Black Friday Open Thread


I got nothin’ so this is an open thread.


About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

139 Responses to Black Friday Open Thread

  1. Myiq2xu says:

    I am binge-watching Modern Family. I’ll be taking my turkey over my son’s to deep-fry it tomorrow.

    Later I’ll probably go over my sister’s.

  2. Myiq2xu says:

  3. Myiq2xu says:

    I am cautiously optimistic about this movie, but so far none of the sequels or prequels has come close to living up to the original.

    • Constance says:

      Lucas sucks as a director, he had one good movie in him, moving him along means the new Star Wars has a hope of being watchable. I never even saw the last two Star Wars installments even though I’m a mega fan because it just got too painful to watch.

      • leslie says:

        I hope Lucas makes better museums than movies. He’s going to build a Star Wars Museum in Chicago (to the disruption of city planning commission and the Parkland preservation people here). He married some woman who is in the Mayor’s office and now has an in here to get whatever he wants. (Frankly, I don’t think LA wanted his museum there.)

  4. NewOrleans says:

    This ballsy coon better stay away from Klown’s kitties.

  5. Myiq2xu says:

    My mom says I spoil the kitties. I don’t know what she’s talking about.

  6. Myiq2xu says:

    Maybe he was a refugee.

  7. Dora says:

    I hope you all had a nice Thanksgiving Day. Be careful if you go shopping today. For the last several years, Black Friday has been a dangerous time to be in the stores. The BLM tribe have already made an appearance in NYC the other night, but they promise to be back today.

    You know, I am actually old enough to remember when we had some kind of order in our cities and this kind of animalistic behavior wouldn’t have been tolerated. Those were the days. (Sigh)

    Black Lives Matter Protestors Invade Macy’s Night Before Thanksgiving Parade

  8. Dora says:

    No surprise to me. Why wouldn’t they be?

    FOX Poll: Half of Americans Are On Board with Donald Trump’s Deportation Plan

  9. Myiq2xu says:

  10. Myiq2xu says:

    Only one candidate is spending his own money.

    • votermom says:

      Isn’t Trump staying at his own hotels?

    • Somebody says:

      Trump is spending his own money. Trump, Clinton, Bush, Huckabee, Fiorina and probably a couple of the others are millionaires or more, so of course they stay are more high end hotels. When did staying at a Motel 6 become a qualifier for POTUS?

  11. DeniseVB says:

    I see BLM is going to try and shutdown Chicago’s busiest shopping district today, after seeing some of fistfights that have already broken out among the “shoppers”, they may have finally met their match🙂

  12. DeniseVB says:


  13. votermom says:

    Black Friday on the book horde:

  14. Dora says:

    Why are they attacking a tree? These people are sick! I guess I answered my own question.

  15. Dora says:

    This is good. So far at least, the establishment has been a total failure.

    Epic Fail: Establishment Plan to Stop Trump ‘Anemic, Underfunded, Unfocused;’ Kochs, Singer, Rove Out

    Matea Gold and Robert Costa at the Washington Post update the Republican Establishment’s struggle against 2016 frontrunner Donald Trump–and its failure to attract big-money donors such as the Koch brothers or legacy operatives such as Karl Rove.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I saw where a former Mitt Romney sugar daddy (Vandersloot?) threw his support and $$$ behind Marco Rubio, then proceeded to bash Trump. So Rubio would allow himself to be bought like a nice little puppet? He’s been in my top 5 because I like his spunk, now I’m not so sure he should be that high.

      • DandyTIger says:

        I don’t fault politicians for getting in the mud or allowing their funders to do the same. It always gets dirty, and it’s the ones that want to play nice that lose. I have issues with Rubio because he’s owned by the establishment like Bush (and Hillary and Obama).

        • Myiq2xu says:

          When Rubio first ran he sucked up to the Tea Party but since he got to DC he’s been a lapdog for the GOPe. But I would still vote for him over Hillary.

          • leslie says:

            I would vote for Rubio over Hillary. But I don’t care for him. I see him as duplicitous as bronco. He’s willing to say anything to anybody and promise anything. (imho) But he’ll do what Oh-bummer (thanks Dana Milbank) has done.

