Monday Open Thread



Stuck in the service center hoping the issue with the legal aged minivan isn’t equal to a college tuition payment.

How’s your morning?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

102 Responses to Monday Open Thread

  1. votermom says:

    Prayers answered. Less than $300 hopefully.

  2. Myiq2xu says:

    Mom has an appointment with the cardiologist and the car won’t start.

  3. piper says:

    How much do they pay these idjits to say / write these absurdities. Naomi Klein on Glo-bull warming causing rise in racism. She should take Tums and call a psychiatrist in the AM – sure that her bronco care covers at least 2 or 3 sessions.

  4. Myiq2xu says:
  5. Dora says:

    Who does this man think he is? Grrrrr! I never thought much about George Will. I neither liked him nor disliked him. He was just another talking head – sometimes interesting; sometimes dull. After reading this though, I’d like to see him knocked off his pedestal.

    George Will Gives Middle Finger To Angry American Conservatives: “Get Over It” !!….

    • lizzy says:

      Someone could steal his ugly rug which would prove the toxic waves emanating from his brain do serious damage. They ate his hair.

    • 49erDweet says:

      To be fair, George Will has a mild point. Some of the problems that frustrate the base are due to “separation of powers” issues. But most are caused by lack of political testosterone.

      • DeniseVB says:

        Caught some of Rushbo talking about Will while mowing earlier. Quite simply, we’ve put Republicans back in power in 2010 and 2014 and they’re not doing their jobs. What’s it going to take to get them to listen to their people ? Trump supporters want both parties destroyed then will they hear us ?

        Yeah, you betcha I’m taking a nasty turn to “Center Right Anarchist” 😉

    • NewOrleans says:

      Did George bother to inform the ‘vulgarians’ that his wife, Mari Maseng Will, is currently an advisor to Scott Walker’s presidential campaign?

      Maseng Will worked for Bob Dole during his (failed) 1980 run for the Republican presidential nomination. In 2012, she also worked for the (failed) presidential campaigns of Rick Perry, Michele Bachmann and Mitt Romney. (She was Perry’s debate coach. Boy, was THAT a colossal failure!)

      Poor Scott Walker. Yet another seemingly good man who surrounds himself with perennial loser advisors & consultants.

      • leslie says:

        I heard that Trump hired Santorum’s campaign manager (from 2008) to organize in Iowa. (Santorum won the Iowa caucus). I know Santorum didn’t go much past Iowa, but his success was big there.

        • NewOrleans says:

          You’re right, leslie.

          Trump’s Iowa campaign is being managed by Chuck Laudner, who was one of the chief architects of Rick Santorum’s stunning Iowa caucus victory in 2012.

          In South Carolina, Trump has hired Ed McMullen, the state’s GOP co-chairman, and Gerri McDaniel, who worked on Nikki Haley’s successful campaign for governor. McDaniel was also responsible for Newt Gingrich’s landslide victory in the 2012 South Carolina primary.

          Another recent hire by Trump was Michael Glassner, who will serve as his National Political Director. Glassner was chief of staff for Sarah Palin during her vice presidential bid and was also senior advisor to George W. Bush’s 2000 campaign in Iowa.

      • DeniseVB says:

        In my head, I want Walker/Cruz, in my heart, Carly/Rubio, in my subconscious soul, Trump/Cruz.

        Still having fun though. A looooooong way to go yet.

        • Somebody says:

          Rubio doesn’t figure anywhere into my desires for the GOP ticket. He’ll say and do whatever it takes to get elected, he’s another Obama with a slightly better resume. I will give him credit that he actually did work in the FL legislature, but he’s an establishment hack that will promise anything to get elected. Once elected he’ll do what his paymasters tell him to do.

          I’m a FLORIDIAN and I don’t want Jeb or Rubio. Hell I don’t know who I want, but I know I don’t want the same old, same old……you know meet the new boss, the same as the old. That’s what you’ll get with Jeb or Rubio, they are part and parcel of GOPE. There isn’t a thin dimes difference between GOPE and DEMs on many, many issues.

          • DeniseVB says:

            Ok, just switched my heart pick to Carly/Cruz.🙂 See, I’m easy. Heh.

