Have A Very Scary Day!


What was the scariest movie you ever saw? For me is was “Let’s Scare Jessica To Death”. It’s a DFH vampire flick.

This is an open thread.

clocks back


About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

Denn die Todten reiten Schnell.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

99 Responses to Have A Very Scary Day!

  1. Myiq2xu says:

    • Myiq2xu says:

      Many years ago they locked her up in that tower after she drowned her own kids in Lake Yosemite. She came out at night and terrorized lots of boys and girls who spent the night on Scout Island.

      Some people say she’s still in there.

      • wailuagirl says:

        one of my most favorite best crazy friend is the original Jessica (from Half Moon Bay) and I just can’t even share yet.

  2. DandyTIger says:

    I was thinking through some really scary halloween stories, then thought of the scariest one of all:

    President Hillary.

    • Somebody says:

      You’re going to make me cry Dandy or piss my pants or both……STOP! Some stories are just too scary!

    • DeniseVB says:

      We need a regime change to let the other f**kups have a turn. 🙂 I stole that from you DT!

      I would think the Dems would welcome the change to rebuild the party bench that Team Thugs Pelosi/Reid/DWS have chipped away at. Really, the only Dem I get a “tingle” over is Cory Booker, but he should be going more “Ted Cruz” in the Senate. But no, and because I follow him, he’s such a kiss ass suck up to the party leaders he makes me puke.

      The Democratic Party is dead to me now because they’re not serious building for the future Dems. Miss Hillary is not more qualified for the Presidency than I am to command a battalion of Marines….in combat. And I probably know more about that than she does.

      And that doesn’t make me a Republican either. Likes umbrellas, minds only work when then open 😉

  3. Myiq2xu says:

    • Somebody says:

      Hahaha, that’s a Michelle “Let’s Move” obot if ever there was one. I hope their house gets TP’d or egged!

  4. Somebody says:

    I’ve never seen “Let’s Scare Jessica to Death”, from the trailer I’m not sure I want to either, creepy!

    The movie that scared me half to death was “When a Stranger Calls”. I wasn’t allowed to watch horror movies, but I went with some friends and lied to my parents about what movie I went to. That evening was my very first babysitting job. Several of the friends I went to the movie with decided to call and ask me if I’d checked the children yet.

    What they had no way of knowing is that I was babysitting for an electrical engineer who had his house rigged to appear that he was home when he wasn’t. He forgot to override the system when he left. So there I sat getting creepy phone calls while the stereo came on quietly in the living room, lights turned on and off by themselves in different parts of the house, suddenly I had no control of the TV it changed channels on its own.

    I ended up calling my parents in tears. My father came over and sat with me, gun in hand. He was about as freaked out as I was. Luckily the man I was babysitting for was one of my father’s employees so the whole thing was sort of laughed off and I continued to babysit for them for a couple of years, sans the creepy electronics. I did end up confessing to having gone to the movie so I ended up on restriction, but I survived.

    The exorcist was another one I’ll never forget, oh and to this day I’m a little afraid of birds thanks to Alfred Hitchcock.

  5. Myiq2xu says:

  6. DandyTIger says:

    Amazingly condescending, and the progs, like the CNBC moderators, don’t even see it.

    http://www.nytimes.com/2015/10/30/opinion/would-jesus-wear-a-sidearm.html?_r=0

  7. AFVet says:

    Here’s the girls again.

  8. Dora says:

    When I try to recall the scariest movie I’ve seen, these 2 come immediately to mind. Even now, I don’t think I could watch either one of them if I was alone in the house at night.

    The Haunting (1963)
    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0057129/

    House on Haunted Hill (1959)
    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0051744/

  9. DandyTIger says:

    Karen Black, Trilogy of Terror, Terror of the Doll (1975)
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trilogy_of_Terror

    • Dora says:

      Sorry. I didn’t notice you had posted it already. Actually, I’m glad to see that someone else enjoyed it too. 🙂

    • Anthony says:

      I made a Zuni warrior doll for my Mom’s birthday present that year lol. Had an opal pendant on a chain wrapped around its waist, and just sat there waiting to see what happened when she took it off and put it around her neck. The little fucker didn’t even move so much as a finger. Such disappointment….

