Sunday Funday Thread

Maybe the world’s falling apart, maybe it’s not. Either way is a reason to enjoy today.

So, what are you guys reading, watching, or inhaling lately? I just started on Trump’s book. Hubby marathoned through the entire 5 seasons of The Walking Dead and is ready for tonight’s episode. My blog has a new header because the kid said the last one had to go (she’s so bossy)*. We watched Inside Out, she liked it.

Things I am not ready for: Thanksgiving. Christmas. Elections. I’m burned out politically.

I want to do a really easy Thanksgiving this year. Bossy kid has a suggested menu: Ham, mac & cheese, and three different potato dishes. No dessert, she just wants potatoes. Are you guys doing a turkey this year?

That’s it. Have a lazy, relaxing Sunday!

*Speaking of my blog, I just found out that I get a reward from Amazon if anyone downloads the free kindle app off my link below. It’s pretty useful, there’s a bunch of free classic kindle books you can read on your phone and computer with it. Thanks for your support! – Read eBooks using the FREE Kindle Reading App on Most Devices

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

141 Responses to Sunday Funday Thread

  1. Myiq2xu says:

    Ronda Rousey is no longer undefeated.

  2. Myiq2xu says:

    Starbucks is evil.

  3. DeniseVB says:

    ‘morning VM ! Yes to the turkey, gravy, sausage stuffing, marshmallow sweet potatoes, cheesy broccoli with real butter soaked bread crumb topping, lots of cans of cranberries …. it’s our tradition never to have guests, it’s all about the leftovers baby !

    Scanning the newsies this morning …. Sarah Palin’s launching a new book in NYC this week and stopped by St.Patrick’s Cathedral to light a candle for Paris.

    And this cracked me up:

    • votermom says:

      That sounds yunmy! I think mebbe I am just goin over to your house for TG!

      • DeniseVB says:

        Nope, leftovers need to last 3 days😛

        • votermom says:


          • Somebody says:

            If you were closer you could come here VM. Try as I might to avoid it, I’ll have a house full. I try to play chicken with my siblings, but honestly nobody likes their cooking so I get the pouty faces and the pleeeeeeease. In fact everyone has been hot to trot to visit me and I’ve been avoiding them because I know it’s all about TG. Today is the day they lower the boom on me, my mom and my oldest sister (the enforcer) are coming to visit. I’ll get the guilt trips and everything else, but it’s OK I’ve resolved myself that it will be thus.

            I have to cook enough to feed a 3rd world country because everybody wants just this one dish. I’ll be making turkey, two kinds of gravy, ham, sausage stuffing, dressing which is different than stuffing, mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes with marshmallows, candied yams (a different stove top version of sweet potatoes), same broccoli with cheese, green bean casserole, baby lima beans, asparagus with hollandaise, fresh creamed corn, carrot soufflé, congealed salad, ambrosia and two kinds of cranberry sauce… with orange juice and cinnamon one without. Oh and home-made from scratch rolls cut in the shape of turkeys…..GOT to have turkey shaped rolls or everybody pouts.

            Desserts will include pumpkin pie, butterscotch pies, pecan pie, pumpkin chocolate chip cake and most like a damn pumpkin cheesecake for my mom the diabetic and only one tiny sliver will be eaten. BTW the ham, the baby lima beans and the pecan pie I make for a dead man. Those were my father’s favorites, he’s passed away 10 years ago. He and my mother were divorced 20 years before he died, but still she insists I must make these items. Most everyone will eat the baby limas, but nobody really touches the ham and maybe my son will have a piece of pecan pie. Hubby always takes those to work and the guys gobble it up. If I don’t make those items my mom has a cow, so it’s just not worth it.

            What I would really like is to sneak away. We left town last year and OMG the whining and bitching. I’m kind of a captive audience this year due to being a full time babysitter for my grandbabies and part of the reason I just don’t want to cook and host a big ass meal. I’ve tried to get them to bring stuff never works, they might bring the ingredients if I’m lucky. Oh well holidays only come once a year and I’ll survive, that’s why they make alcohol, LMAO!!

          • Myiq2xu says:

            Just make up a bunch of Swanson Hungry Man turkey and gravy tv dinners.

          • votermom says:

            Wow Somebody that is a lot of cooking! Do the siblings bring food at least?

