Thursday Open Thread – Chris Rock Edition

Because we need to keep reminding people how not to get arrested.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

113 Responses to Thursday Open Thread – Chris Rock Edition

  1. DeniseVB says:

    Lulu was my inspiration for this post, bringing this upstairs…..

    The Waller County Jail has released hours of video of Sandra Bland’s intake into the jail and bail hearing. Last week the dash cam sound and video of her being pulled over by a state trooper was released. I watched the long one in which she ran a stop sign from a side street into a major state highway. To say that this is very dangerous goes without saying. This is the highway from Austin to Houston so it is rather busy with pretty fast traffic. I also heard her immediately start switching and diverting from this dangerous illegal driving act by claiming she was pulled over for an illegal lane change when the cop pulled her over. The trooper never said this. She did. I was very impressed by how she could out of the clear blue come up with such a diversion to snow the cop and try to bully him. Anyway it didn’t work and she got hauled off to the pokey after a fight with a short Hispanic cop. He was a complete asshole but he won.

    At the jail she was treated as every other inmate. Probably better because she kept being allowed to use the phone. She used the phone before and after her bail hearing (which was the very next day on a Saturday) after being arrested late afternoon the day earlier. She got a $5000 bail for assaulting a public servant with 10% cash wanted by the bail bondsman. That is low bail for someone with her record I am told. Anyway she was put in a jail cell by herself with a group of women jailed across the way in another cell. She talked to them. She was increasingly upset because her calls were not getting through. Why was she put in a cell by herself? Because she fought a cop and they didn’t want her fighting anyone else would be the practical and sensible guess. Past behavior is a predictor of future behavior. If she beat up an inmate who pissed her off the jail would be liable for that.

    Some in the media are now realizing that her problem was not with the jail. It was with the people and her relationship with those who she expected to bail her out. This article continues the story that she was in jail for a lane change. She wasn’t. In a recorded phone call to a friend in Hempstead (that for some reason she expected to bail her out) she claims it was for a lane change. She was pulled over for running a stop and then arrested for kicking a DPS trooper while resisting arrest. That friend then turned his phone off as reported by the Houston media which he now regrets doing and claims he didn’t do it to stop her calling him. The jail house video: “It shows her alive, first in the long sundress that she was wearing in her car, and then in a jail-issued uniform, and it shows something else: that she made as many as seven calls, some of which were likely aimed at scaring up the money for her release. That video, too, will be hard to forget.” She made many calls from her jail cell, which had a phone, too. Why don’t you ask her family why they wouldn’t talk to her? Her family refused collect calls. The jail staff let her use their personal phones to try to call per the Houston media that you snots in NYC refuse to read so they can just make shit up to fit the narrative. If you can’t make bail don’t get yourself in jail. I’m not going into lit cigarettes, marijuana odors at traffic stops, and autopsies. The media will now try to go after the bail system which is based upon common law and the Eighth amendment. Bail ( before money it was surety, real estate, or hostages) have only been in effect for a few thousands years so let’s change what has worked pretty well because the media can’t understand the legal process.

    • Myiq2xu says:

      Generally speaking only special people get to have a cell to themselves. It either means they are afraid you’ll hurt someone in jail or that the other inmates will try to hurt you.

  2. DeniseVB says:

    Of course they are. (I despise trophy hunters who only kill for fun, but I despise this Obama Administration more) ….

    • leslie says:

      I think this (McCarthy) is one of the congress critters suggested to replace Boehner.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I do remember those photo ops with Obama signing stuff and all those veterans smiling behind him. I hear it’s even worse now. Wonder why those vets aren’t holding Obama’s feet to the fire ?

  3. leslie says:

    Denise, You should post this to twitter. I tried, but i don’t quite know how to post this type of effectively.

  4. Dora says:

    Here is a picture of Kerry at his daughter’s wedding. They all look just like one big happy family!

    Nuclear Conflict Of Interest – Best Man At Kerry Daughter’s Wedding To Iranian-American Was Son Of Top Iranian “Negotiator”

  5. Myiq2xu says:
    • lizzy says:

      I presume that according to Fournier Trump has at least a nodding acquaintance with the truth. With Obama if his mouth is moving you know he’s lying. Most of Trump’s statements sound pretty straight to me, but I don’t have the nice distinctions of jounralists.

  6. Dora says:

    I hope it comes to a theater near me.

    New Benghazi movie ’13 Hours’ has Hillary camp quaking; Dana Perino tells Megyn why

  7. elliesmom says:

    I am in search of some moral consistency on the left- It’s OK to kill 55 million unborn babies, but not one lion. It’s OK to sell aborted baby parts but not OK to disturb 400+ year old bones for archeological research. It’s OK to kill the most innocent of life or euthanize Grandma but morally reprehensible to sentence a serial killer or mass bomber to death. I don’t always agree with folks on the right, but they are just so much more consistent.

  8. Dora says:

    It’s getting hard to keep up with it all!

