Open Thread – Happy August Edition

Gee, it was hot in 1966 too Global Warming Justice Warriors !  That is, the song was a hit then, the video from 1928.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

96 Responses to Open Thread – Happy August Edition

  1. DeniseVB says:

    Thought I’d crank up a fresh new open thread to celebrate the hottest month of the year in The Tidewater. Yeah, sometimes we welcome a gentle little hurricane to drive by the coast for the breeeze😀

  2. DeniseVB says:

    Only in Obama World. While we were mourning Cecil the Lion and sending a lynch mob after the dentist …….

  3. mothy67 says:

    I know I am a neurotic freak. I am great gay uncle to this child. I am confounded by how people treat kids like trash. I do have to look at my own history to grasp how and why I cherish this crud. I was 40 when she was born. I was so bored with myself. I had lived a life of self indulgence and I was bore by me. Little thing redefined me. I also because of her love my parents in a new way. I was their sick child that had open hearts and trachs. Then I was super hot(joking) but gay. My dad was a deacon. Gay not so much friendly in my home. I see how much they care for Shay and I melt. She is enrolled in the CLO my parents sit downtown for four hours while she goes to class. My dad has COPD but he coaches her softball team. Insane this child thrown away has straight A’s. An orange belt. Very funny. I leave heran SAT word every morning and for her allowance she has to write three sentences using the word. Everyday no matter the word she bashes me. I do not accept invitations to pity parties. Fuck that. She has a great gay uncle as her primary. So what. I yell brush your teeth like anyone else.
    PS by court order her father can see her 2 times a week. She has to have a cell phone and we have to be nearby. Today my mom waited for an hour and he did not show. Unbelievable what we have to go through to protect this child. He was ordered a psych eval but he refuses to comply. Court says he can see her but she has to have a cell phone and we need to be near. How insane is that?

  4. DeniseVB says:

    This is interesting. From the days of just making “birth control” legal. A little history of the PP, before they politicized my vagina. Before that, the Pope owned it (yeah, left The Church because of that “choice between saving the baby or the mother, save the baby” sh*t).

  5. Myiq2xu says:

    FYI: The score in now:

    Klown 4

    Possums 0

    • elliesmom says:

      We have one that comes up on our front porch and peeks in the window at us.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I’m, sadly, not on Team Klown for ya myiq, I like possums, especially the mom who comes by once a year with her babies riding on her back. We call her Cecilia….. /snork #FirstWorldProblems

      • Dora says:

        I believe you are the first person I ever heard say that. Good for you, I guess. The first time I saw a possum in my yard I was horrified. It looked like a raccoon with the face of a rat. When I noticed the babies hanging off, I almost screamed. Thank goodness they don’t come around that often. 🙂

        • elliesmom says:

          Possums are pretty passive. It’s where the phrase “playing possum” comes from. They rollover and play dead. Their internal body temperature is too low for them to incubate a lot of diseases, including rabies. So they may be ugly and get into trash cans and make messes, but they’re pretty harmless. They eat rodents and snakes. In the city they’re pretty good at garbage collection, and unlike skunks, if you leave them alone, they’ll leave you alone.

          • DeniseVB says:

            To be fair to myiq, we’re not in the killer ‘possum zone of the US. My “great white hunter” spouse won’t kill ’em unless they chew on our VerizonFios box outside. He leaves that to the red fox to keep them under control😉

        • DeniseVB says:

          I live in a lake community that has a tiny eco-system, so we enjoy the wildlife that pays us a visit as long as they don’t attack us and give us rabies🙂 We have a half acre lakefront lot, so far the only critters my husband kills are rats and starlings to protect our purple martin and bluebird colonies. Even I hate that he kills those. Possums are off his kill list for now. Other than being fugly, he seems not to have a problem with them.

      • Myiq2xu says:

        You can’t blame me for this one. It was unintentional/accidental/suicide.

        I usually leave the garage door open about 1 ft in hot weather for ventilation. Last night before I went to bed I closed the door. Apparently there was a possum hiding in my garage and he tried to make a break for it.

        He didn’t make it.

        I always make sure of where Teh Kittehs are before I close the door but I don’t check for wild animals.

