Friday Facepalm – Daily Beast Edition


Stupid should hurt:

Jeb Wants a Recession in D.C., Having Forgotten That Real People Live There

Maybe it’s reverse psychology, or maybe Jeb Bush is trying to reenergize his flagging White House bid by diving cuboidal-head first into absurdity, but the Republican presidential candidate has come out as an advocate for an unlikely cause: recession.

In New Hampshire on Wednesday, speaking to Sean Hannity in front of two plastic pumpkins and a Jeb! 2016 placard, the former Florida governor was asked how he would make the argument to voters that the Democrats’ plans to expand the safety net would bankrupt the country.

“We have the benefit now of all of this philosophy of offering free things to people not working,” Bush said. “I think the better message is, let’s disrupt Washington. Let’s create a little bit of a recession in Washington, D.C., so that we can have economic prosperity outside of Washington.”

Bush added that as governor, “I got to do that,” and it resulted in the Sunshine State leading the nation in job growth for the majority of his tenure.

Asked if Bush really meant that he would like to create a recession in Washington, D.C., the country’s fourth-largest metropolitan economy, his spokesman, Tim Miller, responded, “We should shrink D.C. so we can grow the economy of the rest of the country.”

But Bush said recession.

Asked “yes or no,” does Bush believe D.C. should be hit with a recession, as the country as a whole continues to recover from the Great Recession, Miller said, “He certainly wants to shrink the size of D.C. as laid out on his plan to reform Washington.”

Shrinking the size of the federal government is a vastly different endeavor than creating a recession in the city in which the federal government is based. Asked if Bush is aware of the definition of a recession, Miller said, “a period of temporary economic decline generally identified by a fall of GDP in two successive quarters.”

Asked why in the hell a candidate for president of the United States would wish such a thing on an American city, Miller didn’t respond—not even to suggest it was a joke.

Michael D. Brown, Washington, D.C.’s “shadow” senator, was not amused, either way.

“I think he’s trying to be clever and say, ‘If we deprive the congressmen and the senators, if we screw things up for them, they’ll pay attention,’” Brown said. “My first impression is that it’s reflective of the way these people think about our city, that this isn’t a place where Americans live for some reason. Why would you say that about a place where 650,000 taxpayers live—many of whom are veterans?”

“I just think it’s a preposterous idea,” he said. “Washington is a major economic hub. We have greater GDP than nine different states. We are an economic engine! It’s ridiculous.”

That was written by Olivia Nuzzi, who seems to be a reasonably intelligent human being. As far as I know she is a native English speaker. There is no indication that this article was intended as satire or sarcasm.

I must therefore conclude that she is being deliberately obtuse.

She wasn’t alone.

Why does the national media conspire to mislead? This is even more egregious than the “stuff happens” fauxrage. It pisses me off because it puts me in the position of having to defend Jeb Bush, and I really don’t want to do that.

You can expect the usual suspects on the Left to pretend they don’t understand what Jeb was saying either.

Meanwhile, The Hated Dodgers lost last night. It was glorious.


About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

88 Responses to Friday Facepalm – Daily Beast Edition

  1. Myiq2xu says:


    A New York Times news assistant tweeted and then deleted a “F— you Jeb Bush” message Wednesday night after the Republican candidate delivered public remarks about dealing with poverty.

    Bush spoke at a New Hampshire town hall where a young African-American man asked the candidate about his tax policies, racial disparities and the existence of the “culture of poverty.”

    Bush gave a rather long and rather complex answer that included one prescription for ending poverty: “stronger families. Stronger families matter,” he said.

    About that time, the Times staffer, Philip B. Richardson, tweeted: “F— you Jeb Bush for telling poor people they need stronger families to not be poor. Poverty weakens families.”

    • 49erDweet says:

      So if poverty weakens families we eliminate them and, ergo, “Win the War”. Brillig! Another outstanding strategy for growing government. Win-win. SMH

  2. Myiq2xu says:

  3. Lulu says:

    DC and the suburbs are the among the fastest growing and wealthy areas in the country. It is funded by taxpayers for lobbyists, contractors, highly paid federal employees and shithead media.They produce not much except a pain in the ass. The media, including this doofus, is paid to create a “reality” only the rubes aren’t believing it anymore. The audience for this crap is DC to justify their existence. They exist in a bubble and and they are semi aware that a big, sharp, pointy pin is aimed at them but the cause and effect part still eludes them. The media is being paid to be stupid so their business model continues to shrink.

