Sunday Night Open Thread

Like I know what I’m doing…😉

I’m sure you guys have seen the headlines (snort) so won’t bore you with Redstate details that you’ve already read on blogs, twit and other “reliable” news sources. Just some “post mortem” thoughts while I unpack, aw the hell with it, pour a lovely beverage……..

1. I had a fabulous time overall, from the air travel to the fine host hotel to enjoying every minute of the event. I’d do it again in a heartbeat, in fact, may go to CPAC this winter!

2. The people I met were lovely, sweet, kind and gentle. As I roamed around a lot, every table I plopped at made me 9 new friends.

3. Most thrilled to meet: Katie Pavlich, Mary Katherine Ham and Ed Morrissey. Real people people.

4. The All-event tickets were sold out long before Trump even declared his candidacy officially. Yes, darn, would have loved to see him in person, but it was no big deal for me.

5. I was not disappointed in my favorite horses so far, Carly, Ted, Marco, Scott, Rick … their speeches are online somewhere, but to see them given in person WOWSA factor. They were ROCK STARS!
Bonus: Texas Gov Abbott brought the house down too ! I told the Texas Tribune guy, when he asked me what I thought of his speech, I’d trade your gov for mine in a heartbeat! Tim Scott is a hoot, there’s a future for him…..(gads, the GOP still has a deep bench!)

6. Next debate be sure to go to a watch party! So much fun to watch with a few or hundreds of rabid fans of different “teams” with booze.

7. Favorite event: The states party. Find the table with your state’s flag and mingle with your people. From Virginia, I met Palmyra, Reedville, Yorktown, Richmond and Arlington. And one couple from Washington state who’s flag shared our table.

8. This was not an evangelical wing nut crowd, too boozy. Nobody wants to ban abortion, just defund it. The left would be pissed if the gov funded the NRA, right?

9. Erick started this gathering with 125 people attending 7 years ago. He’s definitely GOPe, but such a sweet guy. He’s BFF with Jeb! and said so. Rumors then swirled, the Trump diss was to help his friend. This was not Jeb! territory, but the audience was very polite to him. It really wasn’t a Trump crowd either, just mostly disappointed they’d miss a center ring act.

10. (Because I’m OCD and need a 10 😉 ) Biggest disappointment: The MSM. The Trump kerfluffle was a gift to them, and they could care less about other candidates after that. You may have seen the photos of “I am Donald Trump” guy and the “Haters Gonna Hate” shirt w/Trump photo guy. I had breakfast with the first one, he was off his meds before the explosion, and screamed at the ladies applauding Erick’s decision at our table….”What about Men’s rights bitches!” I thought he was going to flip the table. Next thing I knew, he stood in a corner with his Donald sign letting the media do selfies with him.

11. Ok, I’m done for now. I still love all the candidates, it’s very early in the first quarter, stuff and sh*t’s gonna happen, new post debate numbers will be out soon …. gird your loins, enjoy the ride fellow travelers 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

75 Responses to Sunday Night Open Thread

  1. votermom says:

    Sounds like you had a blast, Denise!

  2. DeniseVB says:

    Not going to let a crisis go to waste. Redstate and Trump are not a political crisis, but the way we respond to them…uh…could be😉 I’m home !

    • AFVet says:

      Well done !
      Re: the deep bench, I agree.
      If they can keep their egos in check, we’re looking at a potential cabinet that could make history.
      We’re gonna need one to fix this mess.

    • Marcus says:

      Good summary, Denise. It was like we were there!

  3. angienc says:

    Thanks for the recap Denise – glad you had a good time.

    As if I didn’t need another reason to NOT vote for JEB!, the fact that he’s friend with that a–hole Erik Erikson seals it.

  4. DeniseVB says:

    Moe Lane….never did jump his bones at the RS because I couldn’t find him, oh I knew he was there. Had a small funny blog that started my turn to the middle-right when the left threw me under the bitter clinger bus…following him all these years led me to Redstate😀

  5. I’m glad you had a good time, Denise, and thanks for the update. Nice to see the roundup of events and the impact of The Disinvited on the whole thing.

