Wednesday Something, Something And Debate Night!

First a lovely photo:

This is an Open Thread. What “Team Are You On?” Wil.I.Am from UW ?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

158 Responses to Wednesday Something, Something And Debate Night!

  1. DeniseVB says:

    In case you missed it ….

  2. DeniseVB says:

    Also tonight, another wild and crazy game ….

    • driguana says:

      I hope they will get to immigration, racial issues and the economy tonight. If they could focus on those issues, it might really push the ones that need to be truly considered to the top…we’ll see…

    • AFVet says:

      Once again, Jindal is at the little kid’s table.
      I heard him on Beck today and he has a lot of good ideas on taxes and abolishing Obamacare, wants to extend insurance coverage across state lines.
      I am beginning to lean towards the possibility of a Cruz/Jindal ticket.
      It appears that they are going to try and ‘Cain’ Trump.
      I also think that the polls are being manipulated to try and make him give in.

      Rick Santelli is one of the moderators, that’s good.
      He was the one that ranted on the floor of the Chicago stock exchange that it was time for another Tea Party.

      Kasich was on the local news saying that he is loaded for bear, tired of the nonsense.

      Should be interesting.

      • NewOrleans says:

        Jindal sucks.

        Louisiana is a solidly Red State. No Democrat holds a statewide office. Obama is despised here. And yet a local paper revealed last week that Obama is far more liked than GOVERNOR Bobby Jindal. Everyone – including Republicans – just want him gone.

        Jindal has always had great PR. It’s too bad all the PR is total BS.

  3. leslie says:

    That photo up there . . . THAT’S why I. Love. Autumn.
    And despite the “tree trimming” that leveled 3 out of 4 trees (6 out of 10, really) on my block the leaves have never been more beautiful. They fill my days with color – even more now than last year. (Or perhaps it is because I’ve retired I have more time to actually notice the colors.)
    Thank you for starting my day with this picture and West Side Story – my favorite musical in the history of all musicals… ❤❤

  4. cynic says:

    Yes, thank you all for posting those wonderful pictures. Autumn is my favorite time of year as well. I’m currently drinking my pumpkin coffee w/pumpkin creamer, will later switch to my pumpkin tea, and perhaps eat a piece of my pumpkin pie crunch cake.

    Last year, I discovered that if I head East on the road that I live on (24 years), the drive is soooo beautiful. It’s better than the scenic drive thru Starved Rock. I feel like I’m in New England when I drive down that road. Life is good, and it takes my mind off the craziness that’s going on all around us.

    • elliesmom says:

      Wednesday is the day I take Ellie walking at the local arboretum unless the weather is really, really bad or the snow is really, really deep. Today I think we might be walking in a light rain. Spring and fall are my favorite months to do it. I think it’s because I like change. I don’t think I could be happy living somewhere without distinct seasons. I have my daily dog walk mapped out at the new house, but I haven’t found the place for our “outing” yet. I’m sure I will, though. The drive back and forth to RI has been absolutely beautiful over the last month. Hopefully, we’ll be all settled in before we get any real snow.

      • cynic says:

        I love the four seasons! I appreciate that first warm day in Spring, when you’re driving thru town with your window rolled down, and there are so many people out walking/pushing strollers.

        I love watching the snow come down, especially since I’m retired, and don’t have to go out and shovel before work. There’s nothing better than having the fireplace lit, my afghan, tea, and a good book.

        Summer is going out to the garden and ‘gathering’ your supper. There’s nothing quite like it. How about a BLT, or a grilled tomato/havarti sandwich, fresh herbs, cukes, summer squash, etc.

        I love them all, but sweater weather is the greatest.

  5. Dora says:

    I thought a person was allowed to lie on the House Floor. That’s where they all do it, isn’t it?

    Gutierrez Lies About Trump on House Floor, Rails Against SNL Appearance

  6. Dora says:

    CNBC has invited all the presidential candidates to write an opinion piece for the site. Here is Trump’s:

    It’s time for real leadership for America, by Donald Trump, 2016 GOP presidential candidate

  7. NewOrleans says:

    Wednesday morning hilarity!


  8. DeniseVB says:

    For Crowder fans😀

  9. Myiq2xu says:

  10. Myiq2xu says:

  11. Dora says:

    If you’re going to watch the debate tonight, be aware..

    Watch Out for Shenanigans! CNBC Debate Moderator’s Most Biased Moments

    • NewOrleans says:

      And you can bet Frank Luntz’s focus group will say the following: most, if not all, were Trump supporters coming into tonight, but are now for Carson or Rubio.

    • leslie says:

      I heard on this morning’s news that the slain officer’s mother is relieved and his girlfriend is grateful saying that he didn’t like Sharpton.

  12. Dora says:

  13. DeniseVB says:

    Head’s up Pennsylvania peeps! Literally !

    • cynic says:

      The pictures of the runaway blimp over at are worth looking at. The scenery is quite beautiful.

      I’m listening to lying Brian at MSNBC. His description/coverage is really something.

