Sunday Lilybug Open Thread







About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

84 Responses to Sunday Lilybug Open Thread

  1. Myiq2xu says:

    This is actually not bad:

  2. Dora says:

    Lily seems to get cuter every day. 🙂

  3. helenk3 says:

    Lady Lily reminds us that sometimes the world can be a wonderous place to explore

  4. helenk3 says:

    I never really paid attention to this. Where are all the feminists screaming about this?

    • Jadzia says:

      When I lived in LA, it seemed like a LOT of wealthy women were using surrogates, often for what I would consider to be not-so-legitimate reasons. I don’t understand people who just can’t comprehend that the word NO might apply to them. Surrogacy is way different than sperm or egg donation and I do think that using women as literal breeders crosses the line. The wealthy people who rent surrogates’ wombs to gestate aren’t going to be there for the surrogate’s long-term health problems and there has been at least one case in which the “customer” just abandoned the baby when it turned out to have a health problem (Down’s):

      • 1539days says:

        I remember one of the “Real Housewives” (The one who divorced Kelsey Grammer) used surrogates because she had IBS. It’s a real illness, but I’m not sure it prevents gestation.

        • DeniseVB says:

          Camille ! I think I remember an interview where he said, she thought she married “Frasier” and he’s not at all like him. (She played Lady Godiva on one of his show’s theme party episodes if you catch the reruns).

      • votermom says:

        I agree with you, Jadzia. Surrogacy is an ethical gray area. The surrogate mom is as much the mom as the egg donor, imo, and possibly even more.

    • leslie says:

      I don’t know where they are, either. I have a friend whose sister couldn’t have children for medical reasons. She asked her niece – my friend’s 19 y/o daughter – to carry the fertilized egg to term for her. I swear to goodness!
      She wanted to take a 19 y/o college sophomore and have her give up her life to have a baby. (And then, of course, return to school as if nothing had happened.) My friend was very clear with her sister, that she would not permit it. And that her sister was way out of line with that request. The sister angrily said that the niece was “of majority” and that she could decide for herself. It was a nasty year for them all. I think things are back to “normal” they don’t see one another as the sisters live nearly a continent apart and rarely are together.
      (Actually, the niece didn’t want to do it but didn’t know how to deny her aunt and had asked my friend to say no for her.)

      • Jadzia says:

        Holy crap, that is an unforgivable thing to do to a family member. Thank God the girl had a mom who stood up for her.

      • Somebody says:

        My sister wanted me to be her surrogate when she was having trouble conceiving. She did IVF 8 times or something before she was successful. I didn’t want to be a surrogate, but OMG the pressure, not just from her, from other relatives including my mom. I was being selfish by not being a surrogate according to them. I can’t tell you how many happy horse shit surrogate articles I had mailed to me. I was so, so happy when sis finally had a child.

        • leslie says:

          You were not being selfish. Your sister was unable to accept your answer and not should have involved anyone else in the process. That was unconscionable. Glad she had a child, too. I hope she can teach her own child about being able to deal with disappointment and instant gratification better than she did.

      • 49erDweet says:

        Isn’t that “it’s all about me” mindset defined as narcissism?

  5. Dora says:

    A lot to read here. A lot of dirt. And a lot of people should be in big trouble, including Hillary.

    Smoking gun emails reveal Blair’s ‘deal in blood’ with George Bush over Iraq war was forged a YEAR before the invasion had even started

  6. DeniseVB says:

    Bernie Sanders/Bill Maher interview. I’m guessing Bill’s not a HRC supporter😉

    • leslie says:

      Thanks, lyn.
      The last line in the article:

      “In campaigns since 1980, no candidate hated by the establishment has won”.

      may be the most meaningful of all. It could be that the establishment has less influence in this election than ever before. Trump and Carson and Fiorina and Sanders are demonstrating just how little regard the voters have for the “establishment” this time around. I hope this holds. I’ve said all along that Cruz is my choice. I haven’t changed. I hope others haven’t changed as well.

      • lyn says:

        We need a political earthquake in 2016, and I’ll vote for anyone who will make it happen.

      • DeniseVB says:

        I like Cruz and will support him as the nominee. Still early, and at this point I’d rather have the giant wrecking ball that is Trump to fight back and double down harder than anyone else because I’m enjoying watching media, establishment pols and pundits heads explode with “I’ve never seen anything like this….”. 😉

        I like Carson, Rubio and Fiorina too. Against Biden, Sanders or Clinton, I think any one of them could win too. (As the joke goes, Joe better jump in soon before Bernie and Hillary give away all the free stuff !)

  7. leslie says:

    Klown ~ I wish your Lilybug and my Lady Jane (I’m the only one who calls her that, btw) could get together. They are so much alike. Every time I see her, I think about my little one. They both see to be such happy and charming little explorers.❤❤

  8. votermom says:

    Lily makes me smile. Thanks for sharing her pic with all of us, her TCH virtual aunties & uncles.

  9. lyn says:

    Lily spreads happiness and smiles wherever she goes.❤

  10. helenk3 says:

    good morning just because

  11. helenk3 says:

    good morning just because

    • helenk3 says:

      sorry I did not mean to double post. Did not think it took the first time

    • leslie says:

      Ahhh, the beautiful north woods. And this picture is not an exaggeration.

