Cui Bono?


Remember in All The President’s Men when Deep Throat told Robert Redford to “Follow the money”? That is always good advice when trying to understand what is going on in Washington DC.

Daily Caller:

Grover Norquist Urges Congress To Change FDA Rule That Could Wipeout E-Cigarette Industry

One of the most powerful advocacy groups in the country is urging Congress to support changes to regulations that, if enacted, will all but wipe out the e-cigarette industry in America.

In a letter to members of Congress, Americans for Tax Reform president Grover Norquist appeals to lawmakers to change the date when the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) will compel all e-cigarette and premium cigar products that came out after Feb. 15, 2007 to undergo the costly Pre-Market Tobacco Applications (PMTA) process.

The vast majority of e-cigarette and vaping products on the market today were released after February 2007. The PMTA process for each individual product could cost millions of dollars and vaping shops typically contain dozens if not hundreds of such products, which will amount to an impossible financial burden for most businesses.

If the regulations go into effect as is, as much as 99 percent of small businesses in the e-cigarette industry could be forced to close, according to president of the American Vaping Association Gregory Conley.

Norquist argues in the letter that changing the date, outlined in the Tobacco Control Act of 2009, won’t alter the FDA’s ability to regulate e-cigarettes but grandfathering in existing products will “save the agency at least two year’s worth of paperwork and allow them to focus on encouraging good manufacturing practices.”

Furthermore, many in the e-cigarette industry fear that if the FDA doesn’t change course before it’s too late the regulations could have the unintended consequence of helping the tobacco industry. CEO of e-cigarette company V2 Jan Verleur wrote in August that only “deep-pocketed tobacco companies” can afford to comply with the FDA’s rules.

This means America’s nine million vapers will be left without the dynamic and innovative market that has helped many of them quit smoking.

“I urge Congress to amend the Tobacco Control Act predicate date for the tobacco-derived products in the electronic cigarette and vapor product category in an effort to protect public health and protect American jobs,” says Norquist.

“Such a change in the predicate date would not interfere with the short-term goals of responsibly regulating the products; it would simply help avoid the looming economic and public health disaster associated with status quo prohibition.”

Old Grover isn’t exactly known for being a health care or consumer protection advocate. His obsession has always been with taxes. Grover is the guy who infamously said he wants to shrink government until it’s small enough to drown in a bathtub.

So what is old Grover doing fiddling around with vaping?

“Cui bono” is a Latin phrase meaning “to whose profit?” Ask yourself who stands to profit from the changes that Grover is advocating. The answer to that question is who Grover is working for. I’m gonna take a wild guess and say it’s Big Tobacco.

Sometimes the answer to “Cui bono?” is obvious. Sometimes it’s not.

For instance, how does “cui bono?” apply to Black Lives Matter and the recent Special Snowflake Revolution taking place on college campuses?

Think about it.

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

108 Responses to Cui Bono?

  1. Myiq2xu says:

    • leslie says:

      Everyone should read the Glenn Reynolds column. The entire column is quote-worthy.

    • DandyTIger says:

      Great article. What a disaster. Who could have foreseen how bad Obama would be? We almost did, but I think he’s even worse than we imagined. And a significant part of this disaster was under Hillary’s watch as SoS.

      • DeniseVB says:

        I was going to give him a year, didn’t last a month after Jan 2009.

      • NewOrleans says:

        I can pretty safely say most of us here knew how bad Obama would be. We got exiled from place after place because of our (obviously) brilliant ability to cut through the bullshit and foresee the clusterfuck that he was/is.

        I can also pretty safely say that we could’ve never imagined how bad Hillary was/is.

    • wailuagirl says:

      He looks like he may blow away in that picture..wishing and hoping.

  2. Myiq2xu says:

    • DeniseVB says:

      LOL, that’s so stupid. It’s bad enough the Dems have set the world on fire, now they’re coming for our homes. Notice the use of “Republican” in such a negative light. Evil, clueless, hater Uncle, right?

      • Jadzia says:

        Unless your relative is actually a member of the Klan, I don’t think that Thanksgiving is either the time or the place to “set him straight.” Good God.

    • leslie says:

      I tell you… If my young nephew tries to tell me about ACA, I have more than enough in my fact drawer to keep him tied up for years. (It happened already, actually) My family knows that when they say things such as “Trump is narcissistic, I remind them of whom they voted for (3 times). they have nothing that they can use anymore. Even Dana Milbank is calling him “President Oh-bummer.”

      • helenk3 says:

        be careful in Chicago for a while.

