Saturday Open Thread

Welcome to the Dog Days of Summer with cute kids.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

142 Responses to Saturday Open Thread

  1. DeniseVB says:

    Just getting the weekend started and hope I remember in February how sick of summer I was🙂

  2. DeniseVB says:

    Who didn’t see this coming ?

    • piper says:

      Oh no – another old white Democrat – John Forbes Kerry (born December 11, 1943) which makes him ‘drumroll please’ 71 years old.

    • He said he’s not running this time, but could in future.

      • leslie says:

        What? When he’s older???

      • DeniseVB says:

        Possibly as an October surprise ? The Dem’s first debate isn’t until mid October, so he has time. Hopefully he was NOT referring to 2020 or 2024 ? LOL.

        • No, I think the late entry in the race will be someone like Deval Patrick or Cory Booker. Deval works at Bain Capital now, which you would think would disqualify him, but I think Team Obama (which includes Deval) would actually see that as a delicious stick in the eye of Mitt if he won. Deval’s got 2 gubernatorial terms under his belt and an out lesbian daughter.His narrative is similar to Obama’s, but he’s got two black parents, one of whom was a cool-azz jazz player for Sun Ra. #BLM activists love him.

          But Booker’s got his fans and that super-hero history going for him, and he’s halfway through his first senatorial term. He’s been making some Bernie-esque noises in recent weeks, but just under the radar in case #BLM really does crash his campaign. He’s ready for VP or to pick up the mantle if Bernie stumbles.

          Remember, the Dems entire ground game is built on identity defense, and while they are hoping Hillary can make a big offering to the female legion, they are NOT going to take their eyes off the ball if it looks like she cannot deliver. #BLM is creating quite a headache, and they may need to call out one of their POC from the bench to shore up that vote if it looks like they’ll stay home.

          • DeniseVB says:

            I’ve always been a Cory Booker fan from his Newark days. I was very disappointed they didn’t give him a prime time slot for his convention speech in 2012, put him somewhere in the 4pm hour. How about Tim Kaine and Mark Warner ? Both former govs now senators, their resumes are strong. Too moderate for Team Obot ?

          • elliesmom says:

            Deval Patrick is under investigation for diverting $27 million from public funds to pay for junkets. Harry Reid has been mentioned.

      • 49erDweet says:

        After he matures.

  3. piper says:

    You’re doing an excellent job here – posting new threads and cleaning up after us. 49erD and I will continue to keep the dungeon stocked with coffee, pastries and whatev.
    My favorite lady on housekeeping.

  4. votermom says:

    Little Rand Paul is so cute! And the Trump wig is awesome. LOL

  5. Dora says:

    Boy. This is really shoving it in our faces! I’m afraid I am finding this woman more and more despicable as the days go on. By now I can’t even remember why I once admired her. Isn’t that sad? 😦

    Hillary Jokes About FBI Investigation: I Love Snapchat Because ‘Those Messages Disappear All By Themselves’

  6. DeniseVB says:

    Polls that matter …

  7. Dora says:

    Bad picture. I swear poor Joe looks like he is constipated. Ouch.

    Joe Biden Said To Be Considering One Term Presidency

  8. votermom says:

    • 1539days says:

      Why do that? Just make it illegal to hire an H1-B to replace someone who can do the job? That visa is for talent that can’t be found domestically.

      • votermom says:

        It supposedly is, but not in practice.

        • 49erDweet says:

          In some cases the employer is asking for H1-B’s as the quid pro quo for a federal benefit it’s received – or about to receive. I blame it as much on the administration. And I have no confidence the gopE would do otherwise, the dirty rats.

      • votermom says:

        • 1539days says:

          I still can’t decide what’s worse, Bill Gates bribing Congress into getting more H1-B programmers or Steve Jobs / Tim Cook getting iPhones made by suicidal Chinese employees at Foxconn.

          • votermom says:

            Why does apple and everyone else manufacture overseas? Because the cost and red tape of manufacturing here is so high.

