Friday Open Thread – Sunny TV Edition

Sunny’s back!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

102 Responses to Friday Open Thread – Sunny TV Edition

  1. DeniseVB says:

    Good morning and stuff🙂 I hear Al Gore is thinking about running for Prezzy again, he “sees an opening” , so I needed some sunny news!

    Sunny took a year off to have a baby, glad she’s back. The MTV video she’s “decoding” is at this link ….

    • Lulu says:

      There isn’t time for Al to loose three hundred pounds. Yes I’m mean but he looks like crap. He used to be so good looking. Think of all the “global warming” used up just to feed him this past decade while he is raging at everyone else for everything. And he is ANOTHER old Democrat. That is all they got since Bronco got all the junior contenders wiped out in the past election cycles. Old Democrats never retire and let anyone else have a chance at office. Bunch of crypt keepers.

      • DeniseVB says:

        How diverse, another “old, white guy”, boy he’s aged …..

      • leslie says:

        HAHA !! Speaking of Gore’s good looks . . . I have a magnet that a friend gave me during the first Clinton-Gore term. I’m gonna try to take a photo and post it here.
        I’ve been hearing about his “running of the bull” campaign for prezzy all morning. Mika on MSNBC, F&F on FOX, local Chicago news. It’s everywhere. I need ear, eye & brain bleach. help me please……………………….

        • leslie says:

          Here is a picture of the magnet my friend gave me during the first term. It’s pretty campy, but funny. It also shows . . . well, judge for yourself.

          • DeniseVB says:

            Even then, in their dreams😉

          • elliesmom says:

            The heads in the photo aren’t in proportion to the rest of their bodies. Bill’s is too big and Al’s is too small. Whether we’re fat or skinny, the size of our heads doesn’t lie.😉 Had photoshop been invented back then? I don’t remember.

          • leslie says:

            I don’t know about photoshop. It might have been. It was in the mid-90’s right? I just remember who gave it to me. She was my closest friend and she passed away in 2003. This is why I won’t ever give this magnet away. I remember spending election night with her and her husband when BC won and we were so hopeful. We weren’t on the internet at that time – or at least I wasn’t on the internet. I don’t know if it was available to the unwashed
            masses then.

          • elliesmom says:

            I did some minimal research. The first edition of Photoshop was released in 1990. Professional photographers could certainly manipulate photos before that, but it took awhile for the tools to become readily available to the masses. The web became available in 1989. Those of us in the computer industry were connected to each other long before that. But the explosion of information available to the general public after we all had dial-up access was nuclear.

          • leslie says:

            I have a 30 y/o niece who used Photoshop in her high school photography class. And that was the first time I’d heard of Photoshop. I would bet that is how this magnet was made. Thanks for the research.

            I need to run errands and will be out for a while. BBL

      • Jadzia says:

        I totally agree. WHERE IS THE DEMS’ JV SQUAD? They don’t have one! I suspect the plan is to pass over Generation X completely.

  2. Dora says:

    I heard that report about Al Gore on the local news this morning. I wasn’t sure if it was a joke. 🙂

    In the meantime, things are getting serious for Hillary. They want her security clearance suspended.

    Intelligence community wants Clinton’s security clearance suspended

  3. DeniseVB says:

    lyn posted this downstairs and dragging it up here……..soooooooooo funny and #TrueStory all at the same time😀

    • Lulu says:

      Yum. Heavy metals water. I hope the Native Americans whose river they ruined start a rebellion. Where are the nature loving eco-warriors now? Assholes and hypocrites.

      • DeniseVB says:

        Every freakin’ one of those eco groups is out defending the EPA with “Hey, everybody makes mistakes” schtick. A’holes!!!!!

        Last I heard, it will take years and millions to clean up. I can’t even imagine the toll it’s taking on wildlife and the humans along the banks of the affected rivers.

        • Lulu says:

          The entire watershed area is under threat now. It is very dangerous for HUMANS! Of course wild and plant life are under threat but they never mention humans.

