This Is Embarrassing

Vern Warnke

Vern Warnke

We got us a new sheriff. His name is Vern Warnke.

The worst part of this incident at UC Merced yesterday is having Sheriff Vern stand up in front of reporters wearing a big cowboy hat and making us all look like a bunch of hicks from the sticks.

All my life the law enforcement officers in Merced County wore standard police uniforms or business suits. They NEVER wore cowboy hats on duty. They didn’t even wear those “Smoky” hats that some state troopers wear.

Last year the old sheriff (Mark Pazin, who I’ve known since I was a kid) retired and a former Sheriff’s deputy won the election to replace him. (I voted for Pat Lunney, the former police chief of Merced).

Mark Pazin

Mark Pazin

Seriously, this is embarrassing.

Meanwhile, The guy was was stabbing people has been identified as UC Merced student 18-year-old Faisal Mohammad. According to Sheriff Vern his motives are “unclear”.

Terrorist wannabe

Terrorist wannabe

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

150 Responses to This Is Embarrassing

  1. 49erDweet says:

    Maybe when Warnke sobers up he’ll figure it out. That’s the kind of politician that seriously impacts the early retirement rates.

  2. helenk3 says:

    Meteors tonight

    • elliesmom says:

      The meteors are originating near the constellation Pleiades. Those stars are the brightest in the sky and look like the Subaru logo because that’s what the logo is. If you don’t catch any tonight, next week will be new moon, and the sky will be as dark as it ever gets. I’m halfway between Boston and Worcester, the second largest city in NE, here. I’m looking forward to being farther away from a large city after I move. The city lights really do make things harder to see.

    • leslie says:

      Because I live so near the Chicago lights, I usually have difficulty seeing the heavenly dramas that you generously invite us to watch. But I almost always go outside to try. In what direction do I hope to find the Pleiades? (Besides up…)

      • elliesmom says:

        I usually taught my kids to find Orion first. Follow the line of the belt to Aldebaran, the eye of the bull in Taurus. It’s one of the brightest stars in the sky. The Pleiades form the bull’s shoulder. The stars move across the sky as the night goes on. The lights from a bright city can make it harder to see a constellation as it rises and sets. In October and November, Taurus rises in the east about 10 pm at Chicago’s latitude. It sets in the west about 7 am.

  3. Venus says:

    Now we know why it took so long to release his name — they had to scrub his social media like they did for the Umpqua shooter (whom the MSM still claims is “white”).

  4. Myiq2xu says:

  5. helenk3 says:

    when I first heard about the attacks, I thought this is what is happening in Israel. Then I thought do not say anything because there is not enough information to make that conclusion.

  6. Myiq2xu says:

  7. DeniseVB says:

    I once read that tragedies and natural disasters help teach us world geography. This week I learned about the Sinai Peninsula and Merced, CA. Small world indeed.

    I missed the 7pm presser, was that it? The contents of his backpack? I want to know what was on his computer !!!!!

    • leslie says:

      Don’t hold your breath. If there was anything incriminating on his computer, tablet or phone, we’ll never find out. They’ll just put off any questions until ppl forget who this guy is. (See? I’ve already forgotten his name.) Was it Mohammad something or something Mohammad?

  8. 49erDweet says:

    We are at war, but don’t tell anyone.

  9. Myiq2xu says:

    • leslie says:

      I swear I’m reading whatever my mind tells me to. I just read “Netanyahu’s new chief of publicity . . .”
      Yesterday I read something even more bizarre. But I can’t recall what it was. I don’t think my mind can continue to process all the crud that keeps coming at me.
      Not that I think insulting bronco and Kerry is a bad thing. Heck I do it every chance I get.

    • lizzy says:

      Where is the line to add to the insults to Obama and Kerry? It must go for miles and miles.

  10. Myiq2xu says:

  11. 49erDweet says:

    Appropriate attire, maybe, for cutting out the ‘dogies’ on a spread near Los Banos, but UCM? Not!

  12. Myiq2xu says:

    • lyn says:

      Has Carson talked about this before? I thought it was a cousin.

    • Venus says:

      Obama ate a dog and sold drugs. Yet we were told that happened when he was a “kid” (actually teen and college years re: the drugs) and of no moment.

      This focus on Carson’s violence as a young teen is even BIGGER bullshit because the POINT for Carson is how finding religion saved him from the destructive path he was on (one, btw, that many young black men in Detroit with single-moms were and are on).

