It Happened Again


A crazy man killed some people yesterday. I don’t know why he thought he should murder total strangers, but I feel quite certain that he was insane. He killed some college students. He could have targeted children, or women, or Jews, or black people, brown people, old people, or redheads. He could have committed his crimes at a grade school, or a church, diner, theater, recruiting station, post office, or a shopping mall.

He could have strangled his victims, or blown them up with a bomb. He could have used poison, or a knife, or an automobile. He chose to use guns. But guns were not the reason for his crimes, just the method.

Obama wasted no time in politicizing this atrocity with a speech, long before the facts of this case were revealed.. He has yet to make a speech regarding the murder of police officers or the victims of murderous illegal immigrants.

We still have some freedoms left. One of those is the right to keep and bear arms. Unfortunately, freedom has a price. There are millions of gun owners in this country. Most of them are law abiding. Some of them commit crimes.

Drunk drivers kill far more people each year than firearms, but nobody wants to outlaw cars. The cost of freedom for the law abiding is some shocking but statistically insignificant atrocities.

Freedom isn’t free. If you have a better way to stop atrocities and preserve my freedom I’d like to hear it.

Until then . . .

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

80 Responses to It Happened Again

  1. Myiq2xu says:

    Nobody knows for sure how many guns there are in this country, but it generally agreed that there are over 100 million legally owned firearms. Statistically speaking, penises are far more likely to be involved in a crime than a gun.

    • 49erDweet says:

      “Doing Something” by politicians, says the media, is more important than facing the issue and dealing with reality. Yeah, that worked with the Volstead Act.

    • 1539days says:

      That was typical.

      “Liberals don’t know how to solve this problem.”
      “You don’t want to do anything.”
      “What’s your plan”
      “Do something”
      “That’s not a plan.”
      “I don’t like your TONE.”

  2. Myiq2xu says:

  3. elliesmom says:

    Guns in the wrong hands kill people. Cars in the wrong hands kill people. Maybe we should just cut off everybody’s hands. Aren’t there places in the world that do that?

  4. Myiq2xu says:

  5. foxyladi14 says:

    I agree with the head of the NRA.
    The only thing that will stop a bad man with a gun.
    Is a Good man with a Gun. 🙂

  6. Myiq2xu says:

    • DeniseVB says:

      I saw some blurbs that Obama’s thinking of sending ground troops in too. Which side will we fight on?

    • Propertius says:

      I am perfectly willing to let ISIS and Iran shoot at each other.

      • DandyTIger says:

        To the victor goes the spoils. There’s the rub.

        • Propertius says:

          Well, you just have to insure that the conflict lasts long enough for them both to be weakened by attrition. There is ample historical precedent for this, particularly in that region (e.g., centuries of conflict between the Byzantines and the Persians which left both of them vulnerable to the Arab Muslims during the first Muslim conquests in the 7th-8th Centuries).

          Let ’em have at each other, and the Israelis can easily take care of whoever is left standing.

        • Constance says:

          “To the victor goes the spoils”

          If that were true we would have Iraq’s oil and a whole bunch of cool art and artifacts which ISIS would not have been able to destroy.

  7. DandyTIger says:

  8. DeniseVB says:

    Well, this almost feels like a shout out from The Donald🙂 They better pick a bigger venue next time, this one sold out (2500 free tix) within a couple of hours.

  9. Falstaff says:

    This pretty much sums it up. It’s an odd world when The Onion is no longer satire.

  10. gram krakka says:

    More gun laws are not likely to stop severely depressed or mentally ill people from being self destructive and taking out feelings of rage on family and others with guns or whatever. What can be done is to raise public awareness of the warning signs that someone may go “postal” and encourage people to take some personal responsibility to keep guns away from the affected family member and how best to intervene.

    We also need more in-hospital or residential treatment facilities for the severely mentally ill. Modern medicines have reduced the need for the confinement of people with moderate mental illness, but there are too many on the streets and in our prisons who really need to be confined in a locked down mental health facility for the short term or long term for their and the public’s safety. After age 18, unless the courts have established a conservator, families are limited in what they can do about their mentally ill loved ones. Unless they consent it can be almost impossible to get medical information about a family member.

