The Force Awakens Today!

I probably won’t see it until early next week when the worst crush of crowds has passed. I want to go with Ben and Tommy so I can get a contact high from their excitement.

Supposedly this version is the best prequel/sequel since the original.

This is an open thread.


About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

106 Responses to The Force Awakens Today!

  1. Myiq2xu says:

  2. Myiq2xu says:

    Shkreli arrested for securities fraud

    Martin Shkreli, who became an international pariah after sharply increasing the price of a decades-old drug for Aids sufferers, has been arrested for securities fraud.

    Mr Shkreli is accused of taking stock from another pharmaceutical company he had started, Retrophin, and using it to pay back debts at his former hedge fund, MSMB Capital Management, according to people familiar with the matter.

    He was arrested at his home in Manhattan early on Thursday by the FBI.

    Mr Shkreli was ousted from Retrophin, which he stared in 2011, while MSMB Capital no longer exists. Evan Greebel, a lawyer for Kaye Scholer who worked as outside counsel for Retrophin, was also arrested in the alleged scheme. The SEC also has an investigation into the matter.

    The biotech entrepreneur hit the news in September as chief executive of Turing Pharmaceuticals after the company raised the price of a drug given to Aids sufferers from $13.50 to $750 a pill. The price increase prompted an intervention on Twitter from Hillary Clinton, the Democrat presidential frontrunner, who said she would crack down on “outrageous price gouging” if elected — a pledge that wiped more than $160bn off the value of US biotech stocks within a week.

    Shkreli was declared an Enema of the State.

  3. leslie says:

    I’m gone again until later. But I loved reading the last thread and wasn’t going to post anything until I saw the following… Tarantino is pissed becuase he says “Disney studios are trying to F**k Me”.
    My heart bleeds for Tarantino. (not)
    (I hope this links properly.)

    • DeniseVB says:

      Tarantino is King of the special snowflakes. The release date for SW has been known for 3 years, he can’t blame anyone but himself.

    • DandyTIger says:

      Someone call the whaaaambulance.

    • helenk3 says:

      I was going to start singing “my heart cries for you” but i could not stop laughing. sorry Q but money always will out and you ain’t gonna bring in the dough after your stupid stunt with the cops

    • 1539days says:

      Gee, Disney wants to pack a giant theater with a popular movie rather than let it lie dormant with a steaming turd of a film that no cop will attend.

      • swanspirit says:

        Yeah, which would you get in line to see? Star Wars The Force Awakens, or “The Hateful Eight” Disney did it deliberately to you , Quentin? You did it to yourself. another good laugh, after Shkreli getting arrested. What a nice day . It may be pouring down rain outside, and I am grieving over a relative passing, but those two things brightened my day.

        • Myiq2xu says:

          QT let fame go to his head. As his ego has grown the quality of his movies has gone down.

        • cynic says:

          Sorry for your loss.

        • leslie says:

          I’m sorry and will keep you in my thoughts.

          • swanspirit says:

            Thanks so much, it was my Aunt Honey (Teresa) , and she had been sick for a very long time and lived to the ripe old age of 88. She was named Honey because when she was young, her thick wavy hair was the color of honey, and hung in waves down her back. She was my mom’s closest sister, and they were very much alike in so many ways. Those Geminis always come in pairs, don’t they? It is like losing another part of my mother, with Aunt Honey’s passing; but at least I know they are now re-united and sharing each others company.

          • lyn says:

            So sorry for the loss of your dear auntie, Swannie. That’s a wonderful photo of her. ❤

      • leslie says:

        Nor will those of us who support the LEOs attend that “film”.

  4. DeniseVB says:

    😀 Pretty much.

  5. helenk3 says:

    for the little kid in all of us a new Alvin and the Chipmunks movie opens this week. So if the line is too long at the Star Wars movie they kids can still have fun

  6. foxyladi14 says:

    I bet there will be long lines for SW. 😀

    • DeniseVB says:

      Our local theaters are issuing bans on light sabers and other “weapons”, head masks, face paint and anything that makes movie goers “uncomfortable”. Damn, the domestic terrorists have won😦

    • 49erDweet says:

      YD and her hub flew to LV late last night for a three day anniversary celebration with reservations for a one o’clock seating today for SW in a downtown theater there. They are having a blast!

  7. AFVet says:

    10,000 Syrians ???
    Not so much.

  8. gram krakka says:

    SIL got us tickets for SW in 3D for Sat evening. Eleanor is in an ice skating skating exhibition Sat afternoon. Hope we don’t end up having a conflict. All the double & triple booking this month is wearing my daughter & me down trying to keep up with the kid’s scedules.

  9. AFVet says:

    Paul Ryan,…..our saviour,….NOT.
    The Omnibus Bill is a train wreck.

    • Somebody says:

      You all should watch the above clip AFVet posted. Bless Jeff Sessions he’s a lone voice in the wilderness.

