Almost New Year’s Open Thread

We’re going to be alright kids and I’m so looking forward to the month of Jan 2016 pre-primary kick-off, and if the rest of the year doesn’t work out so well, we can always move in with Jadzia❤ in France❤❤

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

150 Responses to Almost New Year’s Open Thread

  1. DeniseVB says:

    Interesting, from the very liberal Mother Jones ….

  2. DeniseVB says:

    George Pataki dropped out of the GOP race and wondering who will get the bounce from his .01 % supporters ?

  3. DeniseVB says:

    WaPo does investigative journalism ? It’s a miracle !

  4. Dora says:

    Wow! Just look at that crowd!

  5. Dora says:

    I think this is a good idea. I still don’t know how that crook ever got elected as governor!

    Va. lawmaker wants to defund Gov. McAuliffe’s armed guards over gun dispute

    • DeniseVB says:

      I blame the Virginia GOP for not supporting Ken Cuccinelli and our idiot Republican Mayor (of the largest populated city in Va)who endorsed McAwful for some light rail (to nowhere) money. Also, Bob McDonnell was going through a titillating, crazy wife and all, tabloid trial which kept him away from the campaign. A twofer for the Dems, McAuliffe won and they knocked out a potential GOP pres. candidate.

      Virginia politics, almost as dirty and slimey as New York’s🙂

      • Dora says:

        Not quite. NY is where McAuliffee bought the house for the Clintons, so that Hillary could pretend to be a New Yorker and run for senator. That still aggravates a lot of us!

        • DeniseVB says:

          Native New Yorkers still refer to her as a carpetbagger. Stand by for the Trump donated to her campaign so he’s not conservative! screamers.

  6. votermom says:

    ooh, does Jadzia know we’re moving in with her?🙂

  7. Myiq2xu says:

    • cynic says:

      That was fun. I always enjoy rereading posts/comments. One time you linked to a site that you contributed to years ago (corrente??) I started rereading your old posts, then I got busy and forgot to go back there.

      Today, I was at Hillaryis44, and discovered that commenter Henry is our mothy!

      • cynic says:

        Oh, and the post with the most comments, I see that I was quite the Chatty Kathy. When the holidays are over, and DH goes back to work, I’ll have more time on my hands.

        • leslie says:

          cynic ~ I was just going to set up an APB for you! Hope your Christmas was a merry one.

          • cynic says:

            It was wonderful, and yours? I have done soooo much cooking/baking that I dread going on the scale.

            DH will go back to work on Mon., in the meantime, he sucks up a lot of the computer time, and then we’re building a 2000 pc. puzzle. Puzzle building between Christmas and New Year has been an annual thing for us. I’ll sit down to work on the puzzle, and the next thing I know, it’s three hrs. later!

          • leslie says:

            I love working on puzzles. I used to give my mother a puzzle every year for Christmas. And by the next week, she had completed it! It’s a great mindfulness exercise. 😉

        • piper says:

          How much snow fell in your area the other day. We had 9 inches of the heavy wet snow / sleet (a b*****h to clear) here.

          • cynic says:

            Piper, we only got rain, sleet, and wind on Monday. It started snowing around 4:00 this a.m., and we ended up with about 1/2″. That has been our first snowfall since the weekend before Thanksgiving.

            We have two rivers flowing thru our city, so there are many dealing with the rising waters.

          • leslie says:

            Same here – just sleet and more sleet that piled up on roads, sidewalks and cars. It was a pain to clean off, Today, the snow on top of the stuff from yesterday made it even more difficult to clear. Piper, I read that you worked on clearing that snow for 6+ hours, right? You must be all muscle – or all aches and pains today.

          • piper says:

            Stay dry as we all know the destructive power of water.
            LOL if I shoveled for 6 hours I’d be typing from a hospital room. After 1 hour I was fine until this morning when the aches and pain of sore muscles made me grab 2 Aleves which helped a bit but I would really like to take another pill which is not a good idea so I’ll stick to the heating pad. Wish I didn’t suffer from old age ADHD and could just chill out on the couch and watch TV instead of slowly cleaning house with intermittent crocheting of prayer shawls.

    • DeniseVB says:

      WTG Team Facebook !

