Nutcracker Friday Open Thread

There’s a political metaphor here somewhere…

Today and tomorrow are Nutcracker Days for the kiddo. Me & Hubby watch tonight and tomorrow we help out.

What’s your weekend plans?


PS. I just checked  – those cards are actually on Amazon.

This entry was posted in Open Thread. Bookmark the permalink.

95 Responses to Nutcracker Friday Open Thread

  1. votermom says:

    Although the cards are kinda ugly, I’m just taken with the concept.

  2. DeniseVB says:

    Have a fun weekend ! Last time I saw the Nutcracker was when the Moscow Ballet came to town and they recruited local dance students to play the children’s parts.

    Back in elementary school, I was in the Arabian dance part and still remember the stupid veil I had to wear across my face. Yeah, let’s make it harder for the klutzy kid not to see her feet.😉

    • votermom says:

      Kiddo is in Snow and Arabian this year. I was watching rehearsal, they are going to carry the Arabian lead (uber flexible girl) off the stage on top of their hands. Nerve-wracking!

  3. votermom says:

    If there were 2016 playing cards, Trump would have to be King of Diamonds, right?

  4. elliesmom says:

    Let’s see, my plans for the weekend. Unpack more boxes. Sleep a bit. Explore the neighborhood with Ellie. Buy a new TV set. Think about doing some Christmas shopping. Find the dump.

    • votermom says:

      Yup, kiddo will be in that. They have a big group for snow and a group of 4 that go on pointe, which includes her.

      • Jadzia says:

        Wow! I didn’t know you were a ballet mom, too. Three of my kids started ballet this year.

        • votermom says:

          Their school has a dance teacher and an annual Nutcracker production and my oldest decided to join one year. Then the other one did. They wanted to do it and I said okay, even though it means I spend a lot of time helping out in costuming. After they started Nutcracker they also begged to do an outside dance class once a week.

          The outside dance school has a dance team that competes and dances in parades on Thanksgiving & holidays, but luckily neither kid has wanted to do that. I’d be a wreck if I had to be an actual dance mom. This part time ballet mom thing is ok.

          Ballet in France must be cool! How is it so far?

          • Dora says:

            Wow! It gives me hope to know that you both have children who are studying ballet. With the crap (I’m being polite) that the kids are listening to these days, it’s wonderful to know that there are still young people who enjoy beautiful music. Congratulations to you both and I hope a few of your kids make it to Lincoln Center.

          • Jadzia says:

            It’s pretty awesome. Low-pressure, unlike what I am hearing from my mommy friends in Paris. The girls basically just like the outfits; the boy likes that he has an activity with his best buddy.

        • cynic says:

          The year my daughter took ballet, we took her to see the Nutcracker in Chicago. As it just so happened, that was the year that Marshall Field featured the Nutcracker in their display windows. It was wonderful.

          They have a restaurant called the Walnut Room, and we had lunch under the huge Christmas tree in the center of the room. The tree was decorated with ceramic ornaments featuring the characters from the Nutcracker. We bought them, and enjoyed putting them on the tree. I have now passed them on to her for her tree.

          Oh, so many special memories. (wiping a tear from the corner of my eye) and looking forward to making new ones with grandchildren.

          My kids had a teacher in grade school, who’s husband died at a very young age from a massive heart attack. She would always include in her weekly newsletters to the parents, ‘Have a great weekend, and go and make some memories.’.

          • Jadzia says:

            RIP Marshall Field’s. I’m taking Boy #2 Christmas shopping today and hoping to find a reasonably good restaurant open (lots of things are closed on Sunday here), because he is an 8-year-old foodie.

  5. simofish says:

    Going to Napa tomorrow for wine tasting. Sunday is always a day to relax. We always try to plan an activity for Saturday and Sunday just chill.

    • Myiq2xu says:

      My problem with wine tastings is they don’t put enough Jesus juice in your glass. This ain’t communion, fill that sicker up!

      • Somebody says:

        If you ever make it to North Carolina, stop by the Biltmore Estate village. They have a winery there you can tour which dumps out in their wine store. They have row after row of tables set up so you can sample every wine they sell if that is your desire. The pours are quite generous for a tasting and if you just can’t make up your mind they’ll pour you a second or third tasting of the same wine.

