Turning up Tails Open Thread

It’s fair to say this is the most bizarre pre-election season ever. This is certainly not like anything I’ve seen before and I think zero parallels can be drawn between this season and previous seasons. We can start with Donald Trump, whose appeal can be summed up in this quote from an Iowa fair-goer:

“He speaks for the common man […] He may be a millionaire, but he’s not beholden to the same special interests. And he tells it like it is.”

That’s, like, so truthy. Being truthy is a concept that is apparently no longer reserved for politicians and their Orwellian doublespeak. Nevermind that Trump’s actual election would be the pinnacle of Regulatory Capture. Sure, he won’t being bowing to lobbyists, but that’s because he’ll be the lobbyist-in-chief. Every action item on his presidential agenda will be designed to help him and his wealthy cohorts in the NYC. Not to sound all Occupy Wall Street, but I do think it’s fair to say that that particular cohort has enough wealth and power, thank you very much.

But this is what you get when you have strong populist trend and the pitchforks don’t come out fast enough. We’re deep in Huey Long – FDR territory. Uber-Rich f*cks will always find a way to game the system, even if it means a bullet to the head of the genuine populist and the subsequent election of a Wall Street Tycoon to navigate through the rough times. But that’s just me. YMMV.

There are useful idiots on both sides, now. While Trump courts the USA!-base, every.single.response from factions on the left is STILL, “But Bush did it!” And that’s as defense for why Democrats are doing it, not to point out why it’s wrong. It’s so painful how long this strategy has been effective. You can’t even read any article on the mainstream political spectrum criticizing corruption on the left without the first bazillion comments being, “Bu…bu…but, BUSH!” Or Rove, or Condi, or Rumsfeld. The reasoning skills of these (mostly young) folks is astoundingly shallow.

I dunno. I can’t get a pulse on politics these days, and I’m pretty sure that’s by design. Trump has effectively disrupted the right, and the only prediction I feel confident in making is that there will be more disruptions on the left. It’s clear by now that Hillary is not going to walk this nomination to first, let alone home base. It’s got me wondering if she’s a deliberate moving target, whether she knows it or not. I mean anything could happen. Anything is actually happening all the time now.

Beyond these general complaints, I’ve got nothing. I’m sorry if you came here today for humor, insightful political analysis, or for MyIQ’s thrilling social commentary. I can’t delivery any of that for you today. I’m just overwhelmed and kind of sad. Call it Dog Days Blues, I guess.

This is an open thread.

About Lola-in-a-Basket

Bitch, please.
This entry was posted in 2016 Elections and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

146 Responses to Turning up Tails Open Thread

  1. Dora says:

    What do you mean you’ve got nothing? You have presented us with a well written and well thought out essay describing what you correctly call ” the most bizarre pre-election season ever”. I found it very insightful and I thank you for it. Please don’t be sad. We all have to live through those Dog Days from time to time. Especially during the month of August. Don’t worry – September will be here soon.

    Here’s a story about Trump that goes back almost 30 years and is suddenly making the rounds again. I do remember when it happened. New Yorkers are used to hearing such stories about The Donald, which I suppose is the reason he has so much support there.

    WOW: Airlines Refuse to Fly Critically Ill 3-Year-Old to Doctors… So Parents Call Trump

    An incredible story involving Donald Trump has just come to light, and virtually no one knows about it because, unlike what almost any politician would do, the billionaire hasn’t used it to boost his public image.


    • Thanks, Dora. I do remember that story, too, vaguely.

    • Jadzia says:

      I agree with Dora! This was a great essay. My only consolation (is it consoling?) is that with the general still more than a year away, the folks sucking all the oxygen out of the room right now almost certainly do not include the eventual winner. I see both Trump and Sanders flaming out, “Dean Scream” style.

