A Very Special Thanksgiving Request


I don’t ask for much, but this year I have a very special request. Can we please have a politics-free Thanksgiving? Just this little bitty blog, just for 24 hours.

No mention of him, or her, or them, this, or that. Let’s talk about pleasant stuff instead, like how much the Raiders’ defense sucks, the size of Kim Kardashian’s butt or who Taylor Swift is breaking up with this week.

I will start the conversation with this: I am thankful that I only have first-world problems to complain about. I am thankful for my family. I am thankful for this new roof that doesn’t leak. I am thankful for four kitties who adore me (at mealtimes).

Last but not least, I am thankful for all of you.

BTW: I told Spammy that I want a politics-free Thanksgiving, and he promised to help out by grabbing any politics-related comments he sees.

Have a Happy Turkey Day!

grumpy cat04

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

135 Responses to A Very Special Thanksgiving Request

  1. Myiq2xu says:


  2. Myiq2xu says:

    I’m gonna cook a spiral ham and take it with me to my son’s about 3 pm. He’s cooking a turkey and the fixin’s. Mom is bringing the pies. My 1st ex will probably bring food too. (We’ve been divorced since 1988 and she’s been remarried since 1989 but we still see each other on holidays and birthdays.)

    Friday I’ll probably go over my sister’s. She’s going to SJ today but will be home tonight.

    Tomorrow or Saturday I’ll be cooking my own turkey.

    I will not be doing any shopping this weekend except maybe a trip or two to the liquor store.

    • Myiq2xu says:

      I will be eating leftovers all next week.

    • elliesmom says:

      I’m cooking a ham, too. Elliesdad doesn’t eat turkey so I asked my friends if they minded if I brought something that wasn’t turkey. Turns out the “little sister” they mentor doesn’t like turkey either so she’s delighted. It will be fun to spend the day with a 13 year old. It’s been awhile since I’ve had my sense of humor challenged that much. She’s living in a group home right now. I had to promise Elliesdad I wouldn’t bring her home with us.

      On a really bright note, I reached into my purse to get my bankcard yesterday, and it was gone. I searched the house and the car and couldn’t find it. I was just about to call the bank and cancel it when a car drove up. One of my former students who works at the local grocery store found it on the scale at the self-checkout. He dropped it off hoping it got there before I had to let the bank know. He’s the one who calls me “Mrs. White” and teases me about going into the meth business with him. I wanted to give him something for rescuing me from going through the cancellation mess, but he wouldn’t take anything. He said I was the only teacher he had that made him laugh. That was the best Thanksgiving gift.

  3. jeffhas says:

    Very Thankful to the TCH crowd… Logical bunch!

    … But THIS TCHanksgiving I’m most thankful for Mothy who is like a sly wink.

    Miss ya buddy…. You think different (like Steve Jobs used to say)… and I like it – don’t stay away too long.

  4. Underwhelmed says:

    You guys keep me sane, and that’s saying something. Thank you.

  5. Jadzia says:

    Sorry about that. Now that I have a WordPress account, it likes to eat my comments. It just ate my long comment wishing you all a happy Thanksgiving, bitching about the class I have to teach today, and rejoicing that next week is their final exam. I will spend my Thanksgiving evening shopping for ingredients for the stuff I’m bringing to our group Thanksgiving at a friend’s house this Saturday: gratin dauphinois, brussels sprouts with bacon and walnuts, chocolate-espresso pecan pie, and tourtiere pie.

    • cynic says:

      Oh yum! I had to look up a couple of your food items. I love trying new recipes, and I almost made the brussels sprout/bacon one. Then I remembered that I was the only one in my family that likes brussels sprouts. I’m just going with pan roasted root vegetables, and corn (the only vegetable that my sister’s new boyfriend will eat).

      • Jadzia says:

        The brussels sprouts are easy and even my snotty kids like them! You cut them in half lengthwise (okay, that takes a while) and put them in a HOT pan that has some nice HOT olive oil in it. Then you just let it sit there until the cut side gets nice and brown. IIRC then you put the top on the pan so they steam a little bit (but only after you’ve got a nice brown cut side). After it’s all done you toss the sprouts with cooked/crumbled bacon and either toasted walnuts or toasted pine nuts, whichever you want.

        • cynic says:

          Thanks for the instructions. I could try them for Christmas, and maybe my family will discover that they like them. I do find that as we get older, our taste buds change.

          I most recently went to a restaurant that served them as an appetizer, and they were cooked with a srirachi sauce, then drizzled with honey. That sweet/spicy combo still has me going yum, I want more.

        • swanspirit says:

          My son already loves brussels sprouts ( but he won’t touch peas; go figure) so i am definitely going to try this recipe, it sounds yummeeee, because I like them too. Thanks!

