Caturday Open Thread

Have a great weekend. Joaquin may be missing me, but the Nor’easter from hell is still slapping our mid-Atlantic butts😉

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

184 Responses to Caturday Open Thread

  1. Constance says:

    Here is one thing Progs and their mouth-piece media could do to stop gun massacres. Quit mentioning the name of the shooter, don’t put his picture up, don’t discuss his excuses or his philosophy. The media attention and hand wringing heaped on the perps is rewarding to these psychos and encourages them to act out.

  2. Dora says:

    If any of you recall this movie you might enjoy this article. I remember it very well. Both the book and the movie had me sobbing like a child. Now when I look back, I think it was just a lot of sentimental slop, but it was fun and shows how innocent we were at the time. It’s not much fin watching the stars get older though, especially since I am aging along with them. 🙂

    Ryan and Ali and Me: ‘Love Story’ Stars Reunite, and a Fan Squeezes In

    • DeniseVB says:

      I enjoyed that article, thanks ! “Love is never having to say you’re sorry” 🙂

      • Constance says:

        “Love is never having to say you’re sorry”
        My second ex-husband really clung to this belief. It fit his narcissism well. Don’t miss that!

        • Myiq2xu says:

          In my experience, “Love is having to say you are sorry over and over and over again.”

        • DeniseVB says:

          Actually, my husband has never forgiven me for tricking him into taking me to that movie. I told him it was about a hockey player and a girl from Fall River,MA (his hometown). He thought it was a sports movie :evilgrin:

          You’d think he’d learn after tricking him into Funny Girl (about a gambler and hot show girls). 😉

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      I was in grade school, so Love Story was not on my radar but I do recall my brothers and their girlfriends all trying to reenact the snow scenes,

      I remember laughing when Ryan’s character in What’s Up Doc says that “Loves mean never having to say you are sorry” was the dumbest thing he ever heard. By that time, the phrase was so ubiquitous that even if you had not read the book or seen the movie, you got the jab.

      Thanks for the link. I enjoyed the article. Ali still has a striking face. It is real. It is the kind of face one remembers.

      • cynic says:

        I was 11 when the movie came out, and loved it. I had two older sisters, so they introduced me to the popular music and movies from that era.

        I remember getting ‘the hat’!
        This knit hat–Ali’s own that she just happened to wear to the set one day–
        became an instant trend after the movie and copies sold out everywhere.

        Here’s a fun link with lots of pictures. I still love the clothes.

    • dm says:

      Doesn’t surprise me either…there is so much that isn’t revealed to us. Not terribly difficult to accept considering the information we have received regarding his social media “friends”, his social media posts, etc. Also, why have I been seeing articles describing him as a “white boy”? I know I have a serious vision disability, but there is nothing “white boy” about his looks…he looks white like Obama. These details aren’t that important to me, but they always seem to be seriously important to the media and all our dear friends on the left.

      • blowme0bama says:

        I know. And it DOESN’T make a @#$%, but MSM has a narrative to advance. Now the LA Times is saying the guy was a “white supremacist”. Yeah. A bi-racial guy that shoots a bunch of white Christians = white supremacist. SMH!

      • DeniseVB says:

        The shooter had a white dad and black mom, so he’s as white as Obama ?

  3. Myiq2xu says:

  4. Myiq2xu says:
  5. Myiq2xu says:

    This happened yesterday. The left created a fake scandal out of thin air. I thought about posting the story but I really didn’t want to put that much effort into defending Jeb! even though he said nothing wrong.

  6. Myiq2xu says:
  7. DeniseVB says:

    Ouch. But true………

  8. Dora says:

    I don’t know if this will help him or hurt him, but Dr. Carson has admitted to being a creationist.

    Ben Carson: ‘I Do Believe in the Six-Day Creation’ of the World

  9. helenk3 says:

    about that separation of church and state, I guess it only applies to some churches and not others

    • Somebody says:

      I saw that story earlier, that little town is near me. What was the deal with his cousin? First she didn’t want to show her face and second she hopes the police investigate and get to the bottom of everything and she hopes nothing is being covered up??