  2. elliesmom says:

    It’s just a little shy of 7:30 am here in Beantown. I just woke up. My eyes are a little fuzzy, and after a long day at the zoo with the grandkids yesterday, I’m having a hard time waking up. Ellie needed to go out, and Maxine is hungry. I know what I have to do immediately, but I’m not completely sure what comes after that. I think that’s what’s going on with Trumpmania and Bernie. The people are waking up. They know the first thing they have to do is send the message they’re waking up. When they’re fully awake, and everyone knows it, they’ll think about what comes next. It might not be he best way to start the day, but I’m encouraged they’re waking up.

  3. Lulu says:

    I am fascinated by how Trump has used the Obama tactics of 2008. Is it cult or anti-cult? His use of new media which was all Obama love in 2008 and 2012 must be horrify to the smug bastards who control it. I mean Kelly got “unliked” on Facebook! it is all so dopey. I am not pro nor anti Trump. I am gawking. Is he better or worse than Obama? I don’t have a clue. But he is different and the same all at once. But the snide and sneering from both parties are getting it punched in the kisser. Is it a fake “wrasslin” show or a family fight at the funeral? Or both? Since I am neither a Dem or Repub I am just watching the circus. And laughing a lot.

    • Lulu says:

      And the faux intellectual and inside politics crowd feelings of massive insult to the very existence of Trump is very entertaining. Trump is poking them in the ass I find it very amusing. It is the twelve year old boy making fart noises during the sermon of Dr. Rev. His Honored Holiness, the Bishop of Poobah’s sermon and high mass for the Blessedness of the Immaculate Conceived (and Murder Indicted) Undocumented Dreamer of Big Dreams.

  4. DeniseVB says:

    Great thoughts Lola, I wish I had a tenth of your powers😉 So here’s a fresh cuppa Carly to start the morning. It’s long, so save for later to savor ………..

    • She’s so good. Glad to see her comment on the border. I read this the other day, and it’s a real eye opener with regard to immigration and America’s seemingly endless appetite for drugs.


      How the Sinaloa drug cartel digs its tunnels.

      • DeniseVB says:

        Carly was a rock star at the RS event, and the reason I went ! She’s such a trooper! Notice in this speech she’s in front of the podium, no notes, no teleprompter. She only spoke a short time because she wanted to spend more time answering questions. Something so endearing about her.

    • AFVet says:

      The more I hear her speak, the more I like her.
      Thanks for the vid Denise.

      • DeniseVB says:

        I just added another one ! The speech I got to hear in person, lucky me😉

        • AFVet says:

          I saw that one before Denise, she’s great.
          She sticks to her guns and and doesn’t back down.
          Her ability to stay on message is indicative of her experience in the business world.
          People on many threads are calling Trump ‘refreshing’.
          I find her refreshing as well..
          People are sick of politicians.

          Many attempts to corner her have failed.
          She is very savvy and a joy to listen to.

          Trump and Fiorina are used to the thrust and parry of high stakes negotiations.
          Neither should be dismissed as to their abilities.

  5. driguana says:

    Here’s a very interesting article on Amazon in the NYT…that I rarely ready anymore. Is Amazon the best of capitalism or the worst?

    • driguana says:

      These are Amazon’s Leadership Principles….would they work for government?

    • Jadzia says:

      The worst. Having spent about 15 years in a profession in which people were encouraged to be dickheads (to bring out the best in the team, don’t’cha know), I can say that nothing drives me (an incredibly hard working person with some skills and knowledge) away faster than that kind of workplace culture.

  6. Dora says:

    A must read. And then pass it on.

    Trump Gives a Glimpse of the Golden Arrow Targeted Toward McConnell/Donohue’s Achilles Heel – Intensely Strategic…



  7. votermom says:

    Great post.
    I think this primary has been a lot of fun because of Trump and Sanders.
    Things are out of our control (as they have been for a while) but the fun thing is that they appear to be spinning out of the control of the party leaders as well.
    Ride the wave. Don’t drown.

  8. piper says:

    Luv coming here to read posted articles and comments. After all we did for Mz Hillary way back then and getting upset over the rush to select Bronco, we’re just sitting back this time around and enjoying the circus acts and treats.
    Lola, never apology for your postings – they’re always insightful and forthright.

