Countdown to Halloween Saturday Open Thread

If you dare, bwah-ha-ha, first here’s another lovely fallscape from Central Park:

Now enjoy the video my pretties….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

122 Responses to Countdown to Halloween Saturday Open Thread

  1. Dora says:

    I love walking through Central Park anytime, but it is especially beautiful in the autumn.


    • DeniseVB says:

      CP is especially beautiful on a gray Nov day when the foliage just pops. Discovered that visual joy cutting through the park from the AMNH to the Met. I must’ve looked like such a tourist smiling at the trees. 😀

      • Dora says:

        Not at all. Many of the people strolling through Central Park smile at the trees as they go by. It’s the people who stop and talk to them that you have to watch out for. 🙂

      • leslie says:

        I love your fall in NYC photo so much, I just used it as my background.❤

  2. DeniseVB says:

    😀 True story.

    • 1539days says:

      There are only a few places where that’s true. I was heartened by the fact that a soldier in his fatigues came into Burger King yesterday and was treated well by everyone around him.

    • piper says:

      Pajama boy needs a good washing in the washing machine of life to learn about real life not the utopian fantasy academia preaches from their secure lofty perches which we the taxpayers subsidizes. If he thinks Islam is so great wait until he experiences Sharia Law up close and personal.

  3. Dora says:

    This really could be a landslide election!

    SHOCK POLL: Trump Blue Collar Support highest since FDR in 1930s

    It may come as a surprise to many that Donald J Trump’s support from Blue Collar Americans (those involved in trades, manufacturing, industry, and labor) is the highest since any candidate since FDR in 1936 since Gallup began polling.

  4. Dora says:

    Oh my!

    Bizarre: Jake Tapper Asks Hillary About FBI Investigation, Hillary Breaks Into Maniacal Cackling
    Maniacal cackle warning:

  5. DeniseVB says:

    Grabbed this off Drudge, surprised Maddow does so well among the “other” cables and The Daily Show is considered “news”.

    THURS., OCT 15, 2015

    FOXNEWS O’REILLY 2,820,000
    FOXNEWS KELLY 2,101,000
    FOXNEWS BAIER 2,006,000
    FOXNEWS FIVE 1,934,000
    FOXNEWS GRETA 1,670,000
    FOXNEWS HANNITY 1,488,000
    MSNBC MADDOW 1,031,000
    CMDY DAILY SHOW 829,000
    MSNBC HAYES 808,000
    MSNBC HARDBALL 870,000
    MSNBC ODONNELL 696,000
    CNN COOPER 572,000

    • 1539days says:

      Maddow used to be close to Hannity in the demo ratings. Fox probably made a good decision moving his show and putting in Megyn.

    • NewOrleans says:

      These numbers are similar to the ratings from the week before. Megyn Kelly has dropped nearly 1,000,000 viewers (ONE MILLION!) since her summer highs. She was consistently beating Bill O during her Trump whinefests about poor her being attacked by big bad Donald. Unfortunately for her, she’s on the wrong side of what her viewers want to see. Her ridiculous daily anti-Trump silliness has turned off a ton of loyal viewers.

      These ratings show why she went right back to bashing Trump this past week. She insulted him with the hope he would respond, and then she would get to pull out her vagina card – AGAIN! – and complain about being attacked by that mean Donald Trump. Lather, rinse, repeat. It’s not going to work this time – we’re already on to her. I personally had been a huge fan of Megyn since before 2008 and watched her daily. I turned her off weeks ago and am done with her for good.

      This week, she said she ‘overestimated’ Donald Trump’s anger management abilities. No, what she overestimated was her talent and her importance to TV viewers.

  6. DeniseVB says:

    Biden’s such a tease. If he runs, it will surely upset the senior Dem ladies of the DNC (or is that the D&C?) who are solidly behind HRC’s womaness. ::cackle::

  7. piper says:

    Here is another good post from Dianny at Patriot Retort about the Demo-rats and Jim Webb.

    Today in the Washington Post, Webb’s son, Jim R. Webb — a Marine veteran — has penned an op-ed titled People are criticizing my dad, Jim Webb, for killing a man. Here’s what they’re missing.

    In it, he writes among other things:

    In fact, seeing the reaction to my father’s story in recent days has highlighted for me the almost stunning level of ignorance that the general public has about war. CNN introduced him as a “war hero,” and yet people were surprised and even uncomfortable when they were given a glimpse of what that might have entailed.

    Yes, the man who threw the grenade isn’t around anymore, but more importantly the man who my father shielded with his own body lived to see another day. As a Marine and as a leader, that is the important part. To me and many other veterans, we have a sea of presidential candidates who seemingly have only personal interests in mind. Yet here is a leader who has not only endured war, but demonstrated that he is willing to sacrifice his life for his people. Is that really something to be sneered at?