    • votermom says:

      “The Disinvited” – sounds like a horror movie.😀

    • DeniseVB says:

      I did want to do the Smart Girl Politics in Indy a few years ago, in your backyard😉 I do love these gatherings of like minds, always fun. Most of the “media” credentialed at RS were blog/podcasters or something like that. Really, anyone can go to a RS type event, if you have (crunching numbers, wait for it…) About $1200, all inclusive travel/hotel/events for a 3-day event. Of course,the experience? Priceless😀

      • Oh, ouch. Yeah, I didn’t go to SGP in INdy because of the price tag. And also, while I LOVE that conservative women have gotten with it politically, sometimes I can’t tolerate the buzz that goes down on some of those sites. I get their feminism is different, but it’s sometimes a bit much. My eyes just glaze over reading about the combo gun-holster/nursing bra that is just soooo comfortable to wear while you’re home-schooling. /s/😀

      • elliesmom says:

        I’ve spent that kind of money out of pocket to go to the National Science Teachers’ convention or to a NASA teachers’ event, but never something “selfish” like a political or a sewing event. I need to rethink how I spend my money. lol I’d like to be on a New York fabric buying trip this weekend, but I felt I couldn’t justify spending the money. I’d get real kick out of being at RedState or Netroots. I need to give myself a budget.

        • DeniseVB says:

          It’s fun being with like minds on any topic, then you find out you have so much more in common too🙂

          My daughter was a delegate at the USFSA annual meeting in Colorado Springs last May, I went along because I love CS and my son’s family was nearby. They kept her registration fee low and let her buy social events a la cart. We did the $80 dinner as a treat, but saved a bunch of money not doing other things.

          RS was about $300 for ALL events, which I wanted to do anyhow. And boy do they keep you well fed.🙂

          • elliesmom says:

            RS is unlikely to come to Boston, though.😉 The $300 wouldn’t stop me, but airfare and hotel might. I can get Elliesdad to travel, but probably not to a political event so at least it would be times one. And I wouldn’t have to kennel Ellie if he didn’t come.

  6. Last one for the night guys, but I just had to share this one. Just the zenith of intersectionality identity politics and oppo research double doxxing paranoia!!! Really too good to be true…from the Great Orange Cheeto:

    One of yesterday’s #BlackLivesMatter protestors is/was a SARAH PALIN SUPPORTER! #WTF

  7. DandyTIger says:

    Great round up. Sounded like a blast.

  8. piper says:

    Happy that you had a good time and reporting everything you did and saw at the gathering. 😃

  9. Quite possibly the worst of 2 genres: political songs and hip hop.

    • lililam says:

      That is hilarious. It would help if the bernmeister would at least moonwalk or even just crack up with the silliness of this juxtaposition. The hyper seriousness wears thin.

  10. Myiq2xu says:

    Great post, but you should have saved it for tomorrow morning so I could sleep in.

    What the hell, I’ll sleep in anyway.

  11. Myiq2xu says:

    Officer involved shooting in Ferguson. 1 man dead.

  12. mothy67 says:

    Can anyone loan me a quarter of a million dollars. I will need it really fast. I know the beggars choosers bit but I want to open an IHOP in the next 9 hours. How is there no IHOP near an amusement park. Think about it if you get sick pancakes are what you want to hurl. I was bitching about the money. It just shocks me sometimes. My cousin has 6 kids. I feel like i am always broke. Savings except college fund is for rich people. Back to school stuff was almost 200 my fault i went a little over board on the back pack. Like 185 overboard but it was on sale. Marked down from 850. Who spends 850 on a backpack? I am an awful person she has original Harry Potter stuff. I thought stuff is hard to come by I’ll sell it on ebay. I hate her. She has it all under her bed in a vacuum sealed bag. A fucking yellow post it with memories written on it. I wept sitting on her floor but then I thought how did this child do this. One is not born knowing how to vacuum seal. No one will admit to abetting here. Glad I was unable to sell stuff. J k Rowling has been very frugal with licensing stuff. She turned Disney and Spielburg down because they wanted control of her brand. I am forever in debt to JK Rowling. I was gifted a chance to know a little girl. I read every book to her. Imagine finding all things Potter in a vacuum sealed bag under her bed. I want to scream please read to your kids. It is so amazing. Kids are needy being zero years old makes you a tad bit dependent. J k Rowling allowed me to speak to a child. I had no idea what I was doing. I had turned 40 and found myself with a kid. Might add i am also gay. I am also an asshole. Little thing would sit on my lap wrap her hand around my index finger. I did not know I was capable of caring that much. Kid has an orange belt gets straight As MVP at softball. I swear it is all because I read to her. Ben Carson tells a story about how his mom would pretend to read to him. She could not read but held a book and pretended. Being a 48 year old gay man caring for a kid I see a lot of stuff. There is one girl in Shayla’s class that gets bounced around. Her parents go to rehab sue cold distant grandparents for custody. Little girl went to four different schools last year. She has no place.Day camp she was caught stealing Shayla’s phone. On film. I did not want to press charges. I yelled she is 8 and alone wants any kind of attention. . She is 8 years old her parents are frequent flyers at rehab. We all know I am an asshole. I get drunk. Cut and dry not an issue with kid. I have a fear of bridges i want to jump. I take a cab. Odd pup has had swim lessons since she was two. I love water. I just hate bridges.

