I Hate It When I Agree With John Cole


Even a blind acorn finds a squirrel once in a while:

If I disagree with your tactics, it does not mean:

1.) I think you are the enemy.
2.) I think your cause is not just.
3.) I disagree with your cause.
4.) I don’t agree with you that your cause needs to be addressed and am telling you to shut up.
5.) I think you are being hysterical or overwrought or don’t have a reason to be livid and scared and desperate for real action.
6.) I think you are an agent provocateur, a Hillary/Bernie/GOP/Pentaverate plant.
7.) I will no longer support you or your cause.
8.) I am personally mad at you or think you are evil or stupid or am talking down to you and being condescending (although if I am condescending to you, it’s because I am a condescending prick to everyone, so maybe just ignore that last part).
9.) I am intolerant and hate x, y, and z.
10.) I may not change my mind later and agree you were right to do what you did.

It just means that I disagree with your tactics. That is all.

When I first got interested in politics there wasn’t an internet. There was no Facebook, no Twitter, no blogs. They didn’t even have AOL chat rooms yet.

Unless you worked for the media or were an author you had to argue politics in person. The same thing goes for religion, sex and sports. I don’t mean you stood up on a podium and gave speeches. You just talked to people. Real people.

For most of us that meant having conversations with friends, relatives, co-workers, neighbors, fellow students, church members, other club members, and the other people at the bar. If you get in an argument with a co-worker about the upcoming election neither one of you quits your job. At least we didn’t back then.

If you were a Democrat and your neighbor was a Republican you didn’t move to another neighborhood. We disagreed but we got along. Mostly.

These days we have all kids of social media and yet we act far less sociable. What? You don’t agree with me on abortion? Unfriended! Blocked! Don’t ever darken my twitterfeed again you hater!

This shit is really getting out of hand. It seems like every election I lose a bunch of friends. Sometimes between elections. I’m really getting sick of it.

Can’t we all just get along?


About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

121 Responses to I Hate It When I Agree With John Cole

  1. mothy67 says:

    I am confused. I Love This blog. Yet I read comments about Donald that are so 2008′ HE is an asshole. So am I. The mediais a collective pig. He had to make his first blow mean something. Who gives a rats ass if he attacks Rachal Madccow . Answer nobody. I beg all of you step away and look at what he is doing. I get many of you want someone else. I ask dorsn’t Trump provide room for Walker or Cruz. Jeb would be annointed if not for Trump. Megyn is a big girl if she cannot handle an obnoxious tweet well never mind she handled it well. I brg you all to look at what Trump did anew. Media is the enemy.

    • votermom says:

      I AM loving it that a gigantic blowhard like Trump is making the media heads explode and has the GOP squishes like Priebus and Jeb peeing in their pants. I want to see him continue doing it.
      Without someone like Trump, going through the motions of another boring primary will get the GOP where it usually ends up – with an establishment pick that will lose unless his last name is Bush. So to heck with that. Repeating the same process expecting a different result is stupid.
      Will Trump win the nomination – I doubt it. But right now he’s reminding the people in power that the “unwashed masses” are restless and angry and I think there’s enormous value in that.

  2. votermom says:

    I am too cynical and apathetic now to believe in any of the people running. I hope I do not lose any friends. I am trying not to engage anyone on twitter on the Trump – Megyn -Erickson affair because I do see both sides, and many people are in a fan – anti-fan headspace right now (to borrow a kpop term). Although sometimes I can’t help snarking when the urge is great.

    • elliesmom says:

      As I said on an earlier post, Trump’s comments to Megyn Kelly didn’t even register on my Richter scale. TBH I didn’t even make the menstrual connection until people insisted that’s what he meant. Maybe he did. Maybe he didn’t. I’m not engaging in the fight, either.

      I don’t want Trump to go away. At least not yet. On a list of all of the people I don’t to be POTUS, he’s there, but not at the top of the list. There are other people officially running who are higher up than he is. I’m not worried about his sucking the all of the air out of the room and leaving other Republican candidates gasping for breath. He’s not sucking up a lot of cash. I think it’s pretty clear a lot of the Republican establishment are behind Jeb Bush. Some in the media are pushing him, too. I can only guess they think a Clinton/Bush matchup would be good fodder. While some pundits think Trump is choking out other candidates and only Bush will be left standing, I hopefully disagree. I think Trump is the only thing standing between Bush and the nomination. Trump’s position in the polls is the biggest message there will be no popular support for Jeb Bush. There is no other candidate whose personality is strong enough to present the “We’re mad as hell, and we aren’t going to take it” for us. If his popularity convinces the GOP Bush needs to go home, we’ll owe the man a debt of gratitude. Then we can afford to get behind someone we would like to see elected POTUS.

      • 1539days says:

        But how is he standing between Bush and the nomination? The only way he is is if Trump actually gets the nomination. That won’t happen unless he gets 50+% of the delegates because a floor right would unite every other delegate away from Trump.

