Post Black Friday Survival Guide

Let the remaining holiday season begin…yo! It’s a good time, trust me and it’s an Open Thread m’friends, enjoy !


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

126 Responses to Post Black Friday Survival Guide

  1. DeniseVB says:

    Apologies to the ‘Hole, I was wrong, son is no longer on the Viper team. Nevermind 😉

  2. Dora says:

    CAIR and MSNBC poster boy for ISLAMOPHOBIA has been arrested for joining ISIS CELL!!

  3. elliesmom says:

    We spent most of the day at the new house. We had our first official guests drop by. The furniture store delivered a new buffet for the kitchen. We found the grocery store and bought some groceries. I did a couple of loads of wash while I waited for the furniture guys. The movers come on Monday. It’s beginning to feel real. I have two days of hard work facing me before we’re ready to go, but the end of packing is in sight. We took Ellie along today for her second visit. She started the waggy tail thing when the lake came into sight so I think she’s excited. She spent most of the day running around the yard. She’s been snoring since we got home. I think I’m going to join her.

  4. Myiq2xu says:

    (I saw this when I was at my mom’s. She loves this show. I think she has a thing for either Tom Selleck or Donnie Wahlberg. Maybe both.)

    This is where SJW “truth” comes from:

    Blue Bloods episode S5.08 “Power of the Press”

    A girl Erin knows claims that she was assaulted by another student at the university she goes to but the university appears to be not interested in giving her justice. So Erin decides to investigate herself and learns that they’re more interested in protecting their image. A cop was outfitted with a camera got into an altercation with a man but when his camera conked out it failed to captured what happened because the man was injured and claims that the cop was rough on him but the cop says the man threw the first punch.

    This one is a two-fer. The first is the campus rape case that the school administration covers up. As we have repeatedly seen, in reality there is no rape epidemic, there have been lots of high-profile hoaxes and our colleges and universities are kangaroo courts where the accused are presumed guilty and denied due process.

    The second case is basically an editorial for police body cams. The cop’s body-cam doesn’t work and he is about to be fried from police brutality until the Chief finds a witness who recorded the arrest and the video shows the cop was telling the truth.

    The problem with both these stories is that even though they are fake they affect people’s perception of reality. In Hollywoodland the campus rape epidemic is very real, and realistic campus rape cases are frequently portrayed in police and legal dramas. This serves to reinforce bogus media narratives.


    • Myiq2xu says:

      Back in the early 60’s The Untouchables was a hit show portraying Robert Stack as Eliott Ness, the man who put Capone in prison. The American-Italian Anti-Defamation League objected to the show portraying Italians as criminals (even though the Mafia is Italian). The producers yielded to pressure and started using generic white guys as criminals. Soon the show was off the air.

      Ever since then various identity groups have tried emulating the AIADL with enough success that white Christians are the only group it is still permissible to stereotype.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I like Blue Bloods for the family dinner scenes🙂 With so many crime shows that have been on for years, their creative teams probably use the headlines for inpsiration then embelish them to make them entertaining and resolved in an hour.

      • 49erDweet says:

        It’s one of the few shows that don’t use college freshmen on their creative teams, apparently, because most of their plots seem to make sense. Unlike a couple hundred other shows.

    • elliesmom says:

      Most cop shows or political shows these days feature stories “ripped from the headlines”. Since the headlines usually come from the leftie press, there’s a definite tilt. Every once in awhile they stumble into a storyline that veers a little to the right, and the “critics” go ballistic. I appreciate that “Bluebloods” shows an intact family with strong values. They don’t always agree on everything, but they seem to be able to work out their differences. I give them some latitude on the issues because of that, but I sense the people watching the show already appreciate the importance of family. People who don’t appreciate it think the show is dumb.

  5. Jadzia says:

    Happy shopping!

    • Jadzia says:

      I like Macklemore’s version better but I’m not sure how many “fucks” are too many around here. : )

  6. Jadzia says:

    Here’s the real brussels sprouts recipe that I use. I don’t know WHY I was remembering it as having bacon:

  7. Dora says:

    Don’t we have any normal people running? Except Trump, of course.

    Cruz’ Father Suggests Ted Cruz “Anointed” to “Bring The Spoils Of War To The Priests”

  8. Jadzia says:

    So having learned yesterday that “Fargo” has been renewed for season 3 (YAY), here is what I want for Christmas: I want for Season 3 to be set in Hibbing in the 1950s, and I want it to include a black-haired, blue-eyed teenage folk singer as a minor character.

    • Myiq2xu says:

      I watched the movie for the first time last night. I knew both seasons of the show were connected but I never realized the movie was connected too (other than the name and setting).

      Lots of good characters, but Billy Bob’s was the best.

      • Jadzia says:

        I loved the movie. All my friends loved the movie when it came out. All of our parents HAAAAATED it because they thought it was poking fun at the Midwest. I thought Billy Bob was GREAT; Alison Tolman is an amazing discovery, too. And Kirsten Dunst, who apparently I never like UNLESS she’s playing a Minnesotan, is phenomenal in the second season. And continuing the “Breaking Bad” connection of the first season (Bob Odenkirk played one of the cops), Kirsten’s husband is played by Jesse Plemons (“Meth Damon”) this season.