          • Somebody says:

            I probably would vote for him over Hillary too, but that would be a really tough vote and one I might just sit out. As a Floridian I’m still not over Marco’s lying ass and complete flip flop when he got to DC.

            On some levels I think I’d rather have Jeb! than Marco, at least Jeb! legitimately has executive experience and why have mini me, when you can have the real deal? Now if you’ll excuse me I threw up in my mouth a little when I typed that so I need to go gargle.

          • Dora says:

            I would vote for a stray dog over Hillary.

        • DeniseVB says:

          Yep, Romney should have flattened Candy Crowley at that debate. I know a certain candidate today that would have trumped her😉

        • foxyladi14 says:

          Politics is a “blood Sport”
          Ours!!! :facepalm:

    • DandyTIger says:

      Smart of them not to fund a generic stop Trump campaign. Better to wait until they settle on their own candidates, probably Rubio, and then spend money for that person and against Trump (or anyone else). I expect them to settle on someone pretty soon, and it will likely be Rubio for each of them.

  16. Dora says:

    I don’t think this will help.

    Ben Carson to Visit Syrian Refugees in Jordan

  17. DeniseVB says:

    Nice little roundup of the BLM in Chicago, hard to tell what they’re pissed off at , but they’re more annoying now. Shouldn’t they be beating down the doors at city hall since it was their decision to cover up the bad cop, suppress a video and pay the family 5mil even though the kid was ward of the state?

    • leslie says:

      I’ve been pretty much avoiding the subject of the Laquan protests because these people are idiots – albeit dangerous ones. Not to mention how stupid the city of Chicago mayor and his lackeys are. I don’t know why they chose Thanksgiving week to (not to mention the DAY OF the Christmas tree lighting) to release the video of the shooting. They are so arrogant, they must’ve thought the protesters would think more of the holiday than of their own selves… THEN, the CTU (Chicago Teachers Union) has contributed people, money, and time in support of this protest because #caring – and their decision to strike if their demands aren’t met). Now SEIU – the thug union that I was forced to join because – State of Illinois – is involved.
      Oddly enough they didn’t do this for the murder of 9y/o Tayshawn Lee. I guess there wasn’t enough money to be had there.
      Good news… This morning the Dept of Public Safety (better known as the CPD) announced the arrest in the murder of that little boy. They arrested Corey Morgan, the man they first questioned and then released. Morgan is a gang member. It was said to be a gang retribution killing. The kid’s father is a member of a rival gang and refused to cooperate with the CPD.

      • DeniseVB says:

        That little boy was executed by another black, guess that doesn’t count😦 I’d have more respect for BLM if they stormed their own neighborhoods and take them back from those thugs. Ripping lights off Christmas trees just doesn’t win sympathy from me. Besides the bad cop video was covered up before Rahm’s re-election. Over a year ago. Why aren’t they mad at him?

        • leslie says:

          They’d rather be mad at the State’s Atty who failed to press charges and the CPD chief who kept the shooter on the payroll. (Rahm must be protecting – or threatening – the gangs somehow or there’d be even more destruction, imo.)
          An update in the arrests follows…

    • leslie says:

      Per breaking

      3 men involved in murder of Tyshawn Lee, say Chicago Police, announcing charges against Corey Morgan; say a 2nd suspect is in custody on unrelated charge, 3rd, Kevin Edwards, remains wanted.

      It’s interesting that the arrests are being announced while the demonstrations, threats to Chicago’s Black Friday shopping and holiday tourism – the “bottom line” – are taking place.
      There is no such thing as coincidence.

      • Myiq2xu says:

        In terms of strategy BLM is even worse than OWS:

        1. They keep trying to turn dead thugs into saints
        2. They use tactics that will alienate the very people they are trying to reach.

    • DandyTIger says:

      Follow the money. Why do all these outsiders want people they don’t represent to have a union? Because they’ll get a cut. And even if they don’t get a union, why do they want the gov. to raise the minimum wage? Because their negotiated wages are indexed off the minimum wage.