          • 49erDweet says:

            ….because the EPA is really, really sincerely trying to protect us from several serious disasters……….like living free, for instance.

          • 1539days says:

            My company is bringing product assembly back to the US (yay, sort of). All the electronics and parts will be manufactured overseas, but the value added assembly is back. Luckily, my company can’t figure out how to forecast, limit the number of offerings or control our vendors.

  9. lyn says:

    Hey, Klown, happy to hear that your mother is doing better and bossing you around.❤

  10. Dora says:

    Bernie kicking into overdrive

    With signs that Sanders is eclipsing Clinton in New Hampshire, Bernie’s campaign is looking more like the real deal.

  11. Myiq2xu says:
  12. Dora says:

    I have a feeling Judge Sullivan isn’t going to stop demanding the truth just because State is sitting on their hands:

    At this point, numerous officials in the State Department could very well be implicated in obstruction of justice and the more the State Department thumbs its nose at this Article III judge, the worse it is likely to get.

    • leslie says:

      So are they (State Dept) acting at the behest of bronco to sabotage Hillary’s campaign?

      • foxyladi14 says:

        I think so. 🙂

        • Dora says:

          I’m not sure what’s going on. At this point I think that so many of them are in such deep doo doo that they are protecting their own arse’s first. The corruption and lies have become that famous ‘tangled web’.

    • AFVet says:

      Same tactic is being used here,….stall, stall, stall.

    • 49erDweet says:

      And none of these people actually gives a rat’s behind that thumbing their noses at the rule of law tears down the fabric of a society faster than shooting off a flamethrower, do they. If the PTB can do it, so can the never-haves.

    • Lulu says:

      How stupid they are. Doing what they did didn’t make them nervous but the cover-up being exposed out does. What is wrong with this picture?

  13. DeniseVB says:

    Heh. There’s more Trump on this guys timeline.

  14. 1539days says:

    Am I the only one who sees a line though all my YouTube videos now?

    • 49erDweet says:

      Sometimes mine are solid green with audio, other times solid black. But everything else on them works. (heh, heh, including the ads)
      Have to change browsers twice to a day to get around this new “feature”. To be fair, it began before I was blessed by Windows 10, but ………

  15. simofish says:

    I seriously don’t get all the hype about the email server. Hell, Snowden released thousands of gov’t emails. Recently the gov’t was hacked and employee SSN were taken. AND we’re worried about emails on Hillary’s private server? Gen Powell had his emails on a private server — so did Conde Rice.

    • Ann says:

      I agree.

    • DeniseVB says:

      This is from last March, so I’ll go with “it’s not the crime, it’s the coverup” for $500 Alex.

      LI is pretty fair and balanced, so I think it’s gone beyond politics….

    • First, let’s back up. Neither Powell nor Rice used a private server. Powell is on record as using both state department and personal email on state department computers, and Rice has claimed that she rarely used email. FTR, I do not believe Ms. Rice on that claim, and I don’t believe Powell gets a pass either. Nevertheless, there is a huge difference between a private email account used on govt computers, and hosting a private server to create a completely parallel work space for communication.

      Second, there was an email controversy involving Bush officials and I remember it very well. The scandal erupted because a lot of emails relating to the firing of several attorneys general were missing, and that led to the discovery that Rove and a bunch of WH staffers were using RNC emails on their phones for communications. There was quite the uproar about it, and for good cause. Deliberately trying to circumvent sunshine laws is morally repugnant, no matter which side does it.

      Thirdly, Snowden released emails, yes. Hillary and others hid emails. Ispo facto these cases are different and thus your claim in that regard does not make sense.

      Finally, Former Gov. Dean basically admitted on the news that he did it as governor and that he personally knew of several others governors who did it. I want that looked into ASAP.

      There is no sense in supporting this nonsense. We are the USA, and we pay for everything at every level of government. There is no money involved that does not come directly from taxpayer support, and I have a GD right to know exactly who is doing what and where with my money and good name. I don’t even believe in classified information, that’s how adamant I am about the issue. Let us know it all. Every single last sordid detail. There is no defense for it.