  13. Dora says:

    Oh Denise – it sounds like you had so much fun. Thanks for sharing it with us and making us jealous. At least making me jealous. 🙂

    • boutis says:

      Me too. It sounds like a fun, productive, interesting trip. Hearing people speak in person is so much better than hearing what media edits and then puts out.

      • Dora says:

        Absolutely! Being there in person is also a better way to judge the reaction of the crowd, rather than to have to depend on the media’s version.

  14. Dora says:

    They lied to us. What a shock!

    BREAKING: State Of Emergency Declared In Colorado Town …EPA Disaster Three Times Bigger Than Estimated

  15. mothy67 says:

    What has Amazon done. Youtube now crashes.

  16. Lulu says:

    Periodically I get quiet and observe. I don’t do it as often as I used to because I have seen so much over the years I sometimes think I have pretty much seen everything and not just in politics. I am not a Trump voter. I find him hilarious. He is very much a type. Loud, brash, obnoxious, smart, cagey, aggressive, focused (most of the time), vain, and used to getting what he wants. It works most of the time. And he is very impatient with people who can’t keep up with him. Like the media and political hacks who are notorious for their stupidity, laziness, and taking orders because you can make money being stupid and lazy. Look at Bronco.

    Trump is talking about things the flunkies sent out to beat up on him don’t, can’t and won’t allow spoken by order of their paymasters. Murdoch is an open border globalist and has been for decades. Australia is struggling to pull back from Murdoch instigated decades of increased immigrant horribleness. His hirelings and flunkies do what they are told. With a smile! Or a mean bitch face. Whichever works. On alternate days. The Fox news stable of “contributors” is full on disdain, passive aggressive snide, or snark. George Will. Really? Anything for a buck from Mr Murdoch. Notice the Fox News Personalities!!! from the debate tried justifying their behavior all weekend. Everyone knows they did what they were told by Murdoch. It wasn’t just aimed at Mr Bigmouth. But Cruz and Carson and Walker too. Like a good little pet Fiorina came out and did the outragey outrage. So predictable. They built her up in the beginner dog show for puppies and then trotted her out immediately to defend a Fox flunkie. And Bernie. Poor Bernie. He says illegal immigrant hordes are bad for working people and result in starvation wages and he gets anarchists spewing spit in his face.

    I am getting the same vibes from 2007-2008. This time it is from Republicans AND Democrats. SHAME! How can you be so stupid! That guy is a loose cannon! Because we say so! Blood! He said blood. Yes he said eyes and Chris Wallace but he obviously meant twat you fool! And that Cruz guy is a smarmy asshole (I wonder what his attorney rate is, hum?) and Walker has a bald spot and is boring. Carson is obviously an idiot. But didn’t Little Rickey Ricardo, I mean Rubio, do great, He sounds like Obama. And !Yeb is obviously a great statesman in the tradition of Churchill. You get my drift.

    The problem is that using shame to control people is limited. It works part of the time. It drives it underground, or to the subconscious until it busts out in unexpected ways. Republicans have used anger as a political tool for decades and been vilified (shame!) for doing so. Being angry is tacky and declasse. Now Republicans are trying to stop it or subvert it. It isn’t working. Obama used anger (shame, frustration, rage) in 2007-2008 to very great effect. But now people are angry with him or it is diverted to other avenues (cops, Wall St, etc) but is not assuaged. The shaming of the United States has solved nothing. The shaming of the Republican voter will solve nothing. But I don’t think solving anything is the point of politics or government anymore. It is just screaming, posturing, anger and chaos. And more shaming. Who’s up for some more shaming from George Will? Me neither.

    • mothy67 says:

      I would prefer if you wait til I die before penning my obit

      Loud, brash, obnoxious, smart, cagey, aggressive, focused (most of the time), vain, and used to getting what he wants.

      I wish I could deny

      • Lulu says:

        LOL. I’ve worked for a few and loved everyone of them. When I didn’t want to kill them. They pay well too! I couldn’t be married to one though. One was so exhausting that I had to put a Post-It up on my door with LMA when I couldn’t take anymore. Leave Me Alone. It was usually about 4 PM. I climbed out the window once into the azaleas and went home.