    • leslie says:

      I wish you were correct. But, I think they know exactly what they’re doing. My guess is the next thing I’ll hear from my Prog friends will be that Jeb! wants to create a recession in the DC area. The last conversation that I ended with a very bright, articulate, native born, English speaking friend was when she told me she “hates Fiorina” for “lying about Planned Parenthood”. Did she watch any of the videos, I asked. “No”. They were “highly edited to make PP look bad”, she said. Her closest friend was gleeful when Andrew Brietbart died suddenly and said she hoped “his family suffers from all his lies.” She, too is bright, articulate, educated, – a Democrat voter.
      If these smart people (and many more that I’m too tired to mention, believe whatever the NYTimes or the WaPost, or the DNC tell them, I think there’s little hope that people will see through all this. And I’m tired of having the back of Jeb! or others that I would hope won’t be the nominee. I’m sounding as crazed as they are by always having to defend them. from these high intellect, low info people.

      • Myiq2xu says:

        Listening to Democrats these days is like talking to paranoid antisemite. They seem like normal people until the subject of Republicans (Jews) comes up, and then suddenly they are foaming at the mouth bigots, ranting about conspiracies. It’s really scary some times.

        • swanspirit says:

          Do you know, at one point, our fave buffoon juicer, when I told him I was a TCH ‘er, actually warned me to ” be careful of those people, they could be dangerous”. I couldn’t believe he was serious, but he was.

          • DeniseVB says:

            LOL, dangerous we are ! Open minded people are their greatest threats. I learned that in the trenches of DU and dKos where you were never allowed to question because you must believe ! Speak about cultish behavior, ha!

    • wailuagirl says:

      I like the big,sharp,pointy pin aim on that wretched place.

  4. DeniseVB says:

    Our favorite “faux” black man is now working for the NYDN so he can write garbage like this …. Trump=Hitlerish. Funny that Trump’s using the same immigration policy as Mexico’s, eh? The media’s becoming unhinged, be careful out there😉

  5. Myiq2xu says:
  6. DeniseVB says:

    Jim Webb’s even being targeted …. this may help him, at least with the Reagan Dems🙂

  7. piper says:

    obtuse – brain-dead, moronic, simpleminded, dead from the neck up, etc., etc.

  8. helenk3 says:

    check this out

    American town of 4000 to receive 3000 “refugees”, told if they do not like it THEY can leave the country.
    It is not just the ME that backtrack has failed.

  9. helenk3 says:

    it is not just Jeb. did you know that you trumpettes here are KKK.
    for all the time I have come here I never knew that, I always thought you are a pretty good bunch and enjoy your company. WHO KNEW

  10. DeniseVB says:

    Let’s Go Mets !

  11. Dora says:

    Trump fever – seems to be contagious. Hee Hee. 🙂

    Why The Donald? US Republicans explain their Trump fever

  12. piper says:

    Desparate Obama resorting to mind control. Actually these techniques were first employed in 2008 to banner waving idjits who thought electing a black man would solve this country problems.

  13. piper says:

    I would be so happy if “this’ worked so I could stay out of the fitness center.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I gave up gyms years ago when I got too lazy to get in my car and drive to them. I just roll out my front door now and walk for 60 to 90 minutes at least 4 days weekly. I don’t need fitbit or other techy stuff, feel great and save tons of money (to support my bad habits😉 )

  14. DandyTIger says:

    In Back to the Future II, he’s in 2015, and the most unbelievable and bizarre part of that future to the character is that the Mets win the world series that year.

  15. AFVet says:

    Check this out folks,…..
    Unbelievable !

  16. DeniseVB says:

    (via MOTUS) I believe this is from a Latino sponsored event for HRC with that Castro guy who’s rumored to be a favorite as her VP. Really, we want to be like the countries they all came from? This is just freaky ….. of course the very youthful imaging is even freakier ….