      All fine. But it’s hypocrisy when they say management and owners are motivated by greed when they’re motivated by greed.

  18. Somebody says:

    Happy belated Thanksgiving to everyone at TCH!! I’m glad you all had a good holiday and if any of you are out and about shopping today……why??? Stay home and order whatever it is online and if you must go out stay safe!

    Sorry I missed all of you the past couple of days, I’ve been busy cooking, cleaning and taking care of kids. I managed to prep a lot of things Tuesday and Wednesday to cut down on my workload yesterday. I cooked a boat load of food, cleaned up after and went to bed early last night. Thank goodness I don’t need to do any more cooking! I’m going to try and get my Christmas decorations up and wrap some gifts and hopefully find time to relax and watch some movies before the grandkids return on Monday.

  19. AFVet says:

    Check this guy out,…great speaker.
    He is saying the same things as Trump, only better.

  20. Myiq2xu says:

    What is the world coming to if you can’t even mock a cripple anymore?

    • lyn says:

      Didn’t Obama mock McCain’s disability?

      • Myiq2xu says:

        His followers mocked Trig Palin.

        • lyn says:

          Much worse!

        • leslie says:

          I had been active on a blog at the time of the Trig Palin mockery. THEY were mocking the baby and I was vocal in my objections to those comments.
          So, they mocked me. Called me names, showered me with veiled threats, etc. The moderator of the blog, who “knew” me as a life-long and loyal Democrat as well as a like-minded person and long-time commenter by saying nothing about the tone of the comments gave tacit approval of the direction the blog was taking. (imo)
          There was no room for different points of view. The blog was either hijacked by new (obot) commenters or the changes were supported by the moderator. Either way, I left after expressing my concerns for the direction this blog had taken and my concerns about the possible election of BHO.
          What a time that was. I suppose the same thing will happen if another BHO-like candidate becomes the nominee. I hope for something else.

      • AFVet says:

        Obama mocked the Special Olympics on national TV.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I mock my Special Greg by telling him to stop acting like such a retard when he’s wearing his “stubborn crankypants”. He hates that😛

  21. votermom says:

      • lyn says:

        Or choke on the stuffing, beotches.

        • dm says:

          Everyone within my inner circle under the age of 30 has that “if you vote for Trump I’ll never speak to you again”. Not only that, they have no interest in discussing anything political, unless you are on the same page as them. I tried telling my kids that I am really happy that they are paying attention to the process, are reading and thinking about it, and getting involved. But when you ask them to tell you about Sanders or talk about an issue, they blow me off. Very reflective of what is going on right now on college campuses…if you have a differing opinion, you are an idiot, bigot, whatever.

    • 1539days says:

      I’m still surprised by the people who support Trump. I think Kanye has a good chance of getting a nomination from the Trump example.

  22. DeniseVB says:

    Developing…..Active shooter at a Colorado Springs Planned Parenthood. *Popcorn*.

  23. DeniseVB says:

    I know this is stupid but I had to call my son since he’s on a rapid response swat team for that region and heard a few police officers were hit. He was in Winter Park after pulling a weds-thurs DIA on call shift. Whew, ya never stop worrying about your kids.

  24. Jadzia says:

    I’m feeling depressed and angry and sick. The Christmas season starts slightly earlier here on account of there not being Thanksgiving and of course, my ABSOLUTE FAVORITE THING about Christmas here is the outdoor Christmas market that pops up for about six weeks. Hot wine stands and oyster bars (and lots of locally made gifts and tasty things) as far as the eye can see. It’s just a block from the high school where I work on Friday afternoons, and I love walking home through the market after school with a nice hot, sweet wine.

    You can’t just breeze through anymore. All the intersections where you can enter the market (on foot, it’s a pedestrian thing) are locked down. Security guards at every break in the perimeter. Bag searches.

    I knew that things were going to change, of course. But really I was hoping for changes like more security at train stations, public transportation, things like that. Seeing our wonderful holiday traditions turn into Fortress France… that’s not something I was expecting. I don’t even want to go now, and I certainly won’t be taking the kids, even though we walked through a couple times a week (it’s very close to our house, too) last year.

