This Is Probably Not The Stupidest Thing You Will Read Today


But it’s close.

John Cole is not the only intellectual giant at Buffoon Juice:

The recent anti-racist protests at Yale seem to be getting less general media traction than the ones at the University of Missouri — depending on your vector, because nobody outside a few deluded alumni cares about Yale’s football team, or because the Mizzou students could point out actual threats against their physical well being (however incompetent the threateners). The East Coast bias of our “important” media, however, ensured that the Eli grievances would not be overlooked. (A tweet I can’t find joked that coverage of the Yale protests gave more than one reporter a chance to humble-brag about their own Ivy-League connections.)

Back in the early 1970s, I was acquainted with some feminists from the first wave of women permitted to enroll at Yale. My Yale acquaintances were very outraged that they could not consider their university a safe space, but in that less enlightened era they got little sympathy for what was media-branded as “much ado about nothing” — ugly graffiti in the dorms, vulgar chants by fraternity gangs, an icy absence of understanding from the university administrators and professors authorized to bring the vandals to order.

From what I gathered, I got the impression that these were very smart and extremely engaged individuals who’d dedicated their whole conscious lives to working hard enough that they’d finally be granted the freedom of an intellectual nirvana where petty concerns of gender would no longer be the defining structure of their daily lives. But that admission proved to be grudging, and the continued barriers to equality gleefully flaunted by those on the powerful side of the power divide. One quote I remember being passed around like a relic or a totem: “You can force us to give you a seat at our table, but you can’t force us to explain our jokes.”

My feminist friends knew, all too personally, that worse things had happened. But these terrible things were happening to them, right now.

Our social media, such as it was, consisted of mimeographed fanzines and newsletters, ‘alternative’ campus papers, word of mouth. I went to a big state university; our most public battle over “safe spaces” involved a largish anteroom to the women’s restrooms in the union building, outfitted with some couches and a few study tables and known as the Women’s Lounge, which some prototype Mens Rights Activists decided was a gross violation against EQUALITY, MAN! For some weeks, one couldn’t pass through it without stumbling over one or a couple of unprepossessing men “reclaiming” the space, uneasy under the death glare of a group of female separatists who looked more than capable of ejecting them if necessary.

From what I gather now, on our much more copious and swift-moving news/opinion sources, some things haven’t changed all that much in the ensuing forty years. Which is why I would like to highlight a very smart piece from Professor Daniel Drezner, in the Washington Post, on “the trouble with 21st century campus politics“:

… The problem is that for those of us not at Yale, it is all too easy for the most absurd, theatrical and controversial elements of this dispute to blow up on our social media, and to have those aspects of the incident frame how we perceive the current state of play. The larger context does not mean that outside observers should say that students have every right to scream at administrators. Nor does it mean that free speech issues shouldn’t be of paramount concern on college campuses. But it is just too easy to take the most extreme incidents, caricature them even further and then conclude that today’s college students “just don’t get it” — when, in point of fact, there is probably a lot more that external observers aren’t getting.

An additional problem that affects the current generation of college students even more is that it is so easy for these contretemps to balloon so quickly into national debates. That’s extremely unfortunate. One of the purposes of college is to articulate stupid arguments in stupid ways and then learn, through interactions with fellow students and professors, exactly how stupid they are. Anyone who thinks that the current generation of college students is uniquely stupid is either an amnesiac or willfully ignorant. As a professor with 20 years of experience, I can assure you that college students have been saying stupid things since the invention of college students.

The difference today is that because of social media, it is easy for college students to have their opinions go viral when that was not the original intent. As Rossler noted in his Facebook post, “I recognize that we published the article with only a Yale audience in mind and that many readers outside of Yale took issue with the article’s perspective.” If you are older than 22 and reading this, imagine for a second how you would feel if professional pundits pored over your undergraduate musings in real time.…

I don’t think that today’s college students are uniquely stupid. but once upon a time college was supposed to cure ignorance, not encourage it. As for the women who were first admitted to Yale, they were seeking admission, not special treatment. And that was nearly half a century ago.

I am not saying that racism and sexism don’t exist. But a few isolated and trivial incidents is no excuse for collective hysteria and butthurt. Nor is it evidence of systemic oppression.

Toughen up, buttercups.