          • Lulu says:

            It is just some crappy area out west in flyover country. What about important rivers? Like the Hudson where Robert Kennedy Jr lives. Or San Francisco bay where cool rich people live? Those are important. /s/

          • 49erDweet says:

            I don’t want to spoil anyone’s day but the Animas Rivers runs into the San Juan River which runs into the Colorado River which runs into Lake Mead and then continues downhill to where the Metropolitan Water District takes off a whole bunch of water for the insignificant little village of Los Angeles and it’s suburbs – Beverly Hills, Hollywood, et al, whilst the remainder drifts further downhill until it eventually reaches the Gulf of California. And Mexico. It’s probably no big deal, though.

          • DeniseVB says:

            Karma🙂 I wonder if the water will be safe enough to use on those exclusive country club greens Obama is so fond of ? Seriously though, this is serious😦

          • Lulu says:

            Thanks 49er for that info. Oh shit! What a freaking disaster.

          • leslie says:

            Yesterday I read that before it reaches Lake Mead and beyond, the metals and toxins will have “settled” to the bottom – this way, “Hollywood and Beverly hills will be safe”. And those who live along the Animas River and Colorado River – meh. They don’t vote Democrat anyway.
            Have I said lately what I think of this administration?

          • 49erDweet says:

            Was the “settling” scenario forthcoming from the same fine people who brought us “if you like your doctor ……..”?

          • leslie says:

            Most likely.
            I’ll have to check.

          • Somebody says:

            Gosh I hope the Delta smelt won’t be affected by the contaminated water. I think they’re a little to the north, whew! Those silly humans can just drink goo, no way the tap could be opened and endanger that darling little smelt.

        • elliesmom says:

          It’s only an ecological disaster if an evil Republican runs the corporation who created the spill. The government and companies owned by wealthy Democrats just make occasional mistakes. Since their intentions are golden, it’s all OK. It’s only “inhumane” if we’re killing puppies. Humans aren’t human until they can collect welfare or pay taxes to support welfare. Only whites and Asians can be racist. Anyone else has the been downtrodden throughout human history and bears no responsibility for anything bad, but is totally responsible for anything good that ever happens to them. The only country in the world living with the “stain of slavery” is the United States. No other people have ever enslaved anyone for economic gain or as the spoils of war. If the history of the world and present day reality says otherwise, that history was written by old white men and is only being reported on Faux News so it can’t be true. I am finally beginning to see the light.

          • leslie says:

            Which re-education camp were you sent to? I’ll have to see if my family has you anywhere on their attendance list. 😉

  4. Dora says:

    Jim Webb speaks out about the deal.

    Putting Obama Over Country Is Treason

    “I think it’s a bad deal and I’ve said so for several weeks now. I think we need to put country ahead of party,” Senator Jim Webb said. “It troubles me when I see all this debate about whether this is disloyalty to the president or the Democratic Party.”

  5. DeniseVB says:

    I’m really enjoying One America News, if you have cable check it out (OAN). No annoying talking heads or endless loops of viral videos. Highly recommend it to the news junkies here !

  6. DeniseVB says:

    Oh my, isn’t this guy liberal ?

  7. Dora says:

    Nothing’s too good for the Obamas. As long as they don’t have to pay for it themselves.

    $22.5 Million Obama Vacation Mansion Houses 6 Bedrooms, Oversized Fireplace, Infinity Pool

    A tiny little vacation shack just like you have when you to the shore…

    • DeniseVB says:

      Well, they need the room for their entourage of clingers. This family never vacations alone, even when they go to Camp David (rarely) they have their posse with them.

  8. DeniseVB says:


  9. DeniseVB says:

    He should have just gone for a swim ? I wouldn’t drink river water that’s sparkly clean like the one Coors uses in Golden, CO, even then I’m sure there’s a “treatment” process. Duh…..

    • Lulu says:

      Remember that his beloved former assistant was what’s her name who then became head of OPM of data breach fame recently. The stupid is strong in that bunch.

      • leslie says:

        Holy Jebus, Lulu… Where do you store all this information??? Your brain must be as big as a honking house!
        Katherine Archuleta? it that who you’re talking about?

        • lyn says:

          I agree with you about Lulu’s brain. Here’s a blurb from the internet about Archuleta:
          “Katherine has very deep historic roots in Colorado and in the Latino community. Her family has been in Colorado since the 1600s. Katherine also worked as the National Political Director for President Obama’s reelection campaign, where she traveled around the country listening to the many issues facing Americans. She spent two years as the Chief of Staff at the Department of Labor under the leadership of former-Secretary Hilda Solis, and prior to her service in the Obama Administration; she was a senior advisor to Denver Mayor John Hickenlooper on policy and initiatives.”

