Sad and Sick

Fred Thompson 1942-2015

Fred Thompson 1942-2015

The sad:

Fred Thompson, a former U.S. senator from Tennessee, GOP presidential candidate, Watergate attorney and actor who starred on the television drama “Law and Order,” died on Sunday in Nashville. He was 73.

Mr. Thompson died after a recurrence of lymphoma, according to a prepared statement issued by the Thompson family. Mr Thompson, who had recently purchased a house in Nashville to return to Tennessee, was first diagnosed with cancer in 2004.

“It is with a heavy heart and a deep sense of grief that we share the passing of our brother, husband, father, and grandfather who died peacefully in Nashville surrounded by his family,” the Thompson family’s statement reads.

Fred Thompson was a throw-back to a different era, when mutual respect was still part of politics. He was never the star/leading man in acting or politics, but he brought gravitas to everything he did. He got his start working on the Watergate Committee.

May he rest in peace.

The sick comes from Gawker:

Actor, Former Senator, and Predatory Home Refinancing Shill Fred Thompson Dead at 73

The family of Fred Thompson has announced that the actor and Republican who represented Tennessee in the U.S. Senate from 1994 to 2003 has died following a recurrence of lymphoma, the Associated Press reports. He was 73.

Early in his professional life, Thompson, born in Alabama and raised in Tennessee, was a lawyer, working as an assistant U.S. attorney and in the late ‘60s and early ‘70s before being appointed minority counsel to the Senate Watergate Committee in 1973, where he acquired a national reputation for being tough and fair-minded.

Later, however, during Thompson’s brief bid for the Republican presidential nomination in 2007, the AP reported that Thompson had leaked information to the Nixon White House and accepted coaching from Nixon’s lawyer:

At a hearing on July 16, Thompson asked former White House aide Alexander Butterfield: “Mr. Butterfield, are you aware of the installation of any listening devices in the Oval Office of the president?”

Butterfield’s confirmation of the recordings set off a cascade of events that led to Nixon’s resignation 13 months later.

The question made Thompson instantly famous. His political Web site…prominently notes: “Friends in Tennessee still recall seeing the boy they’d grown up with on TV, sitting at the Senate hearing-room dais. He gained national attention for leading the line of inquiry that revealed the audio-taping system in the White House Oval Office.”

What rarely is mentioned is that Thompson knew the answer to the question before he asked it. Investigators for the committee had gotten the information out of Butterfield during hours of behind-the-scenes questioning three days earlier, on July 13.


After his failed 2008 presidential bid, Thompson started shilling for a totally risk-free, government-backed reverse mortgage company that was sued by the Illinois attorney general in 2010: “These companies used extremely misleading language in their advertising, sometimes even disguising their loans as government benefits that borrowers don’t have to repay.”

Of course he knew the answer to the question before he asked it. That’s how lawyers question people. As for the reverse mortgage ads, the company is still in business and hasn’t been found guilty of any wrongdoing. Thompson was merely a celebrity spokesman for the company.

Whatever happened to not speaking ill of the dead? Oh, that’s right – this is the new civility.

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

158 Responses to Sad and Sick

  1. Myiq2xu says:

    With any luck Hulk Hogan will win his lawsuit and put Gawker out of business.

  2. DandyTIger says:

    Ah yes, Gawker, the organization whose editors promoted the idea of beating up and killing all young smart males (nerds). Sounds like a classy place.

  3. DeniseVB says:

    Gonna miss that guy. R.I.P.

  4. DeniseVB says:


  5. 49erDweet says:

    I’d noticed the same thing. Sharp! RIP.

  6. 1539days says:

    Apparently neither Gawker or Illinois knows what a reverse mortgage is. You do not have to “pay it back” because your house is the equity. If you want to either pass your home down to others or sell it, then a reverse mortgage is not for you.

  7. elliesmom says:

    Well, the puppy died earlier this evening. Someone offered to pay her vet bill for her, but it was too late for the poor thing. Now her Facebook page is full of “Oh, that’s so tragic, but at least you know you tried to save her.” Lots of references to the “Rainbow Bridge” and how the puppy is chasing squirrels in heaven. I’m sick to my stomach over this. Poor little thing. “Free to a good home” was a death sentence.

    • swanspirit says:

      I am so sorry. Let us hope to goddess she doesn’t get another.

    • lyn says:

      So sorry you had to deal with this, elliesmom. ❤

    • Myiq2xu says:

      I’d be worried about her kid(s).

    • Somebody says:

      How sad, poor little puppy. Free to a “good” home was indeed a death sentence, how tragic and due to something so treatable.