            On Cspan’s FB page they have Walker’s Iowa Fair speech, he’s really getting beat up in the comments …. but those are probably Union crazies.

  6. mothy67 says:

    Where did your kid decide to go?

    • votermom says:

      She is going to your hometown – Pitt.🙂

      • mothy67 says:

        IMHO a wise choice over Temple. After two years in the dorms she(you) can save a ton moving off campus . South Side and Shadyside are big for the collegiate crowd. Check out the rents for a three bedroom apt on Craigslist in South Side. Price of a small one bedroom in Philly. Her tuition comes with, I think, a free bus pass and it is 15 minutes to campus.

        • votermom says:

          Those are cool tips!
          We are staying in a Monroeville motel to pinch pennies coz hotel rates in Pittsburgh itself are high.

          • mothy67 says:

            I do not know how to drive so I think in terms of bus lines. I live about six miles from Pitt south you are staying about 10 miles east. If you are making a day of it do the incline, Warhol Museum, Stephan Foster’s House.
            If you ever have any questions “Look no further Mr. Kim”– a line from St. Elmo’s Fire, brat pack movie from my freshman year uttered by Emilio Estevez.
            Seriously anything I can do.

        • votermom says:

          You are so great, mothy.
          Kid is painfully shy and overwhelmed right now so I think we are keeping everything low-key. Her shyness she gets from me & hubby btw.

          • mothy67 says:

            I so respect. I was not talking about lunch. I meant simply if you have questions I can answer. I may or may not renew my memberships next year to memberships in the arts stuff next year. Likely not as several organizations have gone public pro parenthood. We have a family tradition of going to the Museum on the day after Thanksgiving. I think no more. I think art subsidies are insane anyway same with sports and acting. The taxpayer subsidezes The Academy Awards. Pay no taxes just like NFL. Non profit Huh? Not non profit but some term saying they represent. Fuck off. I will give to St Judes and Wounded Warrior Project.

  7. Somebody says:

    I’m trying to enjoy my last 3 day weekend. My son has been on summer hours, but this week is the last week and then he returns to his normal schedule. I’ll have the girls five days a week instead of four, but I’ll have them two hours less each day.

    I will only have the two youngest (2 year old and almost 1 year old) all day as the oldest started school. I’m proud to say she was MORE than ready to start kindergarten. The final two weeks of summer all my work finally paid off and she started reading, reading books not just single words! She’s doing super in the math department she learned how to do carry over addition!!! We had some difficult times along the way because there was so much I took for granted that a child that age should know, but it all worked out and she headed to school confident!! Although she did tell me that I needed to have lessons ready as soon as she got off the bus so I could teach her new things everyday.

    The middle one that wasn’t talking at all when she came here is now talking in full sentences AND we’re working on potty training!! I plan to focus on bringing her up to where she needs to be next, but I had to focus on the oldest to get her ready for school. The baby will be a year old next month and she’s been walking for two months and says a few words, she’s pretty much where she needs to be thankfully, but I’ve had her since she was six months old.

    I don’t comment very much, but I do read the blog and comments most days. Hopefully now that I only have the two younger ones for most of the day, I’ll have free time during naps!!!

    • SHV says:

      Fortunately for the children, the marriage turned to shit before the kids were damaged beyond “repair”. They are so lucky to have you!!!

      • Somebody says:

        Ah thanks! I think my son is adjusting to his new life, although I think he’s a bit lonely at times and overwhelmed. She signed the kids totally over to him. He went to court on August 4th, but we’re still waiting on the ruling. The judge was uncomfortable with basically taking away her rights, especially without her being there. Well, duh, she’s wasn’t here because she doesn’t give a shit, hence why SHE decided to sign the girls away. We’ll see when the ruling comes in, after all this is still the south and mothers are revered even when they are a piece of shit.

        In addition to watching the girls all week, we’ve also been putting my son’s house back in order…….the place was trashed, she was cray cray. It’s never been decorated, but it is now. The girls rooms are pink and purple!

        If I wasn’t working over at his house, then I was out popping tags at thrift stores, LOL!

