A Note On Trumpmania And The Upcoming Elections

Donald Trump has some enthusiastic followers. I have noticed that some of the regulars here seem to like him as well. Fair enough. There is no ideological litmus test or candidate/party preference required to hang out in this dump.

Keeping in mind all the ugliness of the 2007-2008 Democratic primaries I want to make it very clear that Donald Trump supporters are welcome here at The Crawdad Hole. So are supporters of Hillary Clinton, Bernie Sanders, Ben Carson, Carly Fiorina, and all the other major and minor candidates.

TCH was founded as a place where people can agreeably disagree. We do not enforce uniformity of thought, but we do expect people to keep things reasonably civil. I do not want to moderate pie fights and flame wars. I don’t want to have to ban anyone either. Nor do I want to see people leaving because this place becomes unpleasant.

As set forth in our Blog Rules, “Anything you say may be mocked, jeered and/or disputed.” It also says “This is the blogosphere, not a hothouse for delicate flowers.” If I (or someone else) mocks and/or jeers your favorite candidate, don’t take it personal.

We’re all grown-ups here, so lets act like it. We all play the troll once in a while. Just don’t be a troll.

P.S. No racists allowed.

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

73 Responses to A Note On Trumpmania And The Upcoming Elections

  1. Myiq2xu says:
  2. Myiq2xu says:
    • 49erDweet says:

      Except it’s more spinning by the WaPo. Meh.

      • I’m not so sure it IS spinning. It makes sense for the Clintons to want him to run and in the way he has, and they are devious enough to manufacture that, even if only by stroking this lion’s pride. Remember, the Democrats will never again see the kind of AA turn out Obama achieved without an AA on the ticket. So what do you do when you have a razor-thin margin on the left? Prime another identity pump or 2. If they can snake together enough females and Hispanics, they can offset a 10 point depression in AA turn out, which alone would make the general election more competitive.

        To be clear, I’m not saying that’s the plan, but I am saying that given what I know about the Clinton’s strategies, it COULD be the plan.

        • 49erDweet says:

          I agree. And it concerns me. But things and motives evolve – ergo Benghazi – and lately most Clinton “plans” have seemed to somehow have backfired enough to bite them in their butts. Which would make me smile again.

  3. Myiq2xu says:

    As you may have gathered, I am not a big fan of The Donald. You are welcome to try to change my mind, but don’t get your hopes up.

    • Constance says:

      What I like about Trump is he is talking to American citizens. Both of the other parties are busy talking to non citizens and other countries. The Democrats want to apologize for America the Republican establishment is worried about east coast elitists not making the country work again for most of the citizens. I like Trump because he might be able to drive the Republicans to talk about Citizen problems, but Walker would be my choice at this time.

    • elliesmom says:

      I declared my support for Scott Walker early on. Nothing has happened yet to change my mind. I admire Carly Fiorina, and I’d like to see her pushed by the media more. From how she handled herself at HP, I know she puts what’s right ahead of what’s best for her personally. She’s just past 60, and she has more than just this election cycle to run. If one of the other Republicans showed interest in her as a running mate, that would put a positive tick on his card for me, but I’m not sure she’s ready for the top of the ticket yet. Politics hasn’t been very entertaining since Bill Clinton left office. Trump is entertaining. I’d rather not be put in the position of having to decide whether to vote for him or not, but if it looks like we’re going to hell in a handbasket either way, I’d probably vote for being entertained on the trip. The hardest decision for me would be between Trump and Biden. On entertainment grounds.

      • 1539days says:

        I think Ace of Spades blog called Fiorina the candidate that everyone wonders why she doesn’t have more support by the people who aren’t supporting her. I think Carly is good in interviews, but I like that Walker did things as a Republican governor that blunted the power of Democrats.

      • Myiq2xu says:

        I don’t consider being scared shitless for 4-8 years to be entertaining.

        • Myiq2xu says:

          The only upside to a Trump presidency I see is that Congress might actually start reasserting their prerogatives vis-à-vis the White House.

      • I also like Walker. My politics have still not changed since I reordered them as a PUMA. In the absence of fascism, I vote for the vag first. Unfortunately, the front running vag in this race on the Dem side is actually a demonstrable fascist, and her email scheme is exhibit A. That just ultimately broke the deal for me. No deal, Hill.

        So the next in line is the person with the fewest (or no) ties to the Ivy Leagues. Walker it is then. I also happen to like his politics and his character. And I love the effect he has on vile progs. That’s what you have to do today on the right; give up any pretense you’re going to get anything from the most ardent leftists, and cede that ground. Then court everybody else. Play defense and offense on that shit. Walker does both.