  6. mothy67 says:

    Anyone heard anything about 5 dollar Friday? Seems it is a way to send Trump a message to keep going. Hell I am in for 5. The Iowa caucas is insane

    • DeniseVB says:

      Last I read/heard, Trump’s not “officially” fundraising but folks have sent him 1.5 million so far. He must have something set up to take grassroots cash, but he’s been adamant about not taking corporate checks since he doesn’t want to owe anyone a favor. Be careful of people asking for Trump donations, they may not be legit ?

      • mothy67 says:

        His website has a donate button. He has said I don’t need it but Iwill take it. I just want my voice heard. The Donald is as close as it gets. I have had so many arguments with party people where they tell me I do not understand– illegal immigration does not effect schools.Yeah sure because you use creative accounting I am stupid. Piss off.MY district hired ESL teachers but let go of two music teachers. Load of tosh.

        • 49erDweet says:

          In addition to the additional students-who-do-not-speak-English burden added to local schools, illegal immigrant families are mostly too rent-poor and multi-share housing, classifying each of those SWDNE as technically “homeless”, ringing yet another buzzer for federal subsidies and funds. Those who claim those children are no extra burden are liars. But ” Cecil” is more important .

          • 1539days says:

            Also creating flophouses in neighborhoods tends to destroy the property itself and lower the value of others.

          • 49erDweet says:

            Many, many other negative results. Google Aristeo Garcia-Padilla and Marcelino Garcia-Padilla. Both recently killed in a no-brainer veh accident due to inexperienced/unqualified driving. Early morn, only one other car on 4 lane rd – it was going other way – they hit it. Loss of life. SMH.

          • 49erDweet says:

            No adult in office seems to understand that providing resources and benefits is interpreted in the home country as “Invitation to Sneak In”.

  7. Dora says:

    Since babies in the womb have been in the news so much lately . . . .

    7 Things Babies Do in the Womb That’ll Blow Your Mind

  8. DeniseVB says:

    MOTUS !

    It’s where I go to be catty-licious and sip…..pina coladas

  9. foxyladi14 says:

    Happy August friends.
    Thanks for the fresh thread Denise. 😀

  10. DeniseVB says:

    I have no life, Part Groot 😉

    • Underwhelmed says:

      I love this so much. They based it on director James Gunn. Video’d him dancing when he didn’t think anyone was looking … hence the Simon Says moment!

  11. Dora says:

    So, the idea isn’t popular. But why are they taking such a poll in the first place? I still say that Obama is planting the seed. The media will continue talking this up and doing more polls, until the empty headed voters think it’s a good idea and start to support it. Just wait!

    Media Ignore Humiliating Poll for Obama; Only 30 Percent Support Third Term

    • Lulu says:

      Trump is even driving Obama’s poll numbers down. First Rubio, then Yeb!, now Bronco. It is the damnedest thing. It may meet the definition of a preference cascade which was used to recently to describe the major shift in defense of Confederate symbolism. I think it more closely describes the collapse of approval of Progressive politics AND corporate republicanism which is at least partially based on bullying and manufactured media approval. The collapse of both seems to be more closely in line with the fall of governments in eastern Europe post USSR.

  12. Dora says:

    Comrade Wilhelm vows to protect PP from extremists!

    De Blasio joins other top NYC elected officials to make videos supporting Planned Parenthood amid controversy

    • mothy67 says:

      Pelosi and DeBlasio are such idiots. The people spent years making these videos. I would lay money on the last one being the worst. Why would you make public statements before you know what is coming out. The ads write themselves. You cannot spin someone with tweezers picking up a baby limb.

  13. Dora says:

    I’m glad I was able to see it last night. It shone so brightly and looked so large that it actually hurt my eyes to stare at it. Well, it will be a while before we see it again. Leave it to Daily Mail to provide us with such gorgeous pictures. Thanks DM.

    Pictures this good only come round once in a blue moon: Glorious images of second full moon in a month which won’t happen again until 2018

    • leslie says:

      it was phenominal and brilliant !
      I was so happy to have been reminded to look heavenward. I was at my brother’s and I thought it was because there is a little less city light where he lives. But when I arrived home it was the same here! I am so lucky that my apartment faces the south and I had a perfect view even when I went to bed last night.

    • leslie says:

      Dora, Thank you for posting this. The photos were wonderful.