        • Lulu says:

          Yep. From her wiki I remembered “She was also a senior advisor to John Hickenlooper during the time he was mayor of Denver”. Like I have said before I mostly remember garbage. Stupid garbage but it comes in handy sometimes. I also remember my grandmother’s neighbors phone number from 1959 when her telephone pole fell over in a storm and I was to call her neighbor if I wanted to talk to her. I was six. I was the telephone number book for my parents.

      • leslie says:

        I seriously have to look up half (at least) of what you reference. YOU are our resident genius… ❤

    • leslie says:

      From the ABCNews report:

      Colorado Gov. John Hickenlooper drank straight from the Animas River river Tuesday, where water had been contaminated by a toxic spill last week, in an effort to show the river was back to normal.

      Hickenlooper first put an iodine tablet in the bottle of water to kill bacteria, according to the Durango Herald. Once the tablet took effect, he began to drink from the river, about 20 miles south of the spill.

      Twenty-four hours later, he told the paper he was felling well.

      Residents are advised to not follow the governor’s lead, however, as the water was considered unsafe to drink even before the spill, according to the Durango Herald.”

      What they don’t say is that he was speaking from ICU in a Denver hospital. /s/

  10. helenk3 says:

    I am so sick of the racist bs being spewed today. it has come to the point that breathing is racist. You feel picked on living here, go did up your great grand parents bones and take it out on them because they chose not to go back to Africa after the civil war when they had the chance to go.

    • lyn says:


    • Lulu says:

      It is their reflex go to word. Being intellectually lazy and inarticulate results in this kind of stuff.

      • lyn says:

        Yep. It is lazy in the same way that “you only watch Fox News” is.

        • leslie says:

          Yup. Shocked my family last weekend when they used that “you only watch FoxNews” on me. I told them I watch MSNBC in the mornings and Megyn Kelly sometimes in the evenings. And in between I don’t watch teevee; I listen to the radio when I’m home. If there’s “breaking News and I’m home, l I turn on CNN.
          They didn’t quite know how to respond. I guess they think after so many years of working in mental health, I’ve “caught” something.

          • lildoggy4u says:

            My go to reply and its true is that my friends and family only watch MSNBC. Its pitiful,can hear the talking points replayed over and over. They are easy to rebuttal but they refuse to believe anything they haven’t heard on TeeVee and definitely don’t ask them to read anything.

          • leslie says:

            I know what you mean about the talking points. I accidentally turned on Rachel M. during the past week (while searching for the baseball game). She was ranting and raving about something and I knew if I listened long enough, I’d recognize the talking points that my friends and family were repeating over and over again.

  11. Kathy says:

    That’s exactly what we watch, Leslie, but I sometimes watch Hannity too. Had to turn off the Cuba hoopla–can’t stand the word ‘historical’ anymore. Obama treats us like we are children and he is the adult…people in this country feel totally powerless.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Didn’t Fidel just demand gazzillions of dollars from the U.S. 50 year embargo? I had the hoopla on mute and it seemed Kerry droned on and on. Yes, I can hear him drone muted.

      You know, if Cuba’s so great, why don’t we just annex it ? Makes more sense for a 51st state and closer to the mainland than Hawaii🙂

      • 49erDweet says:

        I feel the same way about Mexico sometimes. 🙂

        • elliesmom says:

          I think it’s time to revisit the Mexican War. If we annex the whole thing this time, we would get all of its natural resources and some beautiful beaches. We could divide it into 7 states. Then Obama would be prescient instead of unaware of the geography of the country he serves. I would how many illegal immigrants would go home to their families?

          • 49erDweet says:

            Absolutely. And in the long run, probably cheaper than a solid border. 🙂

          • DeniseVB says:

            I like that plan. And cheaper to build a fence along the shorter southern Mexican border. Aw heck, just take Central America and our damn canal back too Then watch out Canada, we’re coming for you! /sarc

  12. foxyladi14 says:

    Do not listen to Sharpton, Instead watch these ladies. 😀

  13. Dora says:

    Jim Webb should join them.

    What If Martin O’Malley or Bernie Sanders Disobeys the DNC on Debates?

