My Favorite Fall Tree Open Thread

The Japanese Maple. Good morning Monday !

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

121 Responses to My Favorite Fall Tree Open Thread

  1. votermom says:

    Wow, beautiful tree.

    • leslie says:

      We have one of those (Japanese Maple) in our rear courtyard! It’s only about 5 ft tall – our resident landscape architect (we are truly blessed by his contributions to the building) just had one planted to replace several trees we lost this year. He says it is his “favorite tree in the world.”

      • DeniseVB says:

        We have one (with more vertical limbs) in the front yard. When the sun rises behind her, the color just pops like the one in the photo. I really do want to replace our river birches with more of these gorgeous trees, so many varieties and sizes to choose from. Native to Japan and Korea so they do well in the colder climates. Ours has red leaves in the spring, green in the summer, then she gives us a brilliant fall show. A very entertaining treeπŸ™‚

    • Constance says:

      Amazing tree! Thanks for the photo.

  2. Dora says:

    That is a beautiful picture of a beautiful tree. What a lovely way to start the morning. Thank you.

    In the meantime, poor Laura Ingraham had a bit of a scare last night.

    Laura Ingraham: Plane Evacuated – Two Middle East Looking Young Men Led Away by Police at DC’s Reagan National

  3. DeniseVB says:

    I don’t understand the political strategy behind NOT attracting viewers ?

  4. DeniseVB says:


  5. DeniseVB says:

    More details from another source. Noonish ET

  6. DeniseVB says:

    Yep, we always knew this.

  7. leslie says:

    The pResident will speak to the nation at 9:00 a.m. (EST). I plan to be otherwise occupied. Maybe I’ll get my flu shot.

    • Dora says:

      I am now actually glad that I have a dental appointment this morning.

    • Somebody says:

      That’s odd, why is he holding a presser? Oh crap you don’t think he’s going to try and be manly in the ME and really fuck things up do you??

      Also odd that Carson hastily scheduled a press conference will it be in response to Obama’s or is it completely unrelated?? If it is did he somehow know before everyone else that Obama was going to speak???

      IDK, just things that make you go hmmm.

      • DeniseVB says:

        If he were dropping out it should’ve been leaked by now like it was with Perry and Walker. Haven’t seen the latest polls, did he take a dive ?

    • foxyladi14 says:

      Dang missed it again. πŸ˜€

  8. leslie says:

    I wanted to post this last night, but got caught up in the minutia of my life…..

  9. Dora says:

    One by one – they are all starting to realize. πŸ™‚

    Dr. Robert Jeffress Addresses Paris Attacks, Says Donald Trump Is Absolutely Correct!

    • DeniseVB says:

      I do remember Trump supporting Putin’s Syria strategy since our President is “weak and stupid” and he was UnPC right about that too. πŸ˜‰

  10. Re: Carson – he was a DISASTER yesterday morning on one of the talk shows. MTP, I think…but I watched a few so I don’t recall. Basically we would shoot down Russian planes and more stupid shit.

    Clean up on Aisle 5 @9:10 AM , perhaps

  11. leslie says:

    MSNBC are now reporting the POTUS address will take place “sometime during this hour.”

    • votermom says:

      Leslie, love the flag avatar!

      I checked with amazon – you are doing your shopping right – it’s me that did not know which link on their report to see where it’s listed. Amazon lists items bought (but not any buyer info) I guess to show which are popular.
      Thanks again!

  12. leslie says:

  13. DeniseVB says:

    So those little f**kers ,we’re not at war with, has released a threat to 15 U.S.cities for their next strikes? Info dribbling out now.

    Obama speech at 10:30 am ET

    • DeniseVB says:

      Oh crap, he’s talking now. I can’t trust the msm for a damn thing can I ?πŸ˜›

      • elliesmom says:

        Has Obama lost a lot of weight while he’s been in office? He looks really frail. And his ears look even bigger than usual.

        • DeniseVB says:

          Even though he doesn’t seem to be the hardest working President we’ve had, I can’t imagine the stress of a job like that. He’s got to be medicated just to sleep at night, otherwise, how could he?

          The last two years of a 2-term President always seem to suck the most, maybe it’s time we term limit the Pres to one 6 year term ? It would certainly eliminate using Air Force One to campaign and fundraise for re-election during the last half of their 1st term, and spare us the last two years of lame duckyness.

        • foxyladi14 says:

          Lying makes the ears grow. πŸ˜†

    • votermom says:

      time to run errands
      that man’s voice gives me hives

  14. driguana says:

    This is hard one…I like Ben Carson as an individual but he really does go off the rails quite a bit and that does not seem like a good thing for important dialogue and a real discussion of viable policy options on lots of fronts. Maybe it’s time for him to drop out….he and Bush. What do you all think?

    • He’s a little creepy for my taste. I don’t care if he drops out, but he won’t get my vote. Just don’t think he is the one we have been waiting for!

    • leslie says:

      There are several I wish would drop out. Carson and Huckabee and Graham and Jindal and Santorum and Kasich and Bush and Rubio and some of those I even like. I
      m certain I’ve missed some. (like HRC and MM on the left)Too bad Webb left the race.

      • lyn says:

        Great list!

      • DeniseVB says:

        Webb is still active on FB. Just recently gave Hillary a smackdown for her Marine Corps story. Did he suspend or quit the race entirely? I’ve been following him since he declared several months ago, he may have gotten a few likes for his comments then, now he’s getting well over a thousand. He’s definitely got the mad-as-hell moderate Dems who are pushing him to an Independent run.