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      Thank you posting that link. My corner unit is be situated for sunrise viewing from the deck or windows. With Mom living with me I have found that I rarely have the opportunity to just go out and watch the night sky once I am inside for the evening. One thing I love about fall/winter is that I always get to watch the moon every night on my drive home from work.

  14. Myiq2xu says:

    I’ll be going over Klown Jr.’s in a bit to watch Rowdy Ronda open a can of Whoopass on some Brazilian chick. I don’t know how long I’ll be gone. RR’s last fight lasted 13 seconds.

  15. SHV says:

    “BREAKING NEWS: Memphis officer dies after traffic stop shooting..”

    • piper says:

      Sadly this administration has given the green light to murder cops and soldiers, and honors their killers instead of denouncing them.

    • Lulu says:

      If you are a cop or a member of the military you are not allowed to defend yourself. The loons need a place to kill. Or something. Because guns! Yesterday I saw a photo taken at a anti-gun rally. One guy had a “Guns Kill” placard and next to him was a chubby guy in overalls with a sign saying “My spoon made me fat!”.

  16. Dora says:

    Obama To Unveil Tough Emission Cuts As Part Of Climate Change Actions

    The cuts will be Obama’s toughest action yet to combat climate change.

    • Lulu says:

      More lawsuits. The EPA has started loosing the ones already winding through the court system. One of the last ones EPA lost said they HAVE to factor in the costs to the companies.

    • piper says:

      Does he want to siphon off more money for his cronies like Solyndra which was such a successful venture.

  17. DeniseVB says:

    Oh. My.

    • Lulu says:

      I don’t think Uncle Joe wants to or he would have already done it. The grandpas of fatherless children that I know cut back on their work hours to spend more time with kids before THEY kick the bucket too. Just saying. Who knows what Joe will do? And we already have a Uncle Joe type running called Trump. Uncle Joe vs The Donald. No.

      • piper says:

        Or he’s waiting until Hillary craters before throwing on his cape and flying in to rescue the Democrats. Putting on my beautiful tin foil hat, I think that Val Jar who hates Hillary has hatched a plan that propels Joe into first place using all their resources (media, internets, donor lists, etc.).

  18. Lulu says: This article is fascinating in a train wreck sort of way. I predict he has to sell the company to pay off his brother (30% silent partner) who he did not consult about paying everyone $70,000 a year. One of the interesting side effects is he has new business and needs new employees but he can’t add staff because the existing staff is already being paid too much to make the new staff hiring feasible. The comments are also interesting in the usual economic illiterate way seen in prog newspapers in that his heart and intent (emotion) is what matters not the execution or very possible failure.

    • I read that a couple of days ago. I also thought it was interesting that some of his top people quit because they thought it was unfair to pay unskilled people almost as much as them. Shades of John Galt.

      • Lulu says:

        Yeah. It was really interesting. New pay scales, performance bonuses, etc have to be done VERY carefully. I have the feeling that this CEO didn’t ask much advice from anyone. Especially his co-owner brother.

        • DeniseVB says:

          A leadership style similar to Obama ?😉

        • He did ask for advice from his pretty, 26 year old VP of marketing, Maisey something-or-ther, and she thought it was a good idea. But then she was one of the ones who quit. If I were in the industry, I would blacklist her.

          • 1539days says:

            Maisey was the financial planner and wasn’t sure it was a good idea. She suggested offering pay for longer terms of service. This guy sounds like someone who does whatever he feels like. These are the kinds of companies that end up on “The Profit” on CNBC.

            One thing the NYT didn’t mention is that if this company pays well above market rate, could’t another leaner company come in and charge lower fees to Gravity customers.

            I’d also like to know who cleans the toilets? Does he have a $70,000 a year janitor or does he pay for a service that employs minimum wage illegals?

      • elliesmom says:

        When I worked for a very large corporation, the entry level admin position was the receptionist at the front door. After a few months when an opening came up for an admin in one of the departments, the receptionist would get promoted, and a new receptionist would get hired. The HR manager decided the receptionist position should report to her. She decided she had the authority to adjust the salary upwards, which she did, but she didn’t change any of the job requirements. She wanted the job to stop being a revolving door so she wouldn’t have to train a new receptionist every few months. But the admins who had started out in that position realized their promotion out of that spot had become a demotion instead. They demanded a 10% raise over her new salary, which was the raise they had been given over her old salary.