        • Myiq2xu says:

          Jim Bob’s All-You-Can-Drink Winery Tour

          • Somebody says:

            Pretty much, but I don’t really drink wine. The Biltmore estate is truly magnificent though. Especially if you spring for the audio tour with the headphones, because there is a lot of extra information about art pieces in the room, or famous people that visited or various events that happened there. The special tours are nice too and loaded with additional information.

            It took 33 years to drag my husband to Biltmore. Our teen daughter acted as though we taking her for a human sacrifice event. I had to prod both of them along, they both thoroughly enjoyed it. In fact hubby would like to go back and take the architectural tour one day, we already took all the other tours.

        • cynic says:

          The Biltmore is fabulous. We were there when the roses were in bloom, in early June. Even the kids enjoyed it, and of course, my horse-crazy daughter had us eating at the restaurant that was once the stable. I bought a Christmas ornament, and think about it every time I hang it on the tree.

  6. votermom says:

    Drudge Report has a closeup of Hillary’s eyes right now. Is it just the photo or do the irises look not equally dilated?

  7. votermom says:

    Have to run to wally world.
    Please send a rescue team if I don’t make it back.

  8. Myiq2xu says:

    If I was blogging for money I would go all-in for Trump the way lefty blogs went all-in for Obama 8 years ago.

    Not because I think he is the best man for the job, but because I think he is the most likely to win.

    • Myiq2xu says:

      But I blog for free so I’ll just keep on keeping on.

      • swanspirit says:

        I got an email from Mitt Romney this morning, asking me to contribute to the Republican Party “before it’s too late” You know what Mitt? You had your chance; you could have run again, but you declined. So, I am going to decline to help the Republican Party, aka JEB!.
        And guess what, Donald Trump isn’t asking me for my money. He isn’t asking anyone for their hard earned money. I wonder, how many people understand the depth of that message. It isn’t just for the rich people, it is for the people in this country who are hurting, and or just getting by. No one is getting emails from Donald Trump asking them for money. He isn’t my first choice for POTUS, but I can see the writing on the wall. Pun intended.

        • DeniseVB says:

          Didn’t Trump shutdown his super Pacs too? He had no control over their message or fundraising tactics. He kept sending checks back, then finally had to open a secure donation tab on his website because people kept sending him money anyhow. He was touched by the amount of small checks people would send him. I think he uses that money to give away stuff, like hats, signs and helicopter rides🙂

  9. Myiq2xu says:

  10. DeniseVB says:

    Here’s a couple of young Broadway performers (who look much like Danny Kaye and Vera Ellen?) dancing to one of the songs from White Christmas at the South Street Seaport.

  11. gram krakka says:

    Glad you asked. My weekend plans are hopefully full of crap…. literally. Starting tonight and all weekend my grandson needs to eat a chocolate flavored Ex-Lax once a day and drink two full doses of MiraLAX each day. Since school started in August he has thrown up about every 5 – 7 days. He holds in his poo because he doesn’t want to go at school. He gets so backed up that it causes him to vomit. Then when he does finally poo, it can be so painful that he is screaming and crying. We have had to give him a saline enema several times in the last four weeks to keep him from vomiting. Since he sleeps with me, this weekend is likely to be especially fun.

    We finally saw a pediatric gastroenterologist yesterday. She could feel poo in him when she pressed on his abdomen. The good news is that his test results rule out Krohn’s, colitis, irritable bowel syndrome, etc. The bad news is that the intestinal condition is likely a result of his mental conditions. He is treated for ADD, anxiety and sensory processing disorder. His special needs qualify him for an IEP at school. He has had several years of OT for fine and gross motor deficiencies and speech therapy for a stutter. He gets individual and group therapy. The gastroenterologist recommends that he see another speech therapist for treatment of the severe sensory related eating disorder that contributes to his intestinal problems.

