Epic Fail At The Miss Universe Pageant

I always wondered what would happen if the emcee read the wrong name when he announced the winner of some big award. Thanks to Steve Harvey, now I know.

Wrong contestant crowned at Miss Universe 2015

Beauty pageants are places where grace and poise are meant to rule, but a decidedly awkward moment stole the show Sunday.

Miss Universe 2015 host Steve Harvey wrongfully declared Miss Colombia the winner when she was the first runner-up. Pia Alonzo Wurtzbach, the contestant from the Philippines, had won.

A contrite Harvey was forced to fix his mistake.

“OK folks … I have to apologize,” he told a confused crowd in Las Vegas.

“Let me just take control of this. This is exactly what’s on the card. I will take responsibility for this. It was my mistake. It was on the card.”

Moments before, he’d announced Miss Colombia Ariadna Gutierrez as the winner, and she was crowned. Waving a Colombian flag and smiling broadly, she blew kisses at the audience.

When Harvey returned to the stage, Wurtzbach appeared at a loss of what to do.

Stunned, she walked to the front of the stage, where the coveted crown was taken off the head of Miss Colombia and put on hers.

Harvey later took to Twitter to apologize, but he made another misstep when he misspelled both Colombia and the Philippines in an initial tweet. That message was deleted.

Well that’s not something you see every day. Mercifully, the cameras never gave us a close-up of Miss Colombia’s face. Then the network cut away to commercial and never came back.

It happened live on East Coast prime time, but they played it over again for the rest of the country. I suspect the ratings spiked in the west as word got out on social media. (Votermom tipped me off.)

I expect that this story will dominate the news today.


About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

117 Responses to Epic Fail At The Miss Universe Pageant

  1. Myiq2xu says:

  2. Myiq2xu says:

  3. Myiq2xu says:

    I gotta feeling that Steve is never gonna hear the end of this. They’ll even mention it in his obituary.

  4. Myiq2xu says:

    Jeb’s communication director took careful aim and shot himself in the foot:

    Trump sold his interest in the pageant several months ago.

  5. DeniseVB says:


  6. DeniseVB says:

    Not since the last time a Winner was a Loser….

  7. DeniseVB says:

    Funny that Carly always made it back in time🙂

  8. Dora says:

    The Donald wants an apology from Hillary. You can bet he is going to keep this story alive.

    It Is Bill Clinton and Barack Obama, Not Donald Trump, In An ISIS Recruiting Video [VIDEO]

    • leslie says:

      That Hillary and her videos. Next thing you know, she’ll deny ever having said it despite witnesses and evidence to the contrary.

      • 1539days says:

        This is especially funny since Trump said that thing about thousands of Muslims cheering 9/11 on video. Who embellished and who straight up lied?

        • leslie says:

          Did you see him argue with George Snuffalupagus r/t the people celebrating the 9/11 attacks? It was awesome. I saw it in the last post; it was from yesterday.

  9. helenk3 says:


    Mama, don’t let your kid embarrass themselves by even applying to this college

  10. Dora says:

    A message for us old timers. (Not mentioning any names) 🙂

    • DeniseVB says:

      That crazy girl in Oklahoma did it on purpose too. No one blamed the car ?

      • leslie says:

        Just this morning, Mika wanted to know why there isn’t more outcry about the “White men and their guns”. So racisssssssssssssssssssssssss. She said that “all those shootings” that create so much chaos were all white men. I started talking back again and wanted to know why she didn’t mention those black men in Chicago who can buy a gun for $75 – $100 on the streets of the city with the “toughest gun laws in the country”.
        Last night, in a very interesting program, Jesse Watters had an interview with an AA Chicago gang member who talked about the ease of buying a gujn on the street and that the price changes if the gun was previously used in a crime.
        A client of mine had a 14 y/o “cousin” who accidentally shot and killed his best friend when he was trying to shoot a rival gang member. 14 y/o !!
        His family did not know he had a gun and were shocked and horrified to learn of the gun and the shooting. The kid is still in custody.
        I’m babbling now…. I’ll stop.

  11. helenk3 says:

    Linsey Graham suspending campaign

  12. Dora says:

    What nerve. I have an idea – why don’t we just kick McConnell out of the senate?

    Mitch McConnell Warns YOU Not To Vote For Donald Trump – Or Else…

    Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell declared he would not entertain nominating any non-traditional Mainstream Republican candidates in the 2016 election cycle and cautioned voters they are to follow his example.


  13. piper says:

    Another dreary rainy morning in downtown Wisconsin – always happens when I need to run errands. Oh well – need a laugh – here’s one showing a senior first computer attempt.

  14. Myiq2xu says:

    I woke up super hungry and didn’t feel like cooking so I treated myself to a McBreakfast.

    2 Sausage McMuffins + 2 hashbrowns for $5.57 in 10 minutes elapsed time there and back.

  15. Myiq2xu says:

    Obama: It’s the media’s fault that people are worried about ISIS, you know

    I am not particularly scared of ISIS. Our nation has many enemies. I am annoyed that Obama hasn’t wiped them out.

