Trump Style


Let’s start with a disclaimer: I am not a Trump supporter. On the other hand I am not a Trump hater either. I’ll explain both in more detail later.

Now some facts: Donald Trump is running for President. He is not just running to help Hillary win. He really wants to be President. He believes he would be a good one. He may or may not be correct, but in my opinion he would probably be an improvement over Obama. “Better than Obama” is a really low threshold. Forty-three Presidents were all better than Obama.

Trump is not a partisan. He is running as a Republican because he correctly believes that that gives him his best chance of winning. If you are strongly partisan you do not like Trump. The GOP establishment hates him.

Trump is not an ideologue. He is not a policy wonk either. He does not have any detailed policy ideas. He cares more about results than how we get there.

I believe that Donald Trump is smart, savvy, and generally a nice guy. He is also brash, vain and thin skinned. Nobody is perfect, but most of Trump’s faults are more obvious than usual for a politician. But then Trump is not a politician.

Trump is an unconventional candidate who is running an unconventional campaign. If he tried to run a conventional campaign he would get creamed. His only chance of winning is to break all the “rules” and he wants to win.

This may surprise some of you but not everything that Trump says is 100% accurate. On the other hand the same could be said for every other candidate in the race. He doesn’t mean everything he promises either. He knows it really doesn’t matter anyway.

If Trump loses then nobody will give a shit what he said. Under these unique circumstances he is unlikely to have any coattails. Even if he were to lose to Hillary the GOP will still control Congress.

If Trump wins nobody will give a shit about what he said during the campaign. What they will care about is what he does while he’s in office. Obama broke every promise and still got reelected.

Here is the secret behind Trump’s current success: Most people don’t care about partisanship or policy. They want peace and prosperity and good schools and low crime. They are “outcome oriented”. Trump is promising good outcomes.

Our presidential elections have turned into a reality television show. It’s one big popularity contest. It’s Survivor, and the winner gets to live in the White House. Donald Trump was the star of a hit reality television show.

If you have watched those kind of shows you know that the best contestants don’t always win. You don’t have to be the best, you just have to be the last one standing.

By conventional rules Donald Trump is a horrible candidate. So what? He’s winning, and that’s all that matters right now. Donald Trump is focused on winning the GOP nomination. If and when he becomes the nominee he will worry about how to beat Hillary.

The anti-Trump forces claim that Trump is running a racist campaign. That argument might carry more weight if Obama hadn’t relied so heavily on using the race card the past eight years. Anyone the GOP nominates will be accused of racism and sexism.

The irony is that Trump is indeed appealing to populist fears regarding crime, immigration and Islamic terrorism. The Democrats have worked hard for the past 50 years to convince the public that having those kind of fears is ipso facto proof of racism. They were very successful in achieving that goal.

But when people turn on their televisions and see skyrocketing murder rates in our inner cities, racial riots, floods of illegal immigrants and terrorist atrocities, they feel afraid. Those things are very real.

Along comes Donald Trump, and he starts saying what no other politician is willing to say. He addresses those fears directly. He doesn’t tell people they are racists for being afraid. He promises to make things better. He connects to people on an emotional level.

As far as political strategies go, that’s golden. If you win their hearts their brains will follow.


About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

114 Responses to Trump Style

  1. Myiq2xu says:

    Obama ran a more subtle but no less effective emotion-based campaign. It was all about the feels for Obama supporters, and the hell with the facts.

  2. I’m not captivated by the Trump show, but I do enjoy watching as a spectator. One of my coworkers wants him to win and he’s voted Green party for the last 10 years. His theory is that Trump might be what it takes to convince Americans of the danger of GOP orthodoxy. I remember thinking the same thing about Bush43, but I was wrong, and not just about orthodoxy. It was a symptomatic of my own groupthinking with Democrats. I no longer suffer from that, which is why I’m a spectator.

    BTW, it hasn’t quite been 50 years since Jimmy Carter.

  3. This guy is also interesting. I’ve read his analysis of a Trump event a few times. It’s a different take.

  4. elliesmom says:

    I’m not a Trump supporter, either, in that I haven’t sent him any money, I don’t have his bumper sticker on my car, and I haven’t been campaigning for or against him. If he’s the Republican nominee, I will vote for him. I am in the same position for Ted Cruz. There are possible Republican candidates who will make me sit this one out- for the first time since 1972. There are no candidates on the Republican side who would make me vote for Hillary Clinton. I’m determined this time to vote for someone instead of for the lesser of two evils.