        • elliesmom says:

          I think he’s standing between Bush and the nomination because his impressive standing in the polls is keeping Bush’s campaign from getting any momentum. Those of us who don’t want Bush to become the nominee are all over the place with the other candidates. All of us together are larger than the “Push Bush” crowd, but we don’t have the clout they do. While Trump is in the limelight, Bush isn’t. As the campaign moves forward, the “Not Trump/Not Bush” candidate who manages to acquire enough support financially and at the polls will be better able to take on Bush after Trump bows out. While there appears to be a lot of support for Trump, I don’t think most of his “supporters” actually want him to be POTUS. While Trump is on the stage, they get to see the other candidates, and Bush is just one of a big crowd. Without the distraction of Trump, Bush becomes as inevitable as Hillary.

      • foxyladi14 says:


  3. mothy67 says:

    As an example of how twisted the media has become zoe Tur ina tweet threatrned to. Curb stomp Shapiro of Breitbart News. Curb stomping involves placing a persons head on a curb and stomping on it. He threatened violence on air. Gets away with grabbing him by the neck and saying he will go home in an ambulance. Imagine the hell if a straight white guy did the same thing. Trump sees the bias and is not playing. For gods sake watch CNN about Plaaned Abortionhood. They say everytime heavily edited. The press is vile. Sad it was Megyn but I think trump had to say fuck you. I beg remember the family vacation with a dog on the roof. So much press. Obama ate a dog. Trump will not be played. I like him so much more because he will not be held hostage. Remember what the New York Times did to Palin.h

    • Constance says:

      Trump owns what he says. I like that. Just because someone says a few things that are not PC doesn’t make him an evil reject. Liberal/Progressivisim is a religion, that is why they only want to be around people like themselves. They are afraid the “other” is the evil devil.
      I like that Trump talks to citizens. Nearly every one else is talking to illegal immigrants, other countries or Ivy indoctrinated elitists. Sure I’m not going to vote for Trump. But the only reason any of those establishment twits are talking at you and me is because Trump is shaking them up.
      Who cares if Trump was talking about menstrual blood (I thought he meant bloody nose as a fighting reference). Women have periods, we aren’t like men and we don’t want to be, even though we love men, get over it media.
      You know I cut the cable cord and now have only an antenna and Roku. I don’t miss it a bit. Although I think $1.99 is too much to pay for one episode of Ancient Aliens. So I’m going to the Library to check out a whole season for free. Problem solved. Media sucks.

      • 1539days says:

        Isn’t every episode of Ancient Aliens basically the same?

        • Not exactly. That crazy guy loses a little more hair with every episode, so there’s that.

        • Constance says:

          Most TV shows are pretty repetitive. I love Giorgio so I basically don’t care if every show is the same I guess I could just watch the same one over and over. Giorgio is just such an “out of the box” thinker and I love a good theory. I’m also thinking of adopting his hair style, I mean why battle with rowdy hair? just say to hell with it, add some gel and call it a new style.

          • Haha! Post a pic if you do!! LOL

            My hubby loves ancient aliens, too, Constance. And JFK conspiracy theories, and Aztec calendar CTs, and Masons stuff, and Illuminati. I razz him about it gently, because I love him, and because he will let me watch 12 episodes of Orange is the New Black or House of Cards in a row without bitching.

      • AFVet says:

        Consider what Mark Levin has to say about the issue.

        • 1539days says:

          I’m not crazy about his premise. Fox News is about the most fair venue the Republicans are going to get for a debate. You can argue that their questions contained cheap shots, but talking about “our primary” and “our candidates” implies that the RNC only wants debates run by their own hand-picked people.

          I am fully on board with teaching a lesson to ABC or CNN for wildly biased debate moderation, but it’s just not possible to cut off debate everywhere without it hurting name recognition.

          • Constance says:

            I agree with Levin, Megan’s question was crap. But that’s what you get with media. They have a “woman’s question” and it’s always about abortion/birth control or someone not being PC around women. Never a real issue like women’s employment or the economy.

          • 1539days says:

            Levin needs to suck it up. What does he think will happen during the general election? Does he want the Republican nominee to refuse all debates? Trump supporters and other conservatives are making this out to be another Candy Crowley debate.

        • NewOrleans says:

          Thanks for posting this clip, AFVet!

          I had already heard Brande Roderick take up for Donald regarding the ‘on your knees’ comment, but actually hearing the original Apprentice clip shows what a giant nothingburger it really was.

        • OMG, does he have to yell? I turned it off. I’m not listening to anyone who has to yell to get their point across.

      • lizzy says:

        I understood that Trump’s original reference to eye blood was also to male moderators but the lying media plays s short version of the clip. So that part probably wasn’t to monthly blood. I can’t sit through a whole debate but I’m appreciative that Trump brings issues important to citizens into the debate . The moderators have no business injecting their politics into the debates. Praaise from Murdoch makes me a tad suspisious of their fairness.

    • piper says:

      The NYT was able to do because McCain and his team allowed it keeping her on a short leash. Everyone knew including McCain that the fix was in for bronco. Reading Palin’s history shows that she was and is a fighter and could have easily taken on the NYT and other media. The GOP is still afraid of her today and tries to muzzle her.