About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

96 Responses to This Is Probably Not The Stupidest Thing You Will Read Today

  1. Myiq2xu says:

    FYI: I’m sick. I am on day 3 of a cold. It seems to be getting worse.

    • leslie says:

      So sorry about your cold. you’re going to have to take more vitamin C and D and even B
      Drink lots of chicken soup – if you have a place nearby that you can pick up some – do so. [There is a wonderful Chinese take-out place near me that has the BEST chicken soup (since my Jewish grandmother) and it always helps me. I wish it were closer.]

      Ever since the school year began, I’ve been getting every virus my g-babies have been housing. Just when I get over a cold that lasts 10 – 14 days, I get another virus that lays me low and also prohibits me from getting flu and pneumonia shots that I should have received by now. I’m going to try to get my flu shot this afternoon.

    • votermom says:

      Vicks vaporub and hot chicken broth with ginger root in it (just a bit).
      Feel better Klown!

    • cynic says:

      I noticed you weren’t posting much. Feel better soon, and I agree with everyone. Chicken soup is the best. Lots of fluids and rest is what the blogging family is ordering.

      • Myiq2xu says:

        Campbell’s make the very best.

        • mothy67 says:

          Really high sodium. f you are on bp meds be alert.

        • DeniseVB says:

          A favorite here is the Old Fashion Lipton Noodle Soup packets, since the ’50’s better than penicillin😉

          • mothy67 says:

            You be old school. So domestic. You need a measuring, cup, water, have to stir. Labor intensive. I can’t even be bothered with a can opener. Must be pull tab and microwavable. I am the proud owner of a can of Spam from my great aunt Rita. She was a better dead than red. When she died her kids lived in other states so my cousins and I cleaned out the house. Arguments over dumb stuff like who got the TV. I only wanted the can of Spam from her “bomb” shelter. That was 1982. Not sure how old it is but it has a key to open.
            I laughed lovingly as a kid at her paranoia but I have water, food and bourbon put away. It’s the kid. I pick up things I will never eat like can’s of pork n beans. So far I have not gone full Aunt Rita. Although if Justice(girl’store) had a kevlar outfit I’d be tempted.
            Do not mean to make light of Paris. It is impossible to comprehend. I feel sad but the anger and fear are just as strong. Fear does not equal cowardice.

    • Underwhelmed says:

      Lots of garlic. I’m sure the kitties won’t mind.

    • NewOrleans says:

      100-proof peppermint schnapps.

      Will knock out whatever lingering cold you have. And you’ll be all minty. Win win.

    • helenk3 says:

      Sorry you do not feel good. Hope you get better soon. How much chicken soup do you have on hand? It does work

  2. Myiq2xu says:

    John Hawkins:

    An Open Letter To All The Fragile College Students In Their Safe Spaces


    How are you doing in your cute little safe spaces? Who’s an adorable college student? You are! That’s right! Look how big you’re all getting! You’re all doing really well, too! You’re all so smart and strong!

    Wait, is that a little too patronizing? You don’t like being talked to like you’re five years old?

    Then maybe you should stop acting like little children throwing a tantrum!

    Nobody wants to hear a college student from freaking YALE complain about how tough and racist it is at college.

    Newsflash, you pampered little asshats! It doesn’t matter what color you are: if you’re going to college in America, you’re one of the most privileged, least discriminated-against people on Planet Earth.

    I can’t even tell you how pathetic it is to hear pampered kids TWEET about racism like it’s the 1940s because of First World Problems most people don’t even consider a mild inconvenience. Want to see what I’m talking about? Here are some actual tweets from a #BlackOnCampus hashtag on Twitter talking about how bad black students have it.

    Being #BlackOnCampus =being afraid to answer questions in class for fear of being wrong/seen as “stupid” in front of white peers. — Ericka

    Black students being a population of 7% on a campus of 35,000+ #BlackOnCampus — JB

    #BlackOnCampus feeling the need to tone down my emotions- including anger- because of the fear of being seen as “ratchet” or “ghetto” — afroamericano sunnyd

    #BlackOnCampus “Oh, you straightened your hair. It looks good, you should do that every day” — Khayla Harris

    Wow, the struggle is real!

    If only civil rights activists in the past who had dogs sicced on them by Democrat police chiefs or who had to worry about being lynched by Democrat KKK members had to face challenges like this, who knows how everything would have turned out?