        • mothy67 says:

          Some stupid test I took placed me really high. I was in Catholic School but they made me see a state shrink. Laughable i was 9 and they told me my humor was defensive. Idiot. One doctor wrote on paper he thought I had some major trauma. Yes you ass I had two open heart surgeries. I woke up one day and the wires that put my sternum back together broke through my chest. I was a horror film. This guy said he thinks I had some trauma. What. I registered really high on a test. I got someones attention. I am not very smart. Had to do that damn test like 6 times. I scored 139 to 151. I am/was high average. I think those tests are stupid. I went from first to third and then 5th to 8th. Schools promoted me because i was done with what they had to teach. I am no Doogie Howser. . I honestly felt in high school what else can you do to me.Little one gets on my nerves yet I adore her. I’d do it all again. I have a fucking trach scar on my freakish adam’s orchard. Yep I learned to speak from a hole in my throat. My Adam’s Apple is an orchard bigger than Sandra Bullucks.

        • piper says:

          Too funny, my scheduled quiet prep time was at the end of the day. Surprisedly my LD students would see the closed door and dim lights, then quietly step into the room and ask if I could help them with an assignment which I never refused. Pretty soon I had half of my students sitting around my table working quietly. Needless to say I did almost all of my prep after dismissal.

    • DandyTIger says:

      Love it. And spot on.

    • lizzy says:

      Great analysis Lulu.

    • angienc says:

      Great post Lulu!

  17. mothy67 says:

    Off topic my mom told me I love Donald Trump because we do the same thing. She said I am a steam roller but I walk into a room screaming I am an asshole. No one else has a chance. I hate her and i am now looking for new parents.

    • Constance says:

      With Mothers you have to remember they have known you your entire life even before you were born. They know parts of your personality you have forgotten or submerged. You were probably a hyperactive fetus (kicking relentlessly unless she sat in your favored position) or wound to tight as a 2 year old. Mothers weave these sorts of things into their context of your personality while you and other people are only thinking of the last few years of your life as a context for your personality.

  18. DeniseVB says:

    Oh Donald, you’re such a liar. Overflow crowds had the hosts worried about the fire marshal shutting them down especially for Cruz and Walker😉

  19. DeniseVB says:

    Nobody was reaching for aspirin after Carly’s amazing speech ! Oh wait, she did tweet she’s standing with Megyn😉

  20. mothy67 says:

    So mad. I hate everyone and everything. I put alarm clocks in pasta pots so I would not sleep in. Taking kids to a park. Severe weather warning. I suffer from insomnia. I stayed up for two days so I could pass out and wake up. Now its Thursday. I do not know how you straight people have kids. I kid myself in saying I can walk away. Being able to abandon her gives me hope. I could drop her off at Denny’s and never look back. I jest. I do get really tired with her. There is always something. Everyday. Some people have like 5. How??? Imagine making breakfast for 5 kids. No no no no no no.

  21. DeniseVB says:

    Here’s a little article on the last CPAC in March ’15. Gives a nice feel to what it’s like to attend one of these things…..

    • DeniseVB says:

      Just wondering, is there a Democrat equivalent to CPAC. I would definitely consider going to that too to hear their candidates speak…..and mingle with those minds.🙂 Nutroots is more a RedState type event, only angrier😉

  22. DeniseVB says:

    One more …. EE did read some of his hatemail to the RS group , sounded like the good ole days at Dkos and DU. For the record, my husband is on Team Trump and loathes EE. I’m so boring, I like everybody😉

  23. DeniseVB says:

    Food for thought, hmmmm?

  24. lizzy says:

    When people were referencing the BLM yesterday I kept getting confused. BLM was the Bureau of Land Management. BLM is definitely not concerned with black lives or they would have something to say about inner city murder rates. From now on BLM to me will be the land management folks. Just as BLT is a yummy bacon sandwich not Jeremiah Wright’s hateful theology.

  25. Dora says:

    OMG! What’s going on here? What’s happening to our country?

    Answers Tough To Find After Cyclist Hit By Chunk Of Concrete

    • piper says:

      Sick, people are choosing to break the law and commit horrible crimes against others for whatev…… knowing that they have been given to a green light to act with no consequences and police intervention.

      • piper says:

        BTW – moved to Minnesota in the 1970’s where Minnesota Nice was practiced on a daily basis (now living in S.E. Wisconsin). The Twin Cities have definitely undergone a change in the past 40 years.

Comments are closed.