        • leslie says:

          thanks Helen. I plan to stay out of the city this weekend. All our gatherings, home made football games, etc will not be in the city. I feel bad for the people who saved up for a Thanksgiving in Chicago. It will probably be memorable – but for all the wrong reasons.😦

    • cynic says:

      So, put the last line in orange. Are they trying to be cute, telling us that Republicans should be locked up/dressed in orange?

    • elliesmom says:

      I will be spending Thanksgiving in “the lion’s den”. My hostesses are a married lesbian couple. Now that their issue has been put to rest, they’re struggling to find meaning in their politics. While normally I might find that entertaining, not right now. I intend to bore them with discussing recipes, dress patterns, and knitting. I’m even taking my knitting along. When that fails, I will move on to how many boxes it took to pack up my house. How to get Verizon to give you a really good deal to stay with them instead of switching to cable. I know they will ask why I worked for Hillary in 2008, but I’m not working for her now. See “how many boxes it took to pack up my house” for an answer. I’m too busy to work for anyone. I know I’ll hear about how stupid Republicans are for supporting Trump. See “how to get Verizon to give you a really good deal”. It’s all about the deal. I’m not going to change anyone’s mind so I’m not going to try. They aren’t going to change mine. I know we can’t discuss the weather because even the weather is politicized. But we’ll be seated around a table filled with food. No one is against GMO or gluten-free or is eating paleo so I think talking about food is safe. Everyone hates Verizon and the cable company, right?

    • 49erDweet says:

      It was really thoughtful of the the Dem’s to do a whole website for my relatives to use against me……….except Obama’s divided the country so much the past 6.8 years we no longer get together for Thanksgiving with the radicals among ’em who support him unthinkingly only “because he’s black”. The rest of my relatives have finally opened their eyes.

      • DeniseVB says:

        You know, I don’t notice any other free world leader pissing on their citizens like Obama does to half our country. Between his rhetoric and pollicies, he’s constantly rewarding failure and punishing success.

      • Mt.Laurel says:

        The really sad part is that those dupes who take this seriously will never realize that the empty suit behind the curtain and his gang will be coming after their current foot soldiers once said front liners are no longer of use. .

  3. DeniseVB says:

  4. DeniseVB says:

  5. DeniseVB says:

  6. Myiq2xu says:

  7. Dora says:

    I live in Jersey and Trump is right: Muslims DID celebrate on 9/11 in NJ . . . we saw it!

    Read more:

  8. gumsnapper says:

    I vape with an e-liquid that has zero nicotine. It has gotten me off cigarettes for the last two years and my cough has disappeared. Leave it to meddling politicians to try and ruin that for me.

    • lildoggy4u says:

      I’ve been using the vaping e cig w/nicotine for 6 months now. Its been the most successful way for me to quit cigarettes and I tried everything. Little by little I’ve become less dependent on the vape leaving it home lots of times when I used to always have a pack of cigarettes with me. Its been hellish knowing how bad cigarettes are for me and my struggle to quit.
      At one time they had those cigarette stores where you could choose your own tobacco and they would roll it into cigarettes for you. You knew you were getting plain old tobacco without the chemicals added such as in brand cigarettes. They closed those stores down.
      Its not the tobacco, its the damn chemicals added to cigarettes that insure quick delivery of the nicotine into your system. Chemicals like ammonia. They are like a syringe as far as i’m concerned. If you’re gonna ban e-vapes. Ban cigarettes too.

      • smangala says:

        My husband has been trying to quit smoking for years now and has finally succeeded thanks to vaping. This is really terrible news for people like him.

      • 1539days says:

        And smoking is another example of following the money. Smoking is just as bad as vaping, (actually worse) but it would be instant political suicide to ban it. So, now the government figured out how to get a cut of the profits above the normal taxes. They call it a settlement. The government has no interest in losing that tobacco money by banning cigarettes. If I were an e-cigarette maker, I’d put out a TV ad and ask Obama and the Democrats in Congress how big of a kickback would keep me in business.

        Then again, cigarette ads are illegal.

    • Jadzia says:

      I am an on and off e-cigarette user and I think it would be a mighty fine idea to have some good studies done (not by Big Tobacco or the vaping industry and not by the professional anti-smoking zealots either) about the long-term health effects.

      Although I am pretty sure/hope that it’s safer than smoking cigarettes (WHICH IS WHY I DO IT), it’s probably less healthy than, you know, not smoking at all, and I would like to know the risks. Unfortunately, unbiased info seems pretty hard to come by. You would think that WHO and the health people would support e-cigs at least as an alternative, but they want to be all “REEFER MADNESS!” about them. It’s frustrating.

