Monday, Monday

I thought this was a great blog post by Sarah Hoyt on our fracturing culture and how we are witnessing a shift:

The Great Divorce

Look, the fact is even leftists practice enlightened self interest, though they claim not to believe in it.

When the magazine (movie studio, talk show, presidential campaign) is about to go under, you have two choices.  You can list right or at least neutral and maybe it will sell again.  But what if it’s too far gone?  Well then the magazine (publisher, newspaper, radio station) is a lost cause, and what you have now left is a sauve-qui-peut.  That means you have to think of the people caught in the debacle, and of their pensions and careers.

If they list even a smidgen right before going under, they’re never going to work in that town/field again.  The crash will be attributed to their politics and their being “stupid.”

If however they go as hard left as possible, they’ve signaled they’re smart and idealistic.  There will be people lining up to hire them or give them venture capital.

I watched this happen in the culture for years.


You have to read the whole thing, otherwise, spoilers.🙂

Open thread.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

97 Responses to Monday, Monday

  1. votermom says:

    • Jadzia says:

      My husband was in Vienna this weekend; he said it was crazy. I can’t believe that Merkel essentially invited God knows how many people into Western Europe, and then stuck Hungary et al. with them. I’m not sure which of those two ideas was worse. And as a resident of Western Europe, which has open borders within the Schengen Zone, this freaks me out. How many ISIS members and sympathizers are pouring over the borders without any kind of checks?

      • Myiq2xu says:

        Imagine if every illegal immigrant in the US was a Muslim “refugee”. Imagine NY and MA announcing that illegal immigrants are welcome. Imagine Texas and California trying to control their borders with Mexico, but Arizona letting them thru and then sending them north, east and west once they arrive.

        That’s what is happening to Europe.

        • Constance says:

          That’s very true. The thing with the Mexican Illegals is they are mostly Christian or have Christian structure like most people in the USA. They generally have a better work ethic than US citizens, if you give them any job they work hard at it and don’t complain and they have very strong support systems of family and church who are already here to help them.

  2. DandyTIger says:

    Great article. And so funny to see Germany hit in the face with reality. Idiots.

    • votermom says:

      I was doing the point and laugh thing when I saw that.
      If only there was a German word that could capture my feeling of glee over their faceplant. /sarc

    • Constance says:

      That article explains a lot. I always wondered why the idiots who run media don’t seem to care if they have any viewers or not (MSNBC). Of course a free market (cable choice) would cure a lot of the problem with media in a hurry. As it is they broadcast what ever load of crap they feel like producing and still bring in money as they get their share of the one size fits all men 15-60 cable package.

      Here is a random piece of info…I cut the TV cable (500 channels 98% of which are aimed at men), bought the cheapest antenna ($35.) and a Roku box ($70. no recurring payment) and I get about 40 channels free plus a lot of stuff over Roku. I feel great about not subsidizing the leftist media industry. But I do miss my Ancient Aliens shows which I now have to check out of the library.

      • 49erDweet says:

        Here’s the thing. Ad time sales are through the roof. They could run any point of view they wanted and the ad sales would still be there. So they run the “smart” viewpoints. Only they have no realistic judgement as to what is “smart” and what isn’t. Cuz they’re in media, not reality. It’s the whirlpool effect. Only a rare few get close enough to the edge to be tossed out of the vortex by centrifugal force and regain some form of sanity. The rest are doomed. And salaried.

        • DeniseVB says:

          Good point niner, but Fox has been dominating the ratings 3x CNN/MSNBC’s for years, I wonder why they don’t rethink their programming ? I used to only watch MSNBC (good lawdy-lawd, I even joined Keith Olbermann’s Estrogen Brigade on DU). Then along came 2008 and the Obama wave, Hillary was being beaten up in the (metaphorical) closet, Sarah was stupid and Tingles was born. I was slapped upside the head !

          • 49erDweet says:

            “If it ain’t broke don’t fix it” in the lower ranks and “keep pushing that narrative” with the key decision makers. KDM’s don’t care about rating comparisons, actually, as long as the numbers are acceptable. The lower ranks have no say-so, so they shut up and cash their checks.