          • Somebody says:

            No my siblings don’t bring food. I’ve tried to get them to bring stuff and it never happens. I asked my sister to make a green bean casserole once and she showed up with the ingredients in a grocery bag and handed it to me when she walked in the door 10 minutes before I was about to serve my meal.

            The one thing my siblings will do is bring booze. Mostly because they’re snobs about wine and liquor. Only top shelf and I hide my top shelf stuff when they come around because they drink too much. I can’t say much, I drink a lot at family gatherings too. My family puts the fun in dysfunctional, you have no idea.

          • Somebody says:

            BTW I’m so sure they’re all coming I already bought a 25 pound turkey. If they don’t come I’ll be making turkey everything and freezing it, LOL!

          • DeniseVB says:

            We’re armed and dangerous around Turkey😛

          • DandyTIger says:

            {{snort}} Let the turkey wars begin.🙂

  4. Dora says:

    I love James Woods. I read his tweets all the time. 🙂

    This is not so funny. More grief from obama. I know we are not always happy with our news sources, but at least they are American. Obama seems to be selling them off to foreigners! Yikes!

  5. DeniseVB says:

    westcoaster posted this link on Sarah in the debate thread downstairs, great photos !

    • Dora says:

      They are great photos. Sarah looks beautiful. But then, I’ve never seen her looking anything other than beautiful. 🙂


  6. Dora says:

    Mr. Levin is angry. We all should be!

    Mark Levin – Obama’s National US Insanity, Suicide – Neutered, Weakend By Design – Paris Attacks Coming Here

  7. elliesmom says:

    We’re going to a friend’s house for Thanksgiving this year. She’s delighted to have a houseful. She has to let me bring the ham that’s in my freezer because a) I don’t want to have to move it and b) Elliesdad doesn’t do turkey. I should probably make a pie while I still can. She invites us every year, but we always decline. She’s a fabulous cook and a great hostess, but we’re like Denise. We usually prefer a quiet holiday. This year her invitation is very welcome.

  8. Dora says:

    I despise this man. 😦

    The war on white America….Barack Obama’s assault on the coal industry and both political parties efforts to off shore our industrial base, America has lost millions of good paying jobs.

    Right now more than 40 percent of the population is living in poverty in some areas of eastern Kentucky.

  9. DeniseVB says:

    Love Tammy !

  10. Dora says:

    This is mean. I’m starting to feel sorry for the doctor.

    “SNL” just destroyed Ben Carson: Jay Pharoah’s epic send-up of Carson’s exaggerated life story

  11. Myiq2xu says:

    • lyn says:

      Good debate …

    • 1539days says:

      At least they appear to be willing to die for their principles of not doing anything.

    • swanspirit says:

      You can’t trust Haaretz, they are the Israeli version of MSNBC. I just watched Anderson Cooper covering that neighborhood, and talking to some residents, and plenty of them are extremely angry at the attackers.

    • 49erDweet says:

      Nothing attributed to Parisians in that article changes my general opinion of the French. Adult teenagers. Feewlings more important than facts. “Logic” being a foreign (and mistrusted) concept. Love ’em, just don’t rely on ’em very much.

      • Jadzia says:

        That sounds nothing like the French people I know. French teachers in particular (the group I know the best, as a mom and as somebody who works in the educational system here) are not known for their tender consideration of people’s feelings (or for being that demonstrative about their own).

  12. Myiq2xu says:

  13. Myiq2xu says:

  14. DeniseVB says:

    This made me laugh. Really, Obama telling Putin what to do? Bet that made Pootie laugh too😉

  15. My husband always threatens to make duck on Thanksgiving, but he’s off the hook one more time this year, because nursing school. Little mfer.

    I’m on call this Thanksgiving, so I’m throwing a turkey breast in the crockpot and hoping I have time to put some stuffing together. If so, we’ll do canned green beans and crescent rolls. I always like to add a touch of irony to my cooking.

    It’s just us three this year since I’m on call and can’t be more than an hour away from the city. I’m fine with that. My family is kind of jacked this year anyway. We’ll see them at Christmas.

    • 1539days says:

      Thanksgiving dinner makes me sad because of how few people there would be for it now.