    • gram krakka says:

      Double yummy! So nice that you are able to have a group Thanksgiving celebration in France. I appreciate your insights and perspective on the situation where you are. Lately when I think of France, the Edith Piaf classic, “Non Je Ne Regrette Rien”, keeps playing over and over in my mind. I understand it is the unofficial song of the French Foreign Legion. You and your family’s continued safety are very much on our minds.

  6. Dora says:

    “I am grateful for what I am and have. My thanksgiving is perpetual.

    It is surprising how contented one can be with nothing definite – only a sense of existence.”

    Henry David Thoreau

  7. cynic says:

    Happy Thanksgiving everyone! Love you all as well. I’m smiling, cause I feel like I have this special family that I visit on a frequent basis (and I do mean frequent).

    I’m thankful for my new friends here, and Leslie, my new in person friend. Blessings to you all.

    I’ve been cooking/cleaning all week. We’ll be eating at 1:00 (someone has to work at Walmart this evening), so the turkey will be heading for the oven in a little while. It’s a lot of work, but I’ll have leftovers for days, and I’ll use the turkey carcass the make the stock for my turkey and wild rice soup.

    Thanks for the cranberry recipe, Venus. I’ll try it for Christmas.

    The only shopping that I’ll be doing is buying the Christmas tree tomorrow. The sooner it comes off the lot and put in water, the better. We always have a real one for the living room, and we have an artificial prelit one for the family room.

    Enjoy the day.

  8. cynic says:

    I was going to ask if you have a favorite movie to kick off the holiday season, and I realized that I can’t name just one. Christmas Vacation?, Planes, Trains & Automobiles? Elf? Miracle on 34th Street?

    • elliesmom says:

      Miracle on 34th Street, for sure. The older version with Natalie Wood, Maureen O’Hara, and Edmund Gwenn. It even features the Macy’s Thanksgiving Parade.

    • votermom says:

      Not really a movie for us but all things Nutcracker related is what makes it start to feel like Christmas is coming in our house.

      • elliesmom says:

        The Commonwealth Ballet Company performs the Nutcracker Thanksgiving weekend at a local high school. It’s the perfect environment to introduce a little kid to the ballet. Kids from a local ballet school take on the smaller parts. I’d love to take Crash, but she’s always in Ohio with her other grandparents for Thanksgiving. I don’t begrudge them having the kids for the holiday. I get to see them a lot more. I just wish they’d return home on Saturday one year so I could take her Sunday afternoon. I took her big brother to the Boston Ballet, but it was a bit too much for a little kid. Too late at night and too “stuffy”.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Four Christmases, The Family Stone, Polar Express, Fred Claus, White Christmas and the animated (Jim Carrey) A Christmas Carol.

    • leslie says:

      Cynic, Just yesterday I was with my dearest friend who flies in from Seattle for Thanksgiving each year. I was talking about the joy of meeting you in person. And I fondly mentioned Dora and the wonderful brain trust here in TCH. She and I have been close/connected since 1978 despite so many miles now spread between us. She was delighted to hear about our wonderful community and laughed when I shard the name – TCH.
      Actually, I have a basket of over 20 holiday movies that I pull from. But I think Miracle on 34th Street (original/b&w), The Bells of St Mary’s, Home for the Holidays, and Pieces of April are the first ones that I think of at Thanksgiving. Plus…Sleepless in Seattle and While You Were Sleeping, and Love Actually. (I am a sucker for romantic comedies.)

    • 1539days says:

      Trading Places is still a classic to me. Of course, the other day I quoted Christmas Vacation (“shitter’s full”) for no particular reason.

    • DandyTIger says:

      It’s a Wonderful Life, A Christmas Story, The Bishop’s Wife, A Charlie Brown Christmas, A Christmas Carol (older 50’s one). And a pile more.

  9. mothy67 says:

    Here’s aThankgiving story. My dad almost died. I have big time liver failure. I bought a bottle and sat under a tree. I had to. My dad dislikes homos. Still my dad. Has never been easy.. Not how our story was written. Come on they got a fag kid with a bum heart. Never angry but always angry. I got sloshed by myself under a tree in the woods. I had to cry. I can’t do that. Far to cerebral. I think about thinking. So I get wasted alone. Quit smoking but I had to have one. I did not find a smoke but I found my baby girl’s flip chart. . It is when I am sad i flip the page. I am 49 she is 9. I hide in the woods drunk to cry. She owns herself. Each page has a quote. She is 9. I want to beat her for being so mature. Page three has a quote from Jane Eyre. I love that book. Read it to her when she was wee. . Kid is a freak. She also has lines from Joseph Cambell’s The Power of Myth. I read all the Harry Potter books to her when she was tiny with a broken collar bone. I bought The Power of Myth. No way I thought she would ever read it. She was four. Now she is 9 going on wisdom. Love my brat. She is warped. I talk to her like an adult. We discuss if Desdamonna is passive aggressive.. I can’t deal with my dad being sick. I hid. Went to look on her hours later. Not in her bed. She was asleep in my dad’s bed. Best Thanksgiving ever.

