Jammin’ with Lilybug Open Thread

Rockin' the maracas!

Rockin’ the maracas!

It’s 3 am and this is all I got.


About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

61 Responses to Jammin’ with Lilybug Open Thread

  1. Myiq2xu says:

    If anybody needs me I’ll be in bed.

  2. votermom says:

    I never get the point of those pet pictures with signs of “shame.”

    Lily is a big girl! So pretty.

  3. Dora says:

    May be? Oh pleeeeassee! Can’t somebody stop this man?

    Lawmakers: U.S. plan for Internet may be unconstitutional


  4. DeniseVB says:

    I have no clue about economics, but this chart does look like we’ll have more liquid money in our pockets to spend in our community, pay sales taxes on and help the city and state coffers to pay for schools and roads and stuff. I’ve always been a fan of the Fair Tax, which eliminates the income tax altogether (and the IRS) and ups the sales tax a bit. This is about the closest I’ve seen any tax plan come to that. It sounds like the worryworts over half of America not paying taxes is wrong because we’ll be SPENDING more locally and not giving it to the government to spend STUPIDLY.

    • piper says:

      Grumbling about this ‘tax plan’ as it hits me in the pocketbook due to recent single status (no column for being a widder), pension (taking the higher amount while there’s still money in the coffers) and social security (same reason as pension). Being on the cusp is nothing to sneeze at as many new gubermint taxes are now rewritten as user fees and can’t be reported as deductions.

      • votermom says:

        Yeah, being on the cusp hurts. The way the cutoffs are picked are so arbitrary – not just for Trump’ s plan, but for tax plans in general. $25k, $50k, $100k etc get picked just because they are easy to remember.
        But I guess simpler is better overall.

      • DeniseVB says:

        I was just looking at the chart with a simple income/bracket math brain, I came up with going from our current 23% bracket down to 10%. So even if they closed all the loopholes (ours is deducting personal property taxes), we’d sill pay less than we are now. We paid our house off recently, so we lost the mortgage interest deduction. We’re going to get hammered on our 2015 taxes.

        • AFVet says:

          We paid ours off in ’94.
          We got a nice raise, no mortgage payment,….Woo Hoo !
          I would like to see a combination flat tax across the board and a fair tax on consumption.

          • DeniseVB says:

            We still have those pesky property taxes and insurance payments on the house, the principle was only about a third of our mortgage payment. I think our next home’s going to be a rental, except—-> Me: Charming city walkable neighborhood. Him: Suburban golf course community. Sigh, we’ll be in this house forever😉

          • elliesmom says:

            We made our last mortgage payment today. Paying taxes on the money you’re no longer giving the bank in interest is less money out of your pocket than paying the interest to the bank.

          • AFVet says:

            To Denise,….That’s where we live, nice neighborhood.
            Walkers, joggers, baby stroller pushers,dog walkers.
            Most are retired. 🙂

        • Jadzia says:

          I’m going to get hammered, too–the child credit got yanked for non-US residents. That credit was the only thing that kept me from getting killed by the double self-employment tax last year. : (

  5. Dora says:

    Trump wins! So does O’Reilly. Can you imagine what his ratings will be for this show?

    Donald Trump to Sit Down With Bill O’Reilly, Ending Fox News Boycott … Again


  6. lyn says:

    Here’s to going for The Gowdy from Utah Congresswoman Mia Love:

    “We are at a critical crossroads as a party and as a nation. The American people are looking for Republicans in Congress to unite and lead. Washington has continued to call for hardworking Americans to just “trust them.” I am more convinced than ever that it is time for Congress to trust the American people – and it will take the right leader in the right role to make that a reality. That is why I am asking my colleagues to join me in drafting Trey Gowdy to be our Majority Leader.

    “Congressman Gowdy is the right person to serve as Majority Leader. He is the kind of smart fighter our country needs and the American people deserve. With impressive communication skills, genuine compassion and the tenacity of a prosecutor, he will unite the party and the people around a truly American agenda. Trey will stand up and speak out for the conservative principles and conservative policies that will capture the imagination of hardworking Americans and unleash the power of American exceptionalism. Trey will also not shy away from shining a light on the falsehoods and failed policies of the Obama administration. Congressman Gowdy is respected across the political spectrum and will help create clarity and focus for Republicans to lead the country into a better, brighter future. I invite my colleagues and Americans everywhere to join me in drafting Trey Gowdy for Majority Leader.”

  7. lildoggy4u says:

    When reading this article from The Wall Street Journal, The Unteachable President, I couldn’t help but remember the overused speech written by Bill Ayers; Words Matter.

  8. Dora says:

    RNC Chair: Iowa and New Hampshire Aren’t “Sacred Cows” After 2016

    Reince Priebus suggests the GOP’s governing body could alter the nominating order for future presidential primaries.