    • blowme0bama says:

      Wifey-poo watches that show. I grew up in the country, still hunt ducks, general all around guy, but I just can’t watch that show. Too violent and gruesome.

      • Jadzia says:

        So I’m guessing you’re not a Walking Dead fan either…. I refused to watch violent TV until I got hooked on Breaking Bad (as a binge-watch) and now I’m pretty much immune as long as it isn’t an actual horror movie.

        • blowme0bama says:

          Yeah, no. Really, don’t watch any TV. Paying what amounts to 1700 / year for DirectTV so wife can watch maybe a doz shows. I hate TV.

          • Jadzia says:

            I don’t like TV here at all (French TV is second only to French pop music in the Things That Are Better in America category, IMO), but I keep an “OCS” subscription (it’s basically HBO GO and the subscription is for Game of Thrones and Walking Dead, because everything else on it SUCKS) for 8 euros-ish a month and Netflix for about the same amount, on top of the basic basic cable subscription that it is stupid not to have, because it is cheaper to have the cable + Internet than it is to have just the Internet. Drives me crazy to pay for the basic cable because the only regular TV we watch is BFMTV (French version of CNN Headline News), which is an “over the air” station.

  9. Dora says:

    In case you all feel like joining in the fun. 🙂

  10. Dora says:

    Help! I’m stuck in moderation again. Thank you.

  11. Dora says:

    I knew this was going to take place on Monday, but I was sure the media wouldn’t give it any attention. Therefore I was happy to see that 2 of the major newspapers are reporting it. Very good.


    Black Pastors Expected to Endorse Donald Trump

    Donald Trump to Get Endorsements From African-American Pastors

  12. Jadzia says:

    And now… it’s time to make the tourtiere pie. Special surprise for my hosts, because the Xmas season starts as soon as we clear the Thanksgiving dishes, right?

    • votermom says:

      Don’t torture the pie!!!!

      Oh, wait …

      • Jadzia says:

        It’s torture being able to smell the filling knowing that it is destined for somebody else. : (

        • votermom says:

          So what kind of pie is it?

          • Jadzia says:

            It’s basically a seasoned pork pie. Traditional Quebecois Christmas dish; my grandma made it, her grandma made it, you get the idea. You boil up a couple of potatoes and cut them into little pieces, add a bunch of salt and pepper and butter. Separately you brown up a diced onion and a couple of cloves of minced garlic, then you add a pound of ground pork and add a tablespoon of cloves, 1/4 tablespoon of allspice, and 1/2 tablespoon of ground cumin. Cook until the pork is browned but not totally cooked, then add the potato. Then put the whole thing into a pie plate (top AND bottom crusts) and bake it at 350 for an hour. I suspect every little town has its own variation. Because my mom and grandma didn’t leave their recipes behind, I actually use my high school BFF’s recipe; she lives in northern Maine and also has Quebecois grannies.

          • Somebody says:

            A meat pie, traditionally pork but sometimes a combo of pork and beef.

          • Myiq2xu says:

            Fold the crust over like a calzone and it’s a pasty.

          • Anthony says:

            @Jadzia – Thanks for posting this! I read your comment this morning and got ridiculously hungry. My recipe is similar, but I use shredded pork, which makes the whole operation take 2 days because it has to chill overnight before making the pie. Smelling the roast cooking before shredding it is torture – next time I’ll try it with ground and save myself 3 hours…..

          • votermom says:

            Sounds kinda like an empanadas, except those are pastries. Sounds delicious!

          • lyn says:

            My mom makes the best pasties. She is from Butte, MT, which has a yuuuge toxic mine pit.

          • Jadzia says:

            WHAAAAAT? A tourtiere pie ain’t a pasty! A pasty is sometimes pork, but where I’m from it is usually beef or venison, plus no fancy spices, plus YA GOTTA HAVE DA RUTABAGA. And it’s not pie crust, it’s crust made with suet.

            Other than that, totally the same thing.


          • Jadzia says:

            Lyn–I have had pasties in Butte! We went to visit friends in Bozeman about five years ago and drove through Butte. When I saw that pasties sign, OF COURSE WE HAD TO STOP. We went to a tiny little hole in the wall in the middle of town and yep, they were pretty darn good. A bit different from UP pasties in the crust (and I think there wasn’t rutabaga), but still pretty darn good. And cheap!!!!

          • Jadzia says:

            Anthony, can I have your tourtiere recipe? I’d love to try it! We’ve still got 26 days (?) until Xmas and I know my husband would love a tourtiere Advent calendar because THAT MAN LOVES PORK. Guess it’s a French thing.

          • lyn says:

            Jadzia–LOL. When we visited our grandparents in Butte, we ate at Pork Chop John’s or had pasties. My mom makes them with beef, potato and onion, and her lard crust is to die for … literally.😉

        • gram krakka says:

          Is it really a tablespoon of cloves? Cloves tend to overwhelm other flavers, so I usually scale them way back.