    • AFVet says:

      I would add with a lot more knowledge than we had before.

    • *BLUSH* Thank you, Piper and AFTVet. And for the coffee, Piper.🙂

    • DeniseVB says:

      LOL, I forgot who said it, but if the GOP is the clown car then the Dems are the clowns in the nursing home van. Can it get any sillier? I hope so. Lots of anger vetting now and the 2 main parties are the only ones to blame. Pass the funnel cake please😀

  9. piper says:

    Interesting that Mike Peters drew this as he leans left.

    Check out this Mother Goose and Grimm cartoon I found! http://t.co/ErhZrgGkRT Humpty Dumpty and ArthurCare aka Broncocare.— Piper (@MerlinBichon) August 16, 2015

  10. 1539days says:

    Trump has a lot of money (and is leveraged up to his neck) but just about every president in the modern era has been rich. GW Bush may be the richest so far.

    I compare Trump to Ross Perot. I think he has a lot of people pulling for him, but I suspect many won’t vote for him.

    • SHV says:

      “but just about every president in the modern era has been rich.”
      Harry Truman and Bill Clinton come to mind as exceptions, however, Bill has made up for that deficiency since leaving 1600 Penn. Ave.

      • votermom says:

        If Trump actually got to be POTUS, I have no doubt he would end up a trillionaire. Which would be ok by me if he got the rest of America prosperous again.

        • DeniseVB says:

          Didn’t the Obamas go from $0 to $11 million in 7 years? I doubt that was ALL from the sale of books. Even if their paying out of pocket from some of their vacay expenses, they should have blown through those millions pretty quickly.

    • 1539days says:

      There were the $100,000 in cattle futures.

  11. piper says:

    George Will’s take on Donald Trump, the Counterfeit Republican. At the end of the article, George discloses that his wife works for Scott Walker, a good choice for President.

  12. Dora says:

    Donald Trump Fighting Against DNC/RNC/Mainstream Media Coalition – Including Fox News

    (Above: Jeb Bush, Rupert Murdoch, and Valerie Jarrett enjoying dinner together in 2014. All three have at least one enemy in common – Donald Trump.)

    Read more at http://dcwhispers.com/tag/murdoch/#yCeJS3ctrM0LTKeh.99

  13. votermom says:

    I love this part
    “Mark Zuckerberg’s personal Senator, Marco Rubio, has a bill to triple H-1Bs that would decimate women and minorities.”

  14. Jeffhas says:


    Very little can make me more angry then Claire McCaskill defending Hillary on ABC over her email issues.

    Really Hillary? Make a deal with Mother Judas?

    What’s next? – announcing Bill Richardson as you SOS pick? I will not be surprised any. more.

    • votermom says:

      Jinx! Posted above – it hits everything on my wish list, and then some.
      Alsp love the slam at Zuckerberg & Rubio.

      Is it realistic / doable? Don’t know. But a good starting position.

      • DeniseVB says:

        Trumpkins did not become a successful billionaire global enterprise by playing nicey-nice in the world. He’s hiring the best minds to advise him and seems to be cutting through the political bullsh*t. I think anything he puts his mind to is doable. I like to remember he’s not taking superpac money and owes nobody anything in return. He had to set up a donation page at his website because people keep sending him money! He’s matching all those donated funds. I find this wildly refreshing to the politics as usual donor class controlling the political class, leaving the rest of us with no voice.

      • lurker says:

        I think they also need to look at L1 misuse. It was meant for multinationals to move officers around and work at their office. But is being used by consulting firms to bring tech people and have them work at client sites. Bush had workplace checks to curb this, not anymore

    • Constance says:

      “F” Walker, I’m voting for the American candidate Trump.

    • Kathy says:

      I can already hear the left hyperventilating……’so heartless and cruel.’
      Me? I love it. We have too many people now–most packed along the east and west coast. We cannot assimilate so many so fast and if we don’t –welcome to Europes immigration problems.

