Saturday *Really Early* Morning Open Thread

Definitely a video guide for following early primary politics, in any year since the 80’s. And yeah, really early means,
coffee !!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

100 Responses to Saturday *Really Early* Morning Open Thread

  1. DeniseVB says:

    Just another open thread to get the long weekend started🙂

  2. Dora says:

    Oh, it’s not that early for me. I’m a morning person. 🙂

    It would appear that Trump did the right thing by signing the pledge. The republican voters are more sure of him now.

    Poll: Republicans think newly loyal Trump will be nominee
    Donald Trump’s decision to rule out a third party run has led a record percentage of Republican voters into thinking he will be the GOP nominee, according to the latest installment of Rasmussen Report’s “Trump Change.”

    • Lulu says:

      A new Survey USA poll is astonishing. In almost every category that Repubs and Dems have predicted Trump would do poorly he polls the best. In the South and Midwest, with women (less than men but still pretty good) and with some college or four year degree. He polls better than Hillary with Asians is making serious inroads with blacks and Hispanics. Like I said it is amazing. It is anti-Obama and anti-establishment Republican.

      • DeniseVB says:

        Iowa caucus is 5 months away, whew, so much time left, so much can change.

        Geesh, even Fox news is beating “Quds or Kurds” to death. Voters like me really don’t care if they’re the Moops.

      • Myiq2xu says:

        I feel like Thelma in “Thelma and Louise.” While Louise/Trump is accelerating toward the edge of the cliff, I’m sitting there eating popcorn, drinking beer, blasting the stereo and enjoying the ride.

        • Lulu says:

          The peasants are revolting. I look at those numbers, especially the internals, and go Jesus H Christ! What the hell is going on! From what I have read of the theory of preference cascades that is what it appears to be in some variation. It is reaction, fury, and pendulum swinging after one person said go fuck yourself. Trump polls almost best with moderate independents. The reasonable are no longer reasonable!

          • DeniseVB says:

            I’ve seen references to Trump, Carson and Fiorina supporters being the New Anarchists. Hey, we’re cool now, let’s go loot something😀

            All this concern about the politically INexperienced candidates isn’t a problem for me. How well have the EXperienced political class handled the country so far? Probably how Eisenhower got elected. He was *only* a General and did a pretty good job.

          • foxyladi14 says:

            It is a movement. WOOT!!!! 😀

      • Dora says:

        I think it’s immigration too.

        Sorry, Jorge… 64% of Americans DO WANT Trump’s Border Wall With Mexico
        According to a recent YouGov poll, a majority of Americans including blacks, Hispanics and even Democrats want a border wall with Mexico. No wonder Trump is doing so well.

        • Lulu says:

          I think the border invasion last summer was the tipping point. It infuriated people who were told to shut up and like it and they were a POS for not liking their school taxes raised and their wages decreased. It festered and then blew. Cause and effect.

          • lyn says:

            The GOP donor class is trying to figure out a way to kneecap Trump. If they do, it still ain’t going to be Jeb; Carson and Fiorina will surge.

    • cynic says:

      I’m an early riser as well, Dora, and it’s not unusual for me to need only 5 hrs. of sleep. I almost mentioned a time or two, (when I’m up at 3:00, and reading this blog, and seeing that you have already posted something) that I’m not the only one that doesn’t sleep much.

      I also wake up numerous times during the night, and usually check in here to see if there’s anything new to read, so thanks for the links as well.

  3. Dora says:

    It must be nice to be King. 🙂

    King of Saudi Arabia makes royal entrance; books every room at DC hotel

  4. Myiq2xu says:

    im tagurt. i r a rottn kitteh. klowm r sleepin.


  5. Dora says:

    The NYC Anti Obama Protest The Media Didn’t Report.

    Thousand of protesters gathered outside the offices of Democrat Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand in New York City on Tuesday urging her to withdrawal her support for the Iranian nuclear deal.

    Protesters held signs asking “What part of death to America, death to Israel do you not understand?”

    • DeniseVB says:

      Probably because they didn’t burn the city, loot or shut down the highways. After a few days, WaPo wrote about the Beck peace march of thousands but only about the media ignoring it, like WaPo.

  6. piper says:

    Since we’re into stealing from others, here’s one from Popsmoke

  7. Dora says:

    The day before the debate, he will be getting all this extra attention! 🙂

    Trump to give national security speech aboard USS Iowa

    • 49erDweet says:

      You’ve heard of empty suits? Geraldo is an empty head.