    I have finally sucked Elliesdad into paying attention to the election this far out. He’s usually a September of the election year kind of voter. The primaries are seldom very interesting in MA. Last night one of his work friends posted, “First Trump came for the Mexicans, and I did nothing. Then he came for the Muslims. Yadayadayada.” I thought ED was going to burst a blood vessel. He doesn’t suffer fools very gladly, and he was so disappointed in his friend. “It’s fine the guy’s a Democrat, but I didn’t think he was that stupid. And to show the world his stupidity?” I promise I didn’t laugh.😉

  5. driguana says:

    It is very interesting that not one media source that I could find this morning actually gives the entire Trump statement about banning Muslims, here it is: “total and complete shutdown of Muslims entering the United States until our country’s representatives can figure out what is going on.” Notice anything interesting? Yes the last part of the sentence…”until our representatives can figure out what is going on”. No one mentions that yet it was exactly what happened regarding with both Japanese citizens and immigrants during WWII and during the Carter administration with Iranians. Your post cuts to quick. Wonder why there are so many movies and TV shows about zombies and vampires????

    • mcnorman says:

      I’m sure that the msm reads that last half of the statement as a minor detail.

    • swanspirit says:

      It also happened during the Obama administration, but try and get that little detail into the conversation

      The Obama Administration Stopped Processing Iraq Refugee Requests For 6 Months In 2011

      After two terrorists were discovered in Bowling Green, Kentucky, in 2009, the FBI began reviewing reams of evidence taken from improvised explosive devices (IEDs) that had been used against American troops in Iraq. Federal investigators then tried to match fingerprints from those bombs to the fingerprints of individuals who had recently entered the United States as refugees:

    • swanspirit says:

      They did the same thing to Hillary, and to Mitt, they only publish the part of a quote or story they want in order to incite a reaction . And they accuse The Donald of rabble rousing.
      But seeing all these heads exploding, is gratifying. i am beginning to think Trump is Sarah Palin’s revenge. I know she has to be up in Alaska smiling.

  6. votermom says:

    Ace posted this yesterday. Silly but some bits had me giggling uncontrollably

  7. threewickets says:

    I don’t get why prog trolls are having epileptic fits about Trump. They hate Hillary anyway. It’s like they have nothing else to do but find something or somebody to hate. It’s their only mode. Pious juvenile morons.

  8. DeniseVB says:

    I tuned in to watch Afrocity on CBS this morning. Was she part of Frank Luntz’s focus group? Of course not knowing her real name, I tried to read the nametags anyhow😉

  9. Myiq2xu says:

  10. Myiq2xu says:

  11. Myiq2xu says:

  12. Dora says:

    “KILL TRUMP!” When all else fails, the left wing loons call for Donald Trump to be assassinated

    Donald Trump’s online critics have proposed an alternative to his anti-terrorism policies: Assassinate him instead. Secret Service agents assigned to protect Trump since Nov. 11th, may be working overtime in the wake of his comments on halting Muslim immigration into the U.S. A slew of death threats against the billionaire were tweeted after a campaign stop in South Carolina on Monday.

  13. Myiq2xu says:

  14. Venus says:

    I’ve said it before — I’ll vote Trump happily as a giant F U to the political elites.
    I’d do the same for Cruz and Carly (wish she had more staying power) as a “not quite as big FU.”

    The thing with Trump that I see — besides what you wrote — is that he comes across as actually talking *to* the American people, instead of lecturing us (i.e., “this is not who we are” — said by both Obama and Paul Ryan in the last 2 days). I can see how that is appealing.

    And honestly, the rank HYSTERIA of the MSM and the Uni-Party (“It isn’t constitutional for the US to deny foreign nationals entry based on religion” — utter, complete, b.s. btw — a country can 100% decided who gets to come in for any reason) makes me actually like Trump more. He’s pissing off ALL the right people and exposing the elites as working *against* the American people.

    • DeniseVB says:

      After the worst political experiment ever, Obama, it’s going to take a bombastic and yuuuuge political experiment to fix the damn country. I’ll take my chances on Trump, at least he loves his country and her people. I trust him to put qualified people in his administration and make it work smarter. I’ll vote for any of the other candidates too, because Hillary is beating the Obama’s third term drum.

    • threewickets says:

      Prog media/academic/political class elitists in this country need their legs clipped. So fucking fed up with their sanctimonious bullshit. If Trump can cut them down a size, more power to him. I’ll decide about Hillary next November, if she’s there.

    • blowme0bama says:

      Yeah, I’ve got problems with Trump’s lack of grounding in facts when he spouts things off and his braggadocio, but at least he loves the Country and seems to realize that raping the middle class to support bums and freaks isn’t a great formula for domestic tranquility.