        • elliesmom says:

          All things being equal, I will always mark the box for the woman. I used to give a woman candidate a bigger edge than that. I don’t anymore. She doesn’t have to be a more perfect candidate than the guy she’s running against, but she has to be someone I would still vote for if she was a guy. I don’t think that’s setting the bar very high. But I wouldn’t vote for Hillary this time if she was a man so I won’t vote for because she’s a woman. Unfortunately, she’s the reason for my change of heart. Hillary cost Elizabeth Warren my vote not that it mattered.

        • Constance says:

          I too am down on the Ivy indoctrinated. And I don’t like being governed by east coast people because they have no understanding of the rest of the country. Like Christie for instance. He apparently says he would enforce federal cannabis laws in the states that legalized pot. Well the states that legalized pot did it through peoples initiatives (I guess that’s a foreign concept to east coasters). So supporters went around and gathered enough signatures to put the question of legalizing pot on the ballot and a big majority of The People voted for the idea. Now even those who didn’t vote for legal pot are getting addicted to the tax that is coming in and the tax savings from not putting pot heads in jail. If the Republican nominee goes around talking in such a east coast centric way he doesn’t have a chance in hell on the west coast.

    • I’m not a big fan either. I think he’s a rich NY bigot. End of story. I don’t like any of his ilk, and there are plenty of them.

    • leslie says:

      That is totally cool. (I’m certain my language could be updated, but this was amazing.)
      I’m sending this to my son who was awesome on skateboards when he was young. IT’s too bad our town had almost no place to explore skateboard possibilities or to allow talent to develop. The closest thing to a skateboard park was the north campus of Northwestern U. The university police were always nabbing the kids who were skating there.

  4. DeniseVB says:

    Game on ! Thank you myiq-sweetie. Downstairs you asked if Trumpmania reminds us of Obamamania ? No, not to me. I know you’re sick of hearing this, I was at that YearlyKos (before it became nutroots nation, Kos sold us out that year) thing in Chicago in Aug 2007, Obama was not “mania” at that point with the liberals.

    Why Redstate is so different this open election year, Trumpmania’s not even included on the speaker/breakout/panel schedule. They gave him a whole new forum at the College Football Hall of Fame Museum Tailgate Party.

    • piper says:

      So impressed that you’re going to Atlanta and blogging about the Red State gathering. Look forward to your reporting.

  5. piper says:

    Art or ????? (Please – do not affix this picture on the dungeon wall)
    Naked woman walks around NYC.

  6. DandyTIger says:

    Let the games begin. I for one have zero hope we can steer this ship of state away from disaster. So I’m in it for the fun at this point. And maybe the little bit of dark side in me wants utter chaos. That side secretly wants Trump or Sanders to win.

  7. Myiq2xu says:

  8. Myiq2xu says:

  9. Dora says:

    During the years I worked in NYC, my friends and I enjoyed skating in Central Park. We were disappointed when the ice rink closed for renovations. Although the city promised it would take 2 years, we knew better than that. The rink remained closed – 1 year, 2 years, on and on. When the rink had been closed down for 6 whole years, with no sign of progress, a man named Donald Trump approached Mayor Koch and asked to take on the job himself. He promised to pay for all renovations and have the ice rink completed in 3 months. The mayor reluctantly agreed. Sure enough – within 3 months time, the skating rink was opened again. I remember thinking how nice it would be if the government could work that efficiently. That was the first of many things he did to help the city and my admiration for him has grown with the years

    I’m not trying to change any minds about Donald Trump. I don’t really expect to. I am just explaining why I would vote for him. He really does ‘get the job done’.

    • leslie says:

      That is a really good story, Dora. Thank you for posting it. I can understand why you might feel the way you do.

    • Constance says:

      If Trump is the Republican nominee I will vote for him. I don’t like any of the Dems.

  10. Myiq2xu says:

    I can’t even.

    • leslie says:

      Reported to be the brightest of the bright. Editor of the Harvard Law Review. Associate professor at University of Chicago. . . does not mean it is the truth, either.

    • Myiq2xu says:

      • lizzy says:

        Deal just was not fated to be. Both sides hate it. Republicans don’t share POTUS imbecilic delusions.

  11. votermom says:

    I think Trump may be the candidate the GOP deserves. He’s a wrecking ball, and the corrupt uniparty needs destroying.

    • 49erDweet says:

      Yep! They sure don’t have the guts or integrity to clean up themselves. Good analogy. I reeeeeeeaaaaaaallllllllllllllly want congressional term limits.

