One Of These Things Is Not Like The Others


Just a short one cuz I’m still recoopin’ and these vicoden make me fuzzy.


The rise of Black Lives Matter has presented opportunities for Clinton and her opponents, who are seeking to energize black voters to build on the multiethnic coalitions that twice elected Barack Obama. But the candidates have struggled to tap into a movement that has proved unpredictable and fiercely independent. It is a largely organic web of young African American activists — many of them unbound by partisan allegiances and largely un­affiliated with establishment groups such as the NAACP that typically forge close ties with Democrats.

Led by several dozen core activists, many of whom voted for the first time in 2008, Black Lives Matter has organized protests — at times drawing hundreds of participants — in more than two dozen cities and colleges. Many of the movement’s leading activists are among Twitter’s most influential users — with the ability to pump messages out to hundreds of thousands of people, often prompting topics to trend nationwide.

At times, they have pressured media outlets to cover stories surrounding race and justice, and they have leveled sharp critiques of politicians and celebrities that often go viral. In one such instance, activists blasted Clinton when she appeared at a black church near Ferguson last month and said that “all lives matter” — a phrase that struck the demonstrators as dismissive of the unique discrimination against African Americans by law enforcement officers.

The activists say they are ready to make their voices heard in the presidential race. Although they are pressuring candidates to talk more about police brutality, they say they intend to carve out a broader agenda encompassing other issues relating to systemic racism.

“If you are running to be the leader of the free world, it is your responsibility to seize the opportunity that the protest movement has created,” said Brittany Packnett, 30, a St. Louis-based activist who serves on a White House task force formed after the Ferguson protests to study policing issues.

The Obama years have seen the emergence/birth of three separate political movements – the Tea Party, Occupy Wall Street, and Black Lives Matter. Of the three, the media has depicted two positively and one negatively.

The Tea Party has been depicted as a bunch of angry anti-government racist loons who are hellbent on restoring Jim Crow. They are considered dangerous radicals. But so far there hasn’t been a single Tea Party riot. They have managed to elect a few new members of Congress by challenging GOP incumbents.

Occupy Wall Street was depicted as a bunch of idealistic social justice activists who were challenging income inequality and corporatism. There were numerous confrontations between the police and OWS, and to the best of my knowledge they haven’t elected anyone to anything.

Now we have Black Lives Matter. Like OWS they are getting mostly positive treatment from the mainstream media. Like OWS they are a left-wing movement. The Tea Party leaned to the right.

Can you see where I’m going with this? I hope so because it’s 2:30 am and I’m too groggy to go any farther.

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

96 Responses to One Of These Things Is Not Like The Others

  1. Myiq2xu says:

    Okay, I’m back. For a little while anyway.

    I was wanting to do a more thorough compare/contrast between the three groups, including their grassroots vs. astroturf nature. The TP was definitely the most grassroots despite its early astroturf beginnings. The GOPE hates the TP more than the Democrats do. OWS and BLM would not exist without Democrat establishment money and support.

    Last but not least I wanted to close by mentioning PUMA – the only 100% authentic grassroots movement from start to finish since the Hippies.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I met a lot of “PUMA” peeps at those early tea party rallies. Myself included.

      • leslie says:

        I never attended a Tea Party rally. I don’t know if there were any in Chicago. But I did attend an OWS demonstration. Some of those people were well meaning and invested in challenging the status quo re: corporations and employment. Some others were mean-spirited, self centered, and ageists – and those were the (“we have no”) leaders. I was challenged by one of said leaders because I was “past my shelf life” and still employed and, no doubt, going to be taking out more Social Security than this loon would ever see. It didn’t matter that NO ONE in that particular group would ever have done the work I did. AND I wouldn’t collect SS because my job didn’t pay into SS. NO. I was over the hill and taking “his” job. When I asked about his work history, guess what – He. Had. None. He was at least 30 yrs old. NO. Work. History. If I had offered him my job, he wouldn’t have taken it because a job wasn’t really his goal.

        • Myiq2xu says:

          Every movement of any size will have some crooks and kooks along with some sincere believers. The real question is which one of those three groups is running the show.

        • DeniseVB says:

          My experience with OWS was watching the NYPD clear Zuccotti Park while on my way to visit the 9-11 Memorial. Awhile later, we tried to grab a burger at Burger King but couldn’t get in the door because it was so jammed with kids trying to use the bathroom for their baths. Didn’t see one person at the counter ordering. We moved on…..