    • foxyladi14 says:


  15. Myiq2xu says:

  16. Myiq2xu says:

  17. Myiq2xu says:

    • Somebody says:

      I’ll say it again, Rubio is the GOP Obama. You can’t believe anything he says, He is for sale to the highest bidder.

      • leslie says:

        Absolutely. I’ve been saying that myself for quite a while. No investment in the job he has, always seeking a higher role, always flying under the radar and a smooth talker.
        Yes, the GOP’s BHO

    • lizzy says:

      Brylcreem Boy can think?

  18. DeniseVB says:

    This makes no sense either. I had to respond….

    • swanspirit says:

      What a stupid sticker …

    • mothy67 says:

      Tweet that maniacal bitch the names of each person murdered last week. I loathe that woman. So fake and patronizing. . Trump is worth my vote just to watch him unleash the Kracken on her pantsuit covered ass. I understand some people take great offense to certain words. I don’t get it. I do not fall apart if someone calls me a f a g. Hitlary gives me tourettes.

    • The first 9 letters are LoveTrump. A bunch of Trump supporters should order them and just cut off the end, like we used to do with rearranging bumper stickers.

  19. mothy67 says:

    I am all in for Trump. Maybe Cruz. I have no idea where Fiorino stands on most things. I am most impressed with those he hires. I watch his people work and I’m impressed. Imagine his cabinet. Every time some jackass belittles his supporters I gravitate more to him. The dismissive tone of kasich and others is very offensive. I have legitimate concerns. I do not cower in fear about terrorists. Yet I am not taking the brat to NYC. The fact is obvious the government does not have a handle on the threat. Playing nice and polite does not replace the mothers, fathers, sons ,daughters who died last week. I am so sick of the word radicalized. Makes the monsters sound unresponsible. No the sick fucks were not mind controlled. They made a choice. Beheading children might be the most heinous act ever. Not buying happy horse shit about global warming or jobs.. we have no idea what is here. Pray there is not another attack but that seems unlikely. Enforcing the borders and a moratorium on immigration seems like common sense.

  20. DeniseVB says:

    A different time, a different refugee crisis. Interesting reading back and it looked like there was a well thought out plan in place

    I don’t remember them hating us for our freedoms either. Or blowing sh*t up after they got here.

  21. swanspirit says:

    • Anthony says:

      It would help if the Muslim community came out publicly and denounced ISIS and ISIS sympathizers. They are the only ones who can do this. Instead, all I hear is whining about how the USA is targeting them.

      If they truly want to differentiate themselves from radicals, then they have to make a clear distinction between themselves and the radical element within their own ranks. Until that happens, they will sadly all be painted with the same brush.

      Did I mention that I’m not holding my breath?

  22. DeniseVB says:

    Why I’m an angry centrist !

  23. votermom says:

  24. Kathy says:

    I wish some PAC or group with money would create a video to put on tv of media talking heads being wrong about so many heads. Just heard that Comey said these two terrorists in California were radicalized years ago and I remember CNN , even a few days ago, saying how thoroughly the fiancé was vetted so nothing was wrong with bringing fifty billion more in. Now–silence about the wonderful vetting process..we need a montage of all the stupid stuff they say and them being wrong. I want to see these jackasses eat crow.

  25. DeniseVB says:

    Very interesting, but I think we all knew Obama/Clinton didn’t want to help the victims of Benghazi for fear the situation would escalate and claim many more victims…..while Obama was campaigning for re-election with Al Qaeda’s on the Run !

  26. Dora says:

    Carter Banned Iranians from Coming to US During Hostage Crisis

    Trump is just like Hitler. Or Jimmy Carter.

  27. votermom says:

    OT Rant:
    It dawned on me that I have been waiting 7 days for a mail order prescription. So I log in to the rx insurance site and check the tracking. The packages went from my metro area on the east coast on Dec 4, disappeared for 4 days, and showed up yesterday at Chicago.So last night I left complaints at both the rx insurance site and USPS.
    Local post office person calls me this morning. As far as she can tell there is something wrong with the “address encoding” on the package (maybe the bar code) and she’s very sorry but can’t really say when it will get here.
    Rx insurance, nothing yet. I call them, yell at the voice response menu until I finally get a completely clueless accented customer rep. Basically I am going to get the rx at my local pharmacy for now, wait until next week for the missing one to show up or else call them again. No apologies for whatever they did to screw it up, just a lot of stammering.
    Basically Post Office has better customer service than my rx insurance.