      How sad for that child to be put in this situation because mom can’t be an adult. Now having to deal with the death of pet on top of everything else the child deals with daily, when this all should have never happened.

      Tragically from what I’ve heard I don’t think your friend learned any lessons from this.

    • DeniseVB says:

      So sorry to hear that. R.I.P little furbaby, you’re definitely in a better place.

    • leslie says:

      Such sad news. For the puppy and the family. You know you tried, em. I hope the next time Bitty wants something, the mom is able to see how badly this ended and says “no”.

    • Anthony says:

      I read your post on yesterday’s thread about this. I’m heartsick. I found out last year that my cat is diabetic. It was no inexpensive venture to stabilize him. There were times that I had to choose between decent food and vet bills. The vet won, I ate pasta.

      • elliesmom says:

        Our last dog had a lot of chronic issues and maintaining her health was expensive. When we got Ellie as a pup, I bought her a health insurance policy. It’s not a lot per month, and it covers and accidents or illnesses. It covered 75% of her spay so for the first couple of years it was free. I got it through Nationwide, and so far I haven’t had to use it much, but it’s nice to leave the policy # when I kennel her. If something should happen while we’re away, they know her vet bill will be covered.

        • DeniseVB says:

          I had a life full of dogs since I was 12. Flash forward 50+ years, my last one died and I swore, never again. It never got easier to lose one of them❤

        • Anthony says:

          Thanks, elliesmom – looking into that now, but Son (my cat) had some interesting results with his 6 month checkup. He was on 5 units of insulin twice daily. After his 6 mo check, I had to reduce it to four. Have to go every 2 weeks for fructosamine reading, and is now down to 2 units. Vet thinks he might be in the 5% of pets that self resolve, and he may not need insulin at all. 2 more tests to go, and hopefully he’ll be out of the woods.

    • Somebody says:

      Well my goodness Dora, I’m sure it was just an honest mistake aren’t you?? I bet he’s made that same “honest” mistake thousands of times too, asshole.

      Cleaning up the voter rolls and having a fair and honest election is something we should all stand behind and demand. That is an issue that should cut across party lines at least with the average voter, clearly with the majority. I know there are fringes on both sides that don’t care and without a doubt none of our elected representatives want to clean things up; because they apparently think they have the fraud market cornered and it advantages them.

      Voter fraud happens on both sides, every fraudulent vote cast negates a legitimate one.

      • DeniseVB says:

        This reminds me of an ad I saw for buying your blood plasma, they even required a PHOTO I.D. How racist is that ? 😉

        Do we really want people voting who can’t figure out how to get an i.d. card ? That would surely help identify the deceased.

    • elliesmom says:

      When we moved to Illinois in the mid-seventies, we moved into “unincorporated Cook County”. Neither one of us was familiar with the concept. Where we came from towns all bordered each other with no space inbetween. We quickly learned we’d get our public services from the surrounding towns for a fee. We just had to sort out which town provided which service and pay the appropriate fees. A week or so after we moved in, we got a knock on the door from a man who identified himself as the precinct captain for the local Democratic Party. I asked him where I should go to register to vote since we had no town hall. He asked if I was a Democrat. When I said no, he told me it wasn’t his job to tell me how to register. When I had a minute, I found the phone number for the local League of Women Voters. They were quite gracious about helping me with a lot of other things, too, and they gained a loyal member out of the deal. I was 25 years old at the time, and that guy from the Democrats soured me on his party. A taste that has never left me although I have voted for individuals who were Democrats. When I hear Democrats ranting about vote suppression, I remember the Democrat who wouldn’t even tell an independent voter where she could register to vote. I don’t doubt for a minute they register dead people, vote as early and as often as they can get away with, offer illegal incentives for people to vote for their candidates, and lie, cheat, and steal to win. I have no first hand experience with whether the Republicans do it, too. It wouldn’t surprise me, but “both sides do it” wouldn’t be a good defense.

      • Somebody says:

        The R’s do it too, their tactics are a little different. I agree with you “both sides do it” is not a defense at all.

        I honestly think cleaning up the voter rolls and ensuring a fair election is an issue that resonates with the majority no matter where you are on the political spectrum. Unfortunately TPTB have no desire to clean things up.