  10. Dora says:

    Years ago there was a made for television film called Trilogy of Terror starring Karen Black. In the third story of the Trilogy, she plays the part of a woman who purchases a Zuni fetish doll that comes alive and starts chasing her. It might sound silly, but don’t laugh until you see it yourself. It was one of the scariest stories I have ever, ever seen. I wish the Trilogy would play more often on TV. It seems to have been forgotten about.

  11. Dora says:

    Hillary Clinton squirms awkwardly on stage for 30 minutes as Black Lives Matter protesters shut down speech intended to boost her support from black community

    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3297715/Hillary-Clinton-squirms-awkwardly-stage-30-minutes-Black-Lives-Matter-protesters-shut-speech-intended-boost-support-black-community.html

  12. DeniseVB says:

    Happy Halloween !

  13. Jadzia says:

    I had trick-or-treaters show up! This is weird because although the candy manufacturers are trying to make Halloween a “thing” here, I had been under the impression that it wasn’t working. I feel like such a jerk–I didn’t have any candy. And I answered the door in my underpants and robe bc I am recuperating.

    Next year, the dog’s getting a costume. Preparation starts November 1!

    • swanspirit says:

      Trick or treaters will usually accept cash in leiu of candy 😉

      • Jadzia says:

        Ha ha. I actually didn’t realize that the first 2 urchins were looking for candy until more kids came to the door 5 minutes later.

      • Anthony says:

        Last year I gave them cigarettes

      • smile says:

        We rarely get trick or treaters and when a rare one shows up, we bring out the penny bucket, and have the kid scoop up as many pennies as they can. You should see their eyes and faces light up, and usually they will look at daddy or mommy to make sure that it is okay to take the pennies. The daddy/mommy are usually really thrilled with the treat too. If the kid is really tiny, and they are only able to scoop up like ten pennies in a fist, we usually scoop up a fistful and add it to their bucket. Their faces are so joyous. It is a great backup when you don’t have candies at home.

    • blowme0bama says:

      We had a pile of ’em last night. Emptied what must have been a 5 gallon serving bowl.

    • 49erDweet says:

      Isn’t it TONIGHT? Is it dark where you are now?

    • 1539days says:

      Depending on the age of the Trick or Treaters, the underpants might be a treat.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Recuperating!? Feel better! We just ran out of candy, so had to run around shutting off lights all over the house and the outdoor landscape lights too. Hope they get the hint. We came up short because we didn’t count on Saturday night the weather being warmish.

    • leslie says:

      What are you recuperating from ?? I hope whatever it is, the healing takes little time and there is no need for more…

  14. NewOrleans says:

    As a big city kid who used to get shipped off to the backwoods Mississippi country during summers, ‘The Legend of Boggy Creek’ scared the crap out of me as a child. Love the movie, but it still gives me the creeps remembering it.

  15. blowme0bama says:

    Wow…. Yeah, I’d completely forgotten about that one. Definitely one of the best.

    There are so few movies that are actually scarey –

    The Shining was pretty good, but after you’ve seen it 3 – 4 times, ….meh

    The original Poltergeist, the first time you see it is pretty good, but it doesn’t even raise an eyebrow on a second viewing.

    That’s really about it, aside from slasher movies which I don’t watch anyway.

  16. mothy67 says:

    Today is my nemisis’s birthday. She is older than dirt. I think her home counntry deporeted her on the Nina. Really, really old hag. I met her years ago as she was struggling to get to bus stop with her 20 bottles of cheap gin. I said can I help you. She said yes but we were not having sex. She is an extra from a feed the world video. A shriveled prune in a sari. Awful bitch. She is an asshole. Years we have bickered. . I do believe she helped build Noah’s Ark. . She will call me to go go day drinking. So much fun. She reads here. No worries she will never retaliate. I don’t eveb think she has opposing thumbs.
    Anyhow the hag reads here. Happy birthday wench. I try to post songs never works. If someone can fix this i say thanks

    https://m.youtube.com/?#/watch?list=PL2smtir-8SGiTwUhr4-sOK3pb-iMa72wI&v=s6pc4BBljrc

    https://youtube.com/?#/watch?list=PL2smtir-8SGiTwUhr4-sOK3pb-iMa72wI&v=s6pc4BBljrc

  17. Myiq2xu says:

    Oh. Em. Gee!