      As for the our new Speaker and his merry band of RINO’s, fuck them. I honestly think it’s time to bring back tar and feathers, anybody else game?? If your congresscritter has been in office more than a couple of terms vote the fucker out, same for your senator. If we keep turning them over maybe we’ll find some that really care about we the people.

      • leslie says:

        If anyone tries to contact Paul Ryan’s offices… all his voicemail boxes are FULL. Unless you live in his district you cannot contact him. What an arrogant jerk.
        I can imagine the voicemails he’ been receiving. And he’ll deserve to be thrown out on his ass.

        • AFVet says:

          I have seen that on many other threads where people have tried to voice their opinion.
          The only time we are not peons is when we vote them out of office.

          • leslie says:

            Well, he IS the Speaker of the House and ought to be accessible to everyone. I remember in years past, the SoH was accessible. But not now. And don’t even try to call the 888 number. It will say “this phone number is not available to anyone in your area code.” #$^%*(%#@!$$&^*(&

  10. AFVet says:

    Commonsense should be contagious.

  11. DeniseVB says:

    I look up at my muted t.v. and see Obama moving his lips again. Must be lying about something again😉

    I’m secretly delighted Putin likes Trump, lib and con heads are ‘sploding. After Ryan’s House budget deal passed, I really don’t give a flying f**k and Hillary sees her chance to woo Republicans because she doesn’t have horns or something.

    In case you missed it downstairs, I’ve watched this ten times already!

  12. Dora says:

    The rise of Trumpism continues. Love the picture. 🙂

    Why This Year’s Christmas Season Is So Angry

    It’s the economy, loser.

  13. helenk3 says:

    no politically correct and the SJW bunch will be jumping up and down like rumplesillskin, but I love it

    • leslie says:

      I wish I could see those SJW heads ‘sploding. It would brighten my Thursday, Friday, Saturday, etc… 👿

  14. votermom says:

  15. votermom says:

    Went with my neighbor & couple other family friends to funeral parlor.
    Just came home for a bit to update my blog, then I am going to pick up teh kiddo and probably head back.
    She (my friend the new widow) is being very strong but it’s a brittle kind of strong. I hope she can nap or something.

    • leslie says:

      When my friend was a new widow, the thing that helped her the most was having friends like you who could comfort her, take over when possible, and make it okay to rest and eat.
      Your friend is lucky to have you in her life.

    • piper says:

      Thank you so very much for being there for your neighbor. Many people will come and help in the first week or two then depart for their homes and lives so it crucial that people continue to help and listen when she needs to talk. Find out if there are any grief groups close by that she can attend in the near future.
      Just some advice from another widow.

  16. leslie says:

    I think someone in DC must’ve heard that ppl were disgusted w bronco’s lack of interest in the terrorist attack in San Bernardino. Whilst on his way to vacation in Hawaii tomorrow, he’ll deign to pay a visit to the families of those slain by those Islamic jihadists. It won’t make me like him any better or dislike him any less. I can tell you.

    • Somebody says:

      I hate to be cynical, but I think it’s just to way to get the tax payers to pick up the tab for his flight. If it’s just a vacation then the O’s have to pay the equivalent of a first class airline ticket. Although usually every year they visit with military there is Hawaii which I always figured was to cover their expenses……so maybe the visit to SB is sincere??

      • Somebody says:

        No, no I take it back. I threw up in my mouth a little mentioning sincerity and Obama in the same breath. I don’t know why he’s going there, if he was that concerned he’s had plenty of time to make a trip or how about some phone calls???

        Maybe he’s having lunch with Mama Jihad because she’s had her fee fees hurt or something. Maybe he’s going there to lecture us about being nice to muslims??? It’s probably something along those lines.

      • leslie says:


  17. leslie says:

    I plan to continue playing my dozens and dozens of Christmas cds and keeping the tv off While I bake cookies and pies, wrap gifts, and finish writing my cards. Of course I have the littlest one all day tomorrow at their house so that limits my access to tv anyway. They don’t allow the tv on when the kiddies are up and about. And I don’t have time for anything else when the little one is up and about anyway. I’m going to pick up my special daughter and bring her here so she can wrap her gifts for the (father’s) family party on Saturday.
    See y’all later.

    • Somebody says:

      Enjoy your baking and wrapping Leslie! I plan to do some baking this weekend and finish wrapping my presents too. I want to have everything done so I can enjoy my winter break!!!

      Unfortunately even though my break starts on Wednesday I won’t really be sans kids until Saturday the 26th. Wednesday is my BD, then Christmas Eve and Christmas. I can’t exactly exclude my son and grandchildren from my birthday or Christmas……tempting I know, but I can’t do that. So they’ll be over here, but hopefully not all day AND their father, grandfather and two aunts will be here to help out. That last part is my wishful thinking, my husband might help some, but the rest probably not.