    • blowme0bama says:

      Beautiful, and I’m sorry but where are “the Northwoods”? Michigan? Minnesota?

      • Jadzia says:

        I don’t know for certain, but I am originally from the Upper Peninsula of Michigan (I’m a Yooper!), a region that is frequently referred to as “the Northwoods.”

        • Myiq2xu says:

          “Yooper” = practically Canandian

          • Jadzia says:

            Pretty much. Part of my mom’s family came from Quebec and kept some of the foods and such (tourtiere pie, yum….). I was poking around on a geneaological site recently and discovered that I accidentally gave my oldest daughter (whose middle name is after her paternal grandmother) the name of my great-great grandmother from Quebec. I was so stoked.

            But yes, Yoopers are kind of like less classy Canadians.

        • leslie says:

          Here, in Northern Chicago, we call the far north in Wisconsin the Northwoods. I’ve vacationed in the Wisconsin Northwoods in the early/mid-fall and this is what it looked like at the lake where we stayed. Utterly beautiful. It was just before the “resorts” closed for the winter.

      • DeniseVB says:

        I know upstate NY is considered the North Country, at least when I lived on Main Street in Lake Placid.

        • DeniseVB says:

          Lower right: the Olympic Center and Skating Oval from the ’80 Olympics(black roof), white roof next to it is the old skating venue from the ’32 Olympics. My old apt was on the other side of the oval (out of photo), over a deli🙂 A most idyllic small town experience, especially that I didn’t need a car.

        • 1539days says:

          New York has a lot of regions. I consider NYC to just be Garbage Island.

          • Dora says:

            There has been a movement for Long Island to secede from NYS for at least 20 years. It gets no place. The democrats run Albany, so you know they won’t give it any attention.

            Long Island is only 200 miles long and about 20 miles wide, yet we have to pay ridiculously high taxes to support the rest of the state. Not fair!

          • DeniseVB says:

            Dora, I think NYC /Long Island 1 percenter taxes support the whole state. My time in Lake Placid was lovely, but in the 90’s it was a proud yet poor town. Of course, I think the state of Virginia should be divided into 3 states, NoVa, Southeast Coastal and the Yahoos and Hokies at the western parts. I think we can all look at our states and think Sucession! 😉

          • elliesmom says:

            In MA, west of Springfield and east of Springfield are two different places. There are actually some Republicans living west.😉

          • 1539days says:

            Meh. I don’t buy that BS about us dumb yokels being bankrolled by wealthy suburbanites. State mandates are mandated by the same downstate Democrats who bitch about paying for upstate. If upstate could decide not to cover every Medicaid cost under the sun for example, downstate money wouldn’t be necessary.

  12. DandyTIger says:

    Awwwwwwww. Lily breaks the cute meter.

  13. helenk3 says:

    that hope that one day we would not be dependent on the ME for oil, just shot down by backtrack bunch.
    interior dept quietly suspends arctic drilling leases

    • DeniseVB says:

      That’ll change when Secretary Palin takes over and absorbs the EPA into Interior. I couldn’t think of a better steward for our country and energy needs, plus, she’ll be a one woman environmental protection force done smartly.

    • blowme0bama says:

      People do NOT COMPREHEND just how vast Alaska is and how miniscule oil rigs are in comparison. Drilling in muck is beyond insignificant in light of the gagillion acres of adjacent muck.

      • elliesmom says:

        The thing that impressed me the most about Alaska was how big it is and how few people live there. I think the maps we all saw when we were growing up with Alaska in a small box next to Hawaii are responsible for the misconceptions most of us have about its size.

        • 49erDweet says:

          True that. I’m currently following IS who’s fishing on the Bering Sea, and watching the blips that are vessels take hours and days to move around and still not get very far is mind boggling. Also, watching the large number of HUGE container ships from the far east daily passing alongside their fishery is economically enlightening.

  14. Dora says:

    This is what Hawaii has been reduced to: 😦

    Hawaii governor declares state of emergency for homelessness

    • piper says:

      Can’t be since we know from the gubermint who would never ever lie to us that we have plenty of room and resources for ‘migrants’ and ‘refugees.’

  15. piper says:

    Bibi’s retort (What planet are you living on?) to a stupid question posed by a so called ‘journalist.’

  16. piper says:

    I agree that Lady Lily is a cutie.

  17. leslie says:

    I’m on my way to tour the old churches in Ukrainian Village and other neighborhoods in Chicago. The architecture center has an open house every year. Yesterday we toured sites just north of the city limit. Today we’re going into a really old, old ethnic part of the city where I’ve never been.
    Have a good day all…🙂

  18. Myiq2xu says:

    This is a really good article/interview:

  19. Myiq2xu says:
    • elliesmom says:

      That was a good read. I think one of the more interesting aspects in the conversation in the comments was a disagreement over what constitutes “punishment”. I’ve had that conversation ad nauseum with parents. Is making someone stay after school to complete an assignment “punishment”, or is it a teacher making sure her student succeeds? Is making an illegal immigrant pack up his family and go home punishment, or is it just making him give back what he’s stolen? I’m very tired tonight so I bookmarked the article so I can read it again in the morning when I’m more able to give it the thought it deserves. Kevin’s brain dump needs all of my brain.

  20. Myiq2xu says:
  21. DeniseVB says:

    I just put an open thread in the barn for an early ET am launch, see ya’s on the Klown side😉

Comments are closed.