      • cynic says:

        I’ve pretty much stopped watching The 5 because he’s on it. I also grew tired of them pushing JeBush all the time.

        • piper says:

          Amazing how silence is golden – stopped watching the news including Fox at the beginning of the year and my disposition has improved. Now my BP only climbs during my internet searches / readings. 😈
          The 5 was interesting even with Bob Beckel but I have major difficulty listening to Juan and don’t get me started on Geraldo who is an ass personified (apologies to 4 legged asses). I prefer to spend my limited income on trips not replacement televisions.

  8. helenk3 says:

    so women can be deported, men can be deported, children can be deported but if you decide you are half and half you can stay. snip snip lets you stay even if you are a felon.
    I am so confused

    • 1539days says:

      I actually learned about this is Catholic schools. Back then, we just made fun of it.

      • Mt.Laurel says:

        So did I. In Catholic school – where we actually had religion (including comparative religion), philosophy and humanities courses. World history/cultures included a lot of aspects left out at other schools. Also had field trips to Hindu temples/synagogues/ etc and had special lecturers from various religions.

        At the same time religion had been banned from public schools. It is my understanding it is still banned and I recall many fights over after school activities such as bible study. If they want to teach this – then they need to change to rules and incorporate info for the other major religions of the world. Sorry the five pillars do not get a free pass.

        But then again, global warming is more religion than science. So I guess they get to cherry pick topics.

    • leslie says:

      I didn’t learn any of Islam in my Catholic school. But I did learn about it from an uncle who was a Catholic priest and who HAD to know about all religions while studying to become a priest (in the 1930’s). He was more contemporary than many of his colleagues and I used to listen to him talk about “stuff” that my parents might have been less eager for me to know at early-ish ages. So when I was in high school, I knew about Judaism and Islam (not taught in h.s.) as well as Catholicism and Protestantism (covered in my Catholic school classes). Jebus, no wonder the nuns thought I was dangerous. 😉

  9. DeniseVB says:


  10. helenk3 says:

    random thought

    between the ME and Eastern Europe we are have the largest migration of people that I ever remember. Where will they go and what happens in the countries they leave?

    • DeniseVB says:

      I was thinking about why they are fleeing Syria, can’t we fix that first ? I mean this is all a result of Obama and Hillary’s foreign policy, right? Meanwhile we’re making deals with Iran and Obama’s BFF the Saudi King is not lifting a finger ?

  11. DeniseVB says:

    Obama’s foreign policy ? I think so….

  12. Dora says:

    They are determined to get rid of him. I don’t know what they’ll do, but they will do something. They seem THAT determined!

    Talk in G.O.P. Turns to a Stop Donald Trump Campaign

  13. Underwhelmed says:

    This is a long read, but it’s really interesting and hits many nails on their heads.

    • piper says:

      Thank you for sharing – well written article that everyone should read.

      • Underwhelmed says:

        You’re welcome. This tidal wave of emotional juvenalia and infantilism has to be turned back, somehow. Whole generations are being brainwashed into utter futility. At the heart of it all is something truly evil — the desire to create a nation of apathetic self-appointed victims who will apologise for complaining as they’re led to the slaughterhouse.

        • leslie says:

          Thank you for linking to this article. It is thought-provoking and I hope will be read and digested and seen as a clear warning. This trend is dangerous and troubling.
          I agree with your analysis: “

          Whole generations are being brainwashed into utter futility. At the heart of it all is something truly evil — the desire to create a nation of apathetic self-appointed victims who will apologise for complaining as they’re led to the slaughterhouse.”

          I will be encouraging my former colleagues to read this article.

  14. Dora says:

    Why Madeline? Why? 😦

    Seriously? Obama Drags Out Madeleine Albright to Prop Up Iran Nuke Deal

  15. helenk3 says:

    Just watched the changing of command on the space station. I was thinking of when backtrack gave the challenger to LA instead of Houston. I lived in California at the time but i still thought it was wrong. It was always Houston we have a problem not LA we have a problem.
    what a petty little man

  16. foxyladi14 says:

    Have a safe, and happy holiday weekend, 😀

  17. lyn says:

    The Edster as The Donald

  18. Dora says:

    I think Sanders is feeling a bit more confident. 🙂

    Sanders thinks Clinton campaign is ‘getting nervous’

  19. Myiq2xu says:

    My 5 y.o. grand-niece:

    Joslyn (to her mom): “Can I have a cake pop?”
    Mom: “No babe, you’ve had a bunch of treats this week because grandma Vicki and grandma April were here.”
    Joslyn: “Well, that’s because they’re nice.”