    Unfortunately we have a pResident who appears to want to do away with the 2nd amendment and confiscate private citizens’ guns, but then chastised the Irving, TX police and school when they arrested and suspended Clockmed (hats off to Elliesmom) for bringing his “invention” to school. If he was going to chastise them it should have been for not evacuating the school and bringing in the bomb disposal squad to deal with it.

    After all that is what they would most likely do in DC at the White House and Congress if someone brought in a such a devise. (When my son-in-law worked at 1700 Pennsylvania ave the street was shut down because a back pack was left leaning against the WH fence closest to his office. It didn’t contain a bomb, just some kid’s backpack, but it could have been a bomb.)

    When my husband was given morphine in the hospital for the pain of stage IV lung cancer he hallucinated and behaved bizarrely and self destructively. Before he came came home I had one of his sons come to the house and remove all of his rifles, guns and ammo. I didn’t want him to end his life with a gun or possibly hurt someone while hallucinating. My grandfather and an uncle both took their own lives with a gun when the pain of cancer became too unbearable. Fortunately oxycontin helped ease the pain enough that he didn’t need morphine until the last night of his life.

    • 49erDweet says:

      While I agree Islamic terrorist wanna-be’s are cray-cray, most probably won’t qualify as 5150’s. So improving “mental health” is a great move but it won’t stop that type of shooting spree.
      We are in an undeclared (denied, even, by our side) war. The terrorists are telling us what they’re gonna try to do. We just don’t want – for various reasons – to believe them.
      Average age of students in that college is in the mid 30’s. If a couple of them had been routinely “carrying” concealed weapons in that first classroom, the death toll would likely have been less than three…..including the shooter’s. Take away the victim rich target of a “gun free zone” and you take away the incentive for wanna-be terrorists. We need to fight this war. We are all on Flight 93, now, and it’s time to act.

  11. Dora says:

    In case you haven’t read his position.


    Donald J. Trump on the Right to Keep and Bear Arms

  12. helenk3 says:

    this is the man I would like to remember, rather than a f—kup fruitcake that could be another one of backtrack’s sons

    backtrack never mentioned him. wonder if he will be invited to the whitehouse

  13. mothy67 says:

    My dog is in therapy. She cannot stop barking . Tried obedience school, muzzles, a privacy fence, shock collars(heart breaking), hormone sprays, comfort jackets to no avail. She just gets so excited. Broke her tail in her mania. Extremely loving but fucking nuts. Love the mutt, but she’d give Marley a run. I have to stand in the corner with my back to her because she goes insane when I come home. Almost three. Dining room chairs and coffee tables chewed. Never let a 7 year old pick out a dog from the pound. She was kept away from other dogs. They really should warn you that a dog has issues or that she had been returned twice. Adore her, a cute well behaved pedigree would bore the shit out of me. She is on prozac and zanex. Low doses and there is real therapy. She has an anxiety disorder. Initially vet said she’s a puppy, she’ll out grow it. Nope. Concerned for her health. Put on a jacket she has a panic attack as she knows you’re leaving. People said smack her on the nose with a newspaper. I can’t hit her, especially when its just overflowing affection.
    Truly sad that my dog is getting more mental health care than most troubled kids. Child stole an iPhone at day camp, caught on tape. Denied of course. Then the issue became that it was natural for her to act out as she is being raised by her grandmother. Screw dat. No punishment. Schools should teach not enable. Not saying educators are not a big part of the developmental process they are, but enough of ignoring blatant signals of true emotional distress or major psychological issues. Like Harf saying Isis beheads because they need jobs. Instead of addressing obvious real issues we get every kid is special. No way others did not see the damage along the way. Sappy pc bullshit.

    • 49erDweet says:

      Bad news. Will never outgrow it. Will just slow down a bit in her teens.