      Shocked my blabby fingers didn’t make the top five😉

      Loved that your stats were compared to the lovely Louvre Museum. My bloggy report’s stats compared me to the NYC subway, lol !

    • helenk3 says:

      it seems that I typed too much. sorry

    • swanspirit says:

      That is a great report!! I wish I posted more, but sometimes I just get so fed up, the words won’t come out of my fingers. But once again, let me tell you how extremely grateful I am to be here at TCH.

  8. Myiq2xu says:

  9. votermom says:

    Thank you for all your support for my book blogging & amazon linkage!🙂

  10. Myiq2xu says:

    • leslie says:

      ^This^ is a True Story all the way.
      Thank you for posting this, Klown. I read it yesterday and wanted to say something, but all I could do was sputter.

  11. Dora says:

    Anybody have a wedding to plan? This is a pretty setting. Oh I know – I’m just a romantic at heart.

    Overwater Wedding Pavilion With Glass Aisle Opens In Maldives

    • cynic says:

      Went to the link. What a beautiful place.

      boredpanda is an interesting site. I like to scroll down, and all the other links look fascinating.

  12. Somebody says:

    This is an interesting read and probably encapsulates a lot of Trump’s supporters

    • DeniseVB says:

      I love the articles that tell you it’s okay if you don’t like Trump, but you have to vote for him and here’s why……this is not an ordinary election year😉

  13. helenk3 says:

    delay in extradition of spoiled brat and his mom. it will take several weeks. Can i wish that it be in a Mexican jail and not in a hotel

    • Somebody says:

      Let’s hope so, a few weeks in a Mexican jail would probably do both of them a world of good.

      • mcnorman says:

        Sadly if you have money, you can purchase anything in a Mexican jail. I vote for the cartels kidnapping the afluenzas and draining papa’s bank accounts. Then watch and see who will bail the bums.

    • leslie says:

      Mom is back in US. Brat still fighting extradition.

  14. DeniseVB says:

    This is how my local paper headlined the Tamir Rice story yesterday ….

    White Cleveland officer won’t face charges in fatal shooting of black boy who had pellet gun

    Does that strike anyone else as being a little too racially charged ? I think they could have left out the colors and still had a “read me” headline.

  15. Somebody says:

    I saw this and stole it or at least I think I did, not sure who I stole it from either.

    • Somebody says:

      It worked!!

    • piper says:

      Hope you’re having some ‘me’ time away from the grands. Poor Jebbie – his time has come and gone, now go away forever.

      • Somebody says:

        Thanks Piper. I am having some time away from the grandkids, haven’t seen them since Christmas day which seems like an eternity. I had company until Monday afternoon. Yesterday and today I had doctor appointments because this was the only time I could fit them in. I have to go back tomorrow for some testing, fingers crossed the results are all good!! Finally after 10:30am tomorrow I can hopefully chill until Wednesday morning.

        At least I’m not out shovelling snow like you!!! Quite the contrary it’s hot and muggy here.

  16. helenk3 says:

    i do not like this.
    There are so many problems in this country at this time that i do not need so called “christian conservatives’ who are more worried about people’s sex life than the real problems pulling something like this. Only God has the right to be judgmental

    • Somebody says:

      Well I think it just goes to show that Huckabee and Santorum are more establishment shills than they are evangelical. Cruz is an evangelical so why throw their support behind the establishment’s pretty boy Rubio? Because their paymasters said so??? Because they’ve been promised some kind of position? If they really gave a damn about the election they’d just drop out and let the chips fall, neither of them stand a chance.

    • piper says:

      Enough is enough. Many people are not concerned with these social issue as much as their concerns over jobs, jobs, jobs and terrorism. Some of these so-called christian conservatives are as nutty as the progressives who rant and rave about their perceived micro aggressions. I taught in the bible belt for 3 years and saw these ‘good’ people go to church on Sunday and talk about these social issues but yet on Monday back to typical bad behavior still claiming they were good christians bec. they went to church and tithe on a regular basis.
      I agree that only God has the right to judge people.

      • helenk3 says:

        I have learned that every time someone tells me they are “good” Christian, put on a flak jacket and hold your wallet. learned that in foster homes

        • Somebody says:

          I know a lot of people like that too, but I have to defend Christians because there are some good ones out there.