        I worked for the VP of planning and operations, and he was responsible for the budget. If he had allowed the snowball to keep rolling, some of the admins would have been making more than some of the engineers. Who would have found out. . . While my side of planning and operations was about hardware and software, I was the VP’s sounding board on a lot of stuff. His solution was to move the current receptionist into a position commensurate with her new salary w/o any additional raise in pay. Then he set about hiring a new receptionist in at the old salary. One of the requirements for the position was she was not to be smart enough to be promotable. I know because he was out of town for a lot of the interviewing so I took over his round. When I reported back to him on the
        candidates, he asked me, “Which one was pretty, but dumb?” We settled on an attractive older woman with impeccable manners who couldn’t use a computer and had no desire to learn. Then he transferred the position to HR.

    • 1539days says:

      The poor don’t realize how little the middle class makes.

      • leslie says:

        So true.
        A few years ago a patient in a group I facilitated was facing a situation in which he needed more treatment, but the insurance company said “no”. and refused to pay for any more care. It was disgusting – but that’s a topic for another day. Anywhoo, he was talking about this problem in the group and another patient suddenly said that she, who was on Public Aid, could get all the treatment the doctors said she needed. She voiced shock thought that private insurance would deny treatment to anyone. She voiced gratitude for having the publicly funded insurance and said she realized how fortunate she was.

  19. DeniseVB says:

    R.I.P. Cilla Black

    • piper says:

      “Priscilla Maria Veronica White OBE (27 May 1943 – 2 August 2015), known by her stage name Cilla Black , was an English singer, actress, entertainer and media personality. Championed by The Beatles, she began her career as a singer in 1963, and her singles “Anyone Who Had a Heart” (1964) and “You’re My World” (1964) both reached number one. Black had eleven Top Ten hits on the British charts between 1964 and 1971. In May 2010 new research published by BBC Radio 2 showed that her version of “Anyone Who Had a Heart” was the UK’s biggest selling single by a female artist in the 1960s.[1] “You’re My World”” (From Wiki)

      RIP – another one of my generation singing in heaven now.

      • DeniseVB says:

        Thanks Piper, was trying to think of this song too.

      • DeniseVB says:

        I could see some younger singers (Taylor, Miley ?) doing Cilla’s songs, maybe GaGa with her strong voice (I’m still wowed by her Sound of Music at the Oscars!)

        • Dora says:

          Another sad day for the entertainment world. I always loved that song. Thanks for posting it.

          BTW – I have a couple of friends who saw Lady Gaga recently at Radio City where she performed with Tony Bennett. They are still talking bout the way she sang “La Vie en Rose”

          • leslie says:

            She got amazing reviews here, too, when they performed at Ravinia music festival. I couldn’t get tickets. only donors to the festival were able to get those tickets and they were here for 2 nights. Oh well, maybe next time.
            Tony Bennett used to sell out by himself, but not for the past couple of years. Since her Oscars performance, Lady Gaga made all the difference. They sold out before the tickets actually went on sale.

  20. DeniseVB says:

    Ouch, but true ….

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      I have seen a decided increase in marriages among the “power players” protégée and certain, shall we say, interest groups for the inside the beltway crowd. Arranged marriages that are basically money/power deals. Hence that tragedy of a wedding of horsey face and catsup queen’s daughter/step daughter.

      I have always felt that catsup queen married horsey face because she did not want to give up being part of the DC elite and go back to Pittsburgh and her condiments. She wanted to be FOTUS.

  21. Dora says:

    Wow! Mr. Zeleny is a real finance whiz! 🙂

    CNN Reporter: Clinton Tax Returns Prove ‘Dead Broke’ Comment Untrue

  22. Dora says:

    I think it’s because – whether you agree with him or not – you can be pretty sure that Bernie Sanders will say the same thing tomorrow as you heard him say today. That has become unique in politics.

    This has been the biggest surprise for the Democratic Party

  23. FYI…Conason & Lyons rewrote their seminal book for a new candidate. It’s free.

  24. DeniseVB says:


  25. swanspirit says:

    There is a BOUNTY on white folks, and nobody wants to discuss it, which is why I will.