    • elliesmom says:

      While the Left has been politically intimidated by the Tea Party, despite all of the rhetoric, I don’t think they ever felt personally threatened by them. But both the OWS crowd and the BLM crowd have done things that have caused people bodily harm and have been destructive of personal property. There’s a fear factor there that turns people off. Who wants to give political and governmental control to someone who says he wants to harm you and burn your house or building down? MLK was largely successful because he stressed peaceful protest. So when violence did break out and it was directed at his people instead of by his people, and the public sympathy was with him. Likewise, the LGBT community was gaining a lot of support for their cause until they turned on bakers. Now the support seems to be stalling out a bit. Americans are usually on the side of the underdog until the dog bites.

  2. DeniseVB says:

    Trump’s tour of the border has been cancelled by the ….. AFL-CIO ? Don’t they realize that will make more fuel for the Trumpnado than letting him have a look see?

  3. Myiq2xu says:
  4. Myiq2xu says:

    “Cuckservative” originated at Stormfront.

  5. Myiq2xu says:
  6. Myiq2xu says:


    Quote of the Day I

    The organizers of Free Pride Glasgow in Scotland have hit a snag in their mission to plan a totally inclusive event: Some activists think drag queens are offensive to transgender people, others think banning drag queens is offensive to transgender drag queens, and still others think allowing only transgender drag queens is offensive to cisgender [straight] drag queens.

    The sad part is that thanks to the media I now mostly understand this sentence despite having negative interest in the subject. Sort of like my osmosis-based yet scarily detailed Kardashian knowledge.

    Remember when we were happily ignorant of all things Kardashian?

    • Myiq2xu says:

      Now that gay marriage and other LGBT rights are becoming reality don’t be surprised to see that coalition fracture. When the were forced to live underground they were natural allies. But gay men, lesbians, transvestites and transsexuals don’t really have much in common. When it comes to identity politics they all have different identities.

      I expect many of them to join the GOP as fiscal conservatives.

      • Mary says:

        Well said. Many of them ARE fiscal conservatives……the old Blue Dogs that the Obama-ites ran out of the Democratic Party.

    • Myiq2xu says:

      If Muslims want sharia-compliant mortgages they need to go to Muslim banks.

    • 1539days says:

      Plus, they’re hypocrites. No one in their right mind would offer a loan for free. What they do is fix the interest rate (no adjustable mortgage) add the total interest over the life of the loan to the “real” loan and call it Sharia compliant.

  7. AFVet says:

    This guy should be Sec. of Defense.
    Lt. Col. Allen West speaking in New York.

  8. Myiq2xu says:

    The Irony: Global Warming Research Team Iced In In the Hudson Bay

    A carefully planned, 115-day scientific expedition on board the floating research vessel, the CCGS Amundsen, has been derailed as the icebreaker was called to help resupply ships navigate heavy ice in Hudson Bay.

    “Obviously it has a large impact on us,” says Martin Fortier, executive director of ArcticNet, which coordinates research on the vessel. “It’s a frustrating situation.”

    …Johnny Leclair, assistant commissioner for the Coast Guard, said Tuesday conditions in the area are the worst he’s seen in 20 years.

  9. Dora says:

    Psst, Let’s Not Mention Detroit! Hillary Clinton: Michigan Is A Great Example Of “Coordinated Commitment From Government And Business”

    Spoiler: Government & Business in Michigan are by and large dead broke

  10. Myiq2xu says:

  11. Myiq2xu says:

  12. leslie says:

    I’m listening to the Iran Nuclear Agreement Senate Hearing on CSPAN3. Kerry is a liar. plain and simple. Rubio is asking questions based on what the terms of the agreement (that Congress is allowed to see) and Kerry is blatantly misrepresenting or misinterpreting these terms.
    And now, he’s blaming BUSH.

    • leslie says:

      And he is raising his voice to a level that indicates to me that says (to me) that he is trying to sell his lies and will force them on the committee if they continue to oppose them.

    • leslie says:

      Senator Menendez is now using Kerry’s own words (from years ago when Kerry was the chairman of the committee) against acceptance of this agreement.

