Fall Back Clocky Open Thread on Nov 1 !

Gentle Nov 1 reminder… in case you missed the ClockBoy reminder downstairs.

Yay, I survived Halloween AND Falling Back on the same night😉

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

102 Responses to Fall Back Clocky Open Thread on Nov 1 !

  1. DeniseVB says:

    Oh please. Getting tired of these emails, now this…..?

    • elliesmom says:

      I think we’re going to have some interesting things to read in the spring of 2017. Especially if there’s a Republican in the White House, and they hold onto both the House and the Senate. With no one to issue executive orders to block anything with “Obama” in it, and no interest in protecting him in congress, there should be some “investigative journalists” who have been out of work for 8 years who will find themselves with something to write about.

      • DeniseVB says:

        According to the article, there’s nothing important in these exchanges, so why not release them? We still don’t know where Obama was that night. Hillary said she was home, but in touch with the “situation” people or something. I don’t know, I think I’d want to be at the office during a crisis with American lives being threatened.

        • elliesmom says:

          It’s the same thing with his school records. I graduated from college with grades I’m proud of. If I were running for anything, I’d share my transcript with the world so I assume his grades must be bad. If his emails with Hillary are mundane, then why not just share them and stop the speculation? What they say must be worse than what I and most people would imagine is what I imagine.

      • votermom says:

        So was Obama emailing Hillary on her super sekrit non government server?

    • cynic says:

      which means, after the election

      • leslie says:

        Which means he was knew about her private email server and was complicit in maintaining the secrecy.
        It means he did not realize it was a private server AND he doesn’t want the world to find out just how stupid and lazy he was/is.
        (as if THAT was a secrect)

        • cynic says:

          Leslie, I had hubby check what I put in for your email. He said to check your spam/junk accts. It may have gone there. Or, was I actually suppose to put in “(then)”?

          • leslie says:

            I checked spam yesterday. and again this morning. I’ll send it again because even though I checked, I have 2 email addies and may have conflated them. Here goes:
            leslie 0109 at comcast dot net (no spaces) the 0’s are zeroes.
            If you’re not Houzz or Martha Stewart, or Illinois Green Party, you’re not in Spam.😉

          • cynic says:

            Is there a space between your name and number? We checked the o-0 thing, thinking that might be the problem.

          • leslie says:

            No spaces anywhere. just name,4-digit number, @comcast,etc.
            All lowercase letters as well. (I don’t know how important that is, but it could be)
            We’ll get together… I’m certain of it.

          • cynic says:

            Leslie, check your email.

  2. Dora says:

    Liar, liar – pants suit on fire!

    Emails reveal Hillary Clinton was warned by Tripoli embassy not to blame Benghazi attack on YouTube video


  3. DeniseVB says:


  4. DeniseVB says:

    And so it begins. I haven’t heard Carly play her “sexist” card when she’s criticized ?

    • elliesmom says:

      Carly knows better. I’m sure she’s encountered some sexism in her life, but she also knows the best way to combat sexism is to succeed beyond what sexists believe women are capable of. Be smarter than they think you can be. Climb the ladder higher than they think you can. Don’t be shy about what you think when they tell you to shut up and sit down. And do it in a tight dress and heels so they can’t accuse you of being a hairy ugly feminist. If you can find the right man, hold onto him and help him succeed, too, because life is good when we go through it in pairs, and no “man-hater” would ever do that. That’s Carly.

  5. elliesmom says:

    All of the clocks in our house reset themselves so until I look at the clock on the dash of my car, I’m pretty much oblivious to the time changes. I don’t know if that’s a good thing or a bad thing.

  6. Dora says:

    This is such a great campaign ad. I hope it’s shown on TV.

    Tremendous Potential

  7. Dora says:

    If you are concerned about our American Sovereignty , say no to Marco!