    Go ahead with the calls of “Uncle Tom” and “Coon-ass nigga” and whatever else, as I don’t care what you call me. I know what I’m about to say is TRUTH!

    I will begin with the question,

    “Why are almost all asylum seekers people of color?”

    The Scandinavians are not looking for a new home. I don’t recall the last time a Swede was seeking asylum or amnesty, outside of Bjorn Borg leaving Sweden because he was tired of paying 70 percent income tax.

    The French are not. The British are not.

    Canada borders America, and outside of coming to America to get adequate health care, they aren’t sneaking across our border to “take the jobs Americans don’t want.”

    But plenty of Africans want OUT of The Motherland and from many African countries. One of my friends from Ethiopia told me that if America opens its borders, Africa will empty out. And it’s not just Africans, as plenty of Muslims are seeking asylum.

    They run from state to state within their desert wastelands, looking for a place to survive, yes, just survive. Many end up in America, living among the infidels who incidentally have built a great country where there is very little strife in comparison.

    So what’s up with the PEOPLE OF COLOR?! They can’t build great countries to which people want to immigrate? Back to that in a bit…

    In the U.S. we have a similar situation. We have black people trapped in “black neighborhoods” and like the Africans, they want OUT! Crime infested hellholes with the worst schools and the worst businesses, is what most black neighborhoods are.

    White Liberals NEVER want to live with black folks, unless the area is “gentrified.” Even Eminem, the blackest white guy ON THE PLANET would not DARE live in the HOOD!

    So all these bourgeois Leftist end up in the suburbs in beautiful, even gated communities, where few people of color live. If you ask the average black person surviving the gauntlet of ghetto life if he or she would like to move, and they would answer “HELL YES!” And they want to live where the white folks live.

    To live where the white folks live means you’ve made it!

    The same is true for the Africans and Middle Easterners (and everybody else for that matter) who make it to America. To get here means you’ve made it.

    The government hates that America is mostly white, because mostly white people means civility. The racist Left wants you to believe that white people are bad, when they know that African, Middle Eastern, and other “brown” countries are beyond deplorable. Mistreatment of women, mistreatment of gays, the wanton murder of their own people for no reason are standard. Archaic laws that shouldn’t be practiced anywhere in the world prevail there.
    You won’t find white people ANYWHERE fighting to get into Africa, the Middle East, Mexico, Central America, and so on.
    So if white people are so bad, why does everybody want to live with them? And if that’s not enough food for thought, try this. Pick your African, Middle Eastern or other “colored” country and tell me if you’d like that country to be the example for the world.

    Kevin Jackson The Blacksphere

  26. Dora says:

    How very fascist!

    Obama: If Congress Blocks My Iran Deal, I’ll Ignore The Law & Do It Anyway

  27. Myiq2xu says:

    Possum’s revenge: My garbage can area smells like John Wayne Gacy’s basement. I should have tossed the body over the fence into the creek.

    Garbage pickup is Thursday.

  28. Dora says:

    Sun Aug 02 2015 18:58:43 ET

    As media attention heats round the first Republican presidential debate in Ohio this week — Democrats are dodging a candidate showdown of their own!

    DNC Chair Debbie Wasserman Schultz promised voters a ‘competitive primary process’ and debates ‘would be an important part.’

    But little information is known.

    As the Clinton coronation continues to crumble, there is only vague chatter around the party about a forum in Iowa within the next few months.


    Going into first week of August, the Dem field is hardly settled.

    A late addition of VP Biden and wild-card Howard Schultz, CEO of STARBUCKS, would bring fresh drama.

    EDITOR’S NOTE: 6 millions viewers are expected to tune into FOXNEWS on Thursday for the stage-packed Republican gathering. Ironically, the same number of viewers that watched Trump ‘APPRENTICE’ finale earlier this year on NBC.


  29. elliesmom says:

    Taking the day off today. I’m picking up an IRL friend, and we’re driving to western MA to meet an online friend neither one of us has ever met. She’s from Montreal, and her family is camping at Lake George in NY. She’s sneaking away from all but one of her kids. Her daughter is making the drive with her. Looking to have some lunch and doing a little retail therapy. Every time I’ve done this I’ve had so much fun. It makes me wish we could have a Klown Klub meet-up.

Comments are closed.