  3. helenk3 says:

    true justice
    he did not drop the gun and died from a dose of lead poisoning

  4. DeniseVB says:

    Good Monday, Monday Morning VM and gang. Speaking of culture shifts, I sure miss the 60’s, maybe we should retro-shift to simpler times🙂

    • Dora says:

      Love the song. I guess I’m a wee bit older than you. I’d like to go back to the 50s where I spent a happy and uncomplicated childhood. And dreamed of Elvis. 🙂

      • votermom says:

        I was just watching an Elvis movie yesterday on TMC. Kissing Cousins. He plays an army guy and a hillbilly cousin.
        “ICBM, Pappy”
        “You see BM?”

      • leslie says:

        Dora, I feel the same about going back to the 50’s. It would be refreshing to have so few complications. Wouldn’t it?

        • DeniseVB says:

          The ’50s had a non-political President. A General named Eisenhower. Maybe it’s time for another “outsider” to straighten out our dysfunctional government. 😉

      • helenk3 says:

        we had it all in music during the 50s. we had the big bands, the beginning of rock and roll, R&B, country. I really do not know of another era that had the diversity and good music we were lucky enough to have

        • DeniseVB says:

          Sidebar: Also, West Side Story. It should be required viewing for every high school. (Maria: NOW I HAVE HATE !). Ok, and South Pacific (You Have to be carefully taught to hate people who’s skin is a different shade…). I’m even disappointed how many millennials have not seen Gone With The Wind and Wizard of Oz. Or “Roots”. Or “Rent”. There is no social studies, just Deray. What a loss for our kids.

    • leslie says:

      I watched “Sherlock” last night on PBS and was reminded of this song which I loved. I found this version and liked it even better than the original:

    • AFVet says:


  5. DeniseVB says:

    (((leslie!!!))) I’m not sure if Bernie is still speaking, the screen keeps freezing up on me, so clicking on ‘watch speech from the beginning’ is working for me. He did seem to get a warm welcome from the Liberty students. After reading your artitcle downstairs, they were thrilled he accepted their invitation. Also, Obama, Biden and Clinton have all been invited over the years, but none of them even bother to respond.

    • leslie says:

      Oopsie, Was I too late for this? I’m sorry.
      Sanders’ crowds are duplicating – and more – Trump’s crowds. I think Trump’s gonna be in Dallas today and the arena is filled w/ 20,000+ ppl. I think this was the doing of Mark Cuban perhaps. There’s an article (about Biden mostly) from RCP that I linked to earlier this morning that mentions the phenomena we see:

      “More than 3 million people didn’t show up to vote in 2012, according to David Leip’s “Atlas of U.S. Elections.” That number was not a show of apathy, but the beginning force of populism that sent a message to the establishment of both parties that neither recognized.”

      • DeniseVB says:

        The Cspan link now has his entire speech, I only watched the first few minutes of Bernie’s speech. You may have to move that timer thingy over to skip all the opening prayers, announcements, intros, etc, to Feel the Bern😉

        Interesting dynamic with his audience. Impressed to see so many Bernie shirts and Falwell, Jr. gave them the front rows. After scanning twitter, conservatives seem to understand why he’s leading Hillary, “so refreshingly honest” to the liberals braying like the jackasses they are “ew, why is he THERE”. Sanders is getting a lot of media for this, which I think it pretty great he went THERE, not a liberal bastion for sure and the students exhibited great manners and a warm, sometimes enthusiastic, responses.

        • leslie says:

          You know, I thought that was Falwell’s college. I’m glad he went there – if only to show inclusivity. You know, the “diversity” that the Libruls and Progs don’t mean when they use that word. And that is why I said so many months ago, they really do mean to divide the country since they do not use the word “inclusive”.

          • DeniseVB says:

            I see why he resonates with so many people on the left, he’s the anti-Hillary and he certainly wasn’t pandering.

          • leslie says:

            I’m certain the Dems won’t let him win the nomination. He’d send a message that they won’t want to hear.
            This morning I read something that Edge RTd on twitter that Sanders is not and won’t register as a Dem.
            More power to him…

  6. votermom says:

    Ammoland interview of Trump back in July on gun rights.

    I didn’t know his son is a big game hunter.