      • leslie says:

        Yes, em. The R’s do it too. when I was in my mid-20’s we moved to a “new” and growing Chicago suburb. I had no problem registering to vote (I was a D at the time – and for many years to follow). It was the year McGovern ran for POTUS. My next door neighbor (not the FBI agent, but on the other side of the house) And I were both pregnant at the time and had due dates that were only a week apart. But we were both due the last of Oct – start of Nov. Right during election week. The Republican precinct captain visited us both on the same day and offered my neighbor a ride to the polling place when he learned of her party preference. When he found out I was a D, he refused to tell me where to cast my vote. (we had moved within Cook county so I hadn’t had to re-register). My R friend and I went to vote together. She drove since her baby had arrived early. I was still awaiting #1 baby. It was on the ride to the polling place that I learned that the R had started rumors in the ‘hood that I had a “cache of guns and ammunition” in my basement.
        Yes, times have changed – but not much.

  8. Myiq2xu says:

  9. Myiq2xu says:

    The media is freaking out that the GOP candidates making rules about debates. How soon they forget.

  10. DeniseVB says:

    Jimmy Fallon has a drinking problem? This sounds like amateur night compared to the functional alcoholism of the infamous Johnny Carson. Jimmy’s just a klutz🙂

  11. cynic says:

    Klown, doing a little rain dance?

  12. DeniseVB says:

    Looks like Morning Joe went on a little rant this morning, and he’s right ….. it’s amazing GWB got elected to two terms with such media bias.

    • leslie says:

      It was a good show this AM. It’s odd – no one mentioned the Clinton-Edwards-Obama boycott of a Fox News debate. At least not that I recall from this morning.

      Scarborough also challenged a guest on the lack of any good negotiations with Iran – or any other nation – for the return of journalists who are held hostage. Undersecretary of State for Public Diplomacy and Public Affairs, Rick Stengel said that gaining their (Iran) trust was more important than securing the release of hostages. THAT is the philosophy of the obama WH. The US and her citizens are less important than the feelings of other countries.

      Scarborough challenged him and said that if he asked US citizens, they would disagree with this position, and would first want the release of any journalists (or others) who remain hostages in foreign countries before any negotiations could begin.

      • cynic says:

        I enjoyed watching today. Joe is good at what he does, and I have to wonder, remember when they were talking about canning Gregory from MTP, and rumor had it that Joe was going to take his place. I’m thinking today’s conversation had something to do with that. Joe said that the heads of these networks will never hire a Republican for a Sunday news show, or the nightly news.

  13. votermom says:

    Speaking of sick, can I request for some prayers – the last time I did it really worked and my eyes are ok.

    I would like to ask those who are so inclined to pray for my older sister. She has numerous health issues and is waiting to learn if a tumor on her adrenal gland needs to be removed.

    Also prayers for my nephew (son of a different sister, I have two) who has to get a minor operation but is immuno-compromised (he has HIV) so it is extra risky for him.

    Thanks guys.

  14. Myiq2xu says:

    This is the kind of stuff I have to deal with: While I was trying to eat my breakfast Tucker was on my desk and wanted a snack so I put some in a small bowl and set it in front of him. Taggart immediately came running over and tried to take it, so I pushed him back and set another bowl in front of him.

    I managed one bite and see that Taggart is now sitting on his bowl and eating Tucker’s. It was the same exact stuff.

  15. Myiq2xu says:


  16. votermom says:

    the video made me laugh

    • Anthony says:

      I suppose if she were called out on this, she’d say it was a racist attack and call it a hate crime. What an asshole

      • leslie says:

        She did, sort of. She wrote an essay in the Dallas paper calling it a “stopped while walking black” racial profiling by the police.

  17. Dora says:

    If there are any Kansas City Royals fans here, let me say congratulations. Enjoy your victory while you can because the Mets will be coming back next year. 🙂

    • DeniseVB says:

      My nephew FB’d me a Sad Andrew photo, in all his Mets gear, heading home on the subway back to Brooklyn last night. Unless the Dodgers go back to Brooklyn, I’m pretty “meh” on the NY teams. 🙂

  18. DeniseVB says:

    Sidebar: I’m helping my niece work on a family history project for a college course, my assignment was remembering my grandfather (her great-grandfather, died years before she was born). So what was my best memory of him? This 16th birthday gift, as his oldest grandchild, I was his special snowflake…..

    Unfortunately, my Dad went full NUTSO and made Gpa take it back since his klutzy daughter still couldn’t walk and chew gum at the same time. Not to mention I still didn’t have my drivers permit, much less a license, since I was on terminal restriction for bad grades and kept wrecking my bicycles. I’m probably alive today because my Dad said no😀

  19. Dora says:

    Trump campaign to negotiate directly with TV networks on debate formats

    Donald Trump and his advisers have decided to work directly with television executives and take a lead role in negotiating the format and content of primary debates, which have become highly watched and crucial events in the 2016 race, according to Republicans familiar with their plans.

