Veteran’s Day 2015

To all the TCHers and their family members who have served. Thank you❤

Open Thread.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

146 Responses to Veteran’s Day 2015

  1. Myiq2xu says:

    I’ll be posting later about the latest insanity at Mizzou.

  2. Myiq2xu says:

    I’m supposed to be getting a new roof today. I doubt I’ll get much sleep while they are working.

  3. DeniseVB says:

    How the vile progs celebrate our veterans …. aholes.

    • Somebody says:

      There is a sneering among some people with regard to the military and I don’t begin to understand it. How can anyone not look around the world today or look back at history, including our own, and not be thankful for those brave men and women that have served?

      • DeniseVB says:

        I’ve noticed climbing flag poles and ripping down the American flag is the new “in thing” now. Such an oppressive symbol to the snowflake mentality😦 I don’t get that either.

        • Somebody says:

          Please if ISIS was running around the US beheading and crucifying people those little turds would be cowering in a corner screaming for the military to save them.

          • leslie says:

            Somewhere I saw a tweet of report that the students threatened to call the police if they weren’t left alone. That’s rich, given the person who caused this brouhaha had spent time in Ferguson protesting the “murder” of ‘Mike Brown’ by the police.

        • 49erDweet says:

          The “snowflake mentality” operates under the assumption if any thing or thought didn’t originate with them, it is irrelevant and unnecessary. Totally. It’s the pre-kindergarten level of human development. With voting rights. WCPGW?

      • helenk3 says:

        I was thinking we have not had any war battles on the ground in this country since 1865. we really unless we are veterans that served in combat know just was a battle is. Maybe these special snowflakes need to talk to some people who have had their countries in the middle of armed combat. They really do not have a clue about the cost of their freedom, that someone else is paying

  4. Myiq2xu says:

    My sister is having the same procedure that my mom had a couple months ago. She is only two years older than me. She goes in Friday.

  5. DeniseVB says:

    I followed Stephen Green (Vodkapundit) drunkblogging the debate last night, because it’s a fun read and I usually agree with him. Here’s the wrap up, which is all you need to read about the debate(s) ….

    My takeaway is that I’m still loving the Trumpster and everyone else was auditioning for the VP or other admin spots. After Obama, we’ll need a head bashing unPC ball crusher. Not nicey-nice. Trump/Cruz is still my top ticket as of today. It’s only November. I think Guiliani was still double digits ahead of the pack at this point in 2007, as was Hillary on the Dem side. Ya just never know……….😉

    • Somebody says:

      It was an interesting debate, but once again there are so many on the stage they don’t really get to elaborate much on their positions. I thought in the beginning Carson did well, he seemed to be sharper and more on his game.

      My take, everybody on that stage except Rand Paul and Donald Trump seem to want to get us into another ME war and worse a war with Russia. I don’t understand this push for a “no fly zone”. Under what authority?? Russia is over there at the behest of Syria and Iraq, we might not like it but those are the facts. Should we decide to implement a no fly zone we become the aggressors and that’s not a good place to be. I know we’ve lost face so to speak, but deal with it and stop all the chest thumping.

      I was troubled by Marco Rubio’s assertion that we need to revamp/change higher education in this country…….RED FLAGS! I agree there are many issues on campuses today, but it’s not the government’s job to dictate, IMHO. Aside from that if our universities are so crappy Marco, why oh why are students from around the world clamouring to get into them??? Nope that seemed like a line to justify his support of tripling H1B visas, most of which get their degrees in the US so fuck off Marco.

      It didn’t seem that Trump was that well versed about TPP. I’m sure it is a raw deal for the American worker, but he needs specifics.

      Otherwise I liked some of the ideas some of them had and didn’t like some, there is no perfect candidate. Also, somebody please, please make John Kasich go away!!

      • leslie says:

        I was troubled by Marco’s rehearsed/glib responses. He reminded me of a car salesman – a used car salesman, even. Nearly every time Rubio opened his mouth I thought, “Slick Willy”. I am not surprised that MSM selected him as the “winner”. He’d be easy for the Dems to defeat.