      • leslie says:

        I heard on this morning’s news that the slain officer’s mother is relieved and his girlfriend is grateful saying that he didn’t like Sharpton.

        • leslie says:

          Oopsie……This was/is in response to the comment by helen at 11:11.
          It posted down here for some very odd reason.

    • DandyTIger says:

      It might be a very, very slow invasion of Canada.🙂

  14. DeniseVB says:

    Now that it’s down and secured ….

  15. DeniseVB says:

    I saw this photo of Renee Zellweger (filming the new Bridget Jones movie) and thought she could play Hillary Clinton in a movie! Does anyone else see the resemblance?

  16. Myiq2xu says:

    (that’s the worst of being a leftist, it saps your capacity for raw hatred)


  17. votermom says:

    Arecwe watching the debate?

  18. Dora says:

  19. votermom says:

    Boo kasich

    haha huckabee

    bleh bush

    rubio looks like a kid



    carly bats lashes



    rand looks 20 years older

    there, I recapped the debate

  20. DeniseVB says:

    Trump’s handling that ahole Harwood very well after he called him a cartoon.

  21. leslie says:

    I so dislike the tone of the CNBC panel. I may just turn it off an d go to bed. I’m getting angrier and angrier.

  22. mothy67 says:

    Cut SS but give billions to illegals.

  23. DeniseVB says:

    I’d vote for any one of these guys and gal over any Democrat.

  24. DeniseVB says:

    VP: Kangaroo Moderators

  25. DeniseVB says:

    I wonder if Trump and Carson are being punished for cutting the 3 hr format to 2 ? Really haven’t heard much from them.

  26. DeniseVB says:

    “You just listed a litany of discredited attacks from my Democratic opponents.”

    Rubio, calling out yet another Kangaroo Moderator.

  27. DeniseVB says:

    I don’t like “Becky”, I bet she’s a Hillbot.

    • swanspirit says:

      These “moderators” are fucking junkyard attack dogs. They are deliberately sabotaging the candidates in this debate. I hope the candidates fight back more.

  28. leslie says:

    Carson just has his moment to shine and he did. While the crowd booed the question,
    “See. They know.” he said. when asked about his own personal “vetting process.

  29. DeniseVB says:

    Carly, Cruz and Christie are having a good night.

  30. DeniseVB says:


    Rubio scores big again with the crowd for an attack on Clinton’s email, “But she has her SuperPAC helping her out — the American mainstream media.”

    And Rubio is the next to go Full Newt!

  31. votermom says:

    Santelli on the panel! How’d they let him in! He has good questions.

  32. swanspirit says:

    I might have to take a break, my BP is going up!!!

  33. DeniseVB says:

    The mod questions and arguing with candidates are taking up more time than the time allowed for responses.

    • mcnorman says:

      The moderators don’t understand the process of moderating VB. Leave it to main stream not believable crap channel to use schoolyard bullies for this.

  34. leslie says:

    Just had an interesting tweet from a UW follower in response to my saying HRC is a liar. My response to her was that when we agreed on things everything was “good” but now that we disagree, no discussion is allowed.

    • leslie says:

      BTW the tweet wasn’t to her, about her, or in response to her.

      • cynic says:

        I think some people are unable to open up their minds. This happened to me on f/b during the ’12 election.

        Morning Joe was excoriating Romney after the attack on the Egyptian Embassy, and was trying to get Jon Huntsman to attack Romney.

        I went on f/b and said, “So long Morning Joe, I can’t watch you anymore. ” (ok, I lied.)

        My friend’s comment was, “Take your head out of the sand. Turn off FOX.” I was like, huh?

        On private messaging, we went back and forth. I asked here where she got her info on Romney, and she couldn’t give me one source. Mind you, this woman worked with me on many projects. She KNEW that I always do my best, and I actually sent her info that was in the NYTimes. She said that we should just drop it, because it was the way she ‘felt’. Yup, based on feelings, not fact.

        Politics is making me sad. I’ve lost friends, and the fact that the ones so opinionated admit that they don’t follow politics, but will tell you that you are the one that is wrong, just makes me shake my head. This includes my sister. She grew up in the 60’s, and the professors did a good job brainwashing her. She doesn’t have cable, and gets only a couple of channels (NBC, ABC, CBS), has no internet, and doesn’t get papers, magazines, etc.

        Every time I talk to her, I hear what MSM is feeding her, and of course, she thinks and believes everything that they say. sigh

        • leslie says:

          We really need to get together. I’ll meet you (I’ll drive west and you can drive east) and we can talk (probably forever). We may be sisters…😉
          I left FB shortly after joining (in 2007) because of obama political rhetoric and blind followers.
          My sister reads only the NYT, and has since the 80’s. She has only recently acquired cable (in the last year) after having had NO teevee at all, and listening onlyto NPR (VT and NH).
          So maybe we are “distant sisters”…😉

          • cynic says:

            I agree! Since you know the approximate location of my home, I’ll let you choose a half-way point. Maybe Piper would like to join us. Anyone else in the S. WI, N. IL location want to meet up?

