WTF Wednesday: Fall Edition

Fall in Maine.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

110 Responses to WTF Wednesday: Fall Edition

  1. DeniseVB says:

    Sounds about right ….

  2. Dora says:

    Beautiful picture. It’s starting to look like that on Long Island too. I think we are going to have a very nice autumn.

    Don’t remind me of what comes next. I don’t want to think about it! 🙂

    • elliesmom says:

      The foliage is just starting to turn here in the Boston area. Columbus Day weekend is usually peak time. I think we’re just a little behind, but there should still be a good show for the “leaf peepers”. Route 2 starts in Boston and goes west across the entire state. It’s called “The Mohawk Trail”. It will be bumper to bumper traffic all weekend. Restaurants will be crowded, and the motels fully-booked. We usually go away somewhere until it’s over.😉

    • AFVet says:

      Does the site on Montauk Point still exist ?

  3. DeniseVB says:

    Maybe an Autumn in the Swamp would have been a better photo🙂

    • Myiq2xu says:

      We don’t get snow around here so winters are dreary and gray, but fall is full of color.

      • elliesmom says:

        Do you have red maples in your area? When we’ve lived in other parts of the country, fall has been very pretty, but all of the trees turned shades of yellow like in the swamp pic. I think what makes the foliage so stunning in New England in the broader range of colors. Lots of deep red, pine and spruce mixed in for vibrant greens, and then also the yellows and deep oranges. When friends we made in Chicago came to visit us in Boston in the fall, they didn’t expect it to look any different than there, but it did. My Japanese boss’s mom came for a visit from Japan and spent most of her time here trying to preserve the leaves so she could take them home. Fall isn’t my favorite time of year, but I have to admit, it’s truly beautiful here. But then I think my ice palace was pretty last winter, too.😉

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      The Great Dismal Swamp. A great location for ghosts and ghouls come Halloween.

    • AFVet says:

      I spent a year and a half in the Northeast back in the day.
      We supported NORAD communications and were able to see the leaves change.
      Many sites up along the coast and into Maine.
      It was magnificent.
      The Northeast is just getting to the most gorgeous picture you can ever imagine.
      If you ever have a chance to take a look,….do so.

  4. Dora says:

    Very good interview.

    Donald Trump Interview With Michael Savage (10/06/15)…

    • NewOrleans says:

      I am really enjoying that blog, Dora. I wasn’t familiar with them, so thanks for pointing them out!

      • DeniseVB says:

        SooperMexican and Sundance got into a twitter war over Trump and Eminent Domain. Not sure if you can read the whole conversation here, if not just read Sooper’s timeline, they’re at a stand off now, ball in Sundance’s court …. Kinda fun to watch😉

        • Venus says:

          Sorry to tell the anti-Trumps but if they couldn’t take him down with the McCain comments, the Megyn Kellys comments or the Carly comments they sure as he’ll aren’t going to be able to take him down over eminent domain — I mean of all the fucking problems we have right now, is anyone seriously trying to pretend that eminent domain — something that is really only a concern on the state/local level — *the* hot button issue this election?
          PS — like it or not and despite any instances one may be able to point to of government abuse, the Kelo case is correct. In Kelo, the SCOTUS said that they could not determine what “public good” meant in the context of the 5th amendment’s eminent domain provision because that was for CONGRESS to determine. The fact that Congress hasn’t acted doesn’t make Kelo wrong.

          • Myiq2xu says:

            It is well established that the government CAN take your property, they just have to pay you for it. The more important issue is when government doesn’t take possession of your property, they just restrict what you can do with it. Land use restrictions can make your land effectively worthless. Does that constitute a “taking?”

          • DeniseVB says:

            I think I posted a link downstairs to an NYC article that two holdouts for a major development project will be budging for $25 million each now. Trump was right, from the private developer viewpoint, he’s made a lot of slum lords and elderly people very wealthy with his projects.

          • Venus says:

            PPS: Keystone Pipeline isn’t doable without eminent domain, so don’t start with the “it should only be for public highways” etc not private companies argument.
            All those fiber optic cables to bring you cable TV and the Internet and those ugly cell towers for cell phones are there because of eminent domain and the benefit PRIVATE companies.

  5. NewOrleans says:

    A surprisingly informative/non-biased story in The Washington Post about what’s coming from The Donald:

    I LOVED this part:

    “And he is deepening his political organization far beyond the early states, with top advisers vowing that his fight for the nomination will go all the way to the floor of the Republican National Convention.”

    Pass the popcorn!