  12. angienc says:

    This is election cycle is ALL about entertainment value to me.* The fact that Jeb! is running and actually being touted as a serious fucking candidate is laughable on its face. The fact that Hillary is running after a US Ambassador was MURDERED on her watch and she stood in front of his and 3 other murdered Americans’ caskets and lied that it was “all about a despicable video” and is being touted as a serious candidate is tragic. We’ve got the comedy and the tragedy right there. Why not add a court jester like Trump into the mix for breathtaking “what the hell is he going to do next” suspense?

    Shit — we elected a non-accomplished, divisive, lying fraud in 2008 because he was “cool” and had nice creases in his pants and in 2012 after 4 years of misery, the election was close enough for him to steal. This country doesn’t *want* a substantive candidate — it *wants* a celebrity-led 3-ring circus.

    I’ve learned to stop worrying and love the bomb.

    *Except for Carly — she’s really impressed me from what I’ve seen. I could totally get behind a ticket with her on it, in either spot.

    • lizzy says:

      I’m searching for Dr. Strangelove. Ride the bomb down waving the cowboy hat.

    • Lulu says:

      Yep. Totally agree. I watched one of the Fox shows last night and the idiot commentators “poo poo” faces were laughable. They have had to dial it back big time because the worse their sneering insults the higher Trump goes in the polls. They were trying to push Yeb! and Hillary. The marketing campaign of 2008 for Obama selling Chicago pay to play has come back to bite them in the ass. Mr Cool is being countered with fast talking, flash real estate, in your face, NYC bravado. The pendulum swings. HARD. And Trump is running against Obama. It is not often said but it is evident in everything being done on both sides, the media, and public opinion. It is pure reactive politics. The “poo poo” faces were up to the old “he has to come up with a program, a plan”, he can’t just be negative. Yes he can. He most certainly can. It is implied. “I’m going to undo all of Obama’s shit. Immediately with executive orders and Congress better hop.”

  13. angienc says:

    Dear Mr. Cohen:

    The “best negotiator in the history of the world” was the Dutch guy who bought Manhattan from the Indians for $24 (60 guilders) in goods.

    The SECOND best negotiator in the history of the world was Seward, who purchased Alaska from the Russians for $7.2 million (2 cents an acre).

    The THIRD best negotiator in the history of the world was Thomas Jefferson who purchased Louisiana from the French for $3,750,000 (3 cents an acre).


    • Lulu says:

      And Jefferson “poor mouthed” Napoleon. “We are a little, new, broke country. We don’t have any money. Besides you don’t have enough troops or settlers to keep it. Take the money. It’s better than nothing.” Mexico didn’t learn that lesson and got zilch for Texas (and other southwest territory) but got a couple of wars to make them shut the fuck up.

  14. mothy67 says:

    I am loving Trump because he is giving them something to talk about. Should he get the nom I will vote for him. Ditto for Cruz, Walker, Fiorini, Kasich. I like Carson the man(what I know of him) the rest of the lot I am sitting home for the first time.

    • NewOrleans says:


      I’ve despised Trump since the ’80s. That he is now on the top of my list shows how disgusted I am with the choices available and with the status quo. This country needs a wake-up call and he might just be the one to do it.

      I listen to the other sleepy-eyed bores talking about ‘leading the fight’ and blah blah blah and I want to put my foot through the TV.

    • votermom says:

      Rotherham. Again. They must really hate kids there.

    • angienc says:

      I’m not so sure the being gay or the race has anything to do with it. This kind of thing has happened to straight couples who adopted children of the same race as they.

      I understand a father has rights too — but there needs to be a less than 1 year time limit on how long he can come back and reassert rights even if he wasn’t aware of the child’s existence at the time of birth. Ripping a child aware from the only family he/she has known for more than 2 years is not only cruel to the adoptive parents (of whatever sexual orientation) but inhumane to the child.

      • Lulu says:

        And the child is not even going to him! He could have just asked for visitation which is the same as he gets with his sister. How much child support is he going to pay his sister? If nothing go away. Parental rights should not mean that you get to choose who to hand the kid off to.

  15. wailuagirl says:

    Excellent post and video.
    Wake me up when the election is over and little o is gone.

  16. Dora says:

    O’Malley Blasts Democrats for Limiting Debates

    Democratic presidential candidate Martin O’Malley is blasting his party for limiting the number of presidential debates. It’s been reported that the Democrats are planning to hold only six debates in the entire primary.


  17. Dora says:

    Drudge has this headline in red, bold caps!

    FBI investigation of Hillary’s emails is ‘criminal probe’


    • Lulu says:

      So the Clintons’ knew this was coming. Bill nudging Trump to distract, sow confusion, and scare the hell out of Dems and especially Republicans (and the media) may not be so far off. I doubt he thought it would work this well though.

Comments are closed.