    Skyshale033
    Subject: Candle Cove local kid’s show?

    Does anyone remember this kid’s show? It was called Candle Cove and I must have been 6 or 7. I never found reference to it anywhere so I think it was on a local station around 1971 or 1972. I lived in Ironton at the time. I don’t remember which station, but I do remember it was on at a weird time, like 4:00 PM.

    …………………………………………………..

    mike_painter65
    Subject: Re: Candle Cove local kid’s show?

    it seems really familiar to me….i grew up outside of ashland and was 9 yrs old in 72. candle cove…was it about pirates? i remember a pirate marionete at the mouth of a cave talking to a little girl

    …………………………………………………..

    Skyshale033
    Subject: Re: Candle Cove local kid’s show?

    YES! Okay I’m not crazy! I remember Pirate Percy. I was always kind of scared of him. He looked like he was built from parts of other dolls, real low-budget. His head was an old porcelain baby doll, looked like an antique that didn’t belong on the body. I don’t remember what station this was! I don’t think it was WTSF though.

    …………………………………………………..

    Jaren_2005
    Subject: Re: Candle Cove local kid’s show?

    Sorry to ressurect this old thread but I know exactly what show you mean, Skyshale. I think Candle Cove ran for only a couple months in ’71, not ’72. I was 12 and I watched it a few times with my brother. It was channel 58, whatever station that was. My mom would let me switch to it after the news. Let me see what I remember.

    It took place in Candle cove, and it was about a little girl who imagined herself to be friends with pirates. The pirate ship was called the Laughingstock, and Pirate Percy wasn’t a very good pirate because he got scared too easily. And there was calliope music constantly playing. Don’t remember the girl’s name. Janice or Jade or something. Think it was Janice.

    …………………………………………………..

    Skyshale033
    Subject: Re: Candle Cove local kid’s show?

    Thank you Jaren!!! Memories flooded back when you mentioned the Laughingstock and channel 58. I remember the bow of the ship was a wooden smiling face, with the lower jaw submerged. It looked like it was swallowing the sea and it had that awful Ed Wynn voice and laugh. I especially remember how jarring it was when they switched from the wooden/plastic model, to the foam puppet version of the head that talked.

    …………………………………………………..

    mike_painter65
    Subject: Re: Candle Cove local kid’s show?

    ha ha i remember now too. 😉 do you remember this part skyshale: “you have…to go…INSIDE.”

    …………………………………………………..

    Skyshale033
    Subject: Re: Candle Cove local kid’s show?

    Ugh mike, I got a chill reading that. Yes I remember. That’s what the ship always told Percy when there was a spooky place he had to go in, like a cave or a dark room where the treasure was. And the camera would push in on Laughingstock’s face with each pause. YOU HAVE… TO GO…. INSIDE. With his two eyes askew and that flopping foam jaw and the fishing line that opened and closed it. Ugh. It just looked so cheap and awful.

    You guys remember the villain? He had a face that was just a handlebar mustache above really tall, narrow teeth.

    …………………………………………………..

    kevin_hart
    Subject: Re: Candle Cove local kid’s show?

    i honestly, honestly thought the villain was pirate percy. i was about 5 when this show was on. nightmare fuel.

    …………………………………………………..

    Jaren_2005
    Subject: Re: Candle Cove local kid’s show?

    That wasn’t the villain, the puppet with the mustache. That was the villain’s sidekick, Horace Horrible. He had a monocle too, but it was on top of the mustache. I used to think that meant he had only one eye.

    But yeah, the villain was another marionette. The Skin-Taker. I can’t believe what they let us watch back then.

    …………………………………………………..

    kevin_hart
    Subject: Re: Candle Cove local kid’s show?

    jesus h. christ, the skin taker. what kind of a kids show were we watching? i seriously could not look at the screen when the skin taker showed up. he just descended out of nowhere on his strings, just a dirty skeleton wearing that brown top hat and cape. and his glass eyes that were too big for his skull. christ almighty.

    …………………………………………………..

    Skyshale033
    Subject: Re: Candle Cove local kid’s show?

    Wasn’t his top hat and cloak all sewn up crazily? Was that supposed to be children’s skin??