      • Dora says:

        Very well stated. Thanks.

      • Myiq2xu says:

        Governors are not subject to federal records laws and they don’t handle classified information.

      • leslie says:

        Lola ~ I agree with your thoughts/doubts on Rice and Powell’s use (or limited use) of email. And I want to thank you for reminding me of the email controversy during W’s term. And if I’m remembering correctly, there were also some who attempted to connect those Rove and attorney’s general emails to a plane crash and loss of life of some person who was trying to leave the “service” of Rove et al.
        (But this may all have conflated in my brain…)

        Dean talked about his use of email as VT’s governor on Morning Joe this past week.

        • No problem. I don’t immediately recall the plane crash you are referencing, but if I do, I’ll post it.

          To be clear for all readers, I do not excuse Powell and Rice at all. And the email controversy during the Bush admin was wrong, wrong, wrong, and I said so at the time.

          Can you find a clip of Dean’s explanation of his email use from MSNBC? My blood pressure gets too high, so I don’t watch Morning Joe, or any of the TV news shows. I would nevertheless like to see his explanation to see how it jibes with Vermont’s laws on public records & access to same.

          • leslie says:

            I’ll look for it.

          • leslie says:

            Lola – Around 1:30 of the video, Dean admits to his use of email as governor.

          • Okay, that’s the video I was referring to when I said Dean admitted it on the news. I thought you were saying he explained what he meant. He did say “tremendous amount of other public officials.” If that’s true, that’s a problem. That means it is now SOP to avoid public disclosure to basic information, even when it’s not classified.

            If that’s the case, we’ve got that problem, and a problem with these officials just out-and-out admitting it, despite federal and state law. And that’s not a big deal to the media or to citizens? Do we just overlook it when it’s our preferred side or a candidate we’ve long supported? That’s my point to Simofish. It IS a big deal, and it should be.

          • leslie says:

            Lola ~
            Here’s a link to one of the reports on the plane crash that killed an RNC/GOP IT guy in 2008. This is the incident I was thinking of:

          • Oh wow, I missed that at the time. Good share, Leslie!

        • leslie says:

          I agree that this use/abuse of email by officials is a problem. Having worked for “the State” until just recently, It galled me that every year I, and every other state employee had to read and sign statements regarding ethics and ethical behavior as an employee and servant of the state. They actually threatened us by withholding vacation and holidays unless and until we signed the “ethics” statement. Hahaha As if Illinois doesn’t have a private wing of the federal penal system dedicated just to government employees – especially governors. Now, the Univ. of IL is negotiating with the former acting Chancellor over disposition of her position since she had used private email to avoid scrutiny in some business she and others were engaged in.
          Funny how it’s okay for some people ( governors and SoS’s, etc) but not you and me. (not that Phyllis W. is just like you and me.

      • lyn says:

        My family was affected by the OPM SSN hack, and I still want to know what Hillary and Obama were doing the night of Benghazi. Hillary’s e-mails may have the answer. She is hiding something.

      • DeniseVB says:

        Fabulous explanation Lola,thanks! My first thought with Powell and Rice, nobody died on their watch, but OOPs …. 9-11 and Iraq flashbacks ! As much as I like Condi, she could never run for President. W’s as toxic as Obama is now. W gave us Obama. Though like Carter, W was inept but I never doubted he loved our country.

        • 😀 Yeah, people have died and are dying all over the world because of the cloak-and-dagger game these idiots have played and are playing. It’s a high-stakes game of backyard bully and it’s costing a ton of money. I don’t like it one bit.

          • leslie says:

            It’s the “. . . people have died and are dying all over the world” part that is so horrific.

      • 49erDweet says:

        Classifying information was intended to restrict access to military information. Leave it to bureaucracy to steal the process so they can be sneaky.

    • angienc says:

      simofish — I *adore* you; you truly are one of the best people I’ve ever known (IRL or online), but I have to respectfully disagree with you on this one.