    This country has been at war for almost 15 years, and as I think about the ridicule leveled at my father in the past 24 hours, I can’t help but imagine what these same people must think about the service of my own generation. In their eyes, did we simply spend some kind of twisted ‘semester abroad’ in a place with plenty of sand, but no ocean? Or conversely, do they ignorantly dismiss our experiences, as they have my father, as those of cold callous killers?
    It isn’t the “general public,” Jim. It’s Democrats.

    Welcome to the modern-day Democrat Party, Jim.

    Good Read –

  8. Dora says:

    This proves that the bombing of the hospital was intentional! Can anyone say “War Crime”?

    U.S. Military Rams Tank Into Bombed Doctors Without Borders Hospital, Destroying Potential Evidence

  9. elliesmom says:

    That’s a really cool dog costume. Much better than putting your pooch in a ballerina dress. Ellie has a Halloween bandanna and a tee shirt with pockets for her trick or treats. I need to get more creative next year.

    • Somebody says:

      It is cool, it makes me want to turn my dachshund into a giant spider!!

    • piper says:

      Merlin, our first bichon, disliked Halloween – being dressed up, the constant ringing of the doorbell, treats being given to children not him. His only joy was when he escaped and ran thru the neighborhood with my husband chasing him. He would stop and wait until DH got close then take off – finally ran onto a porch where the neighbor told DH – cute costume but where was his bag. My little devil was given a huge dog biscuit then carried home by DH.

      • Somebody says:

        That’s a bichon thing piper, mine used to run off then he’d stop to let you almost catch up…..little shit. He did that to my sister and took her on a big adventure, down the street on to the golf course, she chased him across 6 holes, over sand traps you name it. Finally my sister gave up and came back to my house still out of breath and told me my dog was lost forever. Just about the time she got those words out, my bichon was barking at my back door. I let him and he ran over to my sister and tried his best to get her to chase him again, LOL! She never really liked him after that.

    • piper says:

      NYT will never notice their hypocrisy as that word doesn’t exist in their lexicon.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Noticing a trend here, CIA, Secret Service, FBI ? All imploding under Obama, none of them seem able to do their jobs. Don’t get me started on the Pentagon’s whack-a-mole military clusterf**ks. Trying to save their jobs and promotions under Bampot.

  10. Myiq2xu says:

    • piper says:

      Implants coming and going

      • Somebody says:

        I think she’s going to regret the butt implants. Who in their right mind wants an ass that big?

        • piper says:

          Especially when they start migrating.

        • blowme0bama says:

          Heh, I might. 😀

        • lizzy says:

          Someone who expects to make money balancing a champagne glass on it in photos?

        • cynic says:

          Take it from me, God gave me mine (thank goodness, it’s not quite THAT large), and it’s been a curse forever!!! small waist, big behind, and no clothes to fit me.

          I don’t even want to shop for clothes anymore. Hubby said I should find a good seamstress to alter my clothes for me. I think, however, that’s a dying art. All the ladies in my town that did this for a living have recently passed away.

          I should give up knitting and take up sewing! Perhaps someone here could suggest a good beginners sewing machine and book.

          • elliesmom says:

            I usually recommend an inexpensive Brother machine with a lot of bells and whistles to beginners. When you figure out which of the bells and whistles you love, you can upgrade to a higher quality machine with those. A lot of folks who sew will recommend an entry level machine from one of the fancy brands, but a lot of the fun and ease in sewing comes from having the computerized features. I have a basic machine from a good brand I use for travel, but if it was my only machine, I’d find it very limiting. You want a machine that will stop with the needle up or down, that makes automatic buttonholes, blind hems, etc. You can get all of that on a Brother for less than $100 or so. $150 gets you a whole lot of features.

            There are lots of good books to help you learn to sew. All of the pattern companies put them out. I like the Vogue one best, but the others are good, too. Then there are specialty books for choosing fabric, fitting your patterns, and advanced sewing techniques. has good online classes that go on sale frequently. Once you sign up for a course, you have unlimited access to it. Some of the free ones are really good if you want to see how a course works. Check out the free one on zippers. Then you also have access to your very own TCHer who happens to write a sewing blog. I’m on hiatus at the moment while I pack and move, but if you give me a tickle here to let me know you’ve left me a question, I’ll bop on over and answer it for you.

          • leslie says:

            Wow EM, even though I’m not cynic (though I am cynical), I really appreciated your answer. Thanks.