    • DeniseVB says:

      When are the DNC debates? Hope to have Biden, Gore and Kerry in on them too! I’d pay to watch that🙂 I think the next GOP debate is Sept 16 at the Reagan library with CNN moderating. Fingers crossed Carly gets to sit at the grown ups table.

  14. Dora says:

    Well, well. Look who else is conducting govt. business on a private email account. This one is even scarier and you just know he’s not the only one. 😦

  15. DeniseVB says:

    From email, thought I’d share the giggles with the TCH crew😀

    I don’t need anger management. I need people to stop pissing me off!
    Old age is coming at a really bad time!

    When I was a child I thought Nap Time was a punishment … now, as a grown up, it just feels like a small vacation!

    The biggest lie I tell myself is … “I don’t need to write that down, I’ll remember it.”

    Lord, grant me the strength to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can & the friends to post my bail when I finally snap!

    I don’t have gray hair. I have “wisdom highlights.” I’m very wise.

    My people skills are just fine. It’s my tolerance to idiots that needs work.

    If God wanted me to touch my toes, he would’ve put them on my knees.

    The kids text me “plz” which is shorter than please. I text back “no” which is shorter than “yes”.

    I’m going to retire and live off of my savings. Not sure what I’ll do that second week.

    When did it change from “We the people” to “screw the people”?

    I’ve lost my mind and I’m pretty sure my kids took it!

    Even duct tape can’t fix stupid … but it can muffle the sound!

    Why do I have to press one for English when you’re just going to transfer me to someone I can’t understand anyway?

    Lord, Give me patience and give it to me NOW.

    Of course I talk to myself, sometimes I need expert advice.

    At my age “getting lucky” means walking into a room and remembering why I went there.

  16. DeniseVB says:

    This is funny, some of the comments, Why not? and Is he old enough?.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I think one six-year term is quite enough for President/VP. No re-election campaign, no lame duckiness, which is either lazy or dangerous.

  17. Jadzia says:

    So every time I visit a new place I end up falling in love with it and wanting to move there and have a new life.

    London has cured me of that. This kid (2nd son) better enjoy himself, because next time, I pick the destination.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Awww, but time together, priceless😉 What bugged you about London, I always hear loverly things about friends’ experiences ?

      • Jadzia says:

        The English. : )

        We’re just having a rough day. Up at 4am, on the train at 630, then two hours late to London because we got stuck right outside the chunnel for more than 90 minutes. Got to London, walked an hour to this restaurant Didier was dying to try (steak and kidney pie)… and got thrown out because they don’t serve kids. (Not a fancy place, BTW.) He ended up trying bangers and mash (and loving it) at the kind of touristy place we had been trying to avoid. Then we tried to go to the museum that he wanted to go to and the tube broke down. In both directions.

        Now he is passed out in the hotel room (it’s 7pm here); we decided to make a REAL PLAN tonight and have a kick-ass tomorrow. I don’t know… I’m just not “feeling” London, I guess. But we’ve got another 4 1/2 days to turn it around! I will say something nice: it’s great to have some nice cold rain after an absolutely miserably hot summer at home.

        • DeniseVB says:

          How old is he ? Oh man, these are things I’d want to do🙂 Have fun, I know I would just riding trains😀 They don’t seem too politically correct there, I know if a diner refuses service to cranky toddlers, it makes headlines in the states.

        • lyn says:

          You have to find a place that makes steak and kidney pie with the spongy pastry. It is so yummy.

        • 49erDweet says:

          Oh, my! Can’t have that! The tube is having a very bad summer so avoid it when you can. Use the double decker New Routemaster buses and sit upstairs (in front!) for really cheeeeeeeap sightseeing. We love the Kensington area and the 74 bus runs 24/7 plus it always stops at Harrods. 🙂

  18. DeniseVB says:

    This would be a good story for myiq to chew on. So it begins, thanks Obama and your stupid DOJ, you made this happen……

  19. leslie says:

    I just got in and need to run out again, but thought I’d check here and twitter while I have a sandwich…. Does that make me an addict?
    Anywhooo I saw this and although I wasn’t a fan of W’s when he was in office, I don’t believe he ever meant harm to this nation. I love the photo and thought I’d share it.

Comments are closed.