  4. Myiq2xu says:
  5. Myiq2xu says:

    COMEDY GOLD: Bernie Sanders Seattle Event Shut Down by #BlackLivesMatter

      • Myiq2xu says:

        My favorite part:

        According to The Hill, one of the activists identified herself as Marissa Johnson, told the crowd they were racist progressives.

        “I was going to tell Bernie how racist this city is — with all of its progressives — but you’ve already done that for me. Thank you,” she said. “If you care about Black Lives Matter, as you say you do, you will hold Bernie Sanders specifically accountable for his actions.”

        She said that after being confronted by activists at Netroots Nation, Sanders has “yet to put out a criminal justice reform package like O’Malley did.”

        The activists also spoke about local inequalities, including disparities in schools and gentrification. They then asked for a moment of silence to commemorate the one-year anniversary of the death of unarmed black teen Mike Brown at the hands of Ferguson police officer Darren Wilson.

        • elliesmom says:

          Most liberal, progressive cities are racist. They all have “black neighborhoods”.

          • leslie says:

            And sometimes those “neighborhoods” have huge crime problems. Yesterday there was a(nother) shooting. When the news reporter said he could not determine what the reason for the killings were, I automatically responded “BlackLivesMatter” to the radio. It fit perfectly.
            But Rahm and McCarthy have this under control… just ask them.

          • piper says:

            According to the historians and media, Milwaukee is the most segregated city in the country.

        • In the huge pie fight this second confrontation has caused, Feel-the-bern-ites are going off the chain. In Top of the Wreck list diary at DK (link in my comment later in this thread and 462 wrecks deep) they are surmising that BLM or BLM Seattle are either GOP plants of Hillary plants. Or maybe these two women aren’t even real BLM.

          A Bears fan (proving that most Leftists have a habit of championing losers) at DU has got the goods on Marissa Johnson, though. She’s part of an extremist black nationalist movement, part of an anarchist group, and “very young and new to activism of any kind.” The worst! These young’uns today…man.

          They are flipping the f*ck out! LOL

      • blowme0bama says:

        The naïve “do gooder” progressive seattlite woman repeating “how dare she call me a racist” got a cold shot of reality as to what progressive unicorn chasing has wrought. Delicious.

    • elliesmom says:

      If you wade through the comments at various prog sites, Bernie Sanders’ white supporters tend to think these protests by BLM aren’t real. Depending on how they also feel about Hillary Clinton, either she’s behind them or the Republicans are. While I’m not sure if these folks are being paid or not, I tend to believe if they are, it’s coming from folks who gain power and earn money from racial agitation. If the BLM folks were coming out in support of Hillary instead of Sanders, I might suspect she has her finger in the pie, but there’s no sign she has their support. I suspect one of the reasons she’s been so scarce and her public appearances so controlled is she’s afraid of a confrontation with them. There’s no sign the BLM folks are going to turn to the Republican party instead. So I ask myself if an agitated black community or a complacently Democratic one is better for the Republicans or the Democrats. Or is Bernie just choosing venues where the BLM group thinks it has an audience? For me, this is as entertaining as Trump.

      • 1539days says:

        Black people love the Clintons. Hillary was beating Obama among African Americans in early primaries until race hustlers started shaming them into voting Obama.

        • elliesmom says:

          While black people might have loved Hillary and Bill Clinton in the past, the race hustlers did their job painting them as racists, and it stuck. She will not have the kind of support from the African-American community Bill had unless the Obamas campaign for her and do it enthusiastically. I think the odds of that happening are pretty low. I made thousands of GOTV phone calls for Clinton in 2008. The venom from the Obama supporters who identified themselves as African-Americans to me was lethal. I don’t know how you walk that back entirely.

      • lyn says:

        Wow! Great comment.

    • Constance says:

      True Bernie did get shut down early in the evening when he was downtown but then he packed Hec Ed pavilion on the University of Washington campus in the evening. I had some cousins come into town to attend and the entire area was mobbed with Bernieites of all ages and they were really energetic.

      • elliesmom says:

        Bernie comes from a state where maple syrup, cheese, and tourism are the major industries. There are no big cities. The population is almost entirely white, and they believe the “Northern Kingdom” is the most blessed place in the United States. Crime is mostly teenagers joyriding on tractors and stealing chickens. If you’re tired and you want a quiet vacation, there is no better place, but bring a lot of money because everything is expensive. A dinner out I’d pay less than $20 for south of the border is $25 to $35 dollars there, but it will all be “locally grown and organic”. They can afford to send an idealist like Bernie to Washington because they live in the past and love it. Half the state doesn’t have reliable cell phone service. I love to visit Vermont. The word “quaint” comes to mind. I admire Bernie’s consistency, but I’m not sure he’s ever really experienced life as most of the country knows it, though. He’s obviously adverse to confrontation, and I don’t think I’d trust him to negotiate with anyone with a very strong personality.