    • DeniseVB says:

      The hunting Trump brothers story came out around Cecil’s death. I’m definitely not a fan of hunting, but what they did was legal and the fees they paid probably sustained several local African villages for a couple of years. The outrage disappeared quickly🙂

      • votermom says:

        Hunters actually pay to preserve animal habitats. It’s not my thing but it’s a good thing.

      • cynic says:

        I attended a wedding in Rochester, MN last month that was held on a beautiful piece of property, originally owned by Mayo.

        The property has a wonderful barn and other outbuildings, and the current owner came by to help his daughter, who runs the weddings, close up.

        We talked to him at length, and he gave us a private tour through one of his buildings. It’s home to several hundred animals that he has hunted, and had mounted. He travels the world, and there were so many animals that I had never seen before. Most looked to be relatives in the ram family, with unbelievable antlers.

        I asked him what his most interesting hunt was, and unfortunately, I don’t remember the name of the animal! It’s very rare, and only two are allowed to be hunted each year, and the animal lives in the very remote mountains in Northern Afghanistan. He had 25 Afghani’s that took him to the location, with one man carrying a machine gun.

        He spotted the animal, took a shot, and missed. The 25 men were very angry, and were very loud about it. He asked them to quiet down, and eventually, he tracked it again, and shot it. He said there was much celebrating in the village, for you see, since he caught it, he paid them over $70K, and they used the money to build wells and a school.

        I guess there are some things that we never think about, and this money was very important to them. The animal was still being mounted, so I never got to see it.

        • Underwhelmed says:

          This is sick. There is no excuse, no justification, nothing humane about it. Anyone who has to feel good about him or herself by killing an animal for no better reason than to mount its head on a wall is a monster. I loathe every single one of them, and anyone who can speak admiringly of this behaviour is no better.

          What about preserving the habitats for no better reason than the animals have a fucking right to live there in peace?

          • cynic says:

            Because I was surprised at all these unusual looking animals makes me a monster?
            I asked questions. That’s just me. Sorry that I even told the story.

          • lyn says:

            You aren’t a monster, cynic. I don’t understand trophy hunting and displaying the dead animals, but they already are dead and are fascinating to see up close. I knew a couple who hunted mountain lions for the Montana fish and wildlife service, and they had a diorama of three in the entryway of their log home.

          • 49erDweet says:

            Not a trophy hunt fan and I can appreciate your sincerity on this, but isn’t there a logical dichotomy in that POV? The animals, themselves, don’t really live like that. I could understand the head mounting thing if one defensively shot an animal charging one’s family. Otherwise, it’s just ego.

          • Venus says:

            no excuse, no justification, nothing humane about it.

            You don’t know what you are talking about. Population control is a REAL thing and, in fact, every REAL hunter is much more of a conservationist and more in touch with NATURE than you’ll ever be.

            What about preserving the habitats for no better reason than the animals have a fucking right to live there in peace?

            And this REALLY proves how dense you are on this — get your head out of your ass and stop the anthropomorphism. There is no fucking utopia in the wild — that’s why it’s called THE WILD — it is *literally* an eat what you kill world there and they will kill YOU in a NY minute.

          • Myiq2xu says:

            You know all those drawings of birds that Audubon made? He shot those birds. Sometimes he shot dozens of them until he got the ones he wanted.

            Apex predators like lions, wolves and bears were hunted to near-extinction because they killed humans and ate livestock.

        • lyn says:

          Was it this animal?

          I remember going to Expo ’74 in Spokane, and some of the USSR animals like mountain goats and sheep were homely compared with ours.

          • cynic says:

            That’s it! I remembered that it started with an M! Thanks.

            And he had many of those mountain goats and sheep. So similar, yet so different.

            My husband and his brother hunt a little – for food, not for mounting.

          • leslie says:

            So, I skipped over this kerfuffle earlier because I am not a hunting enthusiast. But my brother is – although he only kills for food.
            I have to say, cynic, that I wouldn’t have even asked the questions you did – or shown the interest you did. So, I’d never have known about the bounty the villages receive from the hunting. That is just something else I have learned today and I appreciate that you shared it here. I also admire that you were interested enough to ask about the animals.

  7. Dora says:

    “The Donald” met with Ronald Reagan in his younger years. Credit to the Des Moines register for the photo.