          • leslie says:

            How cool would that be? We could do Southern WI or northern IL. Just send me the most picturesque place you know.
            Piper and anyone else around here…. Let’s do it.

        • leslie says:

          What is the road you drive down to refresh your soul?

          • cynic says:

            I don’t venture too far from home. There is so much beauty nearby. It has to do with living close to two rivers, and the bluffs. Starved Rock is less than 10 miles. How about you? How far are you from Geneva? I’m trying to figure out someplace in the middle, unless you want to meet at the Rock’s lodge, in front of that massive fireplace.

          • leslie says:

            I’m in Evanston, so maybe 40 minutes from Geneva sans traffic. I’ll get a map out tomorrow after my g-daughter’s b’day party and see what is about midway from you. (What town are you in?)

          • leslie says:

            Ha!! I just google mapped Geneva and found out it is almost 1.5 hours from here. I used to live so much closer to Geneva when I was a young mother with toddlers. I had to have been relying on long-ago memories. lol.
            So Maybe Geneva would work after all. Starved Rock I well over 2+ hours away. I wish it were closer. I used to take my youngest to Starved Rock on weekends many years ago when I was first divorced. Gee whiz. THAT was 20 years ago!!! time flies. You could contact me using my name plus 0109 at comcast dot net we can make a plan.

          • cynic says:

            I had to check where Evanston was. I live in the country, near Ottawa. Geneva is just over an hour away for me.

          • leslie says:

            when we lived nearer (to Geneva), I used to drive with my little ones toward Geneva because the scenery was so beautiful. I’m certain they did not enjoy it nearly as much as I. they were so little. I think Geneva would be a better drive for me given what traffic is like here. I’m pretty much available M, W, Th and weekends. I take care of the toddler on Tues and Fridays. I’d love to get together if that would work for you.

  35. mothy67 says:

    “I livedto tell about it”
    This is fun.

  36. DeniseVB says:

    Vodkapundit: (VP)

    “I need to retract that tweet from earlier, the one about the CNBC kangaroo moderators baiting them into sounding “angry.”

    Instead, this panel has been so aggressive, so interrupting, so DNC Talking Points, that they may have done these candidates a favor by baiting them into expressing reasonable and understandable anger.

    We won’t know until the polls move, but that’s my gut reaction at the end of Hour Two of tonight’s festivities.”

  37. 1539days says:

    I’m watching Hannity now. He’s going to actually let candidates talk as opposed to the debate.

  38. simofish says:

    Moderators really SUCKED. Why can’t we get a panel of professors who teach political science or debating ……

  39. DeniseVB says:

    Finally, closing statements and the mods aren’t interrupting🙂 Gonna switch over to Fox’s postgame show as soon as the last one speaks.

  40. swanspirit says:

    The “moderators” lost the debate. The candidates won

  41. Venus says:

    I still❤ Carly most of all.

    Carly/Cruz or Cruz/Carly 2016
    But I'll vote for Trump or Carson too.

    Everyone else can kiss my ass.

    Yes, including Rubio, who is and has always been the Uniparty's back up plan if Jeb! fizzles.

  42. Venus says:

    Swoon — Ace tweeted my comment! I hit the big time!!

  43. Venus says:

    Seriously, Rubio is too short to be on a national ticket.

    Yeah, I’m saying it

    • mothy67 says:

      The ears freak me out.

      • cynic says:

        I’m laughing, I was saying the same thing. I kept telling hubby, “Look at his ears, they’re huge.” He said, “I think his head is small.” Then he said, ” Naw, his ears are big.”

        It’s funny that I’ve never notice them before. Perhaps the lighting was such that they were shining down on them.

  44. mothy67 says:

    Was !jeb wearing a brace. His stature seemed much better. Not mocking him but everytime I’d see him seemed he was pulling his shoulders inwards. Did not exude confidence.

  45. Venus says:

    A poster on AoS wrote that

    the campaigns are getting together to dictate the terms on the debates and choose the moderators. They arent having it anymore

    they said they “will not be lead around like prize steers”

    Carson and Trumps campaigns are coordinating

    Also, if you missed it, look at what Roger Stone Jr. tweeted when Kasich said “sending kids mixed messages on drugs is bad”

  46. Venus says:

    OMFG — remember yesterday (or the day before) I posted how I felt bad for Hillary because a part of me still likes her despite her losing my respect (and vote) for throwing in with Obama? Well, I no longer even feel sorry for her. Look as she copies Obama’s shoulder “brush off” (who copied it from Jay-Z) re: Benghazi:

    It’s funny because 4 Americans died and she lied about it to their family and to us to help Obama win re-election.

    • leslie says:

      Venus, I said the same thing about her “brush off” during the hearings. My jaw dropped when I saw her do it. How is it that the Hilbots can’t see that??? We were up in arms when he did it to her (Hil) at the time. Remember?

  47. Dora says:

    He thanks everybody this morning. 🙂

Comments are closed.