        • leslie says:

          Your description of Vermont is spot on. My sister lives there and is happy (except for the cost of living). It is peaceful and rural and “quaint” and charming. the farmers’ markets have a somewhat magical aura to them. We picked the flowers for her Saturday afternoon wedding at the Saturday morning farmers’ market. Those vendors/farmers were delightful.
          but if we had purchased flowers for the wedding at a florist, we wouldn’t have been able to eat dinner that night – the dinner that cost a small fortune for the few of us who flew in (to other states’ airports) for the wedding. Her cell phone service is currently better than mine, but she can only get NPR on her radio and until recently had no tv reception because of mountains and the cellphone towers that dot those mountains and landscapes. BLM is not the issue – unemployment and the economy are. She loves Bernie and does not support Leahy. She loathes HRC and would rather die than support a GOP of any stripe.
          When I said that I voted for Nader (rather than Palin/McCain) she thought that was okay. But if I had said I had voted for the GOP ticket, it would’ve been the cause of a major breach in our relationship. She is pure VT.

        • lililam says:

          Actually, he’s originally from Brooklyn and he is very confrontational while debating in the senate. I won’t vote for him, though, because of his self-loathing stance on Israel, for one thing. I think he is enjoying all of the adulation, though, sans Blm ( I have a hard time not thinking bureau of land management when I see those letters).

          • elliesmom says:

            He’s been in Vermont since 1964. Whatever edge he may have had from growing up in Brooklyn is long gone. Vermont does that to you.😉

    • DandyTIger says:

      I love identity politics. It always ends the same way.

      • That’s what I was thinking as I scrolled through the Berageous comments from creative class whites at various progressive watering holes this morning. They were happy to oblige nostalgia for the 1960s when it served their purpose, but they forgot how that shit ended…in riots, drug-infested orgies, and The Silent Majority.

    • Mary says:

      Look at Sanders’ face—-not a happy camper. Did he think he was untouchable with these people?

    • DeniseVB says:

      This is just sad. Now wondering how serious Bernie is running ? With Hilz running as an incumbent, I heard a cray rumor, BLM is Hillary.

      Sorry, I’m a broken record, will msm ask these questions? Who are these people?

  6. mothy67 says:

    Egads part of rugrats birthday gift is a day at the amusement park tomorrow. I will be with my mom and four 9 year olds. No longer sell admission without rides. My mom is a billion years old so she gets a 9.99 ticket. I have to pay full price. 49.99 but 30 at the grocery store. I am screwed because I said I would. I am looking at a 400 dollar day. We all know I am nuts 400 in her college account. I am roped in. Food and games is what scares me. I hate being stingy but 7 dollars for funnel cake. Fried dough. 7x 4 is a million dollars. I can’t wait to see if any of the other parents send cash. I would never not give pup enough money to at least hail a cab. My Nanny(grandmother) gave me a 50 on my First Communion. She told me to spend it only if I really needed it and placed it under the sole of my sneakers. I am such a dork that same 50 goes everywhere with Shay. Not in a shoe as she has hundreds but folded in a locket. Monster also has an app on her phone that gives her 500. No she cannot spend any of it. Emergency only. I like knowing she has the security. Her best friends mother is to be kind vacant. She ran out of gas once and called me. Pup was not with her but she called me. I have only spoken with her on the level of food allergies. I put 20 in her tank over the phone. I’d say I was annoyed but I’d be lying. I did not care. I deal with so many parents I expect nothing. This woman showed up at the door with a coffee basket and 20 bucks. I said don’t be silly. She said she thought she could make it home but she ran out of gas and only had her daughters phone. Like everyone else she said I did not know my parents number. Was less than 24 hours when she paid me back. I seriously thought who gives a fuck about 20 dollars. I use a prepaid debit card from T-mobile so I wasn’t worried about security giving my info to a stranger.
    I was very impressed that she paid me back with a gift. I had a heroin ex brother in law heard all the stories. Young woman late twenties. I might kidnap her and lock her in my basement. SHe went on and on about how good a person my brat is. I live in fear. So afraid i am doing something wrong. I wish she had a better life. Real parents. I am her great gay uncle. I am terrified everday. Why do people want to have kids. I could not sleep when she was a baby I laid on the floot with my hand on her chest. I was so afraid of SIDS. Then it was corners. Now i hear at 9 she might have a period. NO NO NO NO NO NO NO. Please no. I cannot deal. So hard to protect he as a kid a young woman I think I should hang myself and leave her a guilt ridden letter. I am half kidding i do wanther to join a convent.
    I bought all these books on how to talk to a bleeding girl. I am an asshole. Hundreds of dollars I spent on these bullshit books. One said holdvher hands and look at her and say I love you. I am Irish Catholic every night i say ugh when i look at her. I say you make me hurl she says I love you too. I have no idea how i am going to deal with awakening. I thnk they should pass a law where 16 or 45 is of age. 9 years old. No stop. Unfair. This Nazi woman told me active girls hit pubery early. I am going to kill her disposal ideas. I will do any and all for my brat. I will buy everything. I am so afraid of her having a period. She still falls asleep on the sofa and asks me to carry her to bed. How why she is not yet 9 . I am going to discuss erections
    No thank you. Kill me.