    • lildoggy4u says:

      I have always been perplexed by the Iowa syndrome where they determine the remaining primaries although they are caucus’ and not representative personal, private and secret ballots and I had no idea that they begin the writing of party platforms. I think it more represents something akin to groupthink so that if you disagree you might become unwelcome to participate. As wikipedia describes it:
      The caucuses are generally defined as “gatherings of neighbors.” Rather than going to polls and casting ballots, Iowans gather at a set location in each of Iowa’s 1,682 precincts. Typically, these meetings occur in schools, churches, public libraries and even individuals’ houses. The caucuses are held every two years, but the ones that receive national attention are the presidential preference caucuses held every four years. In addition to the voting and the presidential preference choices, caucus-goers begin the process of writing their parties’ platforms by introducing resolutions.

  9. DeniseVB says:

    I found this Daily Beast article about MO on Colbert last night suprising and refreshingly honest. I enjoyed it very much (Colbert doth slobber too much in his bucket😀 )

  10. votermom says:

    OT so I use henna to cover my gray hair coz I tend to get more allergic to stuff as I get older.
    Anyway I used henna today and tried adding cloves which is supposed to help cover the grass-like smell of henna. It worked – now my hair smells like pumpkin pie.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I had to make a deal with my hair, if I stop putting harsh products on you will you please stop falling out ? It seems to be working🙂 After years, I found out I was a natural blonde anyhow.

      • votermom says:

        My hair falls out when my iron gets low.

        • DeniseVB says:

          My curling “iron” was the first to go /snork. I was frying my hair with that thing. Probably why I’m LOLing at Hillary’s $600 haircuts, she has amazing thick hair I would die for because I have skinny hair from my Irish DNA. I could never run for President. Sigh.

        • Mt.Laurel says:

          I learned when I start craving frozen coke/frozen lemonade that the iron levels need looking after. It has saved my hair and occasionally my sanity. Now where is the Slurpee?

      • leslie says:

        I think Selenium is helpful to restore hair health. At least that’s what the nurse I used to work with always said.

        • DeniseVB says:

          I’m genetically challenged, no cure for that. I’m half Irish/Italian, my sibs have that thick, curly hair, even those with the Ginger genes. I hate them. 😉 I got stuck between bald and lovely fine, silky STRAIGHT hair. I’m rooting for the gray hairs now, they come in coarser and with a “curl” and a “flip” here and there.

          • leslie says:

            I know they do ! I’m now having a Bad Hair Year with all those grey hairs that have destroyed my perfect haircut for straight hair. 😦
            Those curls and flips don’t belong on my head. I wish I could give them to you.

      • elliesmom says:

        I started graying very young so I began coloring my hair. I stopped on my 40th birthday, and I’ve been silver-haired for 24 years. It’s “my color”. I love the color, and I have a lot of hair. My friends were startled when I made the choice to stop coloring. “You’ll look so old.” But I didn’t. It goes with my skin tone, and it’s just the way I was meant to look. It was so freeing. And over the years, I’ve saved a bundle.

  11. Dora says:

    You won’t believe this. Or maybe you will. 😦

    New shoulder patches for Iraq.

  12. Venus says:

    Lily is adorable.

  13. helenk3 says:

    for about 15 minutes today, I was rich. got a check in the mail from PCH for 7900.00. called number in letter accompaning check, got told I would have checks for the same amount every two weeks for 24 months. took check to bank. asked them to verify before depositing. check is real, account is bad. so I am still poor. sorry kids i had plans to help all of you but it is not to be. when I find the the person who is doing the scamming, $5 and a six pack should get me someone to take care of the problem
    Like Comment Share

    • leslie says:

      I’m sorry, helenk. That’s kinda disappointing.
      I thought I’d share this story with you all. . . . . Remember last week when I had rec’d all those spams rt credit and bank accounts? Well, after checking with my bank I thought I’d look at my balances just to make certain everything was okay. To my shock, I found lots of $$ in my checking acct… more than I’d ever before. I was nearly convinced something was wrong. Upon further examination, I discovered that I had finally received my pension — 3 months worth. The university hospital had taken nearly 3 months to declare me retired. The pension people could not begin to disburse my monthly annuity until that happened. And no matter how often the retirement people asked, and no matter how many phone calls I made and emails I sent, HR did not respond. So, no one could access the money that I had in the fund. I had to rely on my former spouse’s SSA (widow’s benefits) and fortunately for me, the money I had saved as a cushion in retirement and emergencies. So I’m still not earning what I had been while working, but at least I’m getting back something. This has been a trying time. But, it’s a first world problem in my white privileged mind.😉

    • DeniseVB says:

      LOL Helen, I’m sure you were snarking. My first “spam” was in the 70s, way before the Nigerian Prince, PCH was the ultimate scam in snail mail. I had about 12 magazine subcriptions to prove that 😉

  14. Mt.Laurel says:

    Little Lily always puts a smile on my face no matter how bad the day. Virtual grandchildren are good for the soul.

  15. leslie says:

    I’m so glad the “little one” is napping. I’m able to get over here for a few moments. This has been a nice respite for me today.

  16. Dora says:

    BREAKING: Teamsters Withhold Endorsement for Hillary => Want to Meet With Donald Trump (Video)


    Teamsters officials met behind closed doors today. The union refused to endorse Hillary Clinton for president. The officials told FOX News they want to meet with Donald Trump.


Comments are closed.