    • Gram Krakka says:

      Just as you found the strength to be there for your great niece, you will surely find the strength to be there for your father at his time of need. Sounds like he was there for you when you were young and needed so much help. Now it is your turn to feel good about being there for him. You can do it. The brat will help too.

  10. Happy Thanksgiving to all! She & Me are doing filet and Lobster tails on the grill, twice-baked cheese & chive stuffed baked potatoes & crab-stuffed mushroom caps! I have said for the past four years “I want lobster for Thanksgiving next year!”

    This year, I have it!

    Tomorrow we go to the house of my life-long BFF & her husband and have the traditional meal!

    Everyone have a great time, and as with many others, even though I do not comment a lot, I do read here all the time. Thanks Klown! Thanks Everyone!

  11. votermom says:

    Happy Thanksgiving everyone. I am thankful for family, health, freedom, books, and so very thankful for ALL OF YOU, my friends, who have been so wonderfully supportive of me every time! YOU ARE THE BEST!!!

  12. votermom says:

  13. elliesmom says:

    Happy Thanksgiving! Elliesdad says I should wish all of the folks at “The Hole” a blessed day from him, too. He’s grateful to all of you for “enriching our dinner time conversations”. He knows all of your “names”.❤

  14. Ann says:

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    While I do not post frequently, I do read daily. I appreciate all the insight (even when I don’t agree) that comes from the posters at TCH. May your turkey be moist, your pies be sweet and your dinner conversation be calm and trouble free.

  15. leslie says:

    I stopped by just to say “hello” and to wish everyone a beautiful Thanksgiving holiday and as much happiness as possible. I am thankful for old friends and new ones and the connections we have made – both on line and in person (I’m looking at wonderful you – cynic). I hope that next summer we really can gather together in person. Won’t that be grand?
    There is no place like this hole anywhere and I feel blessed. Thank you all for giving me different perspectives, sharing your life stories, saving my sanity – or for being as crazy as I. ❤

  16. 1539days says:

    I plan to take advantage of a couple of nice days this weekend and get the rest of the Christmas lights up. It would probably be easier if I hooked up that new outlet I put in. Doing electrical work in a rush always works out well.

  17. DandyTIger says:

    Happy Thanksgiving!! Yay, no politics. So sick of it. Cold but clear weather in here in C’ville, VA. Once Mr. Turkey is in the oven, might go out and rake some leaves. Then again, might just watch some football and chill.

  18. Myiq2xu says:

  19. taw46t says:

    A daily reader here, would like to wish you all a Happy Thanksgiving from Key West!

  20. simofish says:

    I’m cooking for 39 people. Thankfully we have the kitchen for it. This is the only blog I read. Don’t comment a lot but do enjoy reading the comments. Happy Thanksgiving everyone

  21. lizzy says:

    Happy Thanksgiving to everyone at TCH. It is great to come to such a congenial place. People express concern and share information. We do like politics but our discussions are so much broader and deeper. Special thanks to Klown for starting stimulating conversations and sharing information. Just a great bunch of people here.

  22. DeniseVB says:

    I think everyone should put on their Bucket List…Live performances of Handel’s Messiah and the Nutcracker. And the Macy’s Thanksgiving Parade in NYC. The latter I did in 1996, still a record cold and my eyes still burn thinking about that. Flash forward 20 years, much better on the 56″ HD TV. Cheaper too.😉

    Messiah and Nutcracker are always local, in my neck of the woods anyhow….GO

    • DandyTIger says:

      One Macy’s T Parade under my belt. But that was when I was a kid. Agree, Nutcracker and Messiah performances are always a treat and great holiday tradition. And if you’re into ballet, season tickets is a great way to be front and center at the Nutcracker — did that with the SF Ballet when I lived there.

  23. DeniseVB says:

    Trailer: Four Christmases

  24. DeniseVB says:

    Trailer: The Family Stone

  25. DeniseVB says:

    Trailer: Fred Claus

  26. Happy T-Day everyone. I’m on call today, thus my work phone is on. Counting up the texts from all the maudlin teenagers on my caseload. The Poor Dears.

    Hubby is working a double and my daughter is working a half- shift. We’re doing Thanksgiving tomorrow. Today I’m just relaxing and prepping, and hoping nobody screws the holiday up to bad and I get called out. I have high hopes!

    You guys are the greatest. Stay warm and enjoy your festivities if you are having them!

  27. Dora says:

    OMG. I am so, so glad that I wasn’t in the city yesterday. YIKES!