      WTH, how about her cousin shouldn’t break into houses and attack people, sheesh!

  10. DeniseVB says:

    Never gets old😀

  11. piper says:

    Before I forget here is an awesome cartoon from Mike Lester

  12. DeniseVB says:

    Always interesting to read the foreign press. Totally debunks Obama and his UN buddies, or, the opposite of US media slobber😉

  13. helenk3 says:

    checked in with my Jersey girls. all doing ok. they are a little bit inland and not right on the ocean

  14. gram krakka says:

    “Hold on tight BooRock, it’s going to be a bumpy ride.” from michellesmirror

  15. Myiq2xu says:
  16. Myiq2xu says:
  17. Dora says:


    Rains not seen for 200 YEARS: Two dead, 22million on flood watch and New Jersey homes already consumed by high tides in bombardment of weekend storms dubbed a ‘slow-motion disaster’

  18. Myiq2xu says:

    Am I the only person who sings “Soft Kitty” and “Smelly Cat” to his cats?

  19. helenk3 says:

    Good God

    If I lived in St Louis, I think the first thing I would do would be buy an AK47 and learn how to use it

  20. DeniseVB says:

    Interesting thread today kids, speaking of Aliens, Serenading Cats and Virgin Births, anyone connect the missing container ship to the …………………….Bermuda Triangle yet ? (spooky music playing) Coincidence? I think not.😛

    • AFVet says:

      Coast Guard said they can’t find it because of the hurricane.

    • cynic says:

      aaah, I was thinking that this a.m. That was the subject of my senior yr. term paper (’77).

    • cynic says:

      The whole week has been interesting, starting with the moon!

    • 49erDweet says:

      I’ve been playing with a few automated vessel locating systems (bc IS is now at sea up in AK). Anywhoo, there are at least two ways to locate almost all of the over 800,000 registered ships that sail the seven seas. Even if the El Faro lost propulsion power it should have enough battery juice left to maintain those electronic locating systems for a couple of days if it can stay afloat. And those systems sometimes take several hours to refresh. So there may still be time. Possibly.

    • helenk3 says:

      I really think they should march in a muslim country. It would give them one hell of a lesson

      • DeniseVB says:

        The just need to go to those little German towns were those horndog muslim refugee dudes have a lot of “misunderstandings” so the women are told to, uhm, cover up and not dress so provocatively. The Slut Walkers would all be in birkas in a snap !

  21. helenk3 says:

    I thought this was a very interesting article
    real life against university life

  22. helenk3 says:

    I hope to God this is not true
    Russia warned about Oregon shooter and backtrack bunch refused to listen.

    the same thing as the Boston bombers

  23. mothy67 says:

    Going to Baltimore for two days. Area called Oakenshaw. Visiting college roommate. Has a 3, 5 and 9 year old. What stupid gifts do I buy? Never met her monsters. Seems they are very bad. Like can’t keep a live in nanny bad. They runaway under cover of night. Care not we will find a dive bar and get liquored, but I need a cheap clean hotel in that area. She wants me to stay with her, but I have never met her husband and he is upstanding. Attorney worked at the Hague, NYC DA office, owns his own practice in Baltimore. He was on CNN several times during the riots. Xtina and I were roomies in Philly for 6 yearsand NYC friends for ever. We were risk takers. Lot’s of drugs and fast times. I live in suburbia and now agonize over protein shakes for a vegetarian kid. She is a soccer mom. We used to crawl out of after bars at noon. High and drunk. Funny thing is more than anything I cannot fathom spending the money I did in those days. 500 was a light night. Today all I do is look to save money. One thing being gay and on the edge I thank my Catholic background for keeping me HIV free. i am now so conservative when it comes to kid. Tv shows for kids mortify me. My best friend(the one I am visiting) in life is going hard core Sanders. Funny. Damn what gifts?

  24. helenk3 says:

    I think I am in the dungeon . posted article, does not show but when I go to post it again I get duplicate comment

    shall I make the cheesecake chocolate covered strawberries while I am here?