  15. DeniseVB says:

    Look who’s back in NYC’s Central Park………….The Guardian Angels ! And DiBlasio ain’t happy😛


    Haven’t been needed since Guiliani took office. Boom!

  16. Dora says:

    Why can’t they find a way to cut down on the flatulence coming from the White House?

    Supplement that makes cows less flatulent could help fight climate change: Drug cuts methane gas by 30 per cent, say scientists

    Last year, the Obama administration said that it would make a multi-pronged attack on cow flatulence in an attempt to cut emissions.


    • blowme0bama says:

      JESUS F CHRIST….. From day 1, this GD “administration” has had a laser focus on the trivial while ignoring the problems that actually affect the lives of people…

  17. leslie says:

    Just sent this to my Dem friends:

  18. Constance says:

    “Nevermind that Trump’s actual election would be the pinnacle of Regulatory Capture. Sure, he won’t being bowing to lobbyists, but that’s because he’ll be the lobbyist-in-chief. Every action item on his presidential agenda will be designed to help him and his wealthy cohorts in the NYC.”

    The thing is Trump is open and truthful about it. Every action item on Obama’s presidential agenda is also designed to help him and his wealthy cohorts but he is lying about it and creating theatrics that are insulting. I prefer the blunt and honest Trump any day, Trump’s theatrics are fun and don’t insult my intelligence. Solyndra paid off Obama supporters. Obama care is a welfare package for insurance companies, imagine selling a product people are mandated by law to buy. Obama is keeping the racial grievance business afloat and relevant. Trump loves America and it’s citizens. The Dems and most Republicans have gotten too multinational for my taste.

  19. DeniseVB says:

    Adorable baby police dog in training❤

  20. I generally spend my weekends falling down internet rabbit holes. Last week it was the vest web of anti-CPS activists, almost all of whom have or have had open cases. They had left some extremely offensive comments on some articles where a social worker was killed in Vermont. It was so fascinating to watch them all copy each other’s language and not even try to hide the fact that they all had open cases. I mean, it just does not get anymore white-trash-&-ratchet than leading your rhetoric with “CPS took my kids, but they wrong, tho.”

    Today I decided to check out Melania Trump. I’m fascinated by her. She’s a year older than me and looks fabulous. She seems pretty chill judging by her Twitter feed, so I followed. That led me to other Trump family members, especially The Donald’s elder children. They seem pretty nice and normal. I saw Donald Jr. posting about finding a raspberry patch, and I was like, wha…? So I followed the link to Instagram and found the cutest picture of him and his kids in a raspberry patch. But the comments, oy vey. I can’t even describe…see for yourself. Truly disgusting. Now I’m busy checking out these commenters trying to see if there’s an organized effort amongst them. But they’re all, like, 14 year old white boys. Go figure.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I like Melania, pretty smart lady and runs her own skin care and jewelery lines. Though Ivana will always be my favorite wife🙂

    • leslie says:

      Lola~ What is CPD? Here it’s the Chicago Public Schools.

      • DeniseVB says:

        CPS ? Child Protection Services.

        • leslie says:

          Sorry. I was on my phone at a sidewalk café and was distracted by a very inebriated person who kept approaching my table. I just wanted to post the questions and get out of there. I just got in.
          Thanks for the definition. I had forgotten you had worked for them for some time.

          Here it is DCFS – Dept of Children and Family Services. But I’m you most likely already knew that.

      • CPS= Child Protective Services. That’s the street name for the state department I work for. Used to be the formal name for most state departments tasked with ensuring the safety of children. I used to work in investigations, which is true CPS, but now I work exclusively with older youth who’ve been in care a while.

        The social worker was killed by a mother whose child she she removed in July, which sadly pretty much solidified that CPS had cause, and ensured that reunification would never happen. It was sad all the way around.

  21. foxyladi14 says:

    Don’t mess with the Sista’s!!! 😆

  22. Morgan Freeman’s step-granddaughter, whom he is alleged to have had affair with and which he belatedly denied, stabbed to death in NYC.