      No TV? They won’t be able to shelter them forever. My oldest granddaughter loves TV, the younger two could care less. What the younger two absolutely love are youtube videos of children’s songs. They watch the videos, but they’re fine just listening to it too. There are some wonderful ones out there and boy does it help with language. We spend most of our days singing and dancing. Right now they are enjoying all the holiday songs!

      • cynic says:

        In case I get busy and forget, Happy Birthday! My hubby’s is today, the big 60. I made two pumpkin pies this a.m., and I’m cooking BBQ ribs for supper. Tomorrow, we’ll meet with the kids at a restaurant, and come back for dessert.

        On Monday, I baked 12 pie pumpkins, processed and drained them. It took practically the whole day. Yesterday, I baked two batches of pumpkin/chocolate chip bread, then today the pies, and then I froze the rest.

        I also made the dough for the cutout cookies, and the dough for the apricot, nut, and poppy seed sweet rolls, and made a batch of Chex party mix. Stick a fork in me. I’m done!

        The cards are done, but I haven’t even started my wrapping. I realized that Christmas Eve is a week from today, and I’m panicking.

        Glad that I’ve been ‘away’ from everything going on, and living in my own little world. I’m sad; time to take the Romney/Ryan bumper sticker off my car. Ryan is not the guy that I thought he was.

        • swanspirit says:

          I bet your house smells yummy!!!!

          • cynic says:

            It does, but I don’t think I’ll do the pie thing again. They were great for decorations, and it’s not in my makeup to ‘throw away food’, so that’s why I processed all those pumpkins. It ended up amounting to 7- 15 oz. cans of pumpkin. Yup, I spent the whole day in the kitchen, and saved myself $7. sigh

        • leslie says:

          You go, girl!!!
          I am exhausted just reading your comment! The day I make one-half what you did in a day is the day before I give up retirement. (Never gonna happen.)

  18. Dora says:

    It’s getting embarrassing.

  19. Myiq2xu says:

  20. Myiq2xu says:

  21. DeniseVB says:

    Spoiler Alert: Big Bang TOnight. Last show of the “fall season”, don’t miss it fans-who-are-not-on-line-for-Star-Wars😀

  22. mothy67 says:

    Toss off my kid is a decent person. Little fucker got screwed. So wrong her parents threw her asay. She got a great gay uncle. Somehow the kid is exceptional. HOW. Not just a wee bit doing well. She has straight A’s she got seven MVP s in softball. She is runnng an engineering program. So odd I am he great gay uncle. She was alone. I was stupid I did not know how to deal with a lityle girl. I read Harry Potter. I am a fucking asshole I offer nothing to the world. Somehow I got a little girl who allowed me to read all those i am an asshole but I got to share Hermione Granger with a kid. Some people might define me as pathetic. Loser. I have this kid that talks to me. We sit on stoops and chat. I love my kid she is responsible. New kid at school his name is Luca. He is not treated well at school. I argued with my pup that she has a reponsibility to be kind. I corrected her and ordeded her to be nice. I was so wrong . Life can be fucked up. My sister had a kid very young. I am 48 but I am greatcgay uncle.

  23. driguana says:

    OK…I know this probably won’t be real popular but here goes. I’ve really come to have a hard time with pop culture, in general, and movies, in particular. Bear in mind that I come from a movie family of some 70 years and I like movies, I really love some movies. I especially like that, nowadays, you can see a movie 6 months from now or 6 years from now. But here’s the thing that now will happen in my life that makes me scream. During the next few weeks we will be socializing with someone and they will ask me, “Have you seen the new Star Wars? I will answer “no” but maybe next year some time, I’m not interested in seeing it right now. They will then respond…”Oh, you like sci fi, so you’ll love it. There’s this one scene where…..and they will go on for the next 10 minutes telling me what the scene is about and perhaps even what the film is about even though I have told them that I am not interested in seeing it right now. Then, and it gets worse, if someone else is at the table who DID see it, they will chime in with…”oh, yeah, that was great but what I liked even better was the scene where…..blah blah blah for another 10-15 minutes while I sit there, now totally left out of the conversation because I’m not “hip”. So I order another beer and think about what I need to do in my garden tomorrow, here on earth.

  24. jennifer lyn says:

    Regarding the New Orleans fiasco, history is no longer we have allowed small lies to gain so much ground that now the big lies are easy. Remember Hitler….he used lies to kill millions and almost succeeded in taking down the world. We are in BIG trouble people because truth is irrelevant. The ridiculousness of it all is comical if not for the serious ramifications. Demented white people are killing this country fueled by some sort of guilt-cum-death wish. You think redistribution of wealth and sharia law are not on the way as in right around the corner wake up people. Please wake up. We have minutes, not hours, to reclaim the power of truth and the ability to speak it, make decisions on it, and live freely. I am 100% serious.

Comments are closed.