    • Dora says:

      I love that part too! 🙂

    • Dora says:

      I read it again and I like this line even better:
      Asked if he had discussed an exit plan with Trump should the candidate slip in the polls, Lewandowski said he had not: “We’re going to the convention ­ that’s it. One delegate or 2,000 and change, we’re going to the convention, and there’s nobody who can get him out of the race.”

  6. DeniseVB says:

    Joe Biden’s first ad ? We’re again reminded of the great tragedies in his life which will be played during the first Dem debate? HRC must be thrilled😉

  7. Myiq2xu says:

    Take 8 minutes and watch this:

    • NewOrleans says:

      “And he also compliments people quite effusively when they’re nice or at least they’re not bothering him.” Not bothering him. That really cracked me up.

      Adams seems to be echoing what college professors & language experts have been recently saying about the way Trump speaks. Trump’s method of speaking drives the highfalutin liberal elites crazy, but the general public gets it – an embraces it. There might be an actual method to Trump’s madness and, if true, that impresses the hell out of me.

      • DeniseVB says:

        Trump defended Carson this morning, the tweet comments prove the liberal elites are the dumb ones. DJT is fearless when it comes to the media🙂

  8. votermom says:

    Via instapundit, is made me cackle gleefully

    • DeniseVB says:

      I really want him to run just to see if he takes more support from Hillary or Bernie😀

      • AFVet says:

        Be careful what you wish for.
        So far Biden isn’t involved in anything.
        He would be nothing more than a puppet for Obama’s agenda.

        • DeniseVB says:

          Yeah, you’re right. We do need a regime change before the US becomes the USSA. The Dems need to rebuild and get rid of the Anti-American and Christian cancers that have affected them. Thanks Obama.

        • 49erDweet says:

          Right now I’m thinkin’ the game plan is Teh Won will be “forced” to “reluctantly” take executive action to suspend 2016 elections bc of civil unrest…………….caused by something he does, so Joe’s plans are irrelevant.

  9. piper says:

    The real reason Bronco is going to Oregon, just a side visit on taxpayer dime, to fundraise in both Washington state and California.

  10. DeniseVB says:

    4 years later, these photos are haunting (many more and video at link) …..

  11. DeniseVB says:

    Birthday Boy knows how to celebrate #63 when he’s not launching missiles …..

    • Somebody says:

      Are republicans supposed to be clown car members? Admittedly some would be better suited for a circus, but has she paid any attention to the dems?? People who live in glass houses and all that.

      • Mt.Laurel says:

        The R’s have quite few silly and stupid clowns and often look like the Ringling’s gone amuck or the Three Stooges.

        But the D’s have clowns that seem more akin to those found in horror stories. Like Stephen King’s Pennywise from IT and that clown doll from Poltergeist.

        • DeniseVB says:

          I wish I saved the tweet that said (paraphrased). “So what if the GOP has a clown car, the Dems have a rich, old white folks nursing home van.” That cracked me up because we have rich old white folks friends in “retirement complexes” that live like royalty for about 15k/month.

  12. Somebody says:

    OK completely out of left field, but sort of on topic with regard to WTF. I shall conduct a little polling.

    If you knew that somebody was lying their ass off and pretending to be somewhere that they’re not and pretending to be doing something that they’re not, BUT it was of virtually no consequence to you…….would you say anything? These people are scamming vis-a-vis pretending to be on a mission trip, but I haven’t given them any money nor has anyone I know.

    Soooooo would you inform the ignorant when they wax sentimental about the sacrifices the scammers are making? Would you keep your mouth shut and snicker to yourself at how gullible some people can be? Would you take a different approach and slowly point out discrepancies in an effort to help the blind see??

    I sort of headed a little down that 3rd path of pointing out little things last night, but pulled back and thought to myself……just shut up this isn’t any of your business.

    • Somebody says:

      Let rephrase that, I know people that have given them money; but nobody I give a shit about has given them money.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Hmmm, scamming people is illegal, especially if they’re asking for money online, or off, for a fake org ??? Is that the gist ? An anonymous local police tip line might be what I’d do. Or does your local news have “investigative” consumer reporters that love playing hero when they fish out a phish scam.

      I’m not sure I understand, as always, I’ll throw my 2 cents in anyhow😛

      • Somebody says:

        Yeppers you got the gist, nailed it.

        They lived next door to me, just abandoned their house which is foreclosed on. You know the jackasses that buried their pet in my yard, among other things.