    Scenes From The Harrowing Human Zoo That Is Penn Station, Thanksgiving Eve 2015


  28. 49erDweet says:

    Getting a late start on the day out west. Got up early enough, but activating a neat, new tablet takes time and is soooo much fun!!!!
    First Turkey Day since ’70 where we’re alone /hopefully/ to give us time to recover from Teh Drama!!!! We’re good with it, and need it, but disabled sis, who lives nearby in a group home, is unhappy ’cause she thinks she’s missing out on something. She’s not. Teh Drama King will return Friday for two days with his baby bairns and it all begins anew, but we’ll use today to rebuild. Love the bairns. Hate teh drama.

  29. Jadzia says:

    Hope I don’t get kicked off for this, because it’s a politics-adjacent question. Can I write a second post about a subject that I won’t mention because it’s political? Maybe next week sometime? Not time-sensitive but hopefully interesting.

  30. leslie says:

    Trailer: Home For the Holidays

  31. Jadzia says:

    You know what frosts my cookies? And maybe I am overly sensitive about this because it’s only Thanksgiving #2 since Mom died. But I am SO SO SO sick of the Thanksgiving and Christmas moaning (which started on my FB about a week ago, and there was basically a whole thread about it on Lawyers Guns & Money, which I should really stop reading) that essentially turns into an Oppression Olympics in the “My Family Is More Oppressive/Evil/Bigoted/Unacceptable/Ignorant/Whatever Than Yours” event (co-ed).

    Seriously? You are going to cry all over the Internet because apparently Aunt Mabel asking you when you’re going to have kids (or whatever) is giving you PTSD? What the hell happened to having a few stiff drinks before the family arrives and just enjoying yourself, or in the alternative munching on your metaphorical popcorn and thinking about what great stories they are providing you with?

    • 1539days says:

      My family tended to repress that crap, especially since my parents’ generation had it REALLY bad and didn’t have a whole lot to harp on. I feel bad for families that can’t handle being around each other. It seems worse than losing a parent.

  32. leslie says:

    Trailer: The Family Man

  33. 49erDweet says:

    Had to really laugh at Survivers last night. The guy I didn’t like, Fishbach,, voted himself off and DIDN’T REALIZE IT! Even later, doing the wrap-up. And he thinks he’s such a superbrain player! Delicious irony!

  34. leslie says:

    Here’s my last offering. ppl are coming in an hour.
    Trailer: Dan in Real Life

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  35. DandyTIger says:

    Remember the good old days when the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade broadcast actually showed the parade and the balloons. It just gets worse every year. Non stop promotion of musical theater and NBC TV shows. CBS shows similar, and mildly more parade. Also, nothing personal broadway, but damn, so much lame. OK, enough complaining and more sweet potatoes.

  36. swanspirit says:

    Happy ThanksGiving everyone!!!! My daughter. my granddaughter and the granddoggie are here, and I am over the moon!! My daughter so seldom is here, and even though we talk on the phone almost every other day, it is so rarely she is here, I am just ridiculously grateful and happy.
    I made the turkey with sausage and oyster stuffing, and a pumpkin pie, and she brought an apple pie she made. I am silly with gratitude, and I have to extend that to everyone here, as well. just so I am wishing you the very best ThanksGiving and wish I could hug you all in person!

  37. 1539days says:

    This trailer is funny, but I think the movie is headed strait to landfill.

  38. votermom says:

    We watched Pixels and Spy on dvd.
    Both were funny. Pixels is a family movie. Spy has a lot of f-bombs.

  39. blowme0bama says:

    classic MST3k – Happy Thanksgiving everyone at TCH!!~

  40. elliesmom says:

    We had a lovely dinner with friends. We mostly made plans for other things we want to do together. I really enjoyed the company of their “little sister”. I hope they decide to foster her. They were good together. She told me about the group home she’s currently living in. Eighteen girls all 12-17. She told me about her younger brother who is also looking to be adopted – just in case I like boys better. She definitely could have a career in marketing. I think Elliesdad is glad we’re moving to a smaller house.😉

  41. DeniseVB says:

    Hope you all had a great day !

  42. Myiq2xu says:

  43. Myiq2xu says:

    I want to thank all of you for honoring my request today. I’ll see you in the morning.

  44. cynic says:

    We had company for 10 hours, and I’m exhausted. Everything turned out ok, and we were only 15 minutes late for the projected eat time. I call that a success.

    The family member that had to work at Walmart came back after work. He said that there was a pregnant woman and overweight man fighting for a tv. They had to call the police. The lady said that she needed it so that her child would be able to watch educational tv shows, and the man said that he wanted it to watch sports. The woman got it.

    Time to call it a day. Goodnight everyone.

Comments are closed.