    • 1539days says:

      Wasn’t Morgan Freeman just doing a video about how blocking the Iran deal will expose everyone to nuclear annihilation?

      Fight the real enemy, dude.

  23. Myiq2xu says:
  24. DeniseVB says:

    I don’t care who’s President, Trey Gowdy needs to be AG ! I think the money quote from this interview was Hillary shouldn’t be blaming Republicans for her bad decisions.

  25. DeniseVB says:

    Bingo ! I can believe this, because his supporters seem so, well, normal. 😀

    No, Donald Trump’s supporters aren’t conservatives. They’re angry moderates of both parties.


    • votermom says:

      She’s right. Trump is basically a centrist and so are most of his supporters.

      • DeniseVB says:

        The really angry wing of the centrist voters. Tea Party comes to mind😉

        • leslie says:

          I have a pretty scary thought that Trump and his Trumpkins will garner just enough votes to enable Hillary to be elected. I just can’t stand the thought of more of the same. It really is more than I can take.

  26. Making homemade mac & cheese. The house smells divine. My daughter is so excited. I don’t make it too often because it’s so unhealthy and irresistible.

  27. Dora says:

    The NY Post is introducing its readers to Melania Trump just in case. 🙂

    Melania Trump would be a first lady for the ages

  28. Myiq2xu says:

    It’s #TebowTime

  29. Dora says:

    Carson City, NV Sheriff’s Deputy Killed While Responding To A Domestic Assault Call, Suspect Taken Out With The Taxpayer Relief Shot…

    The open season on law enforcement continues.


  30. Myiq2xu says:

    I’m guessing that Obama will let Hillary twist in the wind on this email thing to see if a credible challenger will emerge. If so, she may get the rug yanked out from under her again.

    OTOH, he won’t destroy the Democrats’ only viable candidate. Before this election really gets going don’t be surprised to see the FBI issue a whitewash report clearing Hillary of all wrongdoing. Some of her minions may get scapegoated.

    Then the media will circle the wagons to protect her.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Snort. And you wonder where all the Trumpkins are coming from. Just so sick of the sh*tkins.😉

    • DandyTIger says:

      I wouldn’t be surprised if the golf meeting between Bill and Barack was Bill saying there won’t be any credible challengers (read Warren, Booker, etc.) as deals have been made (Booker as VP), and so time to employ the whitewash to limit the damage to Hillary.

    • lizzy says:

      I never thought that once Obama was elected we would see a 2016 election. He doesn’t need the dem party to seize power-his actions are mostly illegal now. There is no appropriate candidate to run so Obama become Papa Doc and rules for life.

  31. Dora says:

    Jeff Sessions: Donald Trump’s Immigration Policy Is ‘Exactly the Plan America Needs’

    “This is exactly the plan America needs,” Sessions said in response to Trump’s plan. “Not only would the plan outlined in this paper work, but more quickly than many realize.


  32. Dora says:

    Sure they did. They probably helped Hillary delete her e-mails too.

    Apollo 14 astronaut claims peace-loving aliens prevented ‘nuclear war’ on Earth

  33. Myiq2xu says:
    • Lulu says:

      Babies and cats are always so funny. That is a great cat if it will play or put up with Lily. Our cats would run, hide or jump on top of the refrigerator when our kids were little.

  34. Myiq2xu says:
  35. Myiq2xu says:
  36. Dora says:

    An important discovery. The question now is – who is going to stop them?

    Secret ISIS Document: Obama, ‘Mule of the Jews’

    The secret ISIS document was obtained from a source close to the Pakistani Taliban and authenticated by U.S. intelligence agencies. That document lists a six-point battle plan for Islamic radicals to conquer the world.


  37. piper says:

    Kurt Schlichter on the GOP leaders – Says what we all know to be true about the current crop of congressional leaders – care only about staying in power neglecting small business owners and middle class voters. Who would ever have thunk that.


  38. votermom says:

    New content-free post up.

Comments are closed.