This cartoon was drawn by Ann Telnaes and published in the Washington Post.


Here’s her Twitter bio:

Pushy Pulitzer prize winning editorial cartoonist, editorial cartoons for the Washington Post

Now imagine the reaction to her drawing Sasha and Malia Obama in a similar cartoon.

Here’s her explanation:


The Washington Post has pulled the cartoon!

Editor’s note from Fred Hiatt: It’s generally been the policy of our editorial section to leave children out of it. I failed to look at this cartoon before it was published. I understand why Ann thought an exception to the policy was warranted in this case, but I do not agree.

From what I can see virtually no one agreed with Telnaes.

Score one for the good guys!


About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.


  1. Myiq2xu says:


  2. DandyTIger says:

    The prog papers used to be more subtle. Now they can’t even hide their seething hatred. Conservative latinos, blacks, and women are enemy number one with progs. They must be destroyed at all costs.

  3. Myiq2xu says:

  4. Myiq2xu says:

    I gotta take a break before I go all rageaholic.

  5. Myiq2xu says:

  6. Myiq2xu says:

  7. DandyTIger says:

  8. DeniseVB says:

    Uhm, Ms Sasha had a 3 foot growth spurt since your photo postie… keepin’ it real😉

  9. DandyTIger says:

  10. Dora says:

  11. DandyTIger says:

  12. 1539days says:

    By the way, why in the hell do cartoonists win Pulitzer Awards?

  13. Myiq2xu says:

    Good news: My sister bought our mom a new dishwasher for Christmas.

    Bad news: It needs to be picked up, delivered and installed.

    Good news: My nephew who is home from college for Christmas is gonna pick up, deliver and install it.

    Bad news: I get to help.

  14. lyn says:

    Find the panda.

  15. votermom says:

    Isn’t it Ted Cruz’s bday today?

  16. swanspirit says:

    WaPo may have retracted the cartoon, but to say he UNDERSTOOD why she thought she could make an exception is still a slap in the face. Makes me want to grab a pitchfork and a torch and head for WaPo headquarters

  17. votermom says:

    she’s still digging

  18. Myiq2xu says:

    • Propertius says:

      Hypocrisy of the left, because nobody on the right would ever do something like this:

      • lyn says:

        Don’t tell Obama.

      • Myiq2xu says:

        It’s wrong when anybody does it. Just because Rush did it doesn’t mean that every GOP kid is fair game forever and ever.

        • Propertius says:

          I agree, which is why I think attributing it to “the left” is incorrect. It’s deplorable and in poor taste no matter who does it. I thought both Clinton and Cruz responded to their respective incidents with taste and dignity. – as did Palin. For those who don’t remember, here’s Clinton’s 1993 response to the attack on Chelsea:

          You know, I really find it hilarious when they make fun of me, but I think you gotta be pretty insensitive to make fun of an adolescent child. I think there is something pretty off-center with people who do that. But I’ve determined that I can’t control their behavior, so I’ll just have to control our response to it. We really work hard on making sure that Chelsea doesn’t let other people define her sense of her own self-worth. I think the world would be a lot better off if more people were to define themselves in terms of their own standards and values and not what other people said or thought about them. It’s tough when you are an adolescent because peer opinion and other people’s opinion become more important. But I think she’ll be OK.

          Personally, I’d have decked the SOB.

  19. DandyTIger says:

  20. DandyTIger says:

  21. DandyTIger says:

    Oh look what the very Washington Post tweeted last year:

  22. Myiq2xu says:

  23. Myiq2xu says:

  24. DeniseVB says:

    Never gets old ….

  25. DeniseVB says:

    This is a couple years old, Ted Cruz following his daughter down the bunny slope and so adorable…

  26. jennifer lyn says:

    Sad things is that if a Republican, anyone supporting and/or stating anything positive about a Republican had drawn such a racist stupid cartoon they would be out of job. Problem truly is no one is even pretending anymore that there is not a double standard in fact they are celebrating the fact that there is and they can get away with it.

