Girl Crush


Congratulations to Little Big Town for winning the 2015 CMA Awards for Vocal Group of the Year as well as Single of the Year and Song of the Year for “Girl Crush”.

The entire award show was awesome. This ain’t your daddy’s Country and Western music.

This is an open thread.


About Myiq2xu - BA, JD, FJB

I was born and raised in a different country - America. I don't know what this place is.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

74 Responses to Girl Crush

  1. Dora says:

    This is not a joke, even though it may sound like one! 😦
    ====

    Hillary Clinton Announces Odd New Platform – No Criminal Records for Prior Presidents…

    Under a new program proposed today Hillary Clinton declared she would enact a new executive order so Presidential Candidates did not have to declare their criminal history:

    http://theconservativetreehouse.com/2015/11/04/hillary-clinton-announces-odd-new-platform-no-criminal-records-for-prior-presidents/

    • DandyTIger says:

      Hahaha, what an idiot. Of course he is free to say that. And the cops and everyone is free to never do business with him again. You know, boycotts, like he participates and talks about all the time.

      • DeniseVB says:

        It’s different when they do it 😉 Just when I think celebrities capable of making millions of dollars can’t be that stupid, one of them opens their mouth and proves me wrong.

  2. cynic says:

    I’m having problems adjusting to the time change. I’ve always been an early riser, but 3:00 is crazy, and I end up falling asleep at 8:00. No evening tv shows for me.

    I had a wonderful time with Leslie yesterday!

    I drove up in fog, and made sure that I got there in time. I got there so early, I was able to pop in the Trader Joe’s for some Two Buck Chuck (wine, which is now $2.99).

    I parked near our meet-up location, knew what she was wearing, and saw her walking down the sidewalk. YEA. How fun. A new friend! It was a nice day of sharing stories about ourselves, didn’t spend as much time talking politics as I thought we would, but sometimes, thinking about other things than politics is a very good thing. It’s normal.

    The day turned out beautiful, warm, sunny, and we spent it in such a charming town. There were so many shoppers out and about, and it was nice to see a town doing well.

    It would be fun to have more of you joining us. Just a thought, I live 1 1/2 hrs. from downtown Chicago, and have numerous state parks right near my house. There are hiking trails, Starved Rock has a great Lodge and cabins, and I live in the country on 3 acres. There’s plenty of
    room if anyone wanted to pitch a tent in my yard, and I have two empty bedrooms. Just a thought….

    • leslie says:

      You do get up early!!! I came over here to share our story and here you are! 🙂

      I had a great time with cynic yesterday and the day itself ended up being simply beautiful. The fog lifted, the temperature rose a bit, the colors on the trees – the ones that still had leaves – were so lovely. And the dahlias were nearly perfect. It was so funny, when I left Geneva the sun was out and shining away and when I arrived in Chicago, a little over an hour later, it was already dark. That quickly brought me back to reality. It’s autumn and days are much shorter.

      I’ve also been thinking about the meet-up as well. I loved the suggestion re camping in cynic’s yard. Not certain my old back could take it, but I’d be willing to give it a try. I also was thinking about having a weekend (or more if anyone were interested, during the summer when the concerts in Millennium Park (near Chicago’s downtown lakefront) and the concerts at Ravinia (in a beautiful – northern Chicago suburb) are taking place. Those are free or nearly free and the nights are cooler and less humid than the days. There is so much to do in and around here that even if people camped out in Cynic’s neck of the woods, a train ride from there into the city would be easy. OTOH, if people wanted to stay in a hotel, I am certain that there are summer rates in my little suburb as most Northwestern students have pretty much gone home – or wherever they go in summer. And my train ride into the heart of the city is <25 minutes away.

      The best part of the day was meeting cynic and making a new friend. I hope we all can do the same – in person – sometime soon…

    • DeniseVB says:

      Such fun ! Thanks for sharing your adventure 🙂

    • DandyTIger says:

      That would be fun. I’m game. How about in Virginia some time?

  3. Dora says:

    Come fly with me, let’s fly, let’s fly away.
    ====

    Halo, the $330 million airship of the future

    Exclusive: Conceived as the ultimate holiday home, the $330 million Halo features a ballroom, open-air viewing deck and space for your yacht and helicopter

    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/luxury/travel/89253/halo-the-330-million-airship-of-the-future.html

  4. leslie says:

    I’m in the dungeon again x2. The first one has a couple of bad links. The second one does not.
    The treats down here look good. The coffee is great! Thanks y’all.

