Scammer Alert


My mom got a call today from some guy with a strong East Indian accent who was calling from a blocked number and said he was from Windows Tech Support. He told her that hackers had tried to access her computer and wanted to something something something. He gave her a number he said she could call to verify he was for real.

I don’t know exactly where he was going with his scam because she hung up on him like I had told her to do. I googled the number and it is associated with a number of scams over the past few years. Then I googled “windows tech support scam” and discovered numerous articles.


Someone tried a different scam on our friend Helen recently but she didn’t fall for it. Unfortunately, lots of people do fall for these scams, and for various reasons the cops aren’t particularly interested in doing anything about it.

A simple policy is to screen calls and don’t call back anyone you don’t know. If a stranger calls the odds are it’s a telemarketer, a bill collector or a scammer.

Don’t be a victim!

This is an open thread.

PS: I had two teeth pulled today. The vicoden and beer are just starting to kick in.

Well hello handsome!

Well hello handsome!

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Scammer Alert

  1. DeniseVB says:

    Trust nobdy online, on the phone….just hang up. Good for mom!

    When my husband was in Denver recently, our credit card co. called to verify a purchase. I missed the called but called him to say our Nanny Card peeps are worried, call them (# on back of card). Later he let me know, no problem, they were just worried about a $175 liquor store purchase he made in Aurora. Yeah, he was with son. USAA hates when we travel, but that’s our fault since we just stay home most of the year charging groceries-gas-kmart stuff.

  2. 49erDweet says:

    I think this scam has me on speed dial. Sometimes I play along with them – irking my wife – pretending as if I don’t understand which switch or button or whatever to pull, push, rotate or operate. It’s so much fun because their English isn’t really English and……….. Anyway, it’s a scam that I can’t quite figure out unless they’re trying to get hold of my master computer upon which I’ve stored all the secrets of the Universe. Maybe that’s it. But these scammers say they’re from “microsoft” so I always close out by telling them my other, REAL computer, is an Apple. Fun.

  3. 49erDweet says:

    For crying out loud, Klown. I thought your probation officer said you HAD to wear pants when you posted?

    • piper says:

      We’ll have to set up a go fund button for him. Kalifornia has enough problems with bridge collapses, fires, auto accidents and criminal activity without naked clowns running around backyards.

  4. votermom says:

    Oooh two teeth pulled.
    Don’t suck on any straws or anything. Enjoy the vicodin.

  5. smile says:

    I have noticed with scammers and telemarketers lately, they don’t introduce themselves. When you answer the phone “hello”, they will just say “hello” back, and keep quiet or keep saying “hello”, “hello”, “hello”. At this point I hang up. That Microsoft scammer with the Indian accent does this a lot. Really, who calls someone, and just says “hello”. Common custom / courtesy is to introduce yourself. I also hang up if after I answer the phone, there is no one saying anything then it is some auto dialed telemarketer usually.

  6. Dora says:

    Can you believe this?

    Obama Administration Strips Requirement to Defend The United States From Citizenship Oath

  7. Dora says:

    Robots will be marching toward NY when they see all these job openings. 🙂

    Tech Company Develops Robots to Replace $15 /Hr Workers – Can Produce 1 Burger Every 10 Seconds

    On Wednesday Governor Cuomo’s New York Wage Board set a new minimum wage for New York City’s 200,000 fast food workers.

  8. Dora says:

    Allen West EXPLODES over Iran deal, OBLITERATES Obama in FIERY Times Square speech

    Oh my. This is the best I’ve heard Allen West in a long time and it was as good as I’ve ever heard him. He ripped Obama to shreds over the Iran deal and I don’t think anyone could have done it better.


Comments are closed.