TGIF Open Thread

Meanwhile, Rick Perry has dropped out suspended his campaign and Glenn Beck is sorry for calling Sarah Palin a clown (but he still hates The Donald)

Kellie Pickler will be performing at the Merced Theater next Friday night but I can’t afford the $55 ticket. Oh well.

Any cheerful news?

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

59 Responses to TGIF Open Thread

  1. Myiq2xu says:

    Seriously, I could use some cheerful news.

  2. Myiq2xu says:

    Bad cop, no donut.

    • Myiq2xu says:

      I made plainclothes arrests all the time when I worked retail security. You ALWAYS identify yourself first. You NEVER just run up and grab someone, especially when you did not personally witness the crime. If a stranger just came up and grabbed you then you would probably resist/defend yourself.

      This was a non-violent ID theft crime.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Well that’s cheery😉

  3. Myiq2xu says:

    Here’s my super girl!

  4. DeniseVB says:

    Trump arriving for his Fallon taping at 30 Rock …

  5. Jeffhas says:

    I’m betting Perry stops wearing those glasses.

  6. 49erDweet says:

    I’m getting a sinking feeling what we’re seeing in the GOP prezzie thingy is eerily similar – even though it’s in a different way – to the 2008 Dem runup.
    An interesting narcissistic sociopath who goes through life like a mad person throwing feces at every fence but for a few moments makes all kinds of money with everything he does, captures the attention of bored voters and, never mind he has the apparent attention span of a Japanese dungbeetle, gets elected to a job he is bored to tears with in less than 72 hours. What could possibly go wrong?

    I hope it’s just me.

  7. OK – question for the techies, please.

    I use Windows XP – still. Desktop computer.
    Recently, I keep getting messages on my twitter feed and now HERE (gasp) that “this Browser does not support video playback”

    I use Firefox.

    Any ideas?

    Is it because of Windows being un-supported now?

    • DeniseVB says:

      I still have Windows 8.1 and get the same message on twitter videos and vines. I feel like I’m being blackmailed by Win10 because I still haven’t upgraded. I can still watch youtube vids.

    • Myiq2xu says:

      Imma gonna hate it when this 2005 eMachine with XP croaks and I hafta start using a new version of windows.

    • DandyTIger says:

      Chrome is better and supports all the video formats. And Windows 10 really is loads better than all the previous stuff.

    • smile says:

      I made the switch to W10 when it was first introduced this summer, and I am definitely happy. I never liked w8.1 and missed XP. W10 gives me back XP almost, but it also has some very nice features. Like multiple desktops, Cortana, file manager, one drive cloud, and the new Microsoft browser, Edge, which replaced IE. I like my privacy and prefer to not be tracked, so I have disabled all the tracking (you can find how to do this by searching on the web, don’t imagine you have done it all, do search the web to make sure), and I don’t use cloud, and I don’t use Cortana for finding things on the web. I can still use Cortana to find things on the PC and it works like a charm.

      Edge works well. I main issue I had was with all the advertising. So I took the steps mentioned at this link, and now no ads, not even when I watch videos. Beautiful.
      If you follow the steps on this link, in step 3, he forgets to mention to set the file type to “all files”, and once you do this, you will find the host files he is talking about in this step. I am not a techie, but I learned this from “Justin’s” comment at that website which you can see if you scroll down. It looks complicated, but it is very easy. I just read the instructions a couple of times because it looked scary, and even tried it a couple of times without doing the last step, just to get the feel for it. Once I was confident, I did all the steps, and it is so nice to be ad-free. I love it.
      I am happy having made the switch to w10, and maybe this will help those who are on the fence about it.

      • DeniseVB says:

        Thanks smile, that was helpful to this fence sitter🙂

      • leslie says:

        I am so glad that I “went back” to this post. I was pretty absent yesterday as I was babysitting and too tired at the end of the day to much of anything. So I chose to read this and am so glad I did. I’ve been sitting on the fence with Denise, I guess. (Only I felt I was alone there). You’ve made this decision easier for me.
        Thank You.

  8. btw – I CAN watch videos on some sites. At least I could this morning! >;(

    • 1539days says:

      Can I assume you have some special software keeping you from updating? The main problem with Windows 10 is that it may not have all the drivers for old hardware, so be careful. Chrome is staying updated for a while, but eventually they are giving up on XP. Firefox is a little sketchy, so make sure it is up to date.

    • Somebody says:

      FF it’s firefox, something to do with flash being vulnerable so they don’t allow anything with flash. You have to update your firefox. I had the same issue and swore my husband did something to my computer, but my son told me it was firefox. I updated it and problem solved.

  9. Myiq2xu says:

    You had one job . . .

  10. Myiq2xu says:

    I am amazed and amused by the number of people who continue to freak out at Trumpmania. Don’t they remember Obamamania?

    The usual rules do not apply. Logic, reason and past experience are useless. These guys defy gravity.

    I refuse to put myself thru another 2008 experience. This time I’m just gonna moan and lay there.

    • votermom says:

      Obamamania was voters being in love with the idea of historic historicness.

      Trumpmania is voters being enraged.

    • DeniseVB says:

      2012 was harder for me, Obama managed to get re-elected … to finish us off. So I really don’t give a flying fart this time, probably why I’m rooting for Trump to keep smash mouthing the system that gave us Oblahblahma.

    • Jeffhas says:

      While I certainly see the similarities… Trump has actually accomplished something in his life so far. He also has had to deal with, work with, hire, keep hired, and fire people. In my book that makes him far more understanding of human beings… You know, those other things just like him that have feelings too. He didn’t just get handed the Presidency to him on a silver platter by one of the two parties controlling the electoral process. The party he’s in isn’t fighting tooth and nail to get him elected, and the media isn’t propping him up when the party fails to carry him across the finish line.

      So… There might be similarities to the cult of personality… But many, MANY differences about the man and their experiences exist.

      • Constance says:

        I think it would be hilarious to inflict a can-do, God bless America, Citizen on WA DC and the ruling class. If Trump is nominated he’s got my vote. I especially like that he doesn’t give a rats ass what illegal aliens think of him or his campaign.

    • DandyTIger says:

      I’m having a great time. But then I’m kind of hoping for chaos. WTF, do we want to live forever? Hmm, then again, I might be crazy.

    • Well, there’s one major difference. Trump is relentlessly attacked and no comes to his defense…or has to.

  11. votermom says:

    Watching History Channel 102 Minutes…

  12. DeniseVB says:

  13. lurker says:

    Was Ben Carson being pushed to the front by the GOPe? Is this really his immigration plan?

  14. Dora says:

    This really is a shock! I’ve gotten so used to Serena winning that I guess I’ve just come to expect it. Wow!

    Serena Williams shocked at the U.S. Open–open-184626356.html

Comments are closed.