  20. DeniseVB says:

    Carly’s going on The View Friday.

  21. elliesmom says:

    Ok, so when I visited my new house over the weekend, I found a package on the steps from Amazon. It was not addressed to me or to the previous owner, but the street address is right. I contacted the previous owner through the real estate agent, and she has no idea who the woman on the address label is. I’ve searched through all of the “Help” topics at Amazon, and “you sent me a package addressed to someone who doesn’t live here” isn’t on the list. I can’t ship it back free w/o a return authorization. If I type the order # in to any of their forms, the message I get back is “You didn’t place this order”. Well, duh, that’s the problem. I left the package in RI, but Elliesdad says I can’t open it when I go back because it came USPS, and it’s a federal offense to open someone else’s mail. Any other information that might help is inside the box, though. Is it against the law to throw someone else’s mail away? Because if Amazon won’t let me ship it back on their dime, and I can’t open it and see if I might want to keep it🙂, then if I need to throw it away. Because I’m not keeping just in case this lady nobody seems to know stops by to get her mail.

    • Myiq2xu says:

      Was the house vacant at all before you moved in?

      • elliesmom says:

        It was vacant for a couple of weeks. It had furniture in it for the real estate showings, but no one has lived there for about a month. The house wasn’t on the market very long, but the previous owners all but moved out before they listed it. There’s no sign anyone has been camping out there, and the nearest neighbors are pretty close. They noticed us right away and came over to say hello.

    • Somebody says:

      Mark the box “Return to send, addressee unknown”, either put it in your mailbox or take it to the post office. The USPS will return it to Amazon and it won’t cost you a dime.

      • Somebody says:

        Return to SENDER, not send

      • 1539days says:

        We did that a lot with the _____ of the month clubs when they start sending the expensive stuff after your cheap purchase are over. Just take it to the post office and make sure to write “return to sender” on it because the postal clerk will tell you to do it before they take the package back.

      • elliesmom says:

        The post office in my new town wouldn’t take it without a return label from Amazon. I’ll bring it back here the next time I go down and take into the post office where they know me.🙂

        • 1539days says:

          Write refused on it. Apparently, Amazon customer service will even tell people to do this. If the Post Office gives you crap, tell them it’s not yours.

    • votermom says:

      You could try emailing or calling Amazon, I guess.

  22. helenk3 says:

    just becasue
    you know i will be in Wildwood NJ next year for this.
    My youngest grand daughter posted a thing on facebook about this years race.

  23. Dora says:

    They should all stay away from Beck. He’s not been acting right.

    Glenn met Marco Rubio over the weekend. What did he think of the presidential hopeful?

  24. 1539days says:

    Worse than gawker.

    Uppity Woman, on November 2, 2015 at 9:33 AM said:
    I see Fred Thompson died. I will leave it up in the air as to whether he is paying for pimping AAG reverse mortgages to unsuspecting seniors so that when they go to a nursing home for extended rehab, the bank can snatch their home out from under them. Or if they land in a home permanently, their personal effects will be chucked out while the bank puts their home up for sale. Or if their stupid spouse signs de paper for that reverse mortgage and doesn’t include their spouse in the deal, say goodbye to your home there, widow, unless you can come up with all the money your husband collected from the bank, if that even works. My realty friend just recently told me that last story. That’s when Freddie doesn’t show up.
    That should keep old Fred busy for eternity.
    If there is an afterlife, I suspect one day that he and Henry Winkler, who also pimps reverse mortgages, will meet up with one another
    in a very hot hot HOT place.

    • lyn says:

      We had a couple of reverse mortgages on our block. When the wives died (after their husbands), the only people who were screwed were their heirs. The houses are still empty after three years.

      • swanspirit says:

        If the heirs aren’t interested in the house, then they aren’t even screwed, and many times it enables a parent to stay home much longer and get care at home, rather than be in a care facility, and some get to die at home, which in my view is preferable.
        It is absolutely astonishing to me what effect the Kewl aid has on peoples minds, and evidently, their hearts

        • lyn says:

          Yep. By “screwed” I meant that the children received no inheritance, so they were pissed off. It took the neighbor’s children at least a year to clean out their mother’s home. They also wouldn’t take her cat that the woman adopted from her grandchild who had discarded the kitty. (The cat was cared for by the couple next door who eventually adopted it after a year and a half.)