      • mothy67 says:

        I see pregnant at 15 to an older guy. Gonna look for someone to care. Kids crave boundaries. They challenge you ever step of the way. Limits let them know you care. This little girl is bereft. Runs the streets. She is special to no one. She asked me one day why I cared about my brat. She told me her mom told her all men are garbage and can never be depended on. She was then 6. She asked why does Shay get you. She would just show up 8 o’clock at night 6 years old and say she was hungry. I bought baby girl an expensive microscope and bio/chemistry kit. She broke it. I thought okay it was intentional but she was then i think 7. I was taking care of my brother’s dog one afternoon. During school hours, Iwas outside having a smoke and I watched her pull up the fence take the dog then come to my door and say she found her. Tragic. I cannot fix that. I called the school asked to remain anonymous but expressed my concern. I could have called CYS or ignored. I chose the lesser of three evils. She stopped coming by after that. My parents, brat’s great grandparents never miss a softball game. My dad has COPD and coaches with his oxygen tank. All the girl’s adore him. My parents took the wayward child to softball games. Tournament games can run all day in August. Send your kid off for 9 hours in the hot sun with no water and no money for food. The world owes you something. Same mentality as Baltimore riots. So exasperated by poor me as an excuse for negligence. I wanted an Izod polo shirt so bad in 1982, 10th grade– too bad we layed away next years school clothes at Hills and Kmart. 5 shirts, 5 pants. 5 of us kids. I wanted nicer stuff but I was never filled with bile towards those that had more. I sure as hell never contemplated a gun because I wanted an alligator on my shirt and I was the gay kid in a steel town. I just want to scream stop. This is sickness. Blame everyone else for everything. The new pope talks to people as if they are juveniles. So condescending. Like that guy who comes on during a 3 am Law & Order SVU rerun talking about how Jose has no clean water. Trillions sent since Feed The World/ Do They Know It’s Christmas Time. Clean drinking water seems pretty basic. 30 years later still no drinkable water. How is it people are alive if there is no water.

    • mothy67 says:

      I feel so ashamed. I cannot raise my voice. I laugh at me when I try to be loud. Very silly. Yet against my nature I stood on city streets with signs in 2008 doing the chant. My shame is fathomless. I have zero respect for her.

  14. dailypuma says:

    I think the reason why guns are used and justifiably condemned is that there are so many to choose from. There are so many gateway guns that inevitably lead to the more lethal guns.

    • Constance says:

      “Gateway guns”
      That reminds me of when my kids were visiting their Dad’s (redneck) family. They took the kids (7 and 11) out shooting at targets. Being a city girl this scared the hell out of me so they assured me that I shouldn’t worry as they were only taking the “children’s guns”.

    • DandyTIger says:

      Maybe there should be reefer madness type movies and commercials about guns.

    • 1539days says:

      How many different guns are there by your determination?

      • 49erDweet says:

        All kinds. I totally understand. Kids guns are generally .22 single shot rifles. High school students might get a 30-30 for game or a 16 gauge for birds. After that there are at three other long weapon ranges, depending how into guns one might be. For personal defense (handguns) there are also probably four classes. When you’re raised around them it’s no big deal. Just a tool. Like a hammer.

        • 1539days says:

          I was just getting at the fact that different guns serve different purposes. Many are used to (gasp!) kill tasty animals. Some are for stopping evil people when the police are a 45 minute drive away.

      • SHV says:

        That is an interesting question. Distilled to fewest categories, I would say two; manual loading, ie. single shot, bolt action, lever action, etc. and auto-loading, including semi-auto and selective fire/full auto.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Nice to see you here Sandy!❤

    • Somebody says:

      What the hell is a “gateway” gun, is that like a water pistol or a bb gun or something?

      If you’re talking real guns, one can be just as lethal as another. As a gun owner and someone that grew up around guns I honestly don’t understand your position about “gateway” guns. Like 49er said, guns are like tools. When you live in a rural area they are a part of life, you rarely need to use them……but when you need one, you need one. I’ve never thought of guns as anything addictive or drug like, as you seem to infer with using the term gateway as in a gateway drug. Once again they are a tool and a means of protection, nothing more, nothing less.

      What happened in Oregon is horrible, but the guy was a nut case. If he didn’t have guns he could have just as easily stabbed people, made some kind of explosive device to set off or run his car into a classroom and caused just as much if not more death and injury.

  15. DeniseVB says:

    I just scheduled a Caturday Thread for the early a.m. ET As always, feel free to bump me if needed. C’ya’s in the a.m.❤

  16. Myiq2xu says:
  17. mothy67 says:

    Just throwing this out there– what if you get a dui you forfilet the right to own a gun?