      • Jadzia says:

        True story over here. It’s going to be a good one nonetheless. I met a dual-citizen mom (she’s actually French, but has American citizenship through one of her parents) at my kids’ dance class and she invited us for Thanksgiving. They’re another “famille nombreuse” (4 kids), so they know what they’re getting into inviting us. I am so, so, so grateful. All the years we lived in America, we would invite our single friends, people who had noplace else to go, etc., every year for Thanksgiving. We called it “orphan Thanksgiving.” Now we’re the charity case!

    • DeniseVB says:

      After living on a lake for 35 years, ducks are family, I could never eat one. Thank goodness I don’t live on a cattle ranch or BACON farm, huh😉

  16. Myiq2xu says:

    They finished the new roof yesterday. It’s raining today.

    I binge-watched season 1 of True Detective. If you haven’t seen it you should because it is awesome.

  17. Myiq2xu says:

  18. DeniseVB says:

    I’m calling bullsh*t on the U.S.Embassy in Paris response to refusing to shelter Americans during the attacks on Friday. Or they’re f**king racists.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Meet our French Ambassador, Obama bundler who gave him California. Nice thank you, doncha’ think…..

      In the AJC article above, I thought the embassy was located in a strip mall or something. There’s a photo of it in the article, it’s yuuuge!

      • Jadzia says:

        The embassy in Paris has been totally locked down for years. It’s airport-style security, which I guess I understand. But what would really piss me off if I lived around there is that they block off all the streets AROUND the embassy, and this seems to be an everyday thing. Also, if you have a computer, they make you leave it at a local bar a couple of blocks away. The whole is very “Fortress America” and the computer thing very much seems like “Screw the French people, we don’t care if THEY get blown up!” Which seems like a not very “diplomatic” message.

        Also, they are completely incompetent. The only thing they seem to be VERY good at is fulfilling their mission of refusing to assist American citizens in France. They’re great at that. I love America, but if I never have to deal with that embassy again it’ll be too soon.

  19. votermom says:

    This is me.
    I just followed most of you guys (if I missed you, follow & I’ll follow back)

  20. Dora says:

    ANN COULTER says, “The Muslim terrorist attack in Paris has just elected Donald Trump president”

    Best-selling author Ann Coulter has the guts to say what none in the media and few politicians would ever dare to say, but what anyone with half a brain has got to be thinking today:

    • DeniseVB says:

      Ann has certainly been a loyal soldier for Trump, he’s lucky to have her on his team. Wouldn’t she make an amazing Press Secretary😉

    • leslie says:

      I watched some Sunday talk show (maybe on Fox) There was a discussion of AC’s statement and then they said “How can you argue with people who respond with ‘Look what the people in charge for the last 20 years have done to this country’?”
      Even on the talk shows ppl seem to be aware of the mess TPTB have created and aren’t as harsh today about Trump – even as they oppose the possibility

  21. swanspirit says:

    I thought I was going to be by myself for Thanksgiving, so for the first time, I ordered a tiny 10lb turkey from a local farm , because there was no way I was going without my turkey (and leftovers<3 ) and sausage and oyster stuffing.

    Yesterday my daughter told me that she and the kids are probably coming down, so I am excited, and I have to think about more side dishes! Whipped potatoes of course, broccoli and cheese, sweet potato bake, green bean casserole, and maybe some creamed cauliflower.
    Have to have pumpkin pie of course, and who knows what else…

  22. lyn says:

    Now we have the I-word.

  23. foxyladi14 says:

    Time to call a Spade a Spade!!! 😦

  24. mothy67 says:

    I wish I could give my brat the Thanksgivings of my youth. Early dinner with my mom’s one legged dad(diabetes) 0ff to grandma’s(she had many ex-husbands my granfather 30 years her senior she was with child so he wed her not his kid– had 6 kids. She went on to marry many times – future husbands always took care of my grandfather. He had a third grade education when his mother died. Quit school to raise his younger siblings I learned a lot changing his stump. I was 7. Gross but he was my Daddy John. I learned a lot at a young age– I was a dying kid and we would drink Dandylion wine. Everyone was afraid I might break with a bad look. He took me berry picking and we got drunk. He was literally a cripple that prevented me from being a spoiled monster. Obviously I did not die) . Then off to Nanny’s his ex my grandmother. All my cousins loud obnoxious really fun. I think around 25 cousins. No pretense. Paper plates. Loud fun. Then off to my dad’s mom. Very cold Catholic. We had proper forks. Egads. To this day I use my salad fork for everything. I do no like heavy fork. I had this wonderful exotic day. Today it is just Turkey and sales.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I grew up in a wild and crazy Catholic Irish-Italian dysfunctional family that included a lot of drunks and screamers. Ahhhh, memories. ❤ Making our own family traditions over the past couple of decades, priceless.