    • votermom says:

      Have fun tomorrow! Where are you going – Hershey?

      • mothy67 says:

        Kennywood. Very old place. When i was a kid my great grandfather worked for the rail road. Once a year they held a picnic. Indie film called Adventureland was shot there. Two of my brothers worked there in high school. I was last there in 1982. Google tells me it is one of the best parks in the country. I grew up going there but over 30 years ago. This is me being dumb but I wish these places sold 500 dollar tickets. I am cheap but I hate wasting money. Dave and Busters s kiddy crack. Her birthday is Sept 1. HER birthday/christmas present is a year of tea kwon do, a year of classescat the CLO, a smart phone. She is such a good kid. Il am so cheap i did cash back for two weeks to put together a grand
        Think i am kidding calculate what it takes to take 4 girls to an amusements park. Thousand dollars is low end i am going tomorrow but can see no way i dont spend a grand.

  7. Jeffhas says:

    Whew! Thank goodness this blog is here to provide an oasis during the food fight.

    I don’t know if Trump can last or not, I don’t know if Cruz/Walker/Fiorina can pull off sleighing Jeb…. But I do know Jeb and Hillary are a guarantee of ‘more of the same’.

    While the Twitter blocks and unfollows escalate, I’m glad I can still come here, get an opinion, not take it personally, and give my own without anyone else taking it personally. THAT is how politics face to face was discussed in the past (for the most part). None of us really knows in the end which one of us will be right and most of the fun is watching and waiting to find out which one of us IS right.

    In the meantime, this election cycle has turned out to be utterly fascinating ! (So far).

    • piper says:

      Agree but don’t count Walker out. He may seen like a milquetoast but there strength behind the outward appearance. Winning in a blue union state with the media, unions, huge influx of money, bused in voters, investigations by powerful district attorneys against you is quite the achievement – 3 times in a state that went for Bronco.

    • Myiq2xu says:

      Trump will flame out, or he won’t. Maybe Jeb! will win the nomination. Maybe Bernie will beat Hillary. Who knows? What’s gonna happen is gonna happen.

      But none of us is going to cast the deciding vote. Nothing we say here is going to tip the scales one way or another. All of the regulars here are good people. We all want the same basic things (peace, prosperity, freedom). Where we disagree is on the best way to achieve them.

      At the end of the day we’re all Americans.

      (Except for Dandy Tiger)

    • DeniseVB says:

      TCH is like the comfort zone we never had at DK/DU way back then. It’s a good thing😀

  8. leslie says:

    I shudder when I hear the democrats, “war will be the consequence if we don’t support the Iran deal” BS. They continue to use the same tactics that I abhorred (and that they said they abhorred) in the past. They threaten us with war if we don’t do what they want. From Kerry to HRC to Sanders — it’s “all war all the time”. Isn’t this the same path GWB took? Isn’t that what the Democrats spoke against all those years ago?

    • blowme0bama says:

      Unfortunately, war is probably the only resolution to this stinking mess. Only now, its a question of whether the Iranians can run out the clock before an adult gets in a white house.

      • leslie says:

        Please tell me why you say this and where said war will be. Is Iran really going to risk its existence if the US says no? Are we to be looking skyward for planes dropping bombs? I admit to being dumb about this.

        • blowme0bama says:

          It will be, at a minimum, at the locations and bunkers in Iran where their nuclear facilities are located. If they develop a bomb and their ICBMs which this “agreement” allows them to have are capable of striking us, it will be here too. This “agreement” is merely a means of protecting the Iranians in their pursuit of a nuke. We’re going to have to deal with it. It has become so cliche’ now, but it truly is identical to Chamberlain & Ribbentrop: “You were given the choice between dishonor and war. You chose dishonor, and now you shall have war.”

    • 1539days says:

      Threatening dire consequences for non-compliance is extortion. Nowadays, we also call it terrorism.

  9. 1539days says:

    I’ve been watching Megyn Kelly talking about being sick right before the debate and taking some medicine for nausea. Does that mean she was drugged up and delirious when she was moderating?

    • leslie says:

      I, too, heard her say that she nearly missed the debate and that some physician gave her a medication that took care of nausea immediately before the debate. I missed everything between the first and the last part of the story. (I went into the kitchen at that time)

    • piper says:

      Nausea – bad food, pregnancy, chemo, a number of other medical reasons

    • NewOrleans says:

      On Friday, Howie Kurtz was on Fox talking about being backstage with the moderators right before the debate. He said Megyn was nervous about what the audience’s reaction would be to her ‘women’ question to Trump. She thought the audience might react negatively to her. He said she was also wondering how Trump would react. She expected him to say something back, but she didn’t know how much he would ‘lash out’. Whatever happened, Megyn told her two co-moderators, they were not to try and ‘save her.’ She would answer Trump directly. Howie said, in the end, Trump didn’t lash out as much as Megyn had expected (or had hoped).