  25. DeniseVB says:

    Oh this sounds juicy ….

    • mothy67 says:

      Growing up Irish Catholic the Kennedy myth was yuuuge. My grandmother had a picture of John at the foot of her stairs. 2008 dispelled all respect for those slimeballs. Yuck awful people. Sister had a lobotomy and was hidden away. What kind of monster does that? She was loose. So what. Cut out your daughters brain for political ambition. GROSS.

  26. Myiq2xu says:

    Tigger has an annoying habit of jumping up in my desk chair and laying down whenever I get up. So when I got up a few minutes ago I picked up my wastebasket and set it in the chair to Tiggy couldn’t lay down. When I came back Tiggy was laying in the chair, wrapped around the bottom of the waste basket.

    Well played, Mr. Tigg!

    • Myiq2xu says:

      Meanwhile, one of my VCR’s died so I was swapping it out for one of my spares (you can get old VCRs for free and half my video library is on tape) and I was behind the TV working on the wires when Taggert’s furry gray paw cam thru the wiring access hole in the back of the TV stand and took a swipe at me. The little brat had jumped up in the spot where the old VCR went and was trying to make a surprise attack.

  27. Myiq2xu says:

    My Lasko Windmachine (cheap ass walmart fan) isn’t spinning and I smell smoke. What should I do?

  28. Myiq2xu says:

    • mothy67 says:

      Is that tweet from the guy who does It’s Always Sunny in PHiladelphia. Love that show. There is joy in being aself aware idiot.

  29. Myiq2xu says:

    Ho Lee Chit! I just walked outside and saw hundreds of turkey vultures circling overhead.

  30. Myiq2xu says:


  31. DeniseVB says:

    (stolen from the MOTUS blog)

  32. NewOrleans says:

    Latest fun for the junkies:

    Ipsos/Reuters Poll:

    Trump 32.4%
    Carson 10.9%
    Jeb! 10.2%
    Fiorina 8.2%
    Cruz 6.2%
    Paul 6.2%
    Rubio 4.8%

    OAN/Gravis Poll:

    Trump 34.7%
    Carson 17.2%
    Rubio 10.8%
    Fiorina 8.8%
    Cruz 7.3%
    Bush 6.9%

    Pew Poll:

    Trump 25%
    Carson 16%
    Rubio 8%
    Fiorina 8%
    Cruz 6%
    Bush 4%

    Brietbart Primary Poll:
    (September Results w/ 171,862 votes)

    Trump 36%
    Cruz 18%
    Carson 13%
    Fiorina 8%
    Rubio 4%
    Bush 1%

  33. mothy67 says:

    I like surveys. I think they are fun Over the years I have participated in many. I get a lot of product tests. I get all kinds of stuff to test. Wierd as I started doing it out of boredom. I must have made it onto some list as I now get products sent to me to try. I got paid 250 to use this for men shampoo and conditioner. Lighly died my gray to brown. I thought it looked fake. I have mutt Irish hwir lots of different tones. Red, black brown blond. Shampoo made it all even dark brown. Looked fake i get razors, food. No idea why but I get tested.
    Anywho sometimes I get political surveys. The wording is always polluted by left wing thought. Disgusting manipulation Some questios are so biased you cannot give ananswer.

    Not my internet stuff but I answered the phone because it was 212exchange. Woman was pretending to do a survey but it became clear she was masking a jeb ad under the guise of a survey. Loaded questions. Is that some new marketing technique. I told her I will never vote forjeb. She called me a bigot. Fuck her. I think Bruce Jenner is a man. Do not give a shit. I hope i would never be rude to a trans person. I think children belong with a mom and dad unless they don’t. I think two caring people can love a child but I am against making children. Kids suck. They destroy everything you ever thought. Two men or two woman do not make a baby.
    I am gay and I have spent 9 years with a brat. I am not saying gay people cannot be great parents i say tothe party of science gender is not a feeling. Children are not toys.

  34. smile says:

    I just read that US has quietly repealed government propaganda ban. So sharing with you all.

Comments are closed.