        • votermom says:

          Do you think it might have been some kind of post partum psychosis or was she always unbalanced?
          Prayers for you, your son, and your gkids!

          • Somebody says:

            Post partum psychosis, ha! She’s been whack since before my son met her, that’s according to her own parents. Who btw have washed their hands of her and are willing to testify for my son should that be needed.

        • leslie says:

          I agree that the children are sooooo lucky to have you! (and so is your son😉 )
          You are really a role model for me. I wish I had your energy.

          • Somebody says:

            Thanks Leslie, I don’t know about being anybody’s role model. You enjoy your retirement and your grandchildren, but you enjoy your grandchildren on your terms. There isn’t another choice for my grandkids except for me to watch them, at least for now. I had my hopes up about an Au Pair, but then my hopes were dashed. I thought $195 a week sounded too good to be true, that doesn’t include the approximately $7,000 in up front fees or education costs……..damn! I was already bff’s with the Au Pair in my mind, LMAO!

            There is a reason that we can’t have children after a certain age, nature is wise. Trust me this is tough on my middle aged body, every day I swear I find something else that aches. The younger two combined weigh just over 50 pounds and I quite often carry both of them around. On the upside I could shot-put 12 packs and gallons of milk! My husband said he’s going to have to start working out, you know just in case I get really pissed at him or something, LOL!

    • Myiq2xu says:

      Lily is the same age but she’s not walking or talking yet. (She’ll never learn to walk if she gets held all the time)

      • Lulu says:

        My middle son wouldn’t talk because he had his older brother to do it for him. But he learned to walk early so he could chase after the older one. Then my daughter’s first words were “shut up” to her older brothers because she wanted to do the talking. Lily is having a lovely time not talking or walking yet. She will when she needs or wants to do so. She is one of the cutest babies I have ever seen. I’m sure she is not spoiled at all.

      • leslie says:

        Our littlest one is 17 months. She didn’t crawl – refused to crawl, in fact. She also didn’t walk until just recently. But the moment she began to walk, she saw purpose in crawling and started to crawl as well. (Yes. She, too, had everyone carrying/holding her since she was a buttercup and the cutest thing on – well almost on – 2 feet.) I think she saw no reason to crawl – and get her little knees dirty or scraped if there were someone to take her wherever she wanted to go. Now nothing is stopping her and starting Friday I’ll be busy taking care of her and the older grandbaby while mom and dad go back to teaching and social working in the schools. After Labor Day, I’ll only have the smallest one to care for since pre-school resumes then.
        I am grateful to share the responsibilities with the “other” grandmother. We each will do 2 day’s per week and substitute for one another when needed. The 5th day our littlest one will go to childcare so she can have some social time with other little ones. (Plus, she is so adorable that the woman who does the child care in her home begged to have her return this school year for at least some part of the week.) The childcare person is almost part of the family since she cared our first one 4 years ago. She is invited to birthday parties and other of our family celebrations

      • Somebody says:

        Lily will be walking before you know it. The only reason our little one is walking is because she wants to catch up with her older siblings.

        • Myiq2xu says:

          People worry about that stuff with their firstborns. By the third you’re like “she’ll get around to it.”

          You can’t wait for the first ones to grow up. You want the last ones to stay babies for as long as possible.

    • votermom says:

      Yay! That is such good news about the gkids.
      They are lucky lucky lucy to have such a great nana!

    • 49erDweet says:

      Whew. We only have one to deal with, and she started K last week. She’s a handful. And mean. And bossy. I have no idea in the world from where she obtained those particular genetic traits, but I’m positive she inherited her brainiakiness from – blush – her paternal side.

  8. driguana says:

    Blessings to all of the youth and teachers heading back to school today. Enjoy each other and the wonderful rewards of learning. Loved this story today.

  9. Dora says:

    A turning point? Wow. This is getting very interesting.