    Then there are the poor students at the University of Missouri who’ve been going out of their minds over some trivial incidents, half of which may or may not have been hoaxes. The most entertaining one was a “poop swastika.” I don’t even want to know what type of moron would actually make a swastika on a wall with his own feces, but it would serve him right if he didn’t wear gloves.


    Oooh, sorry, are you trembling in the corner of your safe space now? Is this too much “whitesplaining” for you? Wait — or is it “mansplaining?” Instead of writing this column, should I be listening to the wisdom of our special snowflakes in colleges all over America?

    That would be a great idea if YOU KNEW ANYTHING. The majority of college students know almost nothing about life while thinking they know everything and they’re extremely self-righteous about it. I know that because I was in college and I was like you guys. Well, not the people out there protesting. I was a lot smarter than you guys. You guys are pretty ignorant actually, even for college students who are, by definition, still being educated.

    It may not seem like it, but I’m trying to help you right now by telling you how ridiculous you sound. I wish I could just politely point that out, but all the fragile students out there need some tough love if they don’t want to waste years learning this the hard way once they get out of college.

    With that in mind, I run a small business and this may trigger you, but I wouldn’t even consider hiring someone who talks about “trigger” warnings non-ironically. You want to talk about micro-aggressions? Real micro-aggressions are part of daily life. Someone is rude to you, your boss is a jerk, someone flips you off in traffic, somebody doesn’t like you for no good reason, a cop gives you a ticket you don’t think you deserve, something on TV or in the paper offends you – this is just life and when it happens, you don’t call a counselor, you don’t have a breakdown, you just deal with it. That’s the real world outside of a “safe space.”

    So abandon your safe spaces, stop demanding that people only tell you what you want to hear and listen to people other than your “we teach because we can’t do” left-wing professors. Push yourself. Test your limits. Try and fail. Read some history books written by people other than Noam Chomsky and Howard Zinn. Try to actually be open-minded rather than just adopting whatever ideas you’ve been told open-minded people hold. Listen to some people you don’t agree with, try to grasp their point of view and ask yourself if they may be right. It may be more uncomfortable, but it will also make you grow as a human being and I don’t care who you are, if you’re in college, you need to do that DESPERATELY.

    At the end of the day, boys and girls need to be protected with safe spaces. Men and women don’t. So, which do you want to be?

    • Myiq2xu says:

      One of the best pieces of advice I ever got came from my platoon sgt in Germany:

      “Shut the fuck up! Nobody wants to hear your whiny bullshit.”

      • DeniseVB says:

        I don’t think they’re allowed to talk to you like that anymore. Because feelings😉

      • lyn says:

        I think all this crap from college students and BLM people is because Obama will be out of office next year. They are beside themselves and suck everyone else into their tantrums.

      • NewOrleans says:

        “Shut the fuck up! Nobody wants to hear your whiny bullshit.”

        LOL. If Trump ever decides to stop using ‘Make America Great Again,’ I’m all for that one!

  3. mothy67 says:

    Pray tell what is an intellectual nirvana

    “they’d finally be granted the freedom of an intellectual nirvana where petty concerns of gender would no longer be the defining structure of their daily lives”

  4. leslie says:

    In case you missed it, I brought this up from the last thread:
    “Twitter is teaming up with CBS News for Saturday’s Democratic primary debate in Iowa, marking its first official presence in a presidential debate.

    It will work like this: CBS News producers, equipped with Twitter’s curation tools, will whittle down the millions of tweets about the debate and select some for use on the broadcast. The official hashtag will be #DemDebate. CBS will also be able to formulate questions for the three candidates, Hillary Clinton, Bernie Sanders and Martin O’Malley, based on real-time Twitter conversations and data, with an eye to bringing to the debate stage the issues viewers are most interested in.”


    • DandyTIger says:

      Something tells me they will have to work overtime to filter out the zillions of tweets making fun, or asking actual hard questions.

    • 1539days says:

      It will REALLY work like this:

      Media decides what fawning questions to ask, then searches for those questions on Twitter.

    • Ann says:

      My guess is it will all be scheduled – like a twitter party. The stream will look like a strobe, and there will be no possibility of reading any tweets. So, questions will be scheduled and “found”. I used to host twitter parties (all scheduled questions) that would get a reach of 10 million in an hour. This will be that times 100 – a complete blur.