      Megyn set it up so she could attack Trump and play the victim against the big, bad misogynist. She wanted a reaction – and she got exactly what she wanted. Unfortunately for her, of the 20,000+ messages on her Facebook page and the thousands of comments on Brietbart, Twitter, etc. in the hours after the debate, the reaction was overwhelmingly negative against her. Oops!

  10. Meh. It’s August, the dog days. Everybody is taking shit personally. This happens every August and every February. People are fatigued by the weather, and it causes them to tunnel-hole their vision and get into fights.

    Right now The Donald is making a big splash, but it could be worse. You could be in this pie fight, telling BLM activists on the anniversary of the Michael Brown shooting that they are getting you politically mugged because they think your knife is too small.

    • piper says:

      Agree – although I have never seen Donald as a credible candidate, I’m enjoying the food fights. Can’t wait for the Democrats to start their pie throwing – who will be up first in the ring – Joe, Hillary, Bernie, Jim, Lincoln, Martin, maybe we could ask John Edwards to plunge in with his 2 America theme.

    • 1539days says:

      I read about the pie fight. What’s hilarious is that every argument in that post about BLM is what people said about Occupy.

      • If it’s a particular rabbit hole you want to go down (and that’s a big if), I recommend checking out the resources page at http://outsideagitators206.org/.

        Coincidentally…/s/…their website looks exactly like an Occupy website, except the main complimentary color (to black / white /gray) is yellow.

        We have a lot of fun mocking SJWs and their evil twins, the anarchists, but they are organizing the crap out of the intertubes, and networking in person. I would love to get an inside line into the workshops so I could report on them. Project for the fall, I guess…

  11. mothy67 says:

    I have my own issues that made me hesitant to comment on Trump. I was 16 I Had to work I wasca dishwasher.Restaurant closed at 11 buses stopped at 1045. No biggie I walked home. One day I came home to a note from my mom. Can you buy me cigarettes..i was beaten so badly that now night. Five guys jumped out of an el camino pissed on me kicked me.everyone of them laughed as they took turns peeing on me. I know it was an el camino because I sawvthem jump out. I do have a hint of strength in me i got up covered in piss and bought my mom her Virgina Slims. I walked home alone drenched in piss put my moms smokes on the table walked outside kicked in a basement window and slept on cold cement. I would not hurt my parents. They are okay sort of with me being gay.

  12. mothy67 says:

    Wierd story I do not believe in folk lore.
    Years ago I was getting drunk on Chrismas dqy. New York 9th Avenue have fun. This very handsome man hit on me. No big deal it was Chtistmas. He kept it up. I knew he was wrong. I tried to ignore him. He grabbed me by the back of my hair and said you will always be alone faggot. Next day. I am walking to work and see his face wanted for attempted murder. He was also wanted in Atlanta for murder. I do not believe in hocus pocus but this guy sounded alarms.

  13. Dora says:

    Yesterday Hubby and I attended a family event in Wading River, a town on Long Island with a population of less then 6,000. As soon as we reached Riverhead – the county in which WR is located – we began seeing ‘Trump For President’ stickers pasted on stop signs, poles and other available spaces. At the family gathering several of my cousins were discussing all the latest about Trump and Megyn Kelly and most of their anger was directed towards her, as they praised him to the hilt.

    All that I’m saying is that there are plenty of people around who are discussing Trump in their private conversations and showing their support by putting up signs in their towns. This isn’t being mentioned on the news reports. But they are there. And as far as I can tell, they are serious.

  14. swanspirit says:

    I disagree. You are not a condescending a-hole. Yes of course John is, but not to everyone. He just uses that as an excuse for himself when he is oh so selectively condescending. Yes he is an a-hole pretty much most of the time.
    And if what he wrote were true about himself, his actions would match his words, but they don’t.

  15. Myiq2xu says:

    PRESS RELEASE: Black Lives Matter Seattle ‪#‎BowDownBernie‬ Action

    MEDIA CONTACTS: Marissa Johnson blacklivesmatterseattle@gmail.com

    Black Lives Matter Seattle organizers and supporters take over Bernie Sanders’ rally at Westlake on Saturday, August 8, 2015.

    Today BLM Seattle, with the support of other Black organizers and non-Black allies and accomplices, held Bernie Sanders publicly accountable for his lack of support for the Black Lives Matter movement and his blatantly silencing response to the ‪#‎SayHerName‬ ‪#‎IfIDieInPoliceCustody‬ action that took place at Netroots this year.

    Bernie’s arrival in Seattle is largely significant in the context of the state of emergency Black lives are in locally as well as across America. The Seattle Police Department has been under federal consent decree for the last three years and has been continually plagued by use-of-force violations and racist scandals amongst their rank and file. Seattle Mayor Ed Murray has refused to push any reform measures for police accountability, not even the numerous recommendations of his self-appointed Community Police Commission. The Seattle School District suspends Black students at a rate six times higher than their white counterparts, feeding Black children into the school-to-prison pipeline. King County has fought hard to push through a plan to build a $210 million new youth jail to imprison these children, amid intense community criticism and dissent. The Central District, a historically Black neighborhood in Seattle, has undergone rapid gentrification over the past few decades, with Black people being displaced from the only neighborhood that we could legally live in until just years ago. While white men profit off of the legalization of marijuana, our prisons are still filled with Black people who are over-incarcerated for drug offenses.