        • Anthony says:

          Jadzia, I’d be happy to share it with you. Can you get my email address from Klown or one of the mods? Its really a great recipe, just a little labor intensive but worth every second – got it from an old friend’s mom, she said it has been in her family for years.

  13. Myiq2xu says:

  14. Myiq2xu says:

  15. SHV says:

    FWIW, Berry College Eagles are back at their nest.

  16. foxyladi14 says:

    I miss Helen,
    Is she on vacation? 🙂

  17. Dora says:

    This afternoon’s rally was great. The people were all excited when Trump landed in his helicopter and the cheers continued until he left the stage a few hours later. There were so many people there that he had to speak twice. One of Trump’s supporters brought an elephant. It was all such great fun. I told you that a Trump rally is never dull. I wasn’t kidding.🙂

    Trump to speak twice in Sarasota because of overwhelming demand

    Frank Murray is such a big Trump fan he decided to donate the free use of his elephant for the campaign event. Members of the crowd posed for pictures with the animal, which had “TRUMP Make America Great Again” written in white lettering on its side.

  18. Dora says:

    A look at the crowd inside. This doesn’t show the people waiting outdoors.

  19. Myiq2xu says:

  20. DeniseVB says:

    Don’t click on this link if you’re noshing on leftover turkey bones. I’m just a fan of History of the Absurd and thankful this thankfully weekend, we have evolved, I think😉

  21. DeniseVB says:

    When did WaPo turn into Voxsplaining ?

    • Dora says:

      I remember it very well. The little snot made it all up and then left the state to live in exile. Many people were effected by this false claim, the worst being an attorney upstate who was driven to suicide. I’ve forgotten his name, for which I should be ashamed.

      The main character in this farce was Al Sharpton who made his debut with this case, but went on to bring much more destruction and death to the citizens of NYC and who – for some reason I will never understand – is now looked up to as a mentor by all the younger crooks and drug addicts in the neighborhood and who even has his own TV show.

      Some things are so far beyond my comprehension that if I think about them too deeply I will go crazy. Alright, alright – even more crazy.

  22. Myiq2xu says:

  23. Jadzia says:

    Saturday Thanksgiving was AWESOME. Our hosts were another “famille nombreuse,” so when the 8 kids hit 100+ decibels, the mom DIDN’T BLINK AN EYE. It’s been ten years since I was so relaxed at somebody else’s house!

  24. DeniseVB says:

    I saw this on my newsfeed this morning about the officer who was killed at PP…….

    Below is U.S. Figure Skating’s statement regarding Officer Garrett Swasey. Swasey, 44, was the 1992 U.S. junior ice dance champion with partner Christine Fowler.

    “The figure skating community mourns the tragic loss of Officer Garrett Swasey, a former U.S. junior ice dance champion. Garrett is remembered as a kind and selfless man who was well-liked by friends and competitors alike. He died in the line of duty serving the community of Colorado Springs, home to U.S. Figure Skating. While we are shocked and saddened by his loss, we are grateful for his service as an officer and his impact as a figure skater. Our deepest sympathies and thoughts are with his wife, Rachel, and children Elijah and Faith.”

    – Sam Auxier, U.S. Figure Skating president

  25. DeniseVB says:

    Princess Charlotte sighting ! (a cuppa morning cuteness)

  26. helenk3 says:

    Hello and Happy Thanksgiving.
    Internet in Florida is very interesting. When I first moved to Orlando i had brighthouse.It was all I could get where I lived. Slow. Then I moved to Port Charlotte. I had called and made an appointment with comcast. they never showed up. So then I got century link, Had it for 6 weeks and did not have one week where the tv-internet and phone all worked at the same time. So then I got dish. they told me that the new dish internet was fast and great. So I got it. Now I find out that is is rationed. For two months i got a message telling me that my available usage was at it’s limit and the speed would be slowed down. So I really can not be on the internet for any length of time until Dec 1st.
    so for all who consider moving to Florida do not have any high hopes of internet service. I think Cuba has better.

    • foxyladi14 says:

      Happy to see you Helen. ❤
      We were just about to send out the Posse! 😀

    • Ann says:

      We have comcast at our condo in St Augustine, and I am constantly complaining about how slow it is (have fios in NY). I do have the ability to use my Verizon phone for internet, and will when the cconcast gets too painfully slow to take. I am grandfathered into unlimited data with no throttling (now 50 bucks!).

      After reading your story, Helen, I will keep my mouth shut in the future.

    • swanspirit says:

      Wow, and I thought Mediacom sucked. Well, actually it does, I was considering switching to dish, guess I will just hang in there with ol unreliable, and unavailable if it rains.

    • votermom says:

      hi Helen, great to see you!

      Sorry to hear about the awful internet situation.

  27. Myiq2xu says:

    One difference between left and right:

    If a black member of BLM does something stupid, the right blames BLM.

    If a white Tea Partier does something stupid, the left blames white people.

Comments are closed.