    …………………………………………………..

    mike_painter65
    Subject: Re: Candle Cove local kid’s show?

    yeah i think so. rememer his mouth didn’t open and close, his jaw just slid back and foth. i remember the little girl said “why does your mouth move like that” and the skin-taker didn’t look at the girl but at the camera and said “TO GRIND YOUR SKIN”

    …………………………………………………..

    Skyshale033
    Subject: Re: Candle Cove local kid’s show?

    I’m so relieved that other people remember this terrible show!

    I used to have this awful memory, a bad dream I had where the opening jingle ended, the show faded in from black, and all the characters were there, but the camera was just cutting to each of their faces, and they were just screaming, and the puppets and marionettes were flailing spastically, and just all screaming, screaming. The girl was just moaning and crying like she had been through hours of this. I woke up many times from that nightmare. I used to wet the bed when I had it.

    …………………………………………………..

    kevin_hart
    Subject: Re: Candle Cove local kid’s show?

    i don’t think that was a dream. i remember that. i remember that was an episode.

    …………………………………………………..

    Skyshale033
    Subject: Re: Candle Cove local kid’s show?

    No no no, not possible. There was no plot or anything, I mean literally just standing in place crying and screaming for the whole show.

    …………………………………………………..

    kevin_hart
    Subject: Re: Candle Cove local kid’s show?

    maybe i’m manufacturing the memory because you said that, but i swear to god i remember seeing what you described. they just screamed.

    …………………………………………………..

    Jaren_2005
    Subject: Re: Candle Cove local kid’s show?

    Oh God. Yes. The little girl, Janice, I remember seeing her shake. And the Skin-Taker screaming through his gnashing teeth, his jaw careening so wildly I thought it would come off its wire hinges. I turned it off and it was the last time I watched. I ran to tell my brother and we didn’t have the courage to turn it back on.

    …………………………………………………..

    mike_painter65
    Subject: Re: Candle Cove local kid’s show?

    i visited my mom today at the nursing home. i asked her about when i was littel in the early 70s, when i was 8 or 9 and if she remebered a kid’s show, candle cove. she said she was suprised i could remember that and i asked why, and she said “because i used to think it was so strange that you said ‘i’m gona go watch candle cove now mom’ and then you would tune the tv to static and juts watch dead air for 30 minutes. you had a big imagination with your little pirate show.”

    I just crapped my pants.

    I REMEMBER THAT SHOW!!!

  18. Myiq2xu says:
    • leslie says:

      Parents who actually do send this type of message ought to host a Halloween Party at their house and can hand out as many carrots and raisins and Necco wafers as they want. That way, their kid won’t ever feel left out. Of course the parents will be laughed out of town from that point on.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Oh for pete’s sake, I survived my childhood, my kids survived theirs and so far, my grandkids are all still alive. Never heard of, or knew anyone who knew anyone who dropped dead on Halloween. We almost went to golf balls (from the bucket full my husband collects from the course’s ponds). Almost as safe as condoms 🙂

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      Necco wafers? Those are what we used to practice for first holy communion. Not exactly something I would hand out for a treat.

  19. Myiq2xu says:
  20. DeniseVB says:

  21. leslie says:

    I already mentioned that my favorite movie was “Invasion of the Body Snatchers. BUT I really didn’t watch horror shows much – I still don’t. I didn’t even see “When a Stranger Calls” until I was nearly an adult and then I refused to watch the whole movie. I still don’t “get” the thrill of horror movies and being afraid or scared out of my mind. But I just played the trailer to the “When a Stranger Calls” movie and remembered why I didn’t watch it completely. That kind of movie really scared the crap out of me. They still unnerve me so that I cannot finish watching them. I doubt that I’d ever have babysat again if I had seen that movie first.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I’m surprised no one’s mentioned any Stephen King movies. Or Spielberg’s “Duel” that put him on the map.

      • leslie says:

        ” Duel” YES! I was terrified of driving from here to Michigan for years because I usually drove with my two tiny children who weren’t even visible on highways that were heavy with truck traffic. Thank goodness cell phone are in existence nowadays. At that time I felt I was at the mercy of the gods every time I had to make that trip. Worse yet, my husband never saw the movie. He was out of town when I saw it (late at night, of course) on teevee. So he never understood just how vulnerable (terrified) I felt after seeing that movie.