    Retirement has not been what I envisioned. Thank goodness my husband and I were able to travel extensively before he died of lung cancer. I had seen too many couples wait for retirement to travel and then health conditions prevented them from living their retirement dreams. Vacations were a big budget priority for us. We skied on many of the western mountain ranges in the USA and Canada. We spent extensive time visiting Alaska and camping in our wonderful National Parks.

    Now my life is focused on helping my grand children develop their individual potential, whatever that may be. Life is still good, but just not what I envisioned. There is no moss growing on grammy.

    • votermom says:

      Poor kid! Poor you!

      I’ll be praying for you both.

      • gram krakka says:

        Thank you vm. The kid is sweet and smart. We are doing everything we can to do early intervention and cognitive behavior therapy before he reaches the wonderful tween and teen years. Thankfully his parents have the financial means to provide him with the mental health care that isn’t adequately covered by their insurance (even though their premiums are $24M/yr).

        • Jadzia says:

          Oh, Lord. Your kids and grandkid are so lucky to have you!

        • Somebody says:

          Gram once you get things moving you can keep them moving by using miralax daily. You can mix a little in any kind of drink. Also you might pick up a box of digestibles at the grocery store. They are basically fiber cookies, but good tasting ones and they come in a couple of different flavors.

          My oldest grandchild has recurring issues and just making sure she eats a “cookie” a day seems to be all that is needed. My oldest daughter had a lot of issues in that department during chemo. One of the drugs actually slows your bowels significantly, so we were always battling that issue during treatment. We gave her miralax daily, but if she got really backed up and milk of magnesia didn’t do the trick then we were instructed to give her magnesium citrate. Now that stuff will definitely clean you out in a hurry!!

          Otherwise, I feel your pain……not exactly how you expected life to be. I worry that my husband and I are never going to have any time for ourselves. Our youngest grandchild won’t start pre-K for another 4 years due to her birthday……OMG four more years? Calgon take me away! By that time our youngest child will be halfway through college…..when exactly is our time??? Will we ever have our time?

          • gram krakka says:

            The kid has been on a low dose of MiraLAX for several years. Apparently constipation is common among kids with ADD/ADHD. He needs to drink more water especially in the morning for it to work well. Long term he needs to eat more vegetables and fruits. That is where he needs therapy for sensory eating issues. He didn’t inherit this from his mother’s side of the family. We eat anything and everything that can’t outrun us.

            It is tough for a couple to get “their time” when they have family that needs their help. Some people just don’t get involved. Somehow I just can’t turn my back on family and friends that I am capable of helping. My husband was very generous with his time and numerous skills and helped many people. His response when asked, “why do you do this” was “because I can”.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Glad all the bad stuff was ruled out because it would mean more medicating with side affects that create more problems. With special kids you never know what to blame on his special disability. I’m fortunate my Special Greg has always liked to poop, anytime anywhere, like a dog leaving his mark in the park.

  12. Gram Krakka says:

    Hope in a Ballet Shoe

    Here is an inspiring story about a young girl who overcame almost impossible odds to become a professional ballerina. Her story will bring a tear to your eye. Thought driguana would really enjoy seeing what good people can accomplish in Africa.

    Maybe voter mom can review this book.

  13. AFVet says:

    This will make you feel good.

    • gram krakka says:

      Thanks. That was fun. Saw them on a show recently. They will be appearing in Dallas on my grandson’s birthday. We just might go.

      Music can be so energizing and is a wonderful drug free antidepressant. We are fortunate to have two young multi talented musicians who come to the house to give lessons to the gkids. My grandson’s teacher’s day job is music therapy in a mental health facility. Some days they play drums, other days guitar or piano. He is able to bring out the best in the kid.

      • leslie says:

        I hope you do go see them. I saw them at Ravinia this past summer. they were wonderful and their concert was Even better than I could have hoped.

  14. AFVet says:

    Here you go Denise.😀

  15. votermom says:

    I have a question for anyone who goes to bookhorde.
    So where the search bar is at the bottom there are also 4 products. Do they just show books for you or do they show stuff you just looked at recently (even if it’s like shampoo or something)?
    I turned on “interest-based” and limit category to books and I want it just to show book stuff but I can’t tell what it actually does.

