pair left mommy showed up. What the fuck is an au pair. It’s a nanny or a babysitter. Mommy was so impressed her brat was well behaved. She said what did you do. I said I didn’t talk to him like he was an idiot. I was calling her an idiot and she said I’ll have to think about that technique. WTF? Technique? I said keep it up kids I will shut this pool down and make you all listen to every boring story from my life and I have 48 years of them. Threats of me regurgitating my life is a far better deterrent than a switch or a time out. Funny thing when I was laying down the law the kid smiled. He never smiles he has to think through every emotion.
      Anyhow he reminds me of the candidates. Afraid of having an opinion or a thought. Donald is like that Roseanne episode when she looks in on her kids and said I understand why some eat their own. Anyone with half a brain cell could hear she said I love my kids. Gross word over used. I had a therapist tell me I was afraid of it as she was hugging her receptionist and saying I love you. Toss off I am an asshole Irish Catholic. Disdain is endearment. Yeah sure I politely wait for the ladies to peruse a cocktail menu before I scream pint and a bourbon back(aware its supposed to be the other way around but if you’ve ever been in a pub with an English socialite you want bourbon)
      Again no one was saying anything until Donald did. We have all been aching for it.

  23. DeniseVB says:

    Oh My …. So Huffpo dumped Trump from it’s “politics” coverage and moved him to “entertainment” because he’s a clown show or something. I thought to myself, how stupid, nobody reads political news….😛

  24. Myiq2xu says:

  25. Myiq2xu says:
    • NewOrleans says:

      She’s an admitted child molester. She abused a child for her own amusement/entertainment. She’s not going to spend one second worrying about cruelty to children. To her, they’re Sisters in Arms.

  26. Myiq2xu says:
  27. mothy67 says:

    I was listening to Amazon radio as I worked backwards on the posts Guess Who I heard? Yep you got it Guess Who. She’s Come Undone. I had not heard that song in 30 plus years. Very sad. I read the Wally Lamb novel but never grasped the meaning of the song. I can remember being with my grandmothers 14th husband in a lemon yellow chevelle my feet not yet touching the floor an am radio and singing along window rolled down sour apple gum in my mouth.

  28. DeniseVB says:

    No surprise here:

    • Lulu says:

      It is becoming all too obvious that Trump and his employees (lead by his example) are not only quicker witted, they simply outwork the pampered, slow, and dumb media and professional party hacks. The political parties (both of them) and the media are getting out hustled. Badly.

    • swanspirit says:

      Glorified blog ! bwaaahhhaaahhhhaaahhhaaahhaaahhhaaahhhaaahhaaah

      • angienc says:

        2nd runner up is “the <b money-losing Huffington Post” bwahahahahahahahahahaha!!

  29. Myiq2xu says:

  30. mothy67 says:

    I have had Trump in my life forever and a day. He is Wollman rink. He’s also a bit old school. He saw what the press did to Sarah. Guy like him does not forgive and forget.

  31. Dora says:

    Some of you might be living on Obama’s land. 😦

    Obama’s HUGE New Land Grab

Comments are closed.