  25. DeniseVB says:

    BOOM !

  26. leslie says:

    I just came over here to share this “headline” on my Comcast “home” page…..

    A photo of Hillary from last night, with this headline ————>

    “Clinton: Sanders Impugned My Integrity”


    • mothy67 says:

      I really hate her. In 2008 I had no idea what ablog was. I worked my ass off for her. I was deluded I felt she had integity. I have zero respect for her. I am angry. Safe room words roll off my tongue. I think she is a monster. Arab spring was scripted. She is a lying ______. Thousands died because her policy was a Hollywood script. Come onbe real if millions of muslims were fighting for democracy. How did these youth facebook and twitter a revolution. Five dollars a day. No way it was orchastrated.

    • elliesmom says:

      She lost her integrity a long time ago, and like her virginity, she can never get it back.

  27. Dora says:

    Wow! Who would have thunk it? Go France!

    French Jets Bomb Syria After Police Launched International Manhunt for ‘Dangerous’ Suspect

  28. mothy67 says:

    I ordered kitchen trash cans via your portal. I wonder if it went through. I have prime and it was 70% off but i had to search fof it. Many pages. I got an alert saying an item on my wish lisr was on sale. I typed in exact description. Had to go through 3 pages to find it. I hate my kitchen trash can. Ugly old dirty. This is hands free. I looked everywhere. Macy’s was 199. Two hundred dollars for a garbage bin. I bought this

    Wonder if you still get paid as I went away from the page I was directed.

  29. swanspirit says:

    Random association : The ISIS suicide bombers had bombs filled with nails. The Weathermen aka Bill Ayers and friends were building bombs filled with nails to blow up American Servicemen.

    Oughton died in the Greenwich Village townhouse explosion in Greenwich Village, New York City, when a nail bomb she was constructing with Terry Robbins, to be used that evening at a dance for noncommissioned officers and their dates at the Fort Dix, New Jersey Army base, to “bring the [Vietnam] war home”, detonated, destroying the building and killing herself, Robbins, and Ted Gold.[4]

  30. DeniseVB says:

    Admin: For your consideration for the Dec cover photo😀

  31. DeniseVB says:

    Early morning post posted to the barn for Open Thread Mon 6am ET launch.

  32. mothy67 says:

    I love love love Nepal. A few years back Catholic Charities started placing all these families in my town. All from Nepal. Nicest people. Uber polite. Some how they all own small businesses. Kids are great but although they speak English well many cannot read or write.
    I live next to a duplex owner has many properties. He freaked out. He owns a lot of row homes(don’t know if they have them elsewhere built by US Steel. Each block was one building with 10 to 15 units. Like townhouses). Well he avoids section 8, but as these units were in a depressed area he agreed. Tenants connected the homes with doorways. Took down walls. He is so angry, but it is,he says, really hard to evict. Says he will never do section 8 again. He only found out brcause the water bills went through the roof. People living everywhere. Tents and trailers in the yard. He has a management company so he asked me they are good about snow and grass. No . I mow my lawn I do both neighbors. Our yards are not that big. Ten minutes to do all three. Snow I do the same thing. So do they. Neighbor doesn’t do his walks at 5 am on his way to work, but he clears off my mom’s car. I later shovel. His management company was billing him. Not once in 9 years has anyone but me or the other side neighbor done any yard work. . He was fuming. His properties are a mess. He lives in Florida so he pays a management company. They have screwed him over. I live about 15 minutes from downtown 20 to Pitt but an hour plus by bus. Very clean small. Pup’s class has less than 100. 17 in her 4th grade homeroom. He was charging 500 for a two bedroom. I said have you no clue what rent is. He could get 1500.

Comments are closed.