      First, the sole purpose of Hillary using her own private server was to circumvent FOIA/hide what she was doing. Right there, she losses me. The only reason for her to take these steps was because she knew she was doing things that were shady. There ca be no other rational explanation, IMO.
      Second, the fact that others have acted improperly with their email to circumvent FOIA/hide their shady transactions does nothing to mitigate Hillary doing the same (and, lets be honest — doing it to the 10th power). I would not trust Condi or Colin either.
      Third, yes, our government hacked is disgraceful and worrisome and shows the overall incompetence of the people we are paying good money (via taxes) to run things. However, I don’t see why worrying about one precludes worrying about the other.

      And I say all this as someone who donated my time and money to Hillary in 2008 — but her actions as SoS have truly shocked and disappointed me. She has really lost my trust and I can’t imagine any way for her to get it back..

      • Myiq2xu says:

        simofish — I *adore* you; you truly are one of the best people I’ve ever known (IRL or online), but I have to respectfully disagree with you on this one.

        Every criticism/disagreement on this blog should be preferenced just like that.

  16. DeniseVB says:

    My first thought when I saw this …. wonder what Dandy Tiger was plugging in today ? 😉

  17. Dora says:

    MSNBC cancelled their segment when they wouldn’t disclose information.

    Wow – MSNBC Targets “Stump for Trump” Ladies – Demanded To Know Employers, Addresses and Children’s Names…

  18. Dora says:

    Hillary’s Dangerous Negligence over Benghazi

    The attempt to convict Khatallah for the attack that killed four Americans could falter over Clinton’s deleted e-mails.

  19. Myiq2xu says:

    Beam me up, Scotty.

  20. DeniseVB says:

    This guy’s timeline is a riot. Not sure how he leans, but a great personal peek at the Iowa State Fair today….

    • leslie says:

      I wish I had been able to go there. But I have people coming in from Indianapolis tomorrow and had a paper to edit today.

  21. helenk3 says:

    backtrack met bill on the golf course. this was a supposed accident and I am 21 years old and look like Linda Darnell

  22. helenk3 says:

    a must read
    American greatness facing death by 1000 cuts

  23. Dora says:

    Sounds like a good interview with The Donald. I hope I can catch it.

    The full interview will air Sunday on NBC’s “Meet the Press,” starting at 9 a.m. ET.

    Donald Trump: Undocumented Immigrants ‘Have to Go’
    “We will work with them. They have to go. Chuck, we either have a country, or we don’t have a country,” he said.

  24. leslie says:

    I just have to say the paper I’m editing is a former colleague’s thesis and is boring as he!!. Thank goodness I have this TCH thread to keep my brain working today.
    Tomorrow I’ll have a life outside of this tiny little office . . . 🙂
    When I’m done with the paper, I’m going to order Chinese and watch more Orphan Black.

  25. helenk3 says:

    does anyone feel like some music?
    thanks to a facebook post today this song has been on my mind all day

  26. Myiq2xu says:
  27. helenk3 says:

    I am beginning to believe that Trump is in it to win it. this ad pulls no punches

  28. helenk3 says:

    would love to hear Somebody’s husbands opinion on this.
    sounds like a complete clusterf–k

  29. Kathy says:

    The ‘undocumented immigrant’ is to convince us that illegal aliens just accidentally left their papers at home. CNN always uses undocumented and it sends me through the roof. I heard Hillary answering a few questions at the Iowa State Fair today, followed by Trump answering questions. Side by side it is evident why people are gravitating to Trump. Hillary basically gave some mushy non answers and Trump just says it–and I loved it..

  30. DandyTIger says:

    Trump wrote The Art of the Deal. Trump said in Iowa that winning the presidency would be “the deal”. Just fair warning, he’s in it to win it. God help us all. Then again, I’ve decided I’m for chaos.

  31. lurker says:

    Trump had a book out in 2011 with similar ideas “time to get tough”. Anyone know about it?

  32. Dora says:


    Obama Remembers Ferguson On 70th Anniversary Of VJ Day…

Comments are closed.