  20. mothy67 says:

    Nice story. I had a young woman asist me and pup in grocery store. Kid forgot her homework . So i had to to her friends house and make copies. Kid was crying about homework. Young lad behind the counter took white out to the page. She is a student teacher and she hopes one of her students will ever care that much. I bought her a bottle of wine and spoke to her manager. Hours later i go in the store to buy milk. Manager gives me a gift card. I bought my milk looked at reciept 396 dollar balance. I bought a 30 dollar bottle of wibe as a thank you and I got 400.
    What are the odds a nine year old forgets one page of math. He is her. Great gay uncle. I go to her friends house to make a copy but I am out of ink. Go to a store and deal with a student teacher EVen moreshe teaches across the street grom my older brother and she has taught my niece.

  21. DeniseVB says:

    Here it comes, that “bitter clingers” lecture on “conservatism”. I don’t think this will help their cause, whatever it is.

    • Lulu says:

      Since a significant percentage of his supporters (leaners) are not conservatives that is not going to fly. They either can’t get that through their heads or they are willfully ignoring it. Purity tests, “no true Scotsman” (ad hoc attempt to retain an unreasoned assertion) fallacy, and attempts to preemptively insult and runoff their own potential presidential voters shows just how out of touch the Repub elite really is. They happily accepted “non-conservative” votes to get both houses of Congress and the majorities in statehouses and legislatures, but now they want to continue to operate as the national Chamber of Commerce club. People who vote for a party are already invested, want what they want, and were not told they needed a membership card or purity test when they voted for all those Congressmen, Senators and state officials who are Republicans. If you vote Republican you are Republican. I thought that when the Dems threw out all the moderates in 2008 that it would change the Republican party. Or a third party would emerge. Now it has. Takeover time because the Dems are in ruins so who wants them. How fascinating. Eric Canter was the canary in the coal mine and they ignored it.

  22. driguana says:

    Haven’t been paying much attention to this chatter but there sure is a lot of “alternative” buzz on this. Keeps popping up…

  23. Dora says:

    I am definitely not as compassionate as Mr. O’Malley thinks I am.
    O’Malley Says We Should Take In At Least 65,000 Syrians Because ‘We Are A Compassionate People’

    • Lulu says:

      Me neither. One of the UK papers sent out a reporter to talk to the hordes. Most speak English, are well dressed, don’t come from Syria (Turks, Egyptians, etc) are young men from late teens to early thirties, can’t get western work or immigration visas after trying for years, and are “jumping” the line. Sound familiar? The Hungarians gave the mobs food who then threw it at them. Not exactly starving masses. The EU is going to break up over this. The Europeans have had it.

  24. Lulu says:

    Blacks are harmed the most by illegal and increased immigration. “African Americans have long been receptive to the anti-immigrant concepts behind Trump’s campaign. Simply put, the jobs, housing and other opportunities that immigrants take come largely at the expense of blacks who were born in the United States.”

    Trump’s polling numbers with blacks is already astounding in the 20’s for a Republican. I think because he is not perceived as a traditional Republican it part of the reason. His immigration stance is the other. Trump is winning Asians too. A political re-alignment is going on and there is nothing either party can do about it but whine.

    • Dora says:

      I’ve been hearing for years about how resentful blacks are over the illegals who come into the country and take the jobs. Especially in California. I recall hearing them call in to talk radio to voice their complaints when no one else seemed to want to listen to them. If they believe that Trump can help them, I’m sure those numbers will go up in the months ahead.

      I sincerely hope you are right about neither party being able to do anything about the new alignment. The big donors who usually control things, do not want Trump. They have made that plain and I know they are planning ways to get him out of this race. 😦

      • Lulu says:

        We have about 15% black population where I live. Probably about half of those middle (lower and middle working) class and half very poor. The illegals have decimated them. From housing to beginner jobs they are getting kicked in the teeth. The current fight is over the schools. Programs that mostly benefited black kids are going to be cut to meet the federal and state guidelines for bi-lingual education. From sports to remedial ed are almost all certainly going to be hit. There is also a fairly high black home ownership rate here so they will be increased taxed to pay for illegal’s education. They are furious and I don’t blame them one bit. Our school taxes (including a publicly funded junior college) are very high but we have had very good schools which benefited all races, social classes, etc and we are proud of it. People moved here for the dyslexia, special ed, blind and deaf children programs (districts 30-40 miles away bus children in and pay for them to attend) and now those are possibly in jeopardy to benefit children who are illegal. Something has got to give and it won’t be pretty.

Comments are closed.