      • lyn says:

        Yeah, the bullshit like this drives me crazy too. Carson is a better and bigger person than Obama will ever be.

      • Jadzia says:

        Exactly. I don’t even care if religion enters into it–the point is that this is a person who sought redemption and changed his life. Not joked about never inhaling or just expects everybody to forget that any of it happened.

        BTW, votermom, I prayed for your sister and nephew, I hope they are okay; the thread in which you made the request was a couple of days old (I’m always behind!) and comments closed.

        • votermom says:

          Thank you, Jadzia!
          My nephew I think made it thru obe procedure, is still waiting another.
          My sister I gave not gotten an update on yet. I am asking my other sister, who us in the same country as her, to check and let me know.

    • cynic says:

      Morning Joe spent about a minute on the story. Basically, a ‘move along, nothing to see here’ attitude. They didn’t even mention the note found in his pocket, and the handcuffs, duct tape, safety hammer and night vision scope that were in his backpack.

      He’s dead. No court appearance, trial, etc.

      Will he even be mentioned in the media tomorrow? Too close to the next election. The administration will lie, with the cooperation of the media, to get Hillary elected.

  13. Myiq2xu says:

  14. mothy67 says:

    That sheriff is a real thinker letting the would be lone wolves that petroleum jelly is a poor man’s C4.

  15. Myiq2xu says:

    • DeniseVB says:

      Marco should be careful aligning with too many GOPe types.

      • Somebody says:

        Why? Marco is the consummate GOPe, gang of 8 anyone? Hell Marco is whatever you want him to be he’s for sale to the highest bidder. The only thing Marco cares about is Marco, he is the GOP version of Obama.

        The only time Marco was a tea partier was when it suited him to take on that mantle in order to win the R primary in FL. As soon as he got to DC he forgot all about the tea party and dove right into the DC swamp, part and parcel. He couldn’t get elected dog catcher in Florida, well maybe in little Havana he could get elected dog catcher, because Cuban.

  16. Myiq2xu says:

    • DeniseVB says:

      Careful CNN, you’re going to make Carson STABBy. 😛

      Has anyone on that crack news team read Carson’s book “One Nation” ? He was a “typical ghetto” boy with anger issues, his journey to gifted neurosurgeon is inspiring.

      Hell, as a “kid” I stabbed my sister in the arm with a fork.

  17. Myiq2xu says:

  18. DeniseVB says:

    If I were an SNL writer, I’d let the entire audience heckle Trump for about 30 seconds so this group would have to pay every one of them the 5k.

    • DandyTIger says:

      Lalalalalala, I’m a progressive and I can’t here opposing views.

    • dm says:

      A gossip site I read has stated that the oh so funny commercial by the little latino kids was funded by a Hillary PAC…makes sense…I find her pretty vulgar and tasteless so this tracks. Although I didn’t think that candidates or their campaign staff could “coordinate” with any PACs.

      • DeniseVB says:

        We must read the same sites😉 Hillary2016 was found in the source code of some of those ads.

        I guess it would be easy to check out if it were fake, but true.

        • dm says:

          Yeah, the gossip – political and entertainment – definitely a guilty pleasure. Last year I had the twisty fun of telling my not so favorite nephew that the QB of his favorite team was gay…wouldn’t trade that moment for anything!

  19. DeniseVB says:

    Funny comments at this tweet ….

  20. DeniseVB says:

    BOOM! Ted Cruz is leading the effort ….

  21. elliesmom says:

    This morning my FB is inundated with links to suicide prevention hotlines. Apparently, it’s in response to a policy change that has come down from the highest levels of the LDS church. I think I understand the policy change, but not the concern about folks jumping off roofs. Certain living arrangements have already put cohabitants in a state of apostasy in the Mormon faith. They include polygamists, unmarried couples living together, and same-sex couples, legally married or not. That hasn’t changed. Until this new policy came down, children living with parents who are not married or are in a polygamous family have been barred from being baptized until they reach the age of majority although they are welcome in the church and can participate in most things the church does. One of my Mormon friends says the thinking behind it is by accepting baptism, the child is renouncing her family’s lifestyle. The church elders don’t think that should be taken lightly, and they believe a person should only do that with the benefit of some maturity. (I respect that point of view. I think more churches should delay committing oneself until one is an adult.) Now this policy has been extended to include the children of same-sex couples. Which is going to lead to suicide? I mean, if it’s the parents who are at risk, they were already apostates. Kids over six who have already been baptized are not being told the church is taking the baptism back. How many five year olds are going to become suicidal because they aren’t getting baptized next year? Just who is at risk? People who aren’t Mormon who can’t live in a world where a religion won’t bend to their wishes? If you don’t like the policies of the LDS church, it’s easy. Don’t become a Mormon. How simple is that? SMH

    • DandyTIger says:

      Weird. Wonder what LDS is going to do when polygamy marriage is legal. Which has to happen eventually since gay marriage did, for constitutional reasons. Just takes someone to push it to the SCUTUS. Probably won’t change their rules, but it will be sort of funny given the history.