  8. DeniseVB says:

    This is BRILLIANT !!!

    • Somebody says:

      Agree, brilliant she’s getting her money’s worth with her media team.

      • DeniseVB says:

        Yep. This is how you play the Trump Card. Other than Ted Cruz (Let’s Have A Rally WITH The Donald), the other candidates need to learn to stop whining and listen to the people. We’re at the “pep rally” part of primary season now, we don’t give a flip about no “details”, we just want to hear how special we are😀

    • leslie says:

      I’m at the service center waiting for my car and just now saw that ad on CNN. It is brilliant!!! Good for Carly. Good for her campaign ppl.
      They just announced that ppl are now paying >$200 for a ticket to tonight’s Trump rally in Dallas rather than to be put on a waiting list for the possibility of a turned back ticket.
      The world really has been turned upside down. And for a reason.

      • 1539days says:

        Hitler paid for his campaign by speech admissions, too.

        • mothy67 says:

          Fairly sure tickets were free bot being scalped for 200 plus. Also every candidate giives paod speeches. What is a ten thousand dollar a plate Hollywood dinner?

          • leslie says:

            You’re right, tickets were free, Tim. There was a waiting list that some were willing to avoid by paying for the tickets (that of course were being scalped). It’s the Murican way….😉

    • NewOrleans says:

      I can see she’s going to continue with the War on Women BS.

      If she was so proud of her face, why did she have surgery to change it?

        • NewOrleans says:

          Saying you’re proud of ‘every year and every wrinkle’ after having extensive surgery to remove proof of ‘every year and every wrinkle’ is a bit ridiculous.

          Her physical appearance has nothing to do with her ability or competence, but that’s not what she said in the video.

          • 49erDweet says:

            In her high tech environment she likely had to take every edge available, bc time usually takes a higher toll on women. So I can’t fault her for that. I’ve seen plenty of ladies who abused the surgery process and now look like death warmed over. She apparently stopped long before that. No big deal IMO.

          • leslie says:

            Nothing at all ridiculous about what she said. It was her physical appearance that was being challenged – not her competence. And she made hay while the sun shined.
            Sometimes, NOLA, you seem hostile in your comments here.

          • leslie says:

            There’s nothing ridiculous at all about her response or her ad. It was her physical appearance that was attacked, not her competence. Carly made hay while the sun shined.
            I think any person who has had surgery to enhance his/her appearance has reasons that are none of my business – or anyone else’s.
            Sometimes, NO, your comments seem hostile and judgmental.

          • leslie says:

            The middle comment was posted because the first didn’t show up anywhere. Sorry if I seem to be attacking – I didn’t mean it that way.

    • Constance says:

      WOW! Love it.

    • 1539days says:

      She also got in that bit about the Republicans being the party that supported suffrage.

    • Constance says:

      Hillary just doesn’t have the fire in her this time. The Dems need to come up with someone and it might be a good idea if they are in their 50s not their 70s.

      • DeniseVB says:

        Virginia has two former (D) governors, now Senators (Kaine and Warner) who were pretty poplular in a purple state. Nothing? Upshot Cory Booker, former Newark, NJ mayor, nothing? I’m sure there are others who have been tested in “career” political positions. Where are they ? My old party is scaring the bejesus out of me. Nevermind Hillary’s emails, what’s up with that Foundation ?

  9. DeniseVB says:

    Oh crap, what did I do? I was responding to Dandy, tapping away with my blabby fingers when all of a sudden a MARKED AS SPAM message came up and DT’s comment and my response disappeared ? In my 8 years of blogging/commenting, that has never happened. Shoot.

    Putting an Open Thread in the Barn tonight for 6am ET on 9/15. Looking for some Tinfoil Tuesday formal ware right now. Of course, it’s always subject to change by the admins, I’m never fussed.😉

  10. Myiq2xu says:

  11. Myiq2xu says:
  12. I love all her shit. I always feel like I’ve just entered a discotek in Portual and been invited to sit at her knee.

  13. Myiq2xu says:

    My mom just called to ask me who Chaka Khan is. Apparently she is on DWTS this season.

    I told her she was a singer from the 70’s.

    “Never heard of her” mom replied.

  14. Myiq2xu says:

Comments are closed.