    • Ann says:

      Not showing my related interests in books, but it did show only books for me in Chrome and FF.

      Does blogger have the option to clear your cache after you make changes to the blog? If so, do that. It makes testing faster and easier when you can see the immediate changes.

      • votermom says:

        Thanks Ann.
        I guess it is using the default search string which is “conservative book”
        I might just go back to putting the books in manually that I actually recommend.
        I know I can clear my browser’s cache, but I will have to look if blogger lets me clear it’s cache. Thanks that tip!

  16. Myiq2xu says:

  17. Myiq2xu says:

  18. Somebody says:

    This is an example of the crap this administration does that is going to have long term implications for our safety.

  19. votermom says:

  20. Somebody says:

    If you see these two call authorities. They went missing a couple of days ago, so they could be anywhere by now. Hopefully they are making their way to Canada to claim asylum because it’s easier there. Let’s all hope that is all they’re up to!!

  21. Somebody says:

    This whole story pisses me off and the Clinton angle is the least of it. Why in the hell are our tax dollars going to support charter schools to indoctrinate students to islam??? WTF?? Why are they allowed to import so many teachers on H1B’S, what’s up with that??? We have a shortage of teachers and STEM workers???

  22. NewOrleans says:

    Hey, Kids, what time is it? It’s time for the Donald Trump Dance Party!

    You’ll be Bing-Bing-Bong-Bonging it ALL weekend!


  23. Dora says:

    Speaking of ballet. Do any of you remember Moira Shearer? I watched The Red Shoes on television when I was a child and I was hooked.

    The Red Shoes (Dans Scene)

  24. Myiq2xu says:

    13 more months:

    A source told Jack Murphy of SOFREP that the FBI instantly believed the shooting, which left 14 dead, to be a clear act of terrorism. The White House, however, didn’t feel the same way and quickly moved in to squash the terror classification.

    This source added that as soon as the shooting took place, Obama convened a meeting with the National Security Council and the heads of other federal enforcement agencies to discuss a public relations strategy.

    Part of the reason for trying to avoid the designation of the shootings as terrorism is because it threatens to upset the Obama administration’s strategy in Syria. A case of Islamic terrorism in the U.S. would put additional pressure on the administration to play a much more active role in the conflict.

  25. helenk3 says:

    this s a video that is a must watch.

    words fail me

    • DeniseVB says:

      WoW, that was good. At 14 minutes, took a look to see if I’d want to watch the whole thing later, ended up watching the whole thing. She was great and learned so much about Islam and those sh*theads at CAIR. Makes sense why the “good” muslims don’t speak up now. Glad they included the clip of Stupidhead Ben Afleck looking like an imbecile.😉

    • DeniseVB says:

      I dropped your video off with Laura Ingrahm and Politico🙂 This is getting crazy……

    • cynic says:

      You beat me to it. I was going to look for that article.

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      In order to take of the single old style flip phone I had for my mother off MY att wireless account, I was expected to bring a death certificate to the att store. I managed to take care of the change online but had to go through about ten hoops with security questions and passcodes and pin numbers and a secret handshake.

      But Wally World sells sell 60 phones to a couple of random guys at multiple locations without batting an eye or having a computer shouting Warning Will Robinson? Heck to buy decongest tablets you have to show your id and they record all the information. And there is a limit on the number of tablets one can purchase.

      • 1539days says:

        Also, Wal-Mart knows every ESN number as well as the manufacturer. They could locate every phone as soon as it is turned on. The fact that the government isn’t doing this is why I feel no obligation to give the NSA access to everyone’s phone data because they are too lazy to go after specific data.

  26. helenk3 says:

    what contempt the hillary people have for her supporters. they even lie about the weather

  27. DandyTIger says:

    Best interview ever. Watch the whole thing and notice that they’re talking about different people. One real, one fictional. Priceless.

  28. swanspirit says:

    I❤ The Nutcracker , I think it is such a perfect introduction to ballet for children.
    I never got to dance in it, our amateur dance theater did Coppelia when I was in college; which is fun too, but not The Nutcracker.

Comments are closed.