    This city is filled with white progressives, which is why Bernie Sanders’ camp was obviously expecting a friendly and consenting audience for today’s campaign visit. The problem with Sanders’, and with white Seattle progressives in general, is that they are utterly and totally useless (when not outright harmful) in terms of the fight for Black lives. While we are drowning in their liberal rhetoric, we have yet to see them support Black grassroots movements or take on any measure of risk and responsibility for ending the tyranny of white supremacy in our country and in our city. This willful passivity while claiming solidarity with the ‪#‎BlackLivesMatter‬ movement in an effort to be relevant is over. White progressive Seattle and Bernie Sanders cannot call themselves liberals while they participate in the racist system that claims Black lives. Bernie Sanders will not continue to call himself a man of the people, while ignoring the plight of Black people. Presidential candidates will not win Black votes without putting out an explicit criminal justice reform package. As was said at the Netroots action, presidential candidates should expect to be shut down and confronted every step along the way of this presidential campaign. Black people are in a state of emergency. Lines have been drawn in the sand. You are either fighting continuously and measurably to protect Black life in America, or you are a part of the white supremacist system that we will tear down in the liberation of our people.

    On this, nearly the one year anniversary of the ruthless murder of Mike Brown, we honor Black lives lost by doing the unthinkable, the unapologetic, and the unrespectable. Out of radical love for our Black brothers and sisters, we put our lives and our bodies on the line to testify to their persecution and resilience. We join together in Black love to #SayHerName and declare that #BlackLivesMatter, understanding that our love will disrupt the complicity and corruption of our anti-Black society; GOP, Democrat, and otherwise.

    There is no business as usual while Black lives are lost. We will ensure this by any means necessary.

    With the strength of our ancestors and for the future of our children,

    Black Lives Matter Seattle Co-Founders,

    Marissa Johnson and Mara Willaford.

    “Any means necessary”

    • Berners are fighting back by claiming #BowDownBernie is anti-Semitic. Shit is getting really real in comments as the day progresses.

      One Berner in a DK thread got so pissed off he actually said, ” I would love for one of these idiots to try to get this close to Hillary. They’d get shot by the Secret Service.” Which really kind of misses the entire point of BLM, but these idiots (including BLM activists) just kept right on arguing. I couldn’t believe it. Here you have a vile prog openly wishing for a black person to get shot by a LEO on DK, and nobody even noticed.

      • lyn says:

        That is funny and sick.

      • swanspirit says:

        They fail to notice black lives lost by the hands of other black shooters, just those by cops. They only notice what they choose to notice, and what serves their purpose.

        I have a strange notion that because the Dims do not have a black candidate, and because Obama can’t run again, that many in the black community feel they will lose or are losing a great deal of power and prominence in the political arena. Perhaps they mistakenly felt they had that with Obama in the first place, when in actuality they did not; but at this point feelings are what matter, and feeling aren’t facts.
        If the Republicans could jump on that bandwagon, and reassure the black community they will not be forgotten, they might win some votes. Maybe. I don’t know that they could or would , and the Dims certainly aren’t going to catch on, because they feel they own them.
        I am just speculating.

        • lyn says:

          This makes total sense.

        • leslie says:

          Good comment Swannie.
          In the end, as you said, feelings aren’t facts. And the fact is although bronco gave the black community little voice/power, the Dims actually do own the black community. (Or perhaps I say that because I live in Illinois and the few AA who choose to speak out against the Dim establishment are instantly marginalized and are rarely heard from again.)

  16. Myiq2xu says:

    Marissa Johnson/BLM Seattle:

    Who We Are
    We are the Outside Agitators 206.

    First off, we have four points of unity:

    1. We center Black voices to celebrate and affirm Blackness. We believe that any movement to end anti-Black racism must be led by Black people.
    2. We believe that everyone has a right to resist their oppressors and what resistance looks like varies for different individuals and different circumstances.
    3. We don’t directly speak to corporate media, nor do we need them. We are our own voice.
    4. Fuck the police: As an institution fundamentally rooted in white supremacy and anti-Blackness we reject the police presence in our communities, absolutely. It is our responsibility to hold each other accountable and keep each other safe.

    We are abolitionists in the year 2015. We want an end to police terror, we want an end to slavery that is the prison system, and we want the people who profit from this held accountable.

    Aside from that, we are as varied as the plant life in the North West. We are youth, students, workers, parents, teachers, artists, street philosophers, survivalists, revolutionaries, solutionaries, Queer, Black, Brown, Indigenous, and White Allies. We are from the town, we are transplants, we are economic refugees, we are the result of colonization, slavery and genocide. Essentially we are people that deserve a dignified life and want the same for our brothers and sisters in the struggle towards Black Liberation. Cuz when Black folks get free, we all get free.