        I finally fell asleep during a Kasich intrusion and missed some of the debate. I think it was an unconscious defense against more Kasich rants. If I could mute Kasich or remove him from the stage altogether, I’d watch a replay so I could hear the others’ responses to questions without the interruptions.

  6. Myiq2xu says:

    • leslie says:

      Melissa Click reminds me of moms who would rather be friends with than to say
      “no” or set guidelines or limits on their kids. It’s only after something BIG happens and they are held responsible for the transgressions or worse for those kids that they reconsider their roles in the problems. that is, if they DO give it thought.
      Her tears are too little too late.

    • 49erDweet says:

      Being grown up and responsible is stressful for snowflakes.

    • 49erDweet says:

      If true, what does that say about her?
      Thinking of the several great women bosses I’ve had. None of them would ever cry over work issues. Might get mad…or giddy…or even resentful, but never go to tears. Sounds like she wasn’t yet ready for prime time.

  7. leslie says:

    Well, today’s news is that Melissa Click (infamous journalism faculty member #Mizzou) has (reportedly) voluntarily resigned her position. Certainly not soon enough. imho

    • Jadzia says:

      That student photographer is nothing but pure class; his parents should be proud.

      The thought of putting the law faculty in charge of this whole mess (and that’s what appears to be happening) gives me the… what’s that German word? Fremdschämen.

  8. helenk3 says:

    THANK YOU to all who served

    • votermom says:

      So I’m alone at home, I clicked play, and coz my computer is slow it was taking forever to load, so I walked away to get a drink then suddenly I hear music from somewhere and I jump like a foot in the air. LOL.
      Great video medley,love the bits from all parts of military life. Thanks, Helen!
      I got kinda sniffly at the end because of the song.

  9. helenk3 says:

    the leader of the protest at missolu comes from a family worth millions. Daddy is an executive with the UP railroad.

    he is so oppressed and had such a hard life.

  10. Myiq2xu says:


  11. helenk3 says:

    it is time to bring back the draft. I do not care if they have these special brats digging latrines in the middle of the ocean. i really want them to meet a few drill sargeants

  12. DeniseVB says:

    Bringing this from downstairs: Link to Votermom’s book blog where you can place your Amazon orders now🙂

    The holidays are coming !

    • votermom says:

      Aw, thanks Denise! You’re such a sweetie!

      • DeniseVB says:

        It’s a good way to support your favorite bloggers🙂 Love the program, doesn’t cost me extra and Amazon rewards them for free advertising. Win-Win !

        • votermom says:

          Yeah, it’s pretty cool. If you click a link, then buy something else, I think I will get a referral credit (some exceptions, but in general)
          Ann just told me about Barnes & Noble & Books A Million affiliate programs – I might add those in case people prefer them to amazon.

          • DeniseVB says:

            I think Ann Althouse has the same thing set up and was thanking people for all kinds of things they bought. Keith Koffler started his about a year ago and I remember he was overwhelmed by the support. So I’m assuming it’s for everything, including their “partners” stores. Which is why I like Amazon, can really find rare items like out of print books or an old Kodak carousel slide projector.🙂

  13. Dora says:

    I’m off to my local parade and memorial ceremony.

    I just wanted to say Happy Veterans’ Day to you all.

  14. Dora says:

    One more thing before I go..

    Senator Ted Cruz Did Support TPA – and Secretary Kerry asked China To Join TPP a Week ago…

    • DeniseVB says:

      To tell you the truth, I don’t even think Obama and Hillary understands all this wonky stuff, just a hunch based on the country circling the drain. 😉 Have fun at the parade!

    • Somebody says:

      I saw that on another site Dora, so Trump wasn’t wrong. Apparently somehow China was looking to use TPP as a “back door”, which was being discussed so then Kerry invited them to join in or something like that. So basically Paul wasn’t up on things.