      There’s no way to make a sane policy decision about what, if any, regulations are appropriate if there isn’t any good science out there.

      • Jadzia says:

        That said, I’ve been totally off for 2 months, because I MIGHT have had a little cosmetic procedure recently and the doctor said no smoking at all for a month before and a month after. I don’t know if that includes e-cigs or not, so I just quit completely. Guess I wasn’t that addicted after all.

  9. leslie says:

    I think that David Ignatius is on bronco’s payroll. When asked on M Joe today about BHO’s lackluster response to the Paris attacks and to French Pres Hollande yesterday Ignatius was more than willing to keep his lips firmly attached to Obama’s buttocks saying that the country “needs” the calm demeanor of the POTUS to instill confidence and a sense of feeling protected. I just don’t know how he can look himself in the mirror.
    Wholly Jeebus. I would’ve run out of the room had I not been at the doorway to begin with.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Fox was running an old clip of Obama 2008 criticizing GWB about “go shopping” after 9-11. Fast forward to this week, Obama said “go shopping”. Does he not remember we have video? LOL, what a dweeb.

    • cynic says:

      Yea, he must be the current Obama explainer of things. Joe, thank goodness, doesn’t let him babble on and on, and will interrupt him. Did you see where Mika slapped Joe’s arm a couple of times?

      • leslie says:

        I did see that!
        I liked the way Nicole(?) what’shername also responded to Ignatius and didn’t let him interrupt her while talking about how W was able to declare a war on the trerrorists (his bullhorn moment, she said) and at the same time, speak to the Muslims calling Islam a religion of peace and that US Muslims shouldn’t have to be afraid for their safety from citizens and neighbors.
        Ignatius should go stand in a corner from now until the elections are over.

    • Kathy says:

      I saw that part with Ignatius also…and yes, he is either on the pay roll or being black mailed (maybe pictures with a goat or something).

  10. Dora says:

    Oh pleeze!

    Clinton says her use of term ‘illegal immigrant’ was a ‘poor choice of words’

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      Freudian slip? Or did the teleprompter have auto correct enabled?

    • Jadzia says:

      Ridiculous. I can see how the term illegal “alien” can be seen as a bit dehumanizing but come on: we can’t call an illegal action, you know, ILLEGAL anymore?

      • Jadzia says:

        I am newly horrified by this administration’s approach to immigration issues after teaching the majority opinion in Arizona v US to my reading and interpretation (of legal documents) class on Monday. 2012 opinion by Kennedy striking down portions of an Arizona law and that part isn’t really interesting, but the arguments by the federal government defending its policy of, um, not enforcing immigration law were absolutely infuriating.

  11. Dora says:

    My primary day isn’t until April. The winner is almost always already chosen by the time we vote in New York.

    The 2016 Presidential Primary Calendar

  12. Myiq2xu says:

  13. DeniseVB says:

    Oh my, follow the money indeed. No wonder the msm is crossing the t’s and dotting the i’s on every word Trump spits out of his mouth. They don’t have to cover this? Yet, Blagho still sits in jail…..

  14. Myiq2xu says:

  15. Dora says:

    I can’t believe it. This is Germany! 😦

    Germany’s political leaders have sold out their countrymen.

    Germans Opposed to Mass Migration are “Free to Leave”

  16. Myiq2xu says:

    Bindi Irwin won the season trophy on DWTS last night. They really worked the emotional angle but she danced like a pro onstage and acted like the 17 year old kid she is offstage.

  17. Myiq2xu says:

  18. DeniseVB says:

    Well, looky what the Romney for President Pac just sent me, a plea for JEB!

    denise — Sorry to reach out the day before Thanksgiving, but I need your help one more time before we take a short respite from the campaign trail to spend time with our families.

    We’re only 5 days away from our November fundraising deadline, and the last thing I want to do is reach back out when we’re all enjoying that quality time. That’s why we need to raise $15,000 by midnight tonight.

    Can you chip in $50, $25, or even just $5 so we can reach this goal in 13 hours?

    I wish this deadline didn’t fall so close to Thanksgiving, but we have no choice — we still have a critical fundraising goal to meet and only 5 days to do it.

    I can’t do it without you, denise. Please chip in $50, $25, or even just $5 before midnight, I would really appreciate your support:

    I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving with your family, and I’m grateful to have you on our team.

    Happy Thanksgiving,


    LOL ….. send him money but we don’t endorse him?

    This email was sent by: Romney for President Inc., 500 Cummings Center, Suite 4400, Beverly, MA 01915.