  15. Bush, definitely. It feels sometimes as if he KNOWS he can stay even if he sucks in the polls. Rigged game…again?

  16. driguana says:

    Finally have our little internet radio station up and running…Fifthwall Radio….still in Beta mode until late December and working out some continuing glitches but thought some of you might enjoy it. It will be all music from all over the world with very little talk. We play very little Country music but lots of music from different countries! We try not to play music heard elsewhere. My program,Brave New World, is on in the late afternoon and early evening…2-8 MST. My son, Elephunk, does most of the other programming is on in the night time. Check us out…something different…our founding sister, Kestrel, does the morning programming. Here’s the link:

  17. DandyTIger says:

    Jeebus, the moron in chief is blathering again. As usual he’s saying nothing. Seriously, he’s a moron.

    • elliesmom says:

      That’s one way of looking at it. Another way to look at it is he wants to just play lip service because he’s really not interested in stopping ISIS.

      • leslie says:

        Hw’s more interested and emotionally invested in calling Republicans “bad Americans”. His ire never rose above #1 until he began lecturing about religious tests and the Republican concerns. Then it was a #7. He prolly gets more irritated on the golf course than anywhere else.

  18. elliesmom says:

    Obama has convinced me I should be totally ashamed of myself for not wanting to invite someone into my home who wants to kill me. How can I be so uncharitable? There was a quote flying around about how there are two kinds of Muslims. The radical ones who want to kill you, and the moderate ones who hope they do. I’m waiting for the “moderate Muslims” to prove that’s wrong. I’d give credit to the person who said it, but I can’t find it again.

    • leslie says:

      I know. It’s so hard to find the quotes I really find wonderful. I’ve started to *like* them and then I can go to my “like and retweets” file in twitter.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I remember when Kennedy was feared for being Catholic and that he’d let the Pope take over our country or something silly like that. Obama is so much worse than that x1000.

  19. Myiq2xu says:

  20. mothy67 says:

    I have genuine fear. It is not is when not if. Americans will die on American soil and they are being enabled by the Catholic Church and our government. It is so fucking obvious has been for years. Read the 9/11 report it states the biggest threat is the porous border. And we put up a huge neon sign saying come on in. I hate progressives. They act as if the world was all dark before them. Fuck the fuck off. If one American dies on American soil at the hands of a terrorist I think Hillary, Obama et al should be charged as accessories. Simple fuck playing Imagine. They behead children, enslave, rape, burn, drown people in cages. I want Trump to be the nominee because I want to watch him scorch Hill on this.m

  21. DeniseVB says:

    Oh boy ….

  22. DeniseVB says:

    Haven’t heard any teasers on Fox, but local NV news is still reporting on Carson presser and *no topic*. Should be happening about now?

  23. DeniseVB says:

    Some happy news, She’s Back !

  24. DeniseVB says:

    Carson’s presser was about defunding Syrian immigrants or something. He sent a letter to Paul Ryan too !

  25. DeniseVB says:

  26. DeniseVB says:

  27. Dora says:

    Sarah met Trump in his Trump Tower apartment. Several interesting pictures at the link.

    Sarah Palin and Donald Trump Meet-Up in NYC

    • votermom says:

      Dun dun dun!
      makes me grin
      they are sort of friends, I remember they met up in 2012 too

    • DeniseVB says:

      Willow has certainly turned into a beautiful young woman. Sarah’s been stumping for The Donald since he announced, well, at least defending him on her social media feeds.

      I also heard Sarah’s going to be on one of the morning shows this week …. and Julianne Moore too? Wow, fun in the Green Room!

  28. Dora says:

    I don’t see New York on this list. Oh, it must be there. I guess I’ll have to get my glasses.

    • votermom says:

      Pennsylvania is not on that list. On the bright side, Dems holding their convention in Philly next yrar, so if there are chickens roosting, it might be there.

  29. AFVet says:

    Remember this guy ?
    I miss him.

  30. Dora says:

    Ivanka Trump Fall 2015 Campaign

    See the gorgeous shots from our just-released campaign.

  31. DandyTIger says:

    Paris Lives Matter! — interesting meme going around: People are complaining that only Paris bombings get attention and not others. So the push back is often something like Agree, this is saying Paris Lives Matter when it should be All Lives Matter.πŸ™‚

  32. leslie says:

    From Ace:

    “The other thing people noticed is that Obama gave his typical bloodless “I’d rather be golfing” sort of listless drone about the dead of Paris and his alleged enemies in ISIS, but then, as usual, became interested and emotionally engaged when he was asked about his real enemies, Republicans and Americans.”

    That is exactly how I described his comments on Friday: “I’d rather be golfing”.

  33. Dora says:

    Oh those poor refugees. Boo Hoo.

    What a way to report this!

    Republican Governors Say They Will Reject Syrian Refugees

    One of them is running for president.

    • leslie says:

      Didn’t read this article, but the Dem gov of New Hampshire, Maggie Hassan, has also refused to take in Syrian refugees.

  34. foxyladi14 says:

    My Governor had better get on that.
    The Dem Mayor of my City had accepted a lot of them 😑

  35. DeniseVB says:

    Sally, Sally, Sally:facepalm:

  36. Dora says:

    OMG – this global warming is going to kill us all! 😦

    Alaska endures temperatures of minus 24 – and it’s only November

Comments are closed.