    • leslie says:

      So far, I have heard no support for this Iran Nuclear Agreement from any of the committee members. But, to be fair, I have not heard all of them speak. Corker, Rubio, Menendez, Johnson have all confronted Kerry and Moniz (Sec of Energy) about various points of this agreement as well as past agreements and policies.
      Again, I haven’t heard them all. And I would think there are some members who will kiss ass during these hearings.

  13. lyn says:

    Gowdy is awesome.

  14. Dora says:

    Texas Challenges Federal Reserve – Launches Gold-Backed Bank

    In a move to bypass the unconstitutional fiat system of the privately-owned Federal Reserve, the State of Texas is establishing a gold-backed bank. Legislation signed into law by Texas Governor Greg Abbott establishes the Texas Bullion Depository, which will allow anyone who wants to deposit and trade in precious metals the opportunity to do so, thus allowing them to retain the value of their money.

  15. Myiq2xu says:

    This is some fucked up shit:

  16. leslie says:

    Here is a link to investigation of Ms. Bland’s reported suicide. It is NBC and so I figured it would be more one-sided than it is. It contributes some support to the (my) theory that she may have accidentally completed a suicide attempt. There is a report that there were recent cuts to her arms which could indicate either a self-harming/self-soothing behavior or other past suicide acts. She had reported a past suicide attempt when she “lost a baby” by overdosing on pills.

    • Lulu says:

      “accidentally completed a suicide attempt”. That is what I thought too when it was described that she was not suspended from the ceiling but rather her feet were on the floor. She used the plastic bag to cut off her own air supply, passed out when it got stuck or went too far and then asphyxiated herself and died. She didn’t have any pills in jail. And she avoided punishment (not paying her fines in IL) which she was receiving sitting in jail. She had a long history of avoidance behavior. .

      • Myiq2xu says:

        As my crazy aunt would say, “She wasn’t a survivor type.”

      • leslie says:

        The radio report now says there was marijuana in her system (that could’ve been from who-knows-when) and the marks on her body are consistent with suicide. No defensive marks on her hands or other parts of her body. The family continues to assert that she would “never” have taken her own life. Of course that would mean if she did, they would have that in the back of their minds forever. That is a really tough thing to live with. It is always easier to blame someone else for this kind of sad event. Then there is the #BLM crew who are ready to pounce. So that makes it an even more tense and dismal situation.

      • leslie says:

        Lulu, I’m curious about your statement of Ms Bland having a long history of avoidance. I must have missed that in what I’ve read. Can you share your source? Thanks.

      • leslie says:

        I did find some references to her past legal and financial problems. so, no need to respond.

  17. Dora says:

    MSNBC Will Once Again Look Like NBC News As Sweeping Changes Are Expected

    More hard news, less liberal opinion.

  18. DeniseVB says:

    Just for grins thought I’d read OWS’ twitter feed to see what they’re up to. A lot of different stuff, seems their mad about everything, want to shut everything down, life shouldn’t be just about paying bills then dying. Adorable😉 They like Bernie, hate Trump, joined forces with black lives matter and just basically not a wit of sense in that feed.

  19. Myiq2xu says:
    • Lulu says:

      The donor class is shitting their pants. The peons are furious. 16 years of donor class flunkies. Shrub then Bronco! If they pull this crap Trump will be elected as third party just to spite the incompetent elites. We peons want better elites! These elites are CRAP! Give us non-stupid lazy butt elites!

      • DeniseVB says:

        Ok, Trump is not everyone’s cup of tea in that “he’s so abrasive” sort of way, but how many of us have been screaming about our craptastic political system, that gave us OBAMA for sh*t’s sake. Obama had never even run a lemonade stand. So I give Trump a pass on that he’s not qualified issue.

        While browsing the live feed on Trump’s border presser, I see this hot mess, Freedomworks, who took over the the Tea Party years ago to make them stronger. WTF:

  20. Dora says:

    The democrats found a new name for their dinner.

    Missouri Democrats Rename Annual Dinner After Racist KKK Member

  21. DeniseVB says:

    Well darn…Miss Bland was crying for help all along, though not sure why she lanquished in jail for 3 days before anyone noticed, like her FAMILY ?

    • piper says:

      So happy that Carly is in the race since she is articulate and can refute so many of the gotcha questions the media is flinging trying to trip up the candidates. Plus answer all the so-called allegations of the Republican war on women.