    This message reflects the opinions and representations of Jeb 2016, Inc., and is not an endorsement by Mitt Romney. You are receiving this email because you signed up as a member of Mitt Romney’s online community on 10/21/2012


  19. Myiq2xu says:

    • DandyTIger says:

      Some of us take our jobs and the work produced very seriously. As if lives are at stake. And often they are. Sadly what the media produces can directly effect lives and can cost lives. Too bad they consider generating BS just normal tradecraft. Most people hate them for very good and rational reasons.

  20. Myiq2xu says:

  21. Myiq2xu says:

  22. Myiq2xu says:

    • Myiq2xu says:

      • Underwhelmed says:

        Apparently they did, from Belgium, but the French authorities ignored it.

      • DeniseVB says:

        I wish he’d make up his mind.

        My son’s biggest headache at DIA are idiots who make bomb jokes in the TSA lines, drunks and flight crews who forget their credentials. Sometimes it’s the same person😉

        If Obama’s DHS had their way, he’d have to hire 136 more people over the holidays, but without increasing his budget. He really hates working for Obama’s people because none of them have a clue about aviation safety and security. Not. A. Clue.

        • DandyTIger says:

          The political appointees near the top at DHS that I’ve met have laughed to me at the idea of actually securing boarders or airports. That’s not their priority or concern. They’ve made it clear that right-wing domestic concerns are their priority. Not even joking.

          • DeniseVB says:

            I have no confidence in any political appointees near the top of any Dept under Obama. I’m assuming they’re all pay for play, yet Blagho still sits in jail😉 (I’m sorry, I’m never going to get tired of it. Also, Martha Stewart went to jail for a lie and nobody died.)

    • 49erDweet says:

      MSNBC wouldn’t recognize ‘specific and credible intelligence’ if it walked up to them on the street and stuck a gun in their face. They are an entertainment medium. Have nothing whatsoever to do with facts and………….what’s the word?………. Oh, ‘news’. Yeah. News.

  23. Myiq2xu says:

    • DandyTIger says:

      It’s as if there was context for the Kool-Aid bit, and media matters isn’t telling us that part. They wouldn’t do that, would they?

    • DeniseVB says:

      I saw that segment, they were all goofing around making yummy sounds just being silly. Kilmeade is like the dork who opens mouth before brain engages and was word associating “summer” to “kool aid”. To tell you the truth, I didn’t get it at first, then went oh, “kool aid mom”? I remember when that meant something else before Jim Jones and blind followers of Obama.

      Kool aid mom was the coolest mom on the block who would invite the neighborhood kids in for some cold drinks in the summer.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I like Christie, but not the year for professional politicians and that Obama hug on the beach right before the 2012 election is still not being forgiven. Jersey still got screwed over by Bam and Christie was stuck with the bills.

  24. Dora says:

    She thinks a Trump presidency is scary? Imagine what she thinks when she looks in the mirror! That’s what I’d call terrifyingly scary.

    Barbra Streisand Calls Trump Presidency ‘Terrifyingly Scary,’ But Thinks Race Against Hillary Would Be Great

    • 49erDweet says:

      Thankfully the days of caring what light-weight thinkers like Brabra “think” – even assuming they actually CAN think – are long gone. She gets one vote and she’ll probably be too busy doing her nails to cast it.

  25. Dora says:

  26. DeniseVB says:

    Has anyone had Obama tested? (h/t “Sheldon Cooper”) Even early-dementia Reagan made more sense his last couple of years in office.

  27. mothy67 says:

    I get reminded at every holiday I am a slf centered fag prick. I have never made gayan issue. I avoid it all costs. I feel a lot of the animosity is towards a child. She is rich. child thrown away. She was done. No hope for her. Ooops a faggot came along. My baby girl has straight A’s . She is lead on an engineeriing project.. CMU guy picked her. Carnegie Mellon University. She is 9 heading up a project at a top school. For reals she was thrown away. Trash. So wrong on every level a gay great uncle picked her up. I am no hero she was a kid. Potter came into play. I read all those books aloud thrn this woman contacts me. She got shot on the head. I was 21 i knew nothing. I placed my hands against her. Wounds. Ambulance came . I still had to hold her. We went to Hahnamann hospital. She lived. Insane bullet took out her teeth and part of her tounge.. i never saw her again.
    Not true I was an event planner with high end clients. Freaking bullet lady was a client.

  28. Dora says:

    What’s Obama Going To Do?

  29. lyn says:

    The Donald does not have a potty mouth like Obama.

Comments are closed.