    ISIS is kinda like having cockroaches in your apartment. You aren’t scared of them, you’re just pissed at the landlord for not do his job and hiring an exterminator to kill them.

    Nor do you blame your wife because she keeps reminding you about the roaches.

  16. Myiq2xu says:

    She couldn’t spare a square

    Perhaps the most talked about moment from Saturday night’s Democratic debate was not about politics, but when Hillary Clinton returned late to the debate stage after a commercial break.

    Now we know what happened: The former Secretary of State wouldn’t share a bathroom with a staffer for her Democratic rival, former Maryland Governor Martin O’Malley.

    Clinton reportedly waited for every stall to be emptied out before going in.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I shared a bathroom with Rosalyn Carter (next stall). It was a campaign luncheon in San Diego and they announced she would be arriving momentarily, so I ran to the bathroom thinking I had time before the Big Event. I was washing my hands when she emerged and I went into superfan shock and blurted something stupid like “Well THERE you are, I guess I still have time to get to my seat!”. Then smacking my head all the way back to the table. (Well, THERE you are? Idiot, idiot,idiot)

    • leslie says:

      If I had to sh*t my brains out, I wouldn’t want anyone else around either.👿

  17. DeniseVB says:

    LOL ! We were just talking about this the other day (h/t MOTUS)

  18. Myiq2xu says:

  19. Myiq2xu says:

  20. DeniseVB says:

    There, Trump fixed it. Why not two Miss Universe’s? I think this is brilliant.

  21. Myiq2xu says:

    • leslie says:

      Please tell me how to *LIKE* a comment….

      • DeniseVB says:

        You just did😉 I know how to *like* responses to my comments (using the notifications, I click on the comment which brings up a *like* option), but I’m lazy so don’t always *click* on it, but I should by virtue someone responded to my brilliant comment😉

        When I post a thread, I have the option to *like* every comment, but I don’t, because lazy.

        myiq did test a up/down arrow thingy awhile back, but some of us thought it may bring too many down arrows for disagreeing or something. A lot of us aren’t here all the time, or comment at odd hours, or go to bed at 7pm PST …. heh. On some blogs, if someone gets a certain number of down arrows, the comment is removed. I always thought that would lead to trolling from the ‘bots and ‘buffoons. It’s how they lock twitter and fb accounts.

        I know MOTUS (Disqus) uses a *flag* system so the really fugly comments go to her for *review* after 4 flags. She also has her down arrows set that only the commenter can see it, not the rest of the community.

        Did that make sense?

        • leslie says:

          So, I know how to do it using the notifications and at other sites when there are flags. I also know how to (edit) my own comments when I see an error.
          How do I *like* comments when that is all I want to do? I’ve gone into wordpress where the (edit) link takes me, but don’t see anything that tells me how to “like” a comment. Sometimes I get a *like* on a single comment from you or others, but I can’t figure out how to do that myself…
          (Does that question make sense?)

          • DeniseVB says:

            I think the WP blog owner needs to set that up? I know VM’s blogspot host probably has their own rules too? As a suffering WP blog owner myself, I have nothing set up on my blog that makes sense. I barely wanted to enable comments😛

    • leslie says:

      On breakingnews.com, ^this^ would be a “Whoa”

    • DeniseVB says:

      I just noticed the graph is Vox sponsored, I only saw NBC news and RCP, which was their source. But hey, that’s a good thing, right ?

  22. helenk3 says:


    Cisco Systems Inc says it has launched an internal code review after Juniper Networks disclosed unauthorized code in its firewall software – @Reuters

  23. Dora says:

    “EXCLUSIVE: DHS placing patriots on domestic terror watch lists in unlawful attempt to escalate violent interactions with police”


  24. Myiq2xu says:

    My DIL asks:

    What do you do when your doctor is too busy to see you? No one in town is accepting new patients. Do I start looking out of town? Not sure the protocol on this kind of thing.

    What I DIDN’T say:

    Welcome to Obamacare

  25. Myiq2xu says:

    • lizzy says:

      Where is the Texas clock kid who decamped to Quatar(?) then wanted to come back to the US for another White House visit? Maybe he sent his clock invention.

  26. Myiq2xu says:

    Three guesses and the first two don’t count

  27. Myiq2xu says:

  28. Dora says:

    Conservative Icon Phyllis Schlafly: Trump Is ‘Last Hope For America’ After Omnibus ‘Betrayal’


  29. swanspirit says:

    Happy Solstice Everyone!!!!!!!

  30. Dora says:

    Another great rally. Just look at all those people waiting to get in.

  31. piper says:

    Hilarious – even though it was stolen

  32. elliesmom says:

    I went to town hall today to get a dump sticker and a license for Ellie. The clerk asked me if I also would like to register to vote. I said, “Sure. What would you need for an id?” She said, “This will be fine.” And she used Ellie’s rabies certificate.

  33. Dora says:

    So, let Bill Kristol and Christine Todd Whitman start a new party. None of these people will be joining them. They have already made up their minds.

Comments are closed.