  27. leslie says:

    iu’m baking and taking the oldest g-baby (5y/o) to the Santa train today. Hope to drop in periodically. Have fun today, everyone. ❤

  28. Myiq2xu says:

    I am going to see SWTFA today!!!

  29. DeniseVB says:

  30. votermom says:

    So maybe Telnaes has a hate crush on Ted Cruz

  31. Dora says:

    Christmas Eve just got creepy!

    Santa’s terrifying little helpers: The military robots transformed into sleigh-pulling reindeer after being developed to carry heavy equipment on the battlefield


  32. 49erDweet says:

    Technically “help”, in your case, means kibbutz. Merry Christmas.

  33. helenk3 says:

    since there will be a full moon on CHristmas, take the hose in the backyard , put in on spray and let the moonlight shine through it you will make moonbows. the kids will love it

    • DeniseVB says:

      Maybe in Florida😉 Though it’s supposed to be 80 here and all our hoses have been put away for the “winter” since mid-Nov !

    • foxyladi14 says:


    • helenk3 says:

      my mailman just delivered a pkg that I had ordered. I told him about this and asked if he had kids. He has a 7 year old and 3 year old quadruples. If I were his wife I would not have come home from the hospital, you could not make me. just kidding but damn can you image his house this Christmas?

  34. Propertius says:

    I’m just waiting for some fauxgressive to “explain” how the objections to the portrayal of Cruz’s children are exactly like the Charlie Hebdo massacre. I’m surprised it hasn’t happened yet – but I’m sure someone on DKos has done so.

  35. DeniseVB says:

    Ugh. Funny? Not funny. Actually, instead, go read Rand Paul’s twitter timeline for his Airing of Grievances, Very Funny!


  36. Myiq2xu says:

    Okay, I’m back!

    I wasn’t blown away, but it was more because of I’m a old fart instead of 17. It’s kinda like the first time you see Disneyland as a kid, and then the 7th time you go there as an adult. Disneyland hasn’t changed, you have.

    I would say it’s 2nd or 3rd best of the 7 with #4 being the best.

    • DeniseVB says:

      But was it fun for you ? That’s what’s important as a 3rd generation “experience”. I’m going with my eyes wide open after the holidays with hubby who’s a year younger than Han, and Special Greg, who was 3 when the original (#4 ?) came out in ’77. I’m prepared to be blown away too😉

    • Somebody says:

      I saw it last night and I agree it isn’t the same wow factor as #4 or as we old timers used to call it just Star Wars. I think it probably doesn’t have that wow factor for us because of familiarity and yes because we’re not kids. However, I thought it was very well done and my entire family really enjoyed it. It felt much more like it belonged in the series than episodes 1, 2 and 3.

      Did you take the grandkids? If so what did they think about it??

  37. SHV says:

    #4 in 1977 was the best!! I saw it in Boston; smoked a couple of joints with Christine in the parking garage and then sat in the front row.

    • DeniseVB says:

      We’ll never forget our *first*. Probably TMI, but lost my virginity to a *Luke* but ended up marrying a *Han* Cool beans +46 years later, Marines Rawk!

      • elliesmom says:

        I think I married Obi-Wan Kenobi, but the Mad Magazine version aka Oldie von Moldy whose light saber needs an extension cord.😉 Great mentor, but he’d agree he’s not much of a warrior.

    • Ann says:

      I also saw the original in Boston (wasn’t playing my town yet)… minus the joints. LOL

  38. Dora says:

  39. Myiq2xu says:

  40. Myiq2xu says:

    Ann Telnaes is a lousy artist – her caricatures of Ted Cruz look nothing like him.

  41. swanspirit says:

    Afrocity in a Frank Luntz focus group. on CBS. She is the beautiful one in the orange dress sitting in front of the guy in the beret.

  42. Dora says:

    He’s coming. If you stay very quiet and listen hard, you might hear the bells.

Comments are closed.