      That being said I still stand by my assertion that if Trump is going to criticize it he needs specifics. I agree we’ve been screwed by every other trade deal and it’s fine to say that, but at this point he needs to go into some specifics. He needs to point out specifics in other trade deals and he needs to have a team of his people pour through TPP and find the faults so he can elaborate a little more when asked about it.

      Trump was the only one on the stage that was against TPP, which I found interesting. If any of the others were they didn’t speak up about it and several expressed their support.

      • DeniseVB says:

        I like that Trump is aware of all the Obama admin deals have been botched (with the help of Hillary and Kerry). Dealing with countries individually on trade makes more sense to me than these mega-agreements. Or like Obamacare which seems to be benefiting BigHealth, BigInsurance and BigPharma more than the people.

      • lizzy says:

        The stupid bill is over 5,000 pages long and grants rule making authority to unelected non-US bodies without Congressional oversight. The sheer length of it should be a deal breaker.

    • dm says:

      wasn’t that the key piece to his rant when he stood up in front of everyone and told them McConnell was a liar? He was trying to get something else in play, Mitch told him if you support this (I think originally he didn’t) I will pitch your thing…he went back to his staff after this luncheon in which McConnell reportedly said all this to him of front of the other R senators, and his staff told him he was lying to his face…I may be confused – so many lies, so many deals – but I think this was the background story on his support. And then, of course, old Mitch ditched Cruz’s legislation.

  15. Myiq2xu says:

    This is the student president who claims some guys in a truck yelled the n-word at him.

  16. Myiq2xu says:

    • lyn says:

      Ask me if I care. It’s OK for blacks to do this, but whites can’t?! Grow up, Buttercups. You get what you give.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Videos? Photos? Should be easily documented unless this is happening in their safe space. heh.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I’ve just spent the last half hour scouring the #missou timeline and found nothing proving everybody’s going to die soon. SK is just masterBAITING with stupid stuff like this is the worse racism has been since the 60’s!!!!!!11!!eleventy!!

      I’m convinced no one owns a cell phone on that campus, lots of “reports” of bad people scaring them, not one photo or video ?

      This made me chuckle. I wanted so badly to tell her “Obama doesn’t care about you!”

      • lyn says:

        Priceless and clueless.

      • Somebody says:

        The National Guard’s…..ugh, and she’s a college student?

        These students at mizzou are off the chain, honestly their parents or somebody needs to bitch slap them into reality. Enough already, STFU, what a bunch of whining babies.

        They don’t know shit about oppression, they don’t know shit about racism. Have they ever been told to ride in the back of the bus, refused service at a restaurant or hotel, had fire hoses turned on them??? I think not, somebody hurt their fee fees, guess what? That’s going to happen a lot in adult life grow the fuck up. We’ve all been called names and some of us racial epithets, but we didn’t turn into shrinking violets. I wish, wish, wish an adult with a spine would enter the scene, enough.

  17. Jadzia says:

    Although the 40th anniversary of the wreck was yesterday (hard to believe it’s that long ago), the Veterans’ Day connection is that the watchman on the Edmund Fitzgerald, Ransom Cundy, fought at the Battle of Iwo Jima. What a story.

  18. helenk3 says:

    since I have extended family in the Royal Navy

  19. DeniseVB says:

    Anyone hear on Rush today that this whole Missou thing started over cancelling Obamacare to cover grad students and Butler blamed racism ? Couldn’t get enough attention then started making stuff up ? Heard this on my walkies this afternoon, going to go look for confirmation.

    • Somebody says:

      I read something about insurance for students. They were pissed because the university was still going to cover foreign students. I’m not sure of the exact decisions, but somewhere, someone knows exactly what happened as far as insurance.

      It is my understanding that is what started a lot of this crap and also why they sought to force the University President to resign. They were close in placing blame, they just went after the wrong President.

  20. Myiq2xu says:

    • lizzy says:

      Wow, a whole 20 minutes! That’s huuuuuge. It’s almost as debilitating as a 7 day hunger strike! That poor boy must have required month’s of Obamacare hospitalization to recover.