  22. Dora says:

    The last time states nullified the law, we had a war over it.

    Obama to veto bill stripping ‘sanctuary cities’ of federal funds

    • 1539days says:

      I’ve heard the people who say the only option for all the lawlessness is to not pass a budget. I suspect Obama will just drain the social security and federal pension funds and fly his kids to Spain if they did.

  23. Dora says:

    Hillary Stalking “Friend” For Dinner Date For Second Time In Two Days…

    No, means no! She just wouldn’t leave me alone!

      • mothy67 says:

        Thanks Leslie
        Sometimes I post a link from kindle and it works sometimes no. I use my desktop these days for work only. I do not understand why so many sites are not adjusting to the format of a tablet. Everytime I try to read twitchy I crash same with Breitbert. I look at the lonk now and bing a sesrch rather than get silk is not responding close all tabs. Ny times is even worse because the print is so tiny and does not allow you to magnify. They remind me of broadcast channels responding to netflix and cable. We we give you repeats and the same three shows and expect you to still watch.
        Everyone has a phone or tablet we peruse things online via these devices why are the smarties not aware? A USAToday is unreadable on my kindle. Ads everywhere and you cannot scroll as some ad pops up.

  24. Myiq2xu says:

    Oh crap! I agree with what Jeb! said.

    • mothy67 says:

      WHITE guy white guy. News keeps saying white guy. Never do they say a race unless it is a white guy. Whole thing is so sad but there is a perverse racism by saying white guy over and over again. No one yet knows why this monster acted as he did.
      I am one of those freaky people that would rather wait for a DVD before taking a child to a movie theater or a mall.

  25. And here it comes…from the NYT

    “Two inspectors general have asked the Justice Department to open a criminal investigation into whether Hillary Rodham Clinton mishandled sensitive government information on a private email account she used as secretary of state, senior government officials said Thursday.
    The request follows an assessment in a June 29 memo by the inspectors general for the State Department and the intelligence agencies that Mrs. Clinton’s private account contained “hundreds of potentially classified emails.”
    The Justice Department has not decided if it will open an investigation.”

  26. mothy67 says:

    Jus saying since the Aurota shooting I have not taken my turd to a movie. Call me paranoid but I have seen the gangs outsidde . I elect to not take that risk. Hillary calls me a racist because in July I see a bunch of black kids hanging out in hoodies and pants around their lower ass. FUCK off a hoodie is not black culture thing. Hillary can suck my @$@$ I did not no go into the establishment because there was a different pallor. I left because these punks were like little bitches spraying their territory. I did not leave because I was afraid I I left because a wolf pack does not dictate shit to me. O

  27. mothy67 says:

    I diid once upon a time consume 1.75 litres of vodka and try to drowm myself.Did you know you cannot drown yourself. You beg for air. Many years ago but my plan was to make it look like an acccident. I drank a bottld plus. Committed I was for seven weeks. I refused to say suicide was not an option. I loved thes staff and all the crazies but I was diagnosed with severe depression I left the place with less than 20 i bought a fifth and sent to sleep on my own in the woods. I did not have cash but I was so close to being broken. I havs had money and a big family. I was not able to accept my own money. I went to Harbor Light and asked for help. Guy at the counter could not read. I said I will teach him to read. I spent 90 days in rehab with a guy while twin brother had od the day before me met. He learned to read. I taught him. A lot more to the story. I feel the need to defend my self . I had insurance but i took libdrties yet give me some credit I taught a man to read.

    • mothy67 says:

      Well that is a big fat lie. I got 28 days on my insurance but I knew my reader for 6 months. He wanted to learn. Maybe a part of it was ltwin brother had od’d the night before . They were not going to let him in because he could not read. $uck my ass Al Sharpton I spent four hours everyday. Two half hours and two hours. MOther fletcher can read.
      He is now a hero. In the hood and everyone knows not to fuck with me. Seems kinda silly but when he got up and read the 12. Steps he ended it with do not fuck with my tim or I will kill you
      I am not a teacher. It was just easy for me. I could teach anyone to read. I never made a cent. 2008 came along and I was treated like I owed somethng.
      I quit. I was never apart of anything but I was sued. Dismissed but I had to pay my attorney. Cheaper to just eat 500 than go to court.

Comments are closed.