    • Somebody says:

      Misery is about the only King movie I could stomach. I’ve seen several other movies from King’s books, but closed my eyes for most of the movie, LOL!

      We’re back home from my son’s and apparently it’s band night again. OMG I think my ears are bleeding. A bunch of drunk bastards trying to play Skynard. They can’t keep time, not a single one of them can carry a tune and some drunk idiot is added Spanish trills to “Sweet Home Alabama”.

      Ronnie Van Zant’s grave isn’t far away, since it’s Halloween I hope his ghost stops by and scares the ship out of them! Seriously the dogs in the neighborhood are barking and howling at them. OMG the neighbors from hell.

      • Somebody says:

        Stupid phone autocorrect, argh!
        Adding Spanish trills and scare the SHIT out of them not ship.

      • leslie says:

        I’m sorry. . . 😦
        I had young people just outside my bedroom window (I’m on the first floor so no noise goes unheard here) until nearly 1:00 a.m. But at least it wasn’t drunk garage band cacophony.

  22. DeniseVB says:

    Darn, he was just down the road from me……….

    • leslie says:

      I just had a very good friend say to me (after I said I might vote Sanders in the primary here) that she had been fearful that I had become a republican. She said it as if that was a criminal or diabolical thing. I asked her what could be so bad about being a republican.
      she couldn’t articulate all the terrible things being a republican represents to her.
      She hasn’t figured out, despite my explanations, that a vote for Sanders is a vote against Hillary. period. :facepalm:

      • DeniseVB says:

        I used to get ewwws and icks on the dkos and du threads that asked if you’d ever “date” a republican, by responding I married one … because he was the first guy I dated that had a job/career and a savings account. Never got banned for that 😉

  23. Myiq2xu says:

  24. Myiq2xu says:

    So far I have had 5 trick-or-treaters. 3 of them were my grandkids.

    • elliesmom says:

      My daughter brought the grandkids over to trick or treat in my neighborhood tonight. It will be her neighborhood again before Christmas, and she thought it might be fun for the kids to meet their new neighbors. She brought several bags of candy with her for the trick or treaters. She didn’t tell me she was bringing it so I bought candy, too. We went through all of it. It was a really good night for being out and about. A slight chill in the air to remind us it’s fall, but not cold enough to need a coat. I think we had about 200 kids.

      • Myiq2xu says:

        I’m up to six, counting Ben, Tom and Lily.

        • Somebody says:

          I had no trick or treaters because I wasn’t home. The last time we handed out candy I stopped counting at 1200 kids. It wasn’t even 8pm yet and I’d already made 3 trips to the store to buy more candy.

          I decided that night no more. Half the county comes to my neighborhood because we have sidewalks, streetlights and a golf course. They think they’ll make out coming here, but many of the neighbors have boycotted Halloween like me. Seriously I’ve seen Disney less crowded than this neighborhood on Halloween

    • Myiq2xu says:

      I gave Ben and Tom each a sandwich bag filled with baby carrots. You should have seen their faces.

      • Somebody says:

        That wasn’t a very nice trick. You did give them some candy too didn’t you?

        Oh geez now the band is trying to do Bob Marley, shoot me now.

    • 1539days says:

      We lived on an isolated county road. My parents drove us to neighborhoods where the houses are close together. Our house only got the occasional dedicated candy seeker, and that was many years ago.

      • elliesmom says:

        I live in a neighborhood with sidewalks and street lights, and the streets are in blocks. We have a lot of kids, but parents from other neighborhoods also bring their kids here because it’s a very safe place to trick or treat. It can get overwhelming if you aren’t prepared, but the town limits trick or treating to a couple of hours, and the kids respect you’ve given out all you’re prepared for when you shut your porch lights off.

  25. leslie says:

    I’m going to bed. It’s been a really long day here. Happy (rest of) Halloween everyone………..

  26. DeniseVB says:

    I put a really, really early morning thread in the barn, sched 2am in honor of the end of DST on the EST ? See’ya’s in the a.m. -ish

  27. DandyTIger says:

    Don’t forget to turn your clocks back. Get up at 3am and turn them back to 2am. Or you could cheat and set them back earlier 🙂

Comments are closed.