    • gumsnapper says:

      I think he meant they are “lying” as in lying down in silence, not “laying” which has a different meaning. Which reminds me of that Dorothy Parker joke–“If all those sweet young things were laid end to end, I wouldn’t be a bit suprised.”

  21. Myiq2xu says:

    • lizzy says:

      I know! They restricted access to the tents so journalists couldn’t see hunger strikers pigging out on Big Macs. Blow their credibility away. Biggest bunch of cons I’ve seen since Obama’s election.

  22. DeniseVB says:

    This just made me go awwwww, especially after a day of looking at whiny, sad student faces at Missou, I found a happy student🙂

  23. DeniseVB says:

    Oh FFS, I found the Jonathan Buttercup’s timeline on …. ESPN ?

    Only place I saw where the “health benefits cut” mentioned. So what? Butler’s rich and as long as he’s a full time student, he still qualifies under his parents’ policy, and did I mention, he’s rich? Did mumsie and popsie cut him off ?

  24. Underwhelmed says:

    Damn all those white veterans, dying to stop the Nazis and stuff. How dare they be privileged while dying?

  25. Myiq2xu says:

    The inmates have taken over the asylum.

    • helenk3 says:

      wouldn’t be great if all the teachers walked out.

      • leslie says:

        I think I said this very thing yesterday. The faculty and staff should all walk and leave all those “students” in their safe spaces forever. Without grades or degrees. and without job prospects or the prospect of admission to other schools these little snowflakes can find out just how special they are. .

        • dm says:

          My daughter attended Temple University in Philadelphia…my idea of a “safe space” for her (and her definition too) was a cop on every corner…she was 9 blocks from campus for 1 of those years. Needless to say, I armed her with everything I possibly could and prayed a lot…maybe that’s what these kids need to ensure their “safe spaces” – more prayer.

          • helenk3 says:

            When I first got married we lived up the street from Temple at Broad and Lycoming. The house was built before the subway was put in. Our apt was furnished with a maroon and grey striped couch and rug with gold and black squares. the house was tilted from the digging of the subway. Our apt was on the first floor over a bar. Gypies moved in across the street and told fortunes. One night some of the girls and I went to have our fortunes told. We had to give donations to their church. Later on I watched them go to the bar downstairs. For a long time i called the bartender “Father Fritz”. A lot of good memories there

          • Myiq2xu says:

            Many urban colleges and universities have an informal understanding with local law enforcement to create a buffer zone between the campus and the mean streets. Crooks and thugs learn to stay out of the zone where the cops patrol heavily and civil rights are frequently violated. When crimes are committed in the zone everybody gets their panties in a wad and the cops round up the usual suspects. When students venture outside the zone they are basically fair game. The media plays along.

            The same rules apply between upscale neighborhoods and the ghettos and barrios. In NYC 110th street is the dividing line between Harlem and Central Park West.

          • leslie says:

            I hope she’s safely and happily and successfully out of there now.

          • mothy67 says:

            I lived on campus for one year(Temple Towers). Lots of campus police.

  26. Dora says:

  27. cynic says:

    DeRay will be attending the ‘We Are Not Afraid’ March tonight at Mizzou. I see he’s taken over Al & Jessie’s jobs.

    • DeniseVB says:

      DeRay and Shaun King are a pox on the serious issues of our time, like Starbucks’ solid red cups pissing off the ” holy right”. I see no difference in the stupid stuff😉

      Oh, I was kinda hoping “The Rent’s Too Damn High” party taking over for Jessie and Al. Unfortunately, he was evicted from his NYC apt recently😦 <— :sad trombone: 😉

  28. helenk3 says:

    If Missouri is supposed to be such a great school for journalism, I can see why journalism is so FUed today

  29. gumsnapper says:

    For Veteran’s Day:

  30. helenk3 says:

    Federal judge orders state dept to hand over more E-Mails by Dec 1st. including aides e-mails

    this should get interesting

  31. DeniseVB says:

    Remember the Barrycades, when he shut down the National Memorals. I do.

  32. Dora says:

    Scientific Poll finds Trump won the debate, especially among Republican primary voters:

Comments are closed.