    We do this work in Memory of Mike Brown-18, Oscar Grant-22, John T. Williams, Eric Garner-43, Tamir Rice-12, Rumain Brisbon-34, Akai Gurley-28, Kajieme Powell-25, Ezell Ford-25, Dante Parker-36, John Crawford III-22, Tyree Woodson-38, Victor White III-22, Yvette Smith-47, McKenzie Cochran-27, Jordan Baker-26, Kimani Gray-16. These are only a small portion of those that were murdered by police, we do this work for all those un-named, for the families that have lost a loved one to police violence, for all those that have been brutalized daily by the police.

    “This ain’t your daddy’s civil rights movement” – Tef Poe

  17. 1539days says:

    The funny thing about the whole debate kerfuffle is that I don’t consider Trump a serious candidate, I was never a huge fan of Megyn Kelly and I’m really interested in a candidate I like winning the general election. Trump’s presence or Megyn’s questions don’t make me angry. The whole thing just makes me sad. I think the real problem is the GOP figured that if Fox would host the debate, everything would be fine.

    This whole getting popcorn and enjoying the show stuff sounds enlightened, but we all know everyone here still gives a crap. Otherwise, I could sit at the TV and see Obama and go, “I guess he’s okay.”

  18. DeniseVB says:

    I’m sure you guys have seen the headlines (snort) so won’t bore you with Redstate details that you’ve already read on blogs, twit and other “reliable” news sources. Just some “post mortem” thoughts while I unpack, aw the hell with it, pour a lovely beverage……..

    1. I had a fabulous time overall, from the air travel to the fine host hotel to enjoying every minute of the event. I’d do it again in a heartbeat, in fact, may go to CPAC this winter!

    2. The people I met were lovely, sweet, kind and gentle. As I roamed around a lot, every table I plopped at made me 9 new friends.

    3. Most thrilled to meet: Katie Pavlich, Mary Katherine Ham and Ed Morrissey. Real people people.

    4. The All-event tickets were sold out long before Trump even declared his candidacy officially. Yes, darn, would have loved to see him in person, but it was no big deal for me.

    5. I was not disappointed in my favorite horses so far, Carly, Ted, Marco, Scott, Rick … their speeches are online somewhere, but to see them given in person WOWSA factor. They were ROCK STARS!
    Bonus: Texas Gov Abbott brought the house down too ! I told the Texas Tribune guy, when he asked me what I thought of his speech, I’d trade your gov for mine in a heartbeat! Tim Scott is a hoot, there’s a future for him…..(gads, the GOP still has a deep bench!)

    6. Next debate be sure to go to a watch party! So much fun to watch with a few or hundreds of rabid fans of different “teams” with booze.

    7. Favorite event: The states party. Find the table with your state’s flag and mingle with your people. From Virginia, I met Palmyra, Reedville, Yorktown, Richmond and Arlington. And one couple from Washington state who’s flag shared our table.

    8. This was not an evangelical wing nut crowd, too boozy. Nobody wants to ban abortion, just defund it. The left would be pissed if the gov funded the NRA, right?

    9. Erick started this gathering with 125 people attending 7 years ago. He’s definitely GOPe, but such a sweet guy. He’s BFF with Jeb! and said so. Rumors then swirled, the Trump diss was to help his friend. This was not Jeb! territory, but the audience was very polite to him. It really wasn’t a Trump crowd either, just mostly disappointed they’d miss a center ring act.

    10. (Because I’m OCD and need a 10😉 ) Biggest disappointment: The MSM. The Trump kerfluffle was a gift to them, and they could care less about other candidates after that. You may have seen the photos of “I am Donald Trump” guy and the “Haters Gonna Hate” shirt w/Trump photo guy. I had breakfast with the first one, he was off his meds before the explosion, and screamed at the ladies applauding Erick’s decision at our table….”What about Men’s rights bitches!” I thought he was going to flip the table. Next thing I knew, he stood in a corner with his Donald sign letting the media do selfies with him.

    11. Ok, I’m done for now. I still love all the candidates, it’s very early in the first quarter, stuff and sh*t’s gonna happen, new post debate numbers will be out soon …. gird your loins, enjoy the ride fellow travelers🙂

    • DeniseVB says:

      Online poll ? We’ll see what the next couple of days brings from the more “trustworthy” (LOL ! ) Polls.

      He didn’t lose ground on McCain either, even went up. Maintaining his lead will certainly send a message to the MSM this time.

  19. Myiq2xu says:

    Kill me now.

    • Jadzia says:

      Who is unaware that ladies have periods? Jesus Christ Fuck. And I’m going to London in a few days to stay with some hippie friends.

    • lililam says:

      Now that’s talent! Love it! Still can’t figure out if there are multiple layers of irony here or not!

  20. Paging Myiq… You are gonna love this one from our favorite former-Kossack-turned-professional-activist, Mr. Atkins, aka Thereisnospoon!

Comments are closed.