    Halperin: Trump Reached ‘Turning Point,’ ‘Most’ Estab Cands Think He Can Win Nomination

    • mothy67 says:

      I hear people bitch and moan about politics all the time. Most don’t vote but I also hear them bitch and moan about the lying liars on TV. Trump is taking both on. Poor schmucks getting laid off every few months do not want to hear it is an act of kindness. My neighborhood has had about 20 families placed here. Almost all from Nepal so I think we got lucky. Punks best friend is from there. Thing is they opened several businesses and struggle or go under not due to xenophobia but to bad business models. A convenience store with no parking located between two other similar stores with parking that have been part of the community for the 35 years my parents have lived here. Both stores owned by middle eastern legal immigrants. Unless there is an ISIS flag hanging outside I am going to buy milk where it is convenient. I have never once profiled a store when buying cigarettes. The new place struggling also does not offer lottery. My mom goes into play her numbers and buys a few things otherwise she’d never go in those places. Bitch is cheap( B word said with love and validation as she has called me a son of a bitch a thousand times — Irish Catholic)
      Anyhow neighborhood, was years before obama, deemed too white they accepted millions from the feds to accept Section 8. Community fought it in court and lost. The opposition had nothing to do with the color of skin it had to do with lifelong investments in your property. When I graduated from high school in the mid-eighties my dad made 24,000 a year, my mom graduated from nursing school same year they had 5 kids. We qualified for free lunches, but that was not going to happen. We all worked. I was likely the poorest kid and I went to a decent school. Seemed eveyone went to college. Class of 120 and 2 went Ivy League. I graduated from this school but I grew up in Clairton, PA. Back then it was 50/50 black and white accept my raycist god parents from Puerto Rico Nice place and most people achieved if they wanted. Parts of the place look like armaggedon. Section 8. Lawns over grown plywood on windows. Older kids intimidating the elderly. So sad and I find fault with the government. Kids are not helped by placing them in a wealthier neighborhood if education is not paramount.
      Screw Dr. Carson being Surgeon General I say Secretary of Education.

  10. Myiq2xu says:

  11. Myiq2xu says:


    Cardiologist says she’s doing good, okay to play bingo, come back in 1 month. Mom is at my sister’s enjoying 2 of her ggd’s (Mercy and Josslyn). I borrowed BIL’s battery charger and I am hoping that will take care of problem for now. If not, hoping it is just the battery. Charging system repairs can get expensive even if you DIY. OTOH my car is old enough I don’t have to go to the dealer for parts.

    It’s too fucking hot to mow right now. Seriously – I might burst into flames.

  12. Myiq2xu says:
    • DandyTIger says:

      Agree. I’m forming a “chaos, fuck the world” party. If we’re all going down, might as well make it spectacular. Would it be overkill to have a nuclear power plant solely devoted to making popcorn?

    • mothy67 says:

      In a sane world our elected representitives would reflect the will of the people. Message was sent in last two elections. The people feel unheard. The Donald is raising a collective voice. I was taken by Walker and Cruz at first. Cruz lost me with TPP and his increasing H1B visas. Walker lost me using his proxy sWill to attack Trump’s supporters. His wife works for Walker.

  13. Myiq2xu says:

    This is some cray shit:

  14. helenk3 says:

    must be car breakdown day. i went to drive my car to a doctor’s appointment. would not start. Called triple A and the guy came out and charged it. But too late for appointment

  15. DeniseVB says:

    Good read all the way through……..

  16. Myiq2xu says:

  17. mothy67 says:

    I am actually liking Donald more and more with each passing day. Due to his entering the race everyone has to respond. I thought in my tiny brain, pre-Trump, that the slew of candidates was designed for a Jeb win. Money players back a few fringe players. Enough so the anti-bush group splintered all opposition. Jeb comes out on top. I think it was scripted. His path to glory. obama fatigue coupled with hillary, jeb would be a shoe in. Nope never. I think the little boys/girls at the RNC all got participation trophies and now think they are smart. Nope tools, denigrating the intelligence of everyone but them is a path to victory.
    I liked Walker. I liked Cruz. I liked Fiorini(suppurts expansion of H1B visas). Huckabee and Santorem never. Carson is a profound man. Kasich democrat. Lindsay who? Perry has collapsed twice on stage. Christie no thanks. – rubio no. Who am I missing? Oh yeah Caitlyn Jenner. Ratings are epic fail.
    I support Trump. I do not think I am smart. I have a college education(total bullshit I could have read it all on my own)

Comments are closed.