    And I get why they are doing it. Two Christmas markets were attacked last year. Clearly they are targets. Better safe than sorry.

    But this really feels like our way of life is starting to be chipped away. I honestly wanted to cry.

      • Jadzia says:

        I’m being a baby. So it’s less convenient to wander around window shopping (and snarfing a half-dozen oysters and a glass of wine for 6 euros). FIRST WORLD PROBLEM.

        • DeniseVB says:

          No, you’re not being a baby, the new normal just makes us more nostalgic. I’m glad they’re keeping you safe ❤

        • leslie says:

          You’re not a baby, Jadzia. And it isn’t about convenience; no one here would think that of you. But it is about the loss of a way of life that offered small moments of pleasure and/or happiness. There is no crime in being wistful. It doesn’t make sense not to grieve those losses. ❤

    • DandyTIger says:

      That sucks. I suspect that level of security will soften in the coming weeks. I vaguely remember being in Paris for a few weeks not long after some terrorist activities where there were armed guards (police, military, etc.) with scary guns, everywhere. A bit daunting. But they lighted the level of security over time.

      • Jadzia says:

        Yeah, you’re almost certainly right. Compare flying in the US in October 2001 to flying now, right? Of course there’s a “new normal,” but things are always much more tense in the immediate aftermath.

        Besides, I am being a baby. It’s a FIRST WORLD PROBLEM to whine about being inconvenienced in one’s attempt to wander around window shopping and snarfing 6 oysters and a glass of wine for 6 euros. : )

  25. Jadzia says:

    Also, Thanksgiving prep continues chez Jadzia. I promised my host that I’d make an espresso-chocolate pecan pie (she’s half-American and by American I mean that one of her parents is from the South; she’s making hush puppies and I had to up the ante). Forgetting that you need CORN SYRUP for pecan pie. Which isn’t available here.

    Thank God for Yvon The Spice Man, my new crush, who helpfully informed me that something called “golden syrup” is a good substitute and then sent me down the street to the Irish shop that carries it.

    So I guess that means that the Irish saved Thanksgiving! Can’t wait to tell my SIL from Dublin.

    • DandyTIger says:

      Lyle’s Golden Syrup is great. Don’t know if that’s the one you found. I have it with Irish Oatmeal (McCann’s) all the time. Mmmm.

      • Jadzia says:

        That is what I found! I tasted the pie filling (can’t get into the finished pie because it’s for the feast tonight) and it tasted reasonably close to normal pecan pie.

        Also, turns out the Irish store is awesome. I’m going to go back (uh, if I ever have any money) for one of those heavy, warm sweaters.

    • elliesmom says:

      I like the Lyle’s much better for pecan pie and for Pennsylvania Dutch shoofly pie.

      • Jadzia says:

        Do you have a recipe for shoofly pie? My mom always talked about how her mom would make that, but neither of them left a recipe behind. : (

      • Jadzia says:

        Also, I was BEYOND excited not to have to try to make it myself (there are recipes online).

  26. Dora says:

  27. DeniseVB says:

    Oh joy, Kathy Griffin has joined the CS shooter news coverage.

    • votermom says:

      Is it just me or does Colorado seem to have more than its fair share of crazy shooters?

      • DeniseVB says:

        When the kids first moved there, I’ll never forget this message “Hey Mom, we found a rental, it’s between Columbine High School and the Aurora Theater.” Comforting, hey? They’ve since bought in the ‘burbs where the school and neighborhood are well concealed carry.😉

      • leslie says:

        No. It’s not you, vm. CO has more than its share of nutty people.

    • 1539days says:

      The PP where I live is behind a McDonalds and in the same building as other doctors’ offices. Proximity does not equal causation.

  28. DeniseVB says:

    Good update from the current live presser on CS Shooter situation. DON’T BELIEVE ANYTHING YOU’RE READING ON SOCIAL MEDIA. Love her, going full Trump.

  29. Myiq2xu says:

Comments are closed.