    Marco Rubio’s New Billionaire Backer Top Funder for Open Borders


    • lildoggy4u says:

      I hope you can open the links. I have a subscription so I’m not sure but here’s a preview:
      U.S. welfare flows to Cuba
      “They’re taking benefits from the American taxpayer to subsidize their life in another country.” http://tinyurl.com/qdkuz3r
      Plundering America: The Cuban Criminal Pipeline http://tinyurl.com/ngqhz32
      You would never see this article in The Miami Herald but it finally is being all brought out in Ft. Lauderdale’s paper.
      Today, Sen. Ileanna Ros Lehtinen stated that its probably a good idea to look into this but take no action now as somebody might “really” need these benefits one day.
      Miami lawmaker signals fading support for special rules for Cuban immigrants http://tinyurl.com/p6jp65j
      BUT ; Ros-Lehtinen told CBS4 that she did not expect any changes to immigration law any time soon. She noted that newly-elected House Speaker Paul Ryan does not want to tackle immigration, and “is not going to touch that third rail.”
      That’s our government at work. Billions of taxpayer dollars going to a communist country but too touchy, feely to tackle right now.

      • Somebody says:

        I read about that a couple of weeks ago and it really pissed me off. Here we are worried about SS going bankrupt and not being able to provide benefits to those that paid into the system over their lifetimes…….oh but we don’t want to rock the boat.

        It’s not just Cubans, notice the benefits flow to those with a refugee status. HELLO we’re taking “refugees” from many countries, how many are getting SS benefits? We already know a boat load are getting other government benefits. Remember those flowing across the border last year were deemed refugees. Now I don’t know if they were officially designated such by our government or if that was just some media PC crap; but it did give me pause thinking back after I read about this loophole Cubans are exploiting.

        Are we running a government or a charity? Don’t we give enough to the 3rd world via foreign aid?

  8. DeniseVB says:

    Some of these kids are not like the others, Malala on the same list as Clockboy? And that goofy son of Will Smith’s? The Kardashians? And what the hell, Malia Obama? Where’s CJ Pearson?

  9. votermom says:

    So, at first I was the only one watching TWD in my family. Then last year the youngest, without me knowing, started watchibg on her phone. Then this weekend my hubby started marathoning it (he’s in season 3 right now)
    Only the oldest kid, away at college, is TWD free. As for the rest of us, it’s clear: we are all infected.

  10. DeniseVB says:


  11. cynic says:

    I apologize for my snarkiness this a.m. Blame it on the time change. Yea, that’s it. They’ll believe that. I’m normally nice.

    • leslie says:

      Time change? What time change?😉

    • piper says:

      Agree – last night I couldn’t fall asleep at my regular time so I first watched a vampire movie, then reset all the clocks, paid bills and balance the checkbook (that’s really a joke) and finally fell asleep at the old 4AM now the new 3AM. Thankfully it’s a beautiful warm and sunny day here – and my roses continue to bloom.
      Thorny roses with amazing scent (yes, I’m out there sniffing)

      • cynic says:

        aaah, my love/hate relationship with roses…………

        Love the flowers, but always manage to get a thorn stuck somewhere. I also try to use as few chemicals as possible, so I don’t even bother looking at the flowers from July to Sept., when they’re covered with Asian beetles.

        The Autumn blooms are my favorite. They’re God’s gift, as everything else is dying back in the gardens.

        Your rose is beautiful, especially with the raindrops.

        On another note, Leslie and I are trying to meet up. How far are you from Geneva or St. Charles, IL?

        • Myiq2xu says:

          No hay rosas sin espinas.

          • cynic says:

            And that’s why I still have them. That beautiful bloom and sweet fragrance makes it worth it.

            Oh, and I should have said Japanese not Asian beetles. I have the Asian beetles on my brain. Ever since the farmer harvested, all the beetles have found their winter home in our house!

  12. leslie says:

    brought this over from MOTUS:

  13. DeniseVB says:

    I love this city🙂 At the end of the video they prompt “how we did it”, which is fun too.