        They are supposedly in China spreading God’s word in orphanages……oh sure and posting prolifically on facebook…..sure. HELLO there is no facebook in China, it’s banned except for a very small area in Shanghai and only for foreign traders…….so did one of them get stock trading credentials or do they fly into Shanghai and steal wifi???

        They have actually been there before and so they have pictures they can post, but anyone observant would notice things like hair that somehow grew 10 inches in a week.

        • Somebody says:

          I’m not sure how much money is involved. I know they had several fund raisers around town, but those were a year ago or more, they’ve been preparing for their mission since then. Who knows what the statute of limitations is, perhaps they do?? Maybe they actually gave that money to a charitable cause and they’re just doing what they’re doing to save face???

          No matter what, I doubt the police really care. The paper, maybe. They’ve just always been such fake assholes, put on their Christian airs when it suits them. Live their everyday lives in quite a different manner. It just gets my goat to hear people talking about them like their saints. It really doesn’t matter to me if they want to pretend to be clowns in a circus……snicker! I guess I’m just a bitch and I should mind my own business.

          • DeniseVB says:

            Well, if you don’t have anything nice to say about anyone, come sit by me ~Steel Magnolias😉 If you’re on Facebook, go to Facecrooks page. It’s independent of Facebook, but they do cover FB scams. Read through the page to see if anything similar is reported, don’t comment there since your “friends” may be able to see that😉

            I’ve got a lot of ahole friends on FB, and have put them on their own “special snowflake” list then unfollow them, still friends, but I visit that list when I feel strong enough….LOL. (Nobody from TCH, just the old RL friends that made me realize why I haven’t been in touch with them for decades, but I’m snoopy and catty and a glutton for punishment)

          • 49erDweet says:

            Independent “missionaries” are sometimes unreliable and sketchy. To some that’s a benefit, not a glitch. If your former neighbors aren’t accountable to a larger organization it’s a donors beware situation.

            Nothing prevents you from commenting on the “miracle” that they were able to find FB access in such a restrictive place, etc. “Innocent” comments can sometimes be ironically eye-opening. Think Klown!

          • Somebody says:

            I’m not on facebook, never have been. I just happen to know several people that are and they talk about the posts and have shown some of them to me. Perhaps I will very sweetly comment about how I know God is truly shining down on them, just the miracle of them being able to stay connected via facebook in a country that forbids facebook. Ordinarily I’d worry that it might cause them some trouble, but clearly God has put a protective bubble around them…….God truly does work in mysterious ways……cue big cheesy smile.

    • blowme0bama says:

      Hmmm…. If you KNOW absolutely they are representing that they’re doing something which they are not doing, AND you know they’re getting money for the purpose of doing the thing they SUPPOSED to be doing. I think I’d find some anonymous way to let the donor(s) know about it.

  13. votermom says:

    OT Just a silly interaction with kid the younger this morning.
    So she clomps down the stairs, still sleepy, and to my “Good morning!” She replies ” ugh, I’m dying.”
    So I say “Aw, that’s too bad! I kinda liked you.”
    She laughed.

    • helenk3 says:

      good way to start the day

    • Somebody says:

      Haha! Is she getting sick?

      All of my grandbabies are currently sick, argh! Yesterday as soon as my son came in the door, the 2 year old tells him “Daddy, I want to go home NOW!” My son says “OK honey is there something wrong?” She leans over and whispers in his ear “Gigi keeps putting the vacuum cleaner up my nose”. Hahahaha, she was talking about a bulb syringe, but she called it a vacuum cleaner. When my son dropped them off this morning he asked me to please refrain from sticking the vacuum cleaner up the girl’s noses!

  14. helenk3 says:

    US House rejects Democratic effort to abolish Benghazi committee, 240-183 – @thehill

  15. DeniseVB says:

    I giggled and *NSFW (language)*

  16. Dora says:

    I can’t even imagine being this intelligent. I wonder how it feels. 🙂

    Donald Trump is a Genius – But That’s Just His IQ!

    A 156 IQ is at the 99.9905490555 percentile. That means that Donald Trump is smarter than 99.99 percent of the people on planet earth.

  17. 49erDweet says:

    It’s Sowell. He’s always spot on!

  18. Dora says:

    Get out the old violin.

    ‘Joe, run,’ says emotional TV ad by Draft Biden super PAC

  19. Dora says:

    The full story is in WSJ, but I refuse to subscribe!

    Boehner gives ship owners $500 million sweetener to help House passage of oil-export bill.

  20. helenk3 says:

    you know that if they ever get robbed for have some kind of problem, they will be the first ones screaming for a cop

Comments are closed.