    Shocked face: Hillary helps out Swiss bank UBS and then UBS donates $600K to the Clinton Foundation, pays Bill $1.5M

    More problems for Hillary Clinton? Could be…

  9. DeniseVB says:


    • lyn says:

      Maybe the discount will be for this movie?

      • mothy67 says:

        Timing sure sucks for Hillary. Released right before first primary. Video will likely be released mid summer. So much for hoping Benghazi would be a dead issue by then. Also read D’Souza is going ahead with a doc on 2016 despite constrictions of mandated therapy and community service.

  10. helenk3 says:

    interesting. guess MTV does not like me

    • DeniseVB says:

      Obama doesn’t like it, threatens to veto. That was enough for the GOP leadership to can it. More useless than elephant sh*t !

      Why not bring it to a vote, if it passes, fine, let Obama veto it, at least it looks like they’re doing something.

  11. Myiq2xu says:


    • DeniseVB says:

      Good read ! #FirstWorldProblem, lol, even the Africans noticed that….. especially…..

      “Why are the Americans more concerned than us?” said Joseph Mabuwa, a 33-year-old father-of-two cleaning his car in the center of the capital. “We never hear them speak out when villagers are killed by lions and elephants in Hwange.”

  12. Myiq2xu says:
  13. Myiq2xu says:
  14. Myiq2xu says:
  15. Dora says:

    A lot more than Nixon’s 18 minute gap and look what happened to him!

    Hillary Must Explain Her 2-Month Email Gap

  16. Myiq2xu says:
  17. Myiq2xu says:
  18. Myiq2xu says:
  19. DeniseVB says:

  20. mothy67 says:

    This is probably a stupid question but does Planned Parenthood itself make donations to (D) candidates? If so the tax payer is essentially funding races. Should groups that receive grants be barred from giving? I believe churches are forbidden.

    • DeniseVB says:

      They have a politcial PAC and donate to Dems. One of the PP leaders’ daughter works for HRC’s campaign.

      • mothy67 says:

        Should groups that get government grants be barred from making political contributions? Does the Urban League? I don’t know if it would be fair to deny a voice but it makes no sense to give a group 500 million and have them launder the money back to candidates that support their agenda. Same standard should be applied to all groups getting aid or tax exempt status. SAG, NFL, The Academy, universities. If you want help should you have to remain apolitical? I think it is repulsive the NFL and The Academy of Motion Arts and whatever are tax exempt. Supporting the arts and physical education means to me allowing for a small theater not the Oscars.

        • 1539days says:

          I’m still wondering if this Stem Express place donates to PP. They make a shitload of money off dead babies and PP’s “transport fee” is only a fraction of it. You would think they’d want more of a kickback.

  21. DeniseVB says:

    Dear Lord …..

    • mothy67 says:

      Why is it so hard for the elitists to grasp Trump? I have been yelling at my tv for 16 years with zero results. I went from Hillary to Palin to hope in the new R majority to anguish as I watched how but a few stood up for those that elected them Mitch and Lindsay Lohan are complete jokes in my book. I was gunning for Walker or Cruz until the Donald showed up. I don’t think there is anyway to destroy the cesspool that DC has become without someone like Trump. Not only is he brash he has lived in the limelight for over 30 years. The media cannot define him on their terms. he is already out there. Palin was adored by the filthy rag new york times before being selected as running mate then they actively tried to destroy her. Feeble attempts to do the same to Trump. I still like Walker and with TPP reservations Cruz but I don’t think any of the others can handle the press like Donald. The press has become an enemy of truth and the American people. I am eagerly awaiting to hear when Trump reveals how he saved Wollman Rink in Central Park and the Carousal.
      I watched a few minutes of MSNBC bit about Cruz and they were going on about respect. What about respect for the American voter? I saw it on youtube because I blocked MSNBC and CNN in 2008. I used to be against boycotts but the left is rather deft at utilizing so I hope someone with some pull calls for blocking the channels. Comcast Time Warner At&T will realize the game has changed if enough people block. The cable rip off has to be magnified. I pay a dime a month to get channels I never watch. Oprah, Univision, logo, DIY( I do watch HGTV), CNN, MSNBC, WGN, TBS, USA. I would select sports, Fox news, HGTV, FX and AMC. USA is almost always a rerun of Law & Order SVU which are available on Netflix. Local channels are over the air. 15 dollar antenna. Hulu plus offers everything except CBS. Gee I would miss out on CSI Garbage Men and NCIS Poughkeepsie. Seriously when was the last time you watched MTV or VH1? You pay every month for them to be on.

    • 49erDweet says:

      Bless the huff’n puff post for their public spirit and jur-no-list-ic integrity in keeping US informed of pending disasters. What would we do without ’em? And barring a surprise video of the hair apparent personally swatting and mashing hummingbirds, the die is set IMO.

  22. 49erDweet says:

    Love that Chris Rock training video, but having problems with that not driving around with a mad woman thing…………………… just sayin’.