  5. DeniseVB says:

    Hmmm, a muslim? Can’t wait what his story is ?

    • Venus says:

      I suspected something against the narrative when so much time passed and still no release of his name.

      • Myiq2xu says:

        Why are people spreading rumors that UC Merced attacker Faisal Mohammad was a Sikh? All the evidence points to him being Muslim.

        • DeniseVB says:

          I heard the Merced PD’s having a press conference in about an hour and I double-dog dare ya to show up in clown face, better yet, with a leaf blower 😛

    • leslie says:

      Maybe stabbings and killings are like missionary work. When the young men turn 18 are they expected to convert or people?

      • leslie says:

        Are they expected to convert or *kill people.
        Is what I meant to write. I thought I had until I just now read my comment.

  6. Wow. New definition of misogyny from Shakesville:

    “But, again, the fact that Clinton is a woman matters. A straight white cis man going after a female candidate, or any marginalized person, with variations on “weak” and “poor character” has connotations that it doesn’t when it’s directed at another straight white cis man. ”

    #NoCritiqueAllowed

    http://www.shakesville.com/2015/11/character.html?m=1

    • DeniseVB says:

      I finally read the whole article and comments. Typical HRC supporters thou shalt not speak ill of Hillary if you’re a guy ? Carly’s taken worse hits and fights back like a girl.

      When Hillary criticized Obama she (and Bill) were called racists. Mean girl Michelle took the biggest swing at her implying she couldn’t keep the dog on the porch so how can she lead a nation, plus I think she wanted to scratch Bill’s eyes out ?

      There was a lot of really nasty back and forth sh*t in 2008 they seem to be forgetting. I’m siding with Bernie on this one. I knew what he meant about being “sick of the emails” and it had nothing to do with stopping the investigation.

    • elliesmom says:

      Melissa and her buddies (is “buddies” sexist?) worship at the Shrine of the Compartmentalized Perpetually Aggrieved. Every day of the week a different reason to rant about all of the slights and affronts, some real, but mostly imagined, she and her cadre of misfits have endured. Reading Melissa’s blog in 2008 was a real eye opener for me. Suddenly I realized why so many highly successful women refused to call themselves feminists. “Twisty” finished my education. When I’m asked if I’m a feminist, I say “Not anymore. I didn’t leave the movement. It fell off a cliff, and I refused to jump off after it.” I like Dr. Violet Socks until she lunged headfirst into the ravine.

    • elliesmom says:

      I used to give credit for the best wrong answer. Some of them showed some real creativity. The students who usually got good grades got mad over it and complained. I was asked to “show my thinking” about why I thought it was a good teaching technique. I explained I was an engineer by training and trade before I started teaching. Some of the best solutions to problems start out with a wise ass remark from one of a team’s members.

      • 1539days says:

        And I get criticized for being a wise ass at work. I find that engineering something has two options: the right way and the way they’ll let you do it.

  7. Myiq2xu says:

    Less than two weeks ago was the first time since last Spring where I didn’t use the AC at some point during the day. Last night it got so cold it triggered the heater.

    Can you guess whose heater isn’t working? Go on, guess.

    BTW – Did everybody get their free Crunchwrap from Taco Bell this morning?

    • DandyTIger says:

      I hate the start of winter when the heater goes pop. Mine did that a couple of years ago. Only made a temporary fix, but so far so good. When all else fails, the new ceramic room heaters are amazing.

    • 1539days says:

      Ironically, I got the California Crunch Wrap. I’d actually go more often, but Taco Bell is 5 minutes out of my way to work. Unless most of the deadbeats, I also bought something (ice coffee) with my freebie.

  8. DeniseVB says:

    This is cute ….

  9. DeniseVB says:

    Hmmm? Merced’s got more info…… This would be 7pm et , you left coasties are still 3 hours behind, right?

    • leslie says:

      No matter what the developments – no matter how incriminating/damaging they are – bronco will not speak up and his DOJ will remain behind closed doors until another, more palatable crisis arises… (like a #BLM demonstration).

  10. Myiq2xu says:

  11. Dora says:

    How can anyone take this woman seriously????
    ===

  12. alice223 says:

    Klown, you always introduce me to interesting new music I wouldn’t discover hear otherwise. Thank you.

Comments are closed.