      • leslie says:

        That makes sense. I understand Sanders’ people are unhappy with the “modifications” to tonight’s debate.
        I think I’ll watch some movie that I can request “on demand” or through Amazon/Netflix. Last night was too much for me. I’m certain if there is anything of consequence, I’ll find out about it at some point this weekend.

        • mothy67 says:

          I need to see her fake sympathy. I want to hear kumbaya from these asshats. I wajt her to defend more gut says her responses will be an insult to everyone with an IQ over 10.;

  5. DandyTIger says:

    Let’s make it official, this current college generation is the WATB-Generation.

  6. mothy67 says:

    Train derailment in France 7 dead.

  7. 1539days says:

    Hillbots have been pretty quiet on the attacks. Don’t want to deal with the fact the world went to hell under the State Department’s watch.

  8. Myiq2xu says:

    I almost forgetted: Thank you all for the prayers and best wishes for my sister. The procedure revealed no blockages and she came home last night.

  9. mothy67 says:

    What scared me about Ferguson and Baltimore was that it gave a blue print on how to disable an American city. Stir up some faux outrage. Go undetected then release hell.

    • DeniseVB says:

      What scared me more about Ferguson and Baltimore was the “Let It Burn” mentality of the city leaderships. There were many innocent victims of those orders, kinda like terrorism.

  10. DeniseVB says:

    When you’ve lost Mediaite ….

    • cynic says:

      Where did that picture of Debbie come from? The mouth is the only thing I recognize.
      (Sorry, sometimes my nastiness comes out. Good thing church is tonight. I’ll be praying hard for forgiveness.)

  11. DeniseVB says:

    “Toughen up, buttercups” reminded me of this from Three Amigos😀

  12. mothy67 says:

    Watched the stream of The Donald. I was impressed by how he handled Paris attacks. He could have gone off. He acknowledged but didn’t make a manipulative speech.
    I am afraid not for me,I am pushing 50, but for my pup and everyone’s kids. I worry about mall shopping near Christmas. Drones?
    Does the far left hate it’s parents that much that they are so blind to the threat. I do fear what is coming our way.

  13. Dora says:

    CBS reportedly refocused tonight’s Democratic debate on terror, security

    CBS News reportedly reworked the format of its Saturday night Democratic debate agenda to focus more on terrorism, national security and foreign policy, in the hours following the deadly terror attacks in Paris.

  14. leslie says:

    I just saw this on twitter and thought it might help today.

  15. swanspirit says:

    The stupids at Buffoon Juice deserve each other. Some of them are reprehensible. They don’t call them vile progs for nothing. One of the commenters on a thread about the terrorist attack in Paris wasted no time indirectly blaming the JOOOS , of course. And he was not challenged on that by any other commenter, or blogger there. Fuck em all.

  16. helenk3 says:

    does anyone remember telling your kid go sit in the corner and be quiet after they did something wrong? That used to be considered punishment. It kept the kid from doing something wanted to do and they did not get any attention. Now it is called going to a “safe” place and everyone has to keep quiet.. To my that sounds like making your own prison cell.

  17. Dora says:

    Geraldo Rivera admits Trump is right. Terror attacks in Paris.

    • swanspirit says:

      Because his daughter was there in the stadium at the soccer game !!! Some people cannot put themselves in another’s place, until they actually find themselves there.
      He interviewed her on air. I thought it was absolutely raw footage of how that attack personally affects people. It was one of the few times I have ever had some sympathy for Geraldo. Especially when he asked her if she wanted to come home, and she was almost in tears, and said she couldn’t because the borders were closed ; and he said he would fly over and get her as soon as he could .

      • leslie says:

        I saw that,too. It was touching. I felt a bit uncomfortable toward the end of that interview so I turned away to see other stations’ coverage. Here’s a follow up in case you didn’t see it. Geraldo DID go to Paris – or at least I think he did. This morning on Fox and Friends or some show like that, Geraldo and his daughter were seated on the sofa. He looked so small. Vulnerable. Scared. He reached for his daughters had during the segment, and the both looked like it had been days since either had slept. I felt like I was intruding on a very intimate moment.

  18. helenk3 says:

    any iota of respect i had for the college kids at these colleges was destroyed when they whined that they did not get the attention they wanted due to the Paris attacks. There is really something wrong with their moral compasses. I do not know if it can be fixed.