  14. elliesmom says:

    I need to rant. You don’t need to read it. I’ll forgive you. I have this friend. She’s a single mom and lives paycheck to paycheck. There’s often not enough food in the house. She has a network of friends who help out with birthdays and Christmas. A local charity sees her child has a winter coat. She has a dog. She takes the dog to the local rabies clinic, but I don’t think the dog has been to the vet. Her 7 year old daughter threw a tantrum because the dog prefers Mom’s company and demanded a pet of her own. Mom decided on goldfish. Since I have a lot of classroom experience with kids and fish, she asked me what I thought she needed. I think she was hoping I would fund it, but because I thought it was a tremendously bad idea, I didn’t offer. I gave her a list of what she would need for one fish, and I warned her to expect a lot of death until Bitty learned how to care for the fish. They came home with a pretty glass bowl, some colored pebbles, some plastic plants, and 3 fish. Nothing from my list like a filter and a pump, chemicals to remove the chlorine from the tap water, etc. because Mom couldn’t afford them after she bought the bowl decorations. Within 48 hours all 3 fish were dead, and I was supposed to explain to Bitty why they died. I was in the dog house when I explained to Bitty they were dead because they didn’t have a good home. I promise I was kind and gentle.

    But the problem of Bitty not having her own pet persisted. Then Mom saw an ad for an adorable puppy who was “free to a good home”. I suggested puppies are never “free”. They need lots of expensive things. But the other folks in her inner circle saw the photos of the puppy and encouraged her to get the dog for Bitty. Fast forward 5 months and the puppy is seriously ill. At first Mom thought the dog had eaten part of a polar fleece jacket. She wanted to give her a laxative to help her pass it. I convinced her that was a tremendously bad idea. The puppy needed to see the vet. But the mortgage payment is due so Mom waited a few more days. Now the puppy has completely stopped eating and drinking. Her lethargy is scaring Bitty so Mom goes to the vet. The vet does X-rays and can’t find the blockage. She diagnoses acute pancreatitis. She wants to keep the puppy for a few days and put her on IV fluids to keep her hydrated and reduce the inflammation. But mom can’t afford $1000 for the vet bill. The $300 she’s already paid will put her in arrears until she gets a bonus check from work at the end of the month. That was supposed to pay for Christmas this year. So Mom brought the puppy home with some pain meds she can’t get the puppy to take.

    She’s not outright asking anyone for help with the bill. Just a lot of tears over the sick puppy and about how she doesn’t know how she’s going to get Bitty through losing her puppy who is quite obviously going to die without intervention. At this point it may already be too late. Now it’s no secret I probably love my dog more than I even like most people, and I do really want to help the dog. I’ve offered to help pay some of the dog’s bill if Mom first surrenders the dog to a rescue. Then I will send some money to the rescue, and I will ask some of my “dog-idiot” friends to help, too. But since this is a chronic condition, if the dog survives, she will need a special diet and be on medications for the rest of her life. Mom cannot afford to properly care for a healthy dog so she certainly cannot care for a sick one. Our friendship will probably survive my being “heartless” over the conditions I’ve put on my help, but it’s the dog I want to help in this case, not her. She’s been irresponsible about taking on pets, and I’m not bailing her out.

    End of rant.

    • DandyTIger says:

      A sad situation, where I completely agree with you, the mom has been irresponsible. She wants quick fixes to her and her daughters problems, and doesn’t want to face the long term ramifications of those decisions. I don’t want to be heartless to someone suffering like her and her family are, but if she keeps doing these things, nothing will ever get better. Saying no to her daughter, that they can’t afford and maintain another pet, is what she should do.

    • leslie says:

      Poor you…I know that you know that you have done nothing wrong. And, in fact have done everything to deter your friend from getting herself into this bad situation and the pet in a worse one. You have offered her realistic options. It is really up to her.
      That said . . .
      Will she surrender the puppy to a rescue? Would she be willing to give the puppy to you or one of her other friends and have the puppy taken to the rescue? Perhaps she doesn’t want to “look bad” to her daughter. Her daughter’s feelings seem to be paramount to this mom. (who needs some individual therapy to address her self esteem issues)
      I can’t imagine how bad you feel about the puppy. It must be torture to know what is happening to this little pup just so the daughter doesn’t “feel bad”. It sounds like both the mom and the puppy need immediate interventions.
      Good luck.

      • leslie says:

        BTW: I rarely suggest individual therapy for people, despite my training. It gives the impression that I think therapy is THE answer to everything. But in this case, the mom really does need something – even if it is only a support group at a church or community health center. She also needs to learn that setting reasonable limits and talking with her child in terms the child can understand and respect will go a long way in the child’s development, as well as in the relationship between the mom and the daughter.
        When I was a young mom, there was a mom’s group at my son’s school that was very helpful if for no other reason than to know the moms were not alone even if they were single parents.