      • elliesmom says:

        I have a lot of Mormon friends in the virtual world and a couple IRL. I expect the LDS church will reinstate polygamy if it becomes legal again. They’ll write if off as they complied with the law when it was required for the safety of the church, but the teachings of the church never really changed. What will be interesting is how they’d react to one wife with multiple husbands. Not that they’d see many of those relationships. I know women who’d be comfortable sharing a husband, but not any who’d want more than one.😉

        • blowme0bama says:

          HA, my take has been those people with multiple wives are insane. WTH would anyone want all the honey-do lists, clothes shopping, expenses? Just crazy.

    • fernschild says:

      I can’t easily express how far from simple it is, to try to live in conformity in spite of doubts, or to renounce a belief system that is so all-encompassing as membership in the LDS church. I have objections that don’t involve what would overtly label me as an apostate, and I live many states removed from my parents – mind you, I am in my 60s and they are in their 80s. Still have been morally such a coward that it’s taken three decades for me to get to writing the resignation letter. I’ve been through divorce after temple marriage, and that’s hard to describe. When Mormons say families are forever, it’s not casual. The fall-out from what I’m about to do will not be pretty. My children are grown and I will not be cut off from my grandchildren, and yet I have dread. I can’t even picture being in the thick of LDS society, as you would be if you lived in Utah, and having to bear the consequences of becoming an apostate and what that would mean for all your relationships.

      • leslie says:

        I think you are a brave person. It takes real courage and determination to do what you are doing. I remember saying that I would wait until my godmother and her sister died before I filed for divorce because of the effect it would have on them. So I can only imagine what concerns you have about writing that letter.

        • fernschild says:

          Thanks, I appreciate that. And I was going to wait until my father passed first! I really have to laugh at myself, that tough old guy may outlast me anyway.

          • elliesmom says:

            Thank you for sharing. I wasn’t being flip when I wrote that. I really was trying to understand what would make someone suicidal over finding out your children had to wait for adulthood for baptism. I don’t consider what the LDS church does to be any of my business since I’m not a member of the church, but it did concern me that several of my friends felt the ruling would make some people suicidal. I still don’t really understand, but if I should be concerned about my friends, I’ll try to be supportive.

          • fernschild says:

            I didn’t think you were being flip. This is more than the baptism being delayed, it has to do with exclusion from all the things that other young people would be doing. I won’t bombard you with information, but it’s going to be devastating for some people.

  22. Myiq2xu says:

    When I lol it scares the cats.

  23. Somebody says:

    I am so glad today is Friday! I think I’m suffering from burn out watching the kids. The 14 month old is very taxing, she gets in to everything. I can’t turn my back on her for a second and mind you I also have a 28 month old that needs attention too; lots of attention she’s the one that was severely premature so she has some developmental issues.

    The 14 month old can open anything and get around any child proof lock, her father was the same way, it’s exhausting. Yesterday she opened a jar of jelly in my pantry, AYFKM?? I often have trouble opening jars of jelly. She proceeded to quietly paint my kitchen floor and cabinets with the jelly, safely obscured by my kitchen island. I was washing dishes on the other side of the island…….my floor and cabinets are still sticky. Just now I caught her opening my oven door preparing to put Mr. Potato Head in there. The oven wasn’t on, but what if it was….OMG!

    Oh gee I have to go it seems every trash bag and storage bag I own has been dumped on my kitchen floor and the terror is trying to get into a bag of flour to decorate them with…..calgon please take me away, far, far, away!!!

    • Myiq2xu says:

      Have you tried duct tape?

    • DeniseVB says:

      Baby gates worked for me to keep them in baby proofed areas. I also gave my kids their own lower cabinet full of pots, pans and plastic cups/bowls and locked the rest to keep them amused while I was in the kitchen. Whew, I’m exhausted for ya sister grandma🙂

      • votermom says:

        We fenced off my youngest too once she got mobile.
        She was stuck in the family room, in a little baby prison camp. I think that’s why she turned to the life of a toddler graffiti artist – out of revenge.