  17. mothy67 says:

    I am not sure you know this but you are from an island in the Pacific. I am half joking. I be simple. I always need to talk to my baby girl. Sometimes it is easier to pretend. I can’t know what it is to be a preteen girl. Rather than bark at her I try to pretend I am her. I just try to get her perspective. I just hope to see. I am always afraid I err. Kids suck so tough. I am an old gay man. I am in fear of being wrong. I use acting tools all the time. I can act out on my baby or I can think . She is my best friend. I love her. I wish she had normal parents. Nope she got me. Faith Hill– “you’re the million reasons why there’s love reflecting in my eyes”
    It’s not right. It’s not fair. What you’ re missing over there. Faith Hill again. I am an odd person but for fucks sake I get screwed with a kid. Faith Hill. I am always in turmoil about “faith”. How unfair I get stuck with a child and end up singing The Way You Love Me. Give me break her name is Faith. Last name Hill. Golgatha, Gesemene. There was this guy two thousand years ago that was nailed to a cross on a hill. I am chock full of being unwell. I struggle to give brat a reason to be I do not need Faith Hill singing words that make liquid come out of my eyes. So wrong. I am very Catholic. I fall apart when I hear that dumb song. I am a mistake. So what. I got to give. I am so moved by the song “The Way You Love Me” . All else aside I am an old gay man that met a child. Faith Hill. Come on
    How absurd.

  18. helenk3 says:

    it is five pm on Friday. i finally got sound on my computer after a week with none
    so it is time for this

  19. mothy67 says:

    So sad I made a choice. I drank 6 bottles of straight vodka and ate a ton of pills. I wanted it too seem like a mistake. Obviously I did not die. I cannot do suicide. Might hurt my baby girl. I wantto take a dirt nap. I cannot because of a little girl.

    I already called rehab. I will admit myself. I will do it because I love my baby girl. Please think about it. You can all fuck off if you think my brat did not evolve in part because of you. I am an asshole. I choose to stay alive. Decision I made. Sometimes I hurt real bad. Votermom is welcome. I was by myself throwing up after watching AHS Hotel. Took me few days to remember. I was 8 he was 48. I saw that show and I puked. I did not understand. I thought it was my fault. I was 8.

  20. Dora says:

    Donald Trump Met Privately with 5 Year Old Boy Suffering from Rare Form of Dwarfism Yesterday

    For all you Donald Trump fans out there, I found this story on Facebook, which as of the time of posting, the national media was ignoring. Let’s give Mr. Trump and Jacob three cheers and let everyone know about Mr. Trump’s good heart by sharing this beautiful story. This is my feel good post of the day.

    • DeniseVB says:

      The Donald has a Huuuuuge Heart, his compassionate side is being missed by the MSM, guess it’s easier to call him a bloviating clown….or as Shaun King likes to say: Hitler.

  21. helenk3 says:

    years ago my neighbor took her son and I took my son to a Phillies-Mets game. The Mets won. After the game the Met players were as ignorant as catshit to the kids. I have never rooted for the Mets since. Sorry guys I have to go for the Cubs

  22. DeniseVB says:

    I scheduled a zero dark thirty EASTERN open thread in the barn. Enjoy, see ya’s in the a.m.❤

  23. leslie says:

    I just got back from childcare duty for the little girls… I’m exhausted. As I read this thread, I wanted to respond repeatedly, but only did once. (Such restraint!)
    I was still having trouble early this morning with my computer. I tried every suggestion and then some ideas of my own to no avail. Suddenly, lights went out on my modem and I called the service provider who shall not be names, and was advised by recorded message that the service was out in my area (as it probably had been all week) and I should try again in “24 hours if service was not restored.”
    It’s back on and I’m getting fast response and no problems – that I have detected. Here’s hoping for the rest of my 2-year contract with said service provider…………… lol

  24. Venus says:

    I don’t give a fuck — I’m not defending Jeb! on anything. He said the MSM should be treated with “respect” — he can reap what he sows.

  25. Underwhelmed says:

    This article is really, really worth a read. Bottom line? If Obama wanted ISIS gone, it would be gone. It’s not, ergo he doesn’t.

  26. helenk3 says:

    for those of you that know little girls that still play with dolls these would be great for Christmas
    Malala is one brave girl. the movie is about her is coming out soon

  27. lyn says:

    Halloween fun, eh.

Comments are closed.