    • votermom says:

      Jayzuz. Saying no to your kid is an important part of parenting. Maybe her parents never said no to her either.

    • blowme0bama says:

      Hate it for the dog and know exactly how you feel. Poor dog has to suffer due to Mom’s bad decisions. Her good friends have been bailing her out of her stupid decisions and that’s her problem.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I’m in agreement with everybody. Especially saying no to that child’s demands.

      My kids found a ‘free’ baby slider turtle in the lake and brought it home and even I knew those plastic dishes with the palm tree were a no-no for turtles. So I bought a small aquarium with filter, basking lights, floating island and heater. Mega bucks were spent over the next two years buying bigger tanks, we finally set him free. I was priced out of the pet turtle market at “the next one will have to be custom made” size.

      I’ve known many strong, single moms with “No” being the most important word in their vocabulary. It had to be. em, you sound like such a great friend, she’s lucky to have you in her life.🙂

    • swanspirit says:

      I think the most important words my parents ever said to me after I love you, were ” We can’t afford it”. I LOVE animals. I have lived on horse farms, had cats dogs chickens etc.
      I love animals so much, that I am a firm believer that no one should have any animal they cannot properly care for. You are absolutely doing the right thing,

  15. AFVet says:

    Fantastic Football.
    Even if you don’t like the teams,…..watch this !

    • leslie says:

      I heard the call this morning. It was so amazing. It was the recording of the Miami announcers and they went absolutely NUTS !!!!!
      Thanks for showing this. I loved it.

  16. DeniseVB says:

    From 2011, but I❤ drum lines and high school kids being awesome.

  17. foxyladi14 says:

    Happy November, Gobble Gobble!!!
    She is coming in like a Spring day. 😀

  18. Myiq2xu says:

    My BIL is in a rock band called Asian DC:

    Bobby’s day job is dentistry.

  19. Dora says:

    This is no good. Why bother having a debate if it’s not televised? Not everyone is on Facebook. I’m not.

    Carson: Don’t televise GOP debates


    • AFVet says:

      Nope,….bad move Ben !
      We want to know and see what you are saying.
      You keep this up, you will stink as a candidate.
      We are watching you.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Isn’t that why we have the debates?

      • AFVet says:

        Yeppers !
        And I am not going to facebook to hear him.

        • DeniseVB says:

          Facebook is even worse than the networks being in the tank for the Dems. If he wants to prevent biased media manipulations he may want Cspan. They live stream everything too🙂

      • 49erDweet says:

        Be cool. It’s all part of “negotiations”. Debates will happen. Candidates are just trying to get better terms vis-a-vis the Heckle & Jeckle commentators disguised as neutral moderators,

    • 1539days says:

      I understand the theory. When the RNC partners with a television network, the debate uses that network’s personalities / anchors and usually they won’t be told what to ask. Since the GOP doesn’t have a television network, (even Fox asks questions that don’t have to do with issues) they would need another venue, like the internet, to air them. I’ve also heard C-Span as an independent carrier of whatever GOP forum was created.

      I think the RNC needs to use past history to decide who to work with in their own party’s primary debates. For example, ABC literally set up the Republicans for a battle over abortion in a 2012 primary debate. Therefore, they should be banned from all 2016 season debates and on probation in 2020. In the case of NBC, they should switch from Telemundo to Univision for the February debate.

  20. helenk3 says:

    have anyone here watched the Murdock Mystries? I am watching them on netflix. It is like CSi in the 1880s in Canada. They are fun. things we take for granted are new to them.

  21. Myiq2xu says:

  22. Dora says:

    I kind of like it. 🙂

    Cover of forthcoming Hillary Clinton book courts controversy

  23. 49erDweet says:

    Apparently neither the Jets or the Raiders ever heard of “Clock Management”.

  24. DeniseVB says:

    Awww, sweet photo ….

  25. Myiq2xu says:
  26. Dora says:

    Carly Fiorina: ‘There’s a double standard’ because nobody mocks Hillary Clinton’s appearance”


Comments are closed.