          • cynic says:

            Thanks EM for all the great info! I’m looking forward to learning something new and useful! I took a sewing class as a Freshman and really liked it, but didn’t really do anything after that.

            I’m thinking that I should ask Santa for a machine!

      • Myiq2xu says:

        Too bad she can’t get a brain implant.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I have to confess, I’m following this story on the Daily Mail and TMZ. As if I can avoid the coverage on Fox and my local news, but the tabs are so much more “titty-lating”. 😉

  11. votermom says:

    What a beautiful fall pic, Denise!

    Spider dog creeps me out though.

  12. votermom says:

    Stolen from AoSHQ

  13. helenk3 says:

    a picture is worth 1000 words

  14. lyn says:

    The idiots at salon:

  15. Myiq2xu says:
  16. Myiq2xu says:

  17. Dora says:

    Israeli Ambassador: (Despite Obama’s Requests) Israel Will Not Turn Over Christian Holy Sites to Radical Islam

    In May 2011 Barack Obama urged Israel to hand over half of Jerusalem, the Wailing Wall, The Temple Mount, Old Jerusalem, and the tomb of Jesus Christ to the Hamas-Fatah terrorist organizations.

    In December 2013, Barack Obama again urged Israel to hand over ancient Christian and Jewish holy sites to Islamist terrorists.

    • r u reddy says:

      I find it somewhat ironic that Israel won’t “turn over” religious sites to “Islamist terrorists in occupied East Jerusalem when Israel is actively supporting Islamist Terrorists in their war against Assad and civilization in Syria. That ongoing support has been discussed at some length over on (Retired) Colonel W. Patrick Lang’s Sic Semper Tyrannis blog. It is easy enough to google the blog, and then find the relevant articles under the heading “Syria”.

  18. r u reddy says:

    Hmm. . . . comment threads close faster than it seems they used to. About that job-disappointed young person: I would agree that work is not about personal fulfillment. Work is about performing some amount of task-per-unit-time X number of time-units in return for a set amount of pay-per-unit-time. Plus benefits for the lucky few.

    Since the young person did not mention job-stability, perhaps that truly is not the young person’s concern. On the other hand, it might be in the back of the young person’s mind without quite being expressed. It is only in the last few decades that many employERS have tried to erode and shrink the ranks of permanent full time staff and get that work done with temporary and contingent and so-called “independent subcontractors” and free-lancers instead. So when employERS decide to base their staffing models on employEE-surfing, it is no surprise that employEES will base their working-models on employER-surfing.

    • elliesmom says:

      I always assumed the only contract I had with my employer was to be paid for the work I did. I never expected I had a right to expect a job with the same company for the rest of my life. I also believed if a better opportunity came along, I had a right to leave a job for the better one. I don’t know where anyone came up with the idea it was ever any different in the USA since we stopped the practice of indentured servitude. The contract worker is not a new phenomenon. Retail has hired “seasonal” employees w/o offering benefits since before I entered the part-time workforce in 1967. People have been hired to complete a specified project in the building trades. When the job is done, they’re off the payroll. Cities and towns with large seasonal changes in population swell and shrink their workforces to match. What’s different is the concept has spread into technology fields, largely driven by the people who prefer to work on contract. They offer companies flexibility in their workforce, and the contractor has a lot of the benefits of being self-employed. Many people prefer to work on contract because they can trade benefits they don’t want or need for cash. It’s a win-win situation on both sides. The “good old days” of most people going to work for a company at 18 and retiring from the same company at 65 are largely a figment of your imagination. Companies prospered and companies failed decades ago, just like today, and just like today they laid people off and hired new people who could do the same job for less money.

  19. elliesmom says:

    Just testing to see if I can imbed photos from my media library here-

  20. helenk3 says:

    the other day there was a discussion about putting mooches meals in the prisons. It sounds like a good idea. maybe many of the cons would not commit crimes when they got out for fear of going back. just think mooch as a crime deterent

  21. helenk3 says:

    Iowa Hawk
    Terrorists disguising themselves as Mideast journalists are like axe murderers disguising themselves as child molesters.
    111 retweets 126 favorites
    David Burge ‏@iowahawkblog Oct 16

    David Burge Retweeted The Independent

    There just ain’t no end to the assholes who disguise themselves as “journalists.”

  22. leslie says:

    So there really are people who avow having voted for bronco bama TWICE. This is just as bizarre as anything I’ve read lately”

  23. leslie says:

    I’ve been busy all day. and the Cubs play the Mets in a couple of hours. I have no idea when I’ll resurface… Hold onto your hats.. . Cubs v Mets.

  24. DandyTIger says:

    Deposition Texas style

Comments are closed.