  23. foxyladi14 says:

    YAY!!!! Another great post by Denise, Thanks 😀

  24. Dora says:

    US Fish & Wildlife Service Investigating Killing Of Cecil The Lion

    The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service announced that the agency is investigating the killing of Cecil the Lion, saying it will “go where facts lead.”

  25. DeniseVB says:

    This is getting ridiculous, only because the WH has launched an “investigation” on Cecil…..

  26. Dora says:

    But that was years ago. What difference, at this point, does it make?

    Planned Parenthood Received Millions of Dollars After Lobbying Clinton’s State Department

    Planned Parenthood and international affiliates received more than $100 million from USAID

  27. helenk3 says:

    stolen from Marge

  28. Myiq2xu says:

    This is good stuff:

    The call for people to soberly “acknowledge” their White Privilege as a self-standing, totemic act is based on the same justification as acknowledging one’s fundamental sinfulness is as a Christian. One is born marked by original sin; to be white is to be born with the stain of unearned privilege.

    The proper response to original sin is to embrace the teachings of Jesus, although one will remain always a sinner nevertheless. The proper response to White Privilege is to embrace the teachings of—well, you can fill in the name or substitute others—with the understanding that you will always harbor the Privilege nevertheless. Note that many embrace the idea of inculcating white kids with their responsibility to acknowledge Privilege from as early an age as possible, in sessions starting as early as elementary school.

  29. votermom says:

  30. helenk3 says:

    speaking of Chris Rock, I am watching Lethal Weapon 4. When it was being filmed, I got to go down to one of the sets. the part where the bad guys get taken out by the train. should not have played on tracks. I had a lot of fun. got pictures and a hat that the film crew wear. sent them to my grandchildren. I had to get the engine crews for the scene. Told my bosses no lunch with Mel, no crew. No I did not have lunch with mel and they did get their crews.but I did get to go to the filming.

    • helenk3 says:

      sons and daughters are so different when it comes to their mother. My daughters are laughing with me and saying go for it mom on the lunch with mel thing. My son is MOM, he has 8 kids!!!!!!!!. I told him I did not plan to run away with him

      • Mt.Laurel says:

        This made me smile. When my father passed away, there were a couple widowers that took a shine to my mother. I thought it was cute. My brothers flipped out.

  31. Myiq2xu says:
  32. mothy67 says:

    Not sure if I will know anyone at the game but I have tickets for the Pirates/ Giants game in Pittsburgh on the 22 maybe 21st or 22nd. A Saturday. Sometimes because of my memberships to a few things I gain access because I see people at events that know me. Last time I went to PNC Park I was in the radio room(whatever you call it) and the locker room. I’d post pictures of the Giants if I knew how to post pics.
    Side note I have a few memberships to some cultural stuff. I have maintained them for more than 20 years. I get invited to everything. I did not join for the perks. I love the museum have since I was a kid. Not expensive. I save money by buying a membership. I get invited to everything. Two months ago there was a huge fund raiser at a hotel. Tickets were 2500 for the complete deal. I had gotten a call from some kid trying to sell me tickets. I was polite but told him he should cross me off his list. I got a voice mail three days later inviting me at no cost.
    At heart I am not unlike a whore. I always have my eye on how can this person help me with my brat’s college education. I am mentally ill she is 8 and I am working fat old people. I am a very sad person.

  33. helenk3 says:

    Report: Classified emails on former Secretary of State Hillary Clinton’s private server contain information from 5 intelligence agencies – @McClatchyDC

  34. smile says:

    MYIQ wrote: “Abortion needs to be treated with the same gravity as pulling the plug on someone in a permanent vegetative state. We don’t euthanize senior citizens just because they are unwanted.”
    This is very good comparison. Agree with you, myiq.

  35. mothy67 says:

    Question, my best friend from college had three abortions. She seemed to take it all in stride. Almost normal. No agony. She now has three kids. I wonder how she feels seeing these videos. She is now affluent and her kids go to a private school but I wonder if hearing this is a leg ever gets to her. These videos have become horror films. Micheal Myers and Freddy Kruger have nothing on a person picking up a baby part with tweezers. The people behind the videos seem very smart so I am convinced the worst is yet to come.. I also think they are really smart. They have given Nancy Pelosi room to hang herself.

  36. mothy67 says:

    Kids aree funny.
    Imp had a sleep over which involves creating a huge fort with blankets, chairs ans hair scrunchies. They wanted to watch The Fault in Our Stars. Pg13 I Said not unless your parents say it is okay. All parents agreed it is okay. Shay told her friemds it is a love story but it ia bit maudlin. My head almost broke off. How do you know what maudlin means you are 8 and how dare you use it correctly. SHe replied you know how you tell my garrulous nature drives you insane well buddy news flash you talk a lot and you use words I have to look up. For Christ’s sake I got slammed for not talking to her as if she was an idiot. Caring for a kid means never winning.

Comments are closed.