    • DandyTIger says:

      No, you don’t loose that right for a DUI. At least not yet. Obama has said that veterans should have to pass more rigorous tests before being allowed to own a gun. Speaking of CNN, the newsreader host Brooke, something or other, said no one should ever hire a veteran. Ever. So no guns and no jobs if you’re a vet. According to progs.

      • 49erDweet says:

        I’m sorry, but vet’s honorably discharged at end of enlistment (and not bc of mental issues) should automatically be issued a CCW when they arrive back in their home jurisdiction. OWon and CNN are whack!

      • mothy67 says:

        0kay I would like to kick this brooke creature in her teeth and the sell him/her/it/ze to isis in exchange for a cigarette. Vile puke. Sad thing is I believe it is here and we are screwed forever because we have sociologists running the government. Feelings. What a load of tosh. Sickens me to think my baby girl’s future is in the hands of these imbeciles. Listen to Kerry he sounds like a middle school progressive teacher’s aid attempting to referee a playground fight. That fucking idiot is our highest ranking diplomat. He is a joke. The plastic surgury, the bike. Donald called him out perfectly. I was a NYer on 9/11 and a junior in college when Lockerbie took place. Terrorism is real. I had a prof on that plane. Icky says every few months we have onecof these shootings well how about every fucking week there is some story about a jihadist. Their answer. Coddle them. Invite them in, be nice. What fucking morons. Juvenile mentality at best. Life in America is going to get very dark. We are going to be seeing shit on our streets.

    • 1539days says:

      In NY, not under the SAFE Act. Then again, some judge might decide otherwise.

    • 49erDweet says:

      If you are suspended bc of multiple DUI’s, yes, because (refutable) evidence exists you’re a dipsomaniac, and a bit unreliable.

  18. lyn says:

    Bill Whittle knows.

  19. mothy67 says:

    Off topic I am obsessed with college tuition. I never looked at means of saving money. Too lazy, but as I need to string together another 85,000 dollars over the next eight years I started to panic. I smoke a pack of Camel Lights is 7 dollars.Filtered cigars 1.25. A pack every two days is money in 529. I thought coupons were awful not worth my time. I found mypoints and I print up a coupon 50 cents off is a dollar with double coupon. On a 78 dollar bill I saved 19. 20 goes into 529. Every home owner knows there are always costs. Things break. I buy a 25 dollar gift card for Lowes’s once a week. Get 10 cents off a gallon of gas. I could have financed new dishwasher and paid 25 a month on credit for 10 years. I had 30 25 dollar gift cards. No dent. I also recently discovered Walmart. Place is amazing. Scary but amazing. You can buy stuff online and do pick up. Love walmart. Still afraid to go inside but pick up is great. My toaster passed away. I hate shopping so I use Amazon. I do not need a high end toaster. 15.99 on Amazon 6.99 from Walmart available at pick up. Not sure if this is a pilot program or if Walmart does it all the time. Anyhow Walmart is fucking amazing.
    I do like my Lowe’s gift card strategy. I am always going to need something. New washer new dryer new fridge home ownership is endless. I find getting 10 cents off a gallon worth more than financing or cash. I do not drive but my little brother used my gas perks and he said to fill a tank it was 9 dollars. He has a huge truck gas is expensive. I will never learn to drive. I drift off all the time I would be afraid to drive — not as everyone around me sees. I am afraid but it is about me drifting off. I worry that me behind a wheel is a metaphor. Fuck it all buy walmart.
    Aside i hate my mom’s cookware. Collander is older than me. I grew up on spaghetti she still uses old old old strainer. I will buy her a complete cook set but it has to be decent.
    My mom was 15 when she had first of 6. My teenager mother also birthed a kid that had open heart. Poor. So poor I would wash my jeans and then iron them dry

    • blowme0bama says:

      Try roll your own cigarettes with loose tobacco. There are machines, ready made tubes, and you can roll up a pack quicker than you can go to the store. The wife and I have been doing this for years and cigarettes cost us between 89 – 1.00 / pack.

      • blowme0bama says:

        Redid the math – Tabaco and filtered tubes for what amounts to 2 cartons and an additional 2-3 packs comes out to 75 – 79 cents per pack. – add that up over a month’s time, then x 12 – quite a savings. You’re welcome.

Comments are closed.