          I remember some wonderful and some not so wonderful people from when my daughter was diagnosed with leukemia and the differences couldn’t be greater. I had those that advised me to beg God’s forgiveness and get down on my knees because my daughter obviously had been stricken due to my transgressions. The judgemental people felt it their obligation to visit my daughter’s hospital room daily, thanks to some family members. I learned to NOT tell any family members when we were inpatient if I could help it.

          HOWEVER, I distinctly remember an encounter with a local pastor of a church here in my small town. I had come home from the hospital to grab some clothing and I heard a lawnmower in my yard. I went outside to see what was going on and it was a man I’d never seen before. He introduced himself as the pastor of a local church and said he had heard about my child’s diagnosis and wanted to help out. He said he’d driven by my house and noticed my yard needed to be cut so he thought that was something he could do for us.

          I thanked him and told him it wasn’t necessary. He told me how sorry he was about my daughter’s diagnosis and insisted it was the Christian thing to do. Being ever so cynical I informed him I had no intention of attending his church or tithing to his church…..blush. He laughed and said he didn’t expect me to. I then point blank asked him why he was cutting my grass and what he wanted. He replied, Ma’am I’m just doing the Lord’s work, don’t you think Jesus would want me to cut your grass and I ask nothing in return. I simply want to help your family out in their time of need because that’s what Christians do. Ma’am if you’ve ever in your life been led to believe differently about Christians then I apologize and I hope you’ll remember this, because this is how true Christians act. The only thing in the entire world that I ask of you is permission to pray for your daughter and your entire family, Ma’am would that be OK with you?

          I said it would be fine by me and went on about gathering the things I needed to return to the hospital. The members of that church kept my yard up for about 5 or 6 months during the heavy part of her treatment, occasionally dropping off cards and little gifts for my daughter and never once asked anything of us. That has stuck with me all these years and if I ever decided to attend church you can be sure I’d probably go to that one first.

          I know that was a long story, but there are good Christians out there and yes there are some pious ones too.

  17. helenk3 says:

    ISIS help wanted ads.
    do not think some those who want “safe spaces” need apply

  18. SHV says:

    “Man charged with setting Houston mosque fire was a devout attendee”
    All of the Houston Hate Crime Arson, Muslim Victim stories have disappeared from MSM web sites…totally shocked!!!!

    • DeniseVB says:

      I know, that story blew up twitter the other day with people blaming Trump’s hateful hatey hate speech. I guess they hate each other too. 😉

  19. AFVet says:

    Kitten vs. Lizards.

  20. Myiq2xu says:

    Another “hate crime” bites the dust:

  21. Myiq2xu says:

    • piper says:

      Isn’t that sweet Bern is inviting them to live with him and his family. He’ll give them an allowance so they can watch tv, drink and eat off the fat of the land. What a guy!

    • DandyTIger says:

      So if we find a really small country with zero citizens in jail, does that mean he will empty out all of the inmates from our prisons? So, open season on murder with no consequences. Because #caring.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Many of those inmates prefer 3 hots and cot over homelessness. Free college and health care too. In other words, Obot Utopia.

  22. Myiq2xu says:

  23. mothy67, says:

    I cannot find my passport. What are you supposed to do? Been over 10 years. I plan on going to Lisbon for a month in 390 days ( will be 50) . I have three of those office water cooler bottles filled with change and an old fashioned wringer washer filled to the brim. I need to start cashing it in. Grocery store charges 9% for cash but free if you opt for a gift card. I am going to live on gift cards for the next year. Local bar will take quarters up to 500/month. I can get Walmart gift cards and buy groceries and amazon is an option but I just want to replace what I’d already buy. My grandfather got me started in the 70’s. Something would cost 1.01 he’d use two dollars and throw .99 in a coffee can(hill bros). He died at 83 with hundreds of cans filled with change. I know investing might have yeilded better results. My first job I did the same. 1982 I started. 33 years of change. I go to a bar 3.25 for a beer I tip a buck and put .75 away. I don’t miss three quarters. I am going to Lisbon forca month on change. Going by myself.
    Now everything is debit card. I round up to the nearest ten and put the difference in kid’s 529. Any money I save 529. Coupons and specials add up. Milk is 3.49 a gallon if that’s all I buy it is 10 i do once a week deposits to her account. I think she has 36 grand. You buy tuition at today’s price. She has four semesters covered. Ten dollar milk today beats a 25 grand tuition bill in 8 years. I do indulge my brat. She is nine has a desk top, a laptop, a kindle, an iPod touch, an iPhone 6 , wii u, xbox. I am buying an air bed next week because I endure so many sleep overs that a trundle and two air matresses are not enough. I am bad gay great uncle I make milk shakes for breakfast. Anyhow I give away a lot of clothes. She has 27 winter coats. Last month this girl got in trouble for not having gym shoes. She had one pair of shoes. My mud room/enclosed porch is book shelves with her shoes. I did not want to embarass the kid or the mom so i said I had bogo(buy one get one) I did not but my cousin’s kid worked at a shoe store. I asked him to ring up shoes separately. 90 dollars for kids sneakers. I bit my lip. She got a Starbucks did not offer me one and then said she wanted to walk around. I do not know how to drive(1980’s I was a ghey no dates if you cannot drive 16 i was in hiding. Now I am just afraid) my 70 year old dad with an oxygen tank sat waiting in the parking lot. Woman shopped and the next day tried to return the sneakers I bought for her kid. I used a debit card refund goes on my card. So she exchanged the shoes and bought herself a pair. Kid has sneaks so not so bad. Another kid did not have money for softball you can sell lottery tickets to cover cost. Little girl always alone my dad with his COPD decided to make sure she could participate. We would go to playoff games and her mother never sent a bottle of water. She would send her older sister along. 12 hours no money for food.
    I grew up dirt poor. AN outhouse. The year I graduated from high school my dad made 22k. Five kids. We could have gotten free lunches no way we wore our poverty with pride. My mom was 15 when she had my older brother(14 when she did the dirty) . 10th grade she quit school. Bitch had a second son(me) born a defect. Years I spent in the hospital. I have the normal i am a fhag hate my mom. I love the bitch would prefer to say I love the c word. Monster mom became a nurse then a CEO. Bitch had 6 kids starting as a teen. I would love to refer to her as c word . People go nuts my mom is 17 years my senior. I have had sex with men and women much older. When I was 21 i banged 38. My mom Is a puritan. Hates the gheys. Somehow we come together for a kid.

    • DandyTIger says:

      If it’s over 10 years, you have to get a new one anyway. So it doesn’t matter if the old one is lost. Go to the post office and do the application and photo. If the post office doesn’t do the photo, get that done first.

    • Ann says:

      When I couldn’t find my passport (from when I was a kid), I had to go the “new” route but check the box that my old passport was “lost or stolen”. Since it has been about 15 years since it had been valid, I was 100% sure lost was the correct answer…

  24. leslie says:

    Helen, I read/watched the documentary linked from this tweet and thought of you right away. I think you’ll find it interesting.

    • SHV says:

      American’s get a very American/British perspective on WWII; D-Day, we beat the Nazis, etc. The War in Europe was won on the Eastern Front with a lot of American war material and dead Russians.

    • helenk3 says:

      Thank you. we no longer teach history and so much is forgotten. War never really solves anything. Man will never understand that and will always do things to cause wars

    • SHV says:

      Reminded me that this is the 71st year since the Battle of the Bulge; Dec. 16, 1944-Jan. 25, 1945. Last and largest battle involving Americana forces in European theater; ~90,000 American casualties, 20,000 KIA.

      • cynic says:

        My old neighbor, Lt. Col. McClernand Butler (Butler’s Battlin’ Blue Bastards) lead the 3rd Battalion-395th Infantry. The Germans called them “The Nighthawks” because of their skill at night fighting.

        We lived in a wooded area with a ravine. His wife told me that when the snow fell on those oak trees in the ravine, it reminded him of the Battle of the Bulge, and he would experience nightmares.

        Today, we call it PTSD

  25. Myiq2xu says:

    • DandyTIger says:

      The Barney force.

    • cynic says:

      Does anyone here think Rahm will resign? I don’t. He knows IL politics, and where the bodies are buried.