    • lyn says:

      Talk about self-centered little creeps. They have no morality or human decency. Their parents should be proud.

      • leslie says:

        Love your new gravatar!!!

      • leslie says:

        I would hope their parents are mortified. But these “kids” keep getting support from faculty members who must be scared shitless of losing their academic appointments or tenure or simply a paycheck. Because there is NO WAY these children of the porn should be getting anything except suspended.

        • mothy67 says:

          Children of the porn. Funny.

        • They are scared. There’s your average Marxist prof, and there are plenty of them, because isolation breeds dysfunction. But there are lots of regular faculty who are also scared. Tenured ranks have shrunk bigtime in the last 50 years, and adjunct ranks have grown in an equally startling amount. Meanwhile, tuition increases have gone almost to a dime to the swelling ranks of college administrators. And all they do is make sure that Deans are happy and students are duped enough that they don’t catch on to the game. That’s their whole job.

          What you’re seeing these days is faculty waging a trojan war against Republican governors and their corporate appointments to state colleges, who are seeking to trim costs and bring business sense to the bloated collegiate budgets. The wooden horse is built of privileged “marginalized” populations who buy the story of their own victimization. I’d like to see these fools on any inner city street without a protest and Democratic minders. Just a regular day. Would make for great reality TV.

      • votermom says:

        Me too – love the new gravatar!

    • Underwhelmed says:

      What moral compasses?

  19. Dora says:

    The debate might be a little more exciting than expected. 🙂

    Sanders aide pushes back against CBS switch to foreign policy focus for debate

    • 1539days says:

      I don’t know why he’s so worried. All the Democrats have a terrible position except for Webb who talked about killing an enemy soldier and I think he dropped out.

  20. DeniseVB says:

    Still looking for the Dem Debate link for tonight and I still don’t know what channel it’s on.🙂 ..Be back soon….I may start a new thread, may not.

  21. mothy67 says:

    What does SAS mean. I binged it but just got some computer thingy. Drudge has pics of several papers referrencing SAS.

  22. Missed this yesterday. Mizzou’s coach resigns due to “health reasons.” Game with BYU about to start. Will be the hottest game this season so far. #FuckMizzou

      • leslie says:

        Thank goodness I don’t have the cable channel that carries that game.
        On another note (no pun intended):
        The Metropolitan Opera began their afternoon performance with La Marseillaise.
        Oddly enough, there was a night of French music at Symphony Center in Chicago last night. There are tributes at the French consulate on Michigan Avenue this evening and tomorrow afternoon.

  23. Dora says:

    Amazing about Trump support among democrats. Sanders is doing good in Iowa too. Poor Hillary.

  24. swanspirit says:

    Well Klown, how right you are, his is by far not the stupidest thing I have heard today; or did you post with this title anticipating that some of us (me) might tune into the Democratic side show they are calling a debate? OMGODDESS they are a giant tsunami of stupid.

  25. mothy67 says:

    Well I watched it.
    My take
    O’Malley and Rubio are the same person.(diction, ears, and I think I’ma hunk)
    Hillary do not recognize from 2008.
    Sander’s I refuse to believe actually exists. I firmly believe someone drew him.
    Middle class, middle class, free college
    Over all I moved a bit closer to Camp Trump. Down to Donald and Cruz.

  26. mothy67 says:

    I don’t believe in paranormal stuff, but one Christmas Day i was in a dive bar by myself. Very handsome man with a southern accent hit on me. I had my own Chritmas tradition– due to my job I could not go home. I went every year to Rudy’s on nineth. Dive bar. I for ten years left the bartender a 100 bill. This guy kept hitting on me. Rudy’s was not a gay bar. A dive. Something set me off about this guy. He threw his cigarette in my beer than dumped a pitcher on my head and said I deserved to be a lonely faggot. He was very good looking. I just got creeps. It was his voice. Two days later walking to work signs hanging in windows his picture. Wanted. Seems he beat up lots of people and contributed to a death. No idea if contributing to a death is even a real thing. I know he beat up and robbed a lot of people. My gut saved my life. Rubio creeps me out. I feel unsettled when he speaks. Like he is massaging you. He sets off all my instincts. I think he is gross. He and O’malley are so vain. They think they are hot. Boys not men.

Comments are closed.