Winter is Coming!


A week of Indian summer and this morning the late-blooming rose is frosted over.

I’m sure this is a metaphor for something.

Happy Monday!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

64 Responses to Winter is Coming!

  1. Dora says:

    Such a beautiful flower. It might just be the “last rose of summer”. I hear that expression all the time, but I don’t know where it came from. It’s quite sad.

    I hate to start off with bad news, but this can’t be good for the markets. 😦

    China to Allow Direct Conversion Between Yuan and Swiss Franc

  2. elliesmom says:

    I’ve enjoyed this brief foray back into summer. It let me get some of the fall yardwork done I had neglected because of our house hunting. But I’m ready for the crisp, cool autumn air to come back. It’s nice to have the transition time before the real cold and the snow. I’m hoping the snow holds off until we get ourselves safely moved, but after that, it can come.

    • votermom says:

      How is the move going?

      • elliesmom says:

        I have the most difficult rooms to pack done. My son-in-law took my sewing machines and other sewing stuff down to the new house over the weekend. I have the Junk-Out guys scheduled to come a couple of days before we move. Easier on the lifting than getting a dumpster. We’re living in a sea of boxes, but I think I’ll get it all done in time. At this point I’d rather be there than here, and that’s a good sign. I thought it would be a lot harder to leave this place than it’s turning out to be. When I walk Ellie around the block here, I’m remembering how much more fun it was to walk her across the dam. All of my “stress-relievers” are in RI now or packed in boxes so long walks with Ellie are kind of important.

  3. DeniseVB says:

    VM ! I found your ‘frosted rose’ metaphor. Obama’s face whenever he’s around Netanyahu !!! Amirite?? 😀

  4. 49erDweet says:

    In honor of Rachael Dolezal I shall henceforth “identify” myself as Tasmanian. Be warned!

  5. DeniseVB says:

    The U of Missouri President just resigned. The sh*t stirring Soros terrorists win😦 Hope this doesn’t become a campus trend now.

  6. DeniseVB says:

    Heads up myiq, literally. You know what they say about cockroaches….😉

  7. foxyladi14 says:

    They knew yet did nothing????

    Boggles the mind. 😡

  8. Myiq2xu says:

  9. Myiq2xu says:

  10. Dora says:

    It might mean nothing. The good doctor might have changed his mind since then. But it does look like the beans are beginning to spill. 😦

    Did Ben Carson Vote for Obama?

    Here’s a screengrab of an online announcement for a gospel concert to be held in honor of Obama’s inauguration in 2009. Ben Carson is listed as one of the speakers.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Over the years I’ve donated and voted for both parties, even third parties. It’s okay to evolve, so it’s never a deal breaker for me. Trump’s played with both teams too, as a businessman, it’s understandable, but that doesn’t bother me either.

      I swear, if the “Rent Is Damn High” guy was running this year as the only outsider, I’d be supporting him😀

    • lyn says:

      Profound read. Now I understand the divide. Those of us who don’t do groupthink honor our rural nature.

    • lyn says:

      VDH’s last paragraph: “The twenty-first century may at last see the end of a venerable consensus that rural citizens prizing liberty and freedom provide a necessary audit on the democracy of urbanites who prefer uniformity and demand equality at all costs. We have left for good the world of Harry Truman and Dwight Eisenhower and entered the age of Bernie Sanders and Donald Trump—and likely with worse to come.”

      • DeniseVB says:

        I liked the Obama “You didn’t build that” part. IMO, it meant to me ideas, working hard, and perseverance doesn’t mean jack squat in the inner city, just sit there and wait for the free stuff. It didn’t even build that idea, he stole it from ElizWarren.

  11. Myiq2xu says:

  12. DeniseVB says:

    Another overview of the Mizzou clusterf**k. I met Leon Wolf at the Redstate thingy, so I can personally recommend this😛

  13. helenk3 says:

    Had a weird thought, how many advisers to presidents are vetted? maybe aside from the candidate we the voters should take a look at the advisors..
    think about it , even the obots did not vote for valjar.

  14. DeniseVB says:

    Hey, I had a good TwitDay #feelingthelove 😀

  15. Myiq2xu says:

  16. DeniseVB says:

    I just signed up for the next Redstate in Denver, Aug 2016. Had such a blast at the last Redstate in August 2015. 😀

  17. elliesmom says:

    “Winter is coming!” Does anyone know when the new season starts? I’m trying to figure out whether I should get HBO when I move.

  18. leslie says:

    Maybe you should use HBO as leverage with your new cable company.

  19. What’s wrong with this country in one comment to a hilarious blog post:

    Let me just start by saying that I was not featured in this article.
    I would appreciate it if you could read this short message. I am trying to be kind, not a thoughtless commenter.
    I understand that this is supposed to be a humor piece—I get it. But I am writing because I think you took this way too far.
    I agree that some people have caused a nuisance for travel and city officials at the X. I also agree that you, by posting these comments, are being a misogynistic bully.
    I am all for laughs when it comes to general humor. But I am not okay, EVER, when individuals are attacked and bullied, especially when you are pointing them out over identifying photographs.
    Some uncooperative people may have deserved to be arrested, but nobody deserves that type of targeted, hurtful criticism.
    If you want to criticize my region of the state, I can deal with your scrutiny of “Western Massachusetts.” Sure, there may have been some eccentric people attending the protest. You have every right to write and publish whatever you want. I am just asking respectfully that you could lay off the comments about individuals. It is not right. Imagine yourself being “highlighted” in an article like this and have no defense.
    This is just another case of cyber bullying—but this time, it is not going through a small group of bullies. You are disseminating your bullying through a large medium.
    I am not trying to be mean—just reasonable. We all like a good laugh, but it doesn’t have to come from the expense of targeted individuals. I just feel that if this article goes viral, someone needs to stick up for the victims of your bullying.

    Millennials: Okay with being arrested, but please, please don’t mock us. #FFS


  20. lizzy says:

    If they’re supporting stupid stuff, they deserve mockery. If they can’t take the heat get out of the kitchen.

Comments are closed.