      • leslie says:

        I am struck by the people who are protesting downtown and at his front lawn in Ravenswood, and on teevee who think that because they say they want him to resign, he should automatically leave office. And immediately. I don’t know what world they live in, but it isn’t this one. They look and sound so stupid – silly, even.
        I doubt he’ll “step down”. I imagine he’ll hire himself more black folk to help him look more invested in the BLM “program”.
        I also cannot imagine WHO the #BLM people want in his place, but it won’t be anyone who can manage any better than the current boss. It’d just be a more color focused group.

  26. helenk3 says:

    Well i guess I did not win the publishers clearing house contest again. They have not shown up with a check, flowers and balloons

  27. Dora says:

    Could this be the beginning of the end?

    Bush canceling ad buys in Iowa and South Carolina

  28. mothy67, says:

    I thought my kindle was ready for the pasture. Thought she was plum tuckered. I was sad called Amazon to see if I could get a little something for Bessie. I never shut her off. Pluged her in all the time. Suddenly I’d turn her on and she’d crash. I bought her last February. 10 inch tablet with wi fi and 4G. Refurbished with a trade in for 129 had a year warranty. I never use the 4g wifi is everywhere but a 32 gb kindle is like 600 bucks. I do not understand. 25 years ago I had to buy a stick to put in my laptop. Today it is standard. I have T-mobile they have no charge for streaming My mom by court order has to be in a public place for two hours when he dad sees her. I said watch Downton Abby on your phone. Ever heard of a court order in which great grand parents have to be near, kid has to have a phone.
    Anyhow I thought my kindle was garbage. I had to shut it off and restart. Back to new. Guy told me even Amazon upgrades cripple devices you have to shut it down. I am on my kindle all the time. I live on it. I accepted 259 for a new one. Nope just needed to shut it off. To clear you have to press the power button for 45 seconds then when it comes back on you continue for 30 seconds.

  29. helenk3 says:

    this annoys me.
    you that hitting me this this BS and the Irish in me starts screaming UP THE REBELS

  30. cynic says:

    I love Trump’s spokesperson, Katrina Pierson.

    She wore a necklace made out of bullets! The leftist heads are exploding, and she tweeted this:

    The liberals freaking out about my accessories are sexist. They only approve of women in pant suits and jackets. Oh, and tampon earrings.

  31. Myiq2xu says:

  32. Dora says:

    I can’t read the rest of the story on wsj because I refuse to subscribe, but it looks interesting.

    • NewOrleans says:

      A little trick, Dora, that will get you past most paywalls.

      Type the title of the article you want to read into Google (in this case: Speaking Fees Meet Politics for Clintons). Then, simply click that link from Google’s results. That will bring up the article, no paywall.

    • leslie says:

      And this will have NO impact and make No difference in the Dems nominating HRC. It will also have little effect on those who are longing to have her in the WH as POTUS.

  33. DeniseVB says:

    LOL !

  34. mothy67, says:

    I added Showtime to my Prime went through your portal wondering if you get credit. I get 7 days free I might binge watch Homeland then cancel. I am so cheap. I use bing rewards for Hulu. I shut it off every other month. I paid for one month of Starz watched a few movies then dropped it. Six months from now I might do another month. I suffer agonize through sleep overs. Movies are fun. I had to buy another air matress. Four matresses we push all furniture into the dining room and inflate the living room. Wall to wall air beds. Imagine 16 girls on a sleep over. I do it twice a month. Every kid is invited. The girls just do it. A thing. Go to TT’s house. I am TT. Real name is Timothy. I do not mind Tim but I hate Timmy.I like Timothy. Kid was a brat she saw two T’s in my name I became TT. Sleep overs started with one kid then it became epic. I did not have enough bowls to serve cereal. I went into camping gear. Funny I’d say 90% of mothers give me gift cards I buy popcorn and cereal. I frigging offer tooth paste. Kids wear jammies laugh and sleep on air beds. I want to say c u n t I am an asshole I love the show Weeds. I relish being offensive. I am one year off 50′. I am obnoxious. I am an asshole. Gutter mouth near virgin fag with a kid. Blow me.

  35. Dora says:

  36. mothy67, says:

    I Started watching Homeland because Amazon offered 7 days free. I was bored until the third episode. Hey zeud margaret thatcher great

  37. Jadzia says:

    AWWWWW…. you like me!!!!! (I’ve been working around the clock and very sad to be missing all of you.)

Comments are closed.