    • Jadzia says:

      I think you’re probably more of a captive consumer with your insurance–the Post Office has to compete with the Internet and UPS/FedEx/DHL/etc. now! Not to mention Amazon’s home delivery and drones.

  28. driguana says:

    Funny thing about guns. I grew up in a family of hunters in southern Ohio and we all had shotguns and rifles and knew how to use them correctly. I went to a camp in northern KY when I was 10 and one of the programs was a shooting class after which we all got free NRA membership and badges…still have mine. When my kids were growing up in New Mexico, we kept our shotguns in storage as we no longer hunted and finally sold them. Never have had a pistol. Well, me and my honey decided on a pistol for a Christmas present and just got a sweet Smith and Wesson 38 Special J frame revolver. Easy for her to handle and a sweet little firearm with a laser for short ranges. Come to find out our whole street is armed!! Funny thing about guns!

  29. Myiq2xu says:

  30. Myiq2xu says:

  31. Dora says:

    NE Police Benevolent Association set to endorse…TRUMP!

    A New England police union is poised to formally throw its support behind Republican front runner Donald Trump at an event in New Hampshire Thursday.

    Trump FlynnThe New England Police Benevolent Association will be holding a “presidential candidate’s forum” in Portsmouth tomorrow night for the purposes of endorsing a candidate. Donald Trump is scheduled to appear, his campaign tells Seacoast Online.

  32. foxyladi14 says:


  33. swanspirit says:

    When my son thinks it might be a good idea for me to get a gun, it might be time to get a gun.

  34. DeniseVB says:

    Finally a protest I agree with ! Just turned on the news to see “thousands” (as reported by the media) want Rahm Emanuel to resign as Mayor in Chicago, which he should have done after he fired his police chief. Hey Ho, Rahm Must Go !

    • swanspirit says:

      I do agree with asking Rahm to resign. he was using the Obama playbook. Cover up anything that might interfere with getting you elected or re-elected, and then when it comes to light , lie your around it and pretend you didn’t know or it wasn’t your fault.
      Obama did it , Hillary is still doing it. Rahm knows how the game is played.

      I agree with asking him to resign, but I have to SMH at the protestors. They protest people getting killed by cops, while gangs execute their children and they basically sit on their hands. I am not impressed with their lopsided protest.

  35. Myiq2xu says:

  36. votermom says:

    We are looking to refinance the house. Where is a good site to look for good lenders?

    We get lots of flyers in the mail. I looked one up, Third Federal Savings & Loan, and it seemed to have a number of complaints on the net and on BBB.

    I’m not sure where I can look to find good reviews.

    • 1539days says:

      I’d be wary of anyone who solicits your business in that regard.

    • leslie says:

      Do you have a financial advisor? S/He could help you. My brother is a financial advisor and her steered me to someone he works with. That worked out well for me. Both my son and his MIL used local S&Ls. Are there any credit unions around you? I was going to use my CU at work even though I was no longer a member, but went with my brother’s associate instead.
      BTW: here, you only have to keep a credit union account active by leaving a minimal amt in the account (only a few dollars). Their interest rates are usually low, as well.
      Good luck…

    • DeniseVB says:

      Start with your current lender. We have only dealt with Bank of America and Wells Fargo because they’re too big to fail ya’know😉 Not a problem in 35 years, we just paid off the house. We used equity loans to pay for college and cars, you can deduct the interest like a mortgage, unlike credit cards.

  37. dailypuma says:

    I’m surprised no one brought up the Burt Reynolds comments regarding Charlie Sheen. I found the Reynold’s comments to be very Trump like, and sure enough, the media apparently went after Reynolds. All Reynolds did was remind everyone that Sheen was so out of control when he had his highly rated sit com that he demanded huge raises and spent lavishly on his night life and instead of having a modicum of responsibility, simply called everything he did “Winning”. Reynold’s gets lambasted for telling it like it is.

    • cynic says:

      I couldn’t believe that Burt Reynolds popped up in the news today. When the first mention of an actor having AIDS, and they gave the clues about this person dating an award winner, religious (think Sally Field/flying nun) singer (think Dinah Shore), etc. My first thought was that the person was Burt Reynolds!

    • DeniseVB says:

      Sandy! Hello. I glazed over that headline today and thought Reynolds’ is selling a book now, no such thing as bad publicity, add Trumplike and Charlie Sheen, his sales may be Yuuuuuge.😉

  38. lyn says:

    Everyone is going after Trump to prevent Obama from being held accountable for last week’s radical Islamic slaughter.

Comments are closed.