  25. Dora says:

    Bad choice of slogans. I knew it as soon as I heard it.

    Bush’s ‘Jeb Can Fix It’ slogan draws mockery as Twitter is flooded with ‘Bob The Builder’ jokes

    • Somebody says:

      Have any of you seen the new Sandra Bullock movie? I think Yeb’s campaign manager may have.

      Premise of the movie, how do you sell an arrogant, unenthusiastic, out of touch politician that has been out of office for a decade? Convince the electorate they need him and his experience because the country is in a crisis. The theory goes; If the electorate is hopeful they’ll elect the new guy, if they are fearful they go with the known quantity. That’s why the title of the movie is “Our Brand is Crisis”. They couldn’t change their candidate so they changed the narrative of the campaign.

      In real life it was Carville and Shrum that went to Bolivia and they worked together not against each other like the movie portrays.

      Now Yeb tells us he can fix it, how funny is that?? What is even funnier is that most of the country believes the nation is in crisis or on the precipice of crisis and they still reject Yeb. Because Yeb is part of the cabal that got us where we are. The fact that his campaign is THAT out of touch is truly amazing, LOL!

  26. DeniseVB says:

    Just put an early morning open thread in the barn. C’ya’s in the a.m.😀

  27. Reporting from the 44 and 9/12th year line: Getting old still sucks.

    If there’s one thing in my life that these years have taught, it’s
    that you can always see it coming, but you can never stop it.

    PS: The Colts are the new Raiders.

  28. votermom says:

    There is a huge fox roaming our neighborhood. Apparently someone’s pet bunny has already become a snack.
    I told my older kid and she said I should adopt the fox.
    It’s funny coz I always joke about hating bunnies.
    So our little town doesn’t have Animal Control, and you can call the cops on the felonious fox only if you see it right there, so the HOA is gonna get a professional to “deal with it.”

    • mothy67 says:

      I thought I hated bunnies. They are terrible gifts for kids. They play with them for a few days then ignore. Lot of work, bit very affectionate.

  29. Trial balloon floated:

    Translation: Yes we will fucking get immigration reform, Ryan, one way or the other.

  30. swanspirit says:

    if you don’t already have this program, it will make your computer experience much better in about a minute It is fast and free, and my eyes feel better already and I just installed it five minutes ago .. I hope it works on my kindle!

  31. driguana says:

    Very thought provoking blog from James Howard Kunstler this week.

    • DandyTIger says:

      Very interesting. Some great comments. Look at this one by swmnguy:

      • swanspirit says:

        Excellent article, great comments. I would take Kunstsler’s observations regarding language even further. My Fair Lady, aka Pygmalion comes to mind. It seems that language delineates one’s place in society in many cultures. Even in China there is Mandarin, and other dialects that are spoken by peasants, or folks that are deemed to be lower on the social stratum. I think by limiting the perspective to a USA phenomenon, we lose the opportunity to see the cultural universal aspect.
        As to the trigger happy people, they seem to me to be a subculture (using that term with an anthropological meaning but it’s funny anyway ) trying to be a main culture, and not succeeding.

    • leslie says:

      I am so happy I chose to start the day with yesterday’s TCH. This blog post is worthwhile and yes, thought provoking. It reminded me of a PhD student I supervised. She ended up becoming the director of a mental health center in the very poor, very black part of Chicago. It was also her stated (to me) goal to do so. The topic of her dissertation was the necessity of learning – speaking -understanding standard American English. She told me that she spoke Cajun, black English, her family’s mountain language and standard English. She told me her reasons and that she intended to be available to all people – not just her neighborhood or to business or academia.
      The post itself is so good. The comments are as well. (Thanks, Dandy) I wouldn’t have begun to read them as I’m off to babysit and am late.
      This post was worthwhile enough that it should be re-posted in today’s comments… I’d do it, but I have to leave now.
      If it isn’t posted again when I have time to look later, I’ll do it.

  32. lyn says:

    This puts our national debt in perspective.

  33. Dora says:

    Today is Tuesday and I’ll be leaving for the city soon. I talked Hubby into coming with me. It’s been many moons since we had to ride into the city during rush hour and we’re not looking forward to it, but we have to take an early train because the book store in Trump Tower opens at 9:00; We will be catching the 7:11 train which arrives at Penn Station at 8:10. From there we will walk to the Trump Tower – it’s better than waiting for a bus – and get on our first line. Yikes!

    Wish me luck. 🙂

  34. cynic says:

    Have fun! Looks like you should have some nice weather, while waiting in line. Looking forward to your report.

Comments are closed.