    • leslie says:

      OMG I am hearing you, Somebody. I’m too tired today from the 18month old I have. If there were more here this week, I’d shoot myself. I think she is “over” grandmas and childcare for this week. I know I am tired and this is only my 2nd day w/her this week.
      At one point this morning I said, “Oh my goodness!” She corrected me and said, “No! You mean “Oh my G-d!” Did I say she was a mind reader?
      Hope your day gets better. BTW: I’m with Denise… Get a couple of those gates that you can even move around. (Perhaps at a pet store or on Amazon)

      • elliesmom says:

        My doors to the backyard have door handles you just push down to open the door. My granddaughter loves to let herself out to play. The backyard is fenced so there really hasn’t been a problem- until yesterday when she realized she can open the outside gates. I found her playing with the little girl next door so no harm was done. But my daughter’s plan of just letting Crash let herself in and out after they move in probably isn’t going to work very well. Especially since I’m taking the 4-legged babysitter who ratted on her yesterday with me.😉

  24. Myiq2xu says:

    Obama says no to Keystone.

  25. Myiq2xu says:

  26. Dora says:

    Me thinks his campaign is finished. A sad way to have to end. 😦

    Ben Carson admits fabricating West Point scholarship

    Carson’s campaign on Friday conceded that a central point in his inspirational personal story did not occur as he previously described.

  27. DeniseVB says:

    LOL ! He’s having too much fun with this. ‘splodey heads in the comments listing what sponsors to boycott, priceless.

  28. helenk3 says:

    stolen from Marge

    Do You Know Your Hymns?

    Dentist’s Hymn…. Crown Him with Many Crowns
    Weatherman’s Hymn…. There Shall Be Showers of Blessings
    Contractor’s Hymn…. The Church’s One Foundation
    The Tailor’s Hymn….. Holy, Holy, Holy
    The Golfer’s Hymn…..There’s a Green Hill Far Away
    The Politician’s Hymn…. Standing on the Promises!
    Optometrist’s Hymn…. Open My Eyes That I Might See
    The CRA Agent’s Hymn ….I Surrender All
    The Gossip’s Hymn ….Pass It On
    The Electrician’s Hymn…. Send the Light
    The Shopper’s Hymn…. Sweet Bye and Bye
    The Realtor’s Hymn…. I’ve Got a Mansion, Just Over the Hilltop
    The Therapists Hymn…. He Touched Me
    The Doctor’s Hymn…. The Great Physician

    For those who speed on the highway – a few hymns:

    55 mph…. God Will Take Care of You
    75 mph…. Nearer My God to Thee
    85 mph…. This World Is Not My Home
    95 mph…. Lord, I’m Coming Home
    100 mph…. Precious Memories

    Give me a sense of humor, Lord
    Give me grace to see a joke,
    To get some humor out of life,
    And pass it on to other folk.

  29. votermom says:

    so after years and years of funemployment I finally felt well enough to try working again. Just applied for a part time retail job. I’ll know in 2 days if I get the job.

  30. votermom says:

    The right should say something like this

  31. NewOrleans says:

    Headline Ouch:

    Poll-plummeting Carly Fiorina attracts only dozens in New Hampshire just minutes after filing her primary papers – and draws dead silence when she invites questions

    • DeniseVB says:

      I enjoy the Daily Mail but they tend to lean left on their politics. Considering the venue, not a bad turnout, she had hundreds earlier at her primary filing event. On a Friday, conservatives tend not to take off from work for every event😉

  32. NewOrleans says:

    I would LOVE to see Carly pop out from behind Donald’s big head and say “”Look at that hair! Would anyone vote for that?”

    • DeniseVB says:

      DJT’s on OReally tonight talking about SNL. Saw a promo where he said he nixed the risque skits because he wants to keep his lead in Iowa😉

  33. DeniseVB says:

  34. mothy67 says:

    I am really starting to love this wal-mart place. Bought an hp stream for 179 free upgrade to 10. Christmas present for a 9 year old. School got out at 3:00. I caved and gave it to her at 3:30. She pulled off A’s with common core. I never wait until Christmas, but this was really early. I thought 9 was maybe too young but they have computer lab 2x per week. Anyhow I am techno challenged, but seemed like a nice starter and it came with a $25 microsoft e-gift card. Just pray it works with minecraft.

Comments are closed.