Overnight SOTU Open Thread

This video expresses exactly how I feel about Obama’s last SOTU address.

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

95 Responses to Overnight SOTU Open Thread

  1. DandyTIger says:

    All I can see when he’s talking is him chewing on dog.

  2. piper says:

    OMG – Missed it – but I had more important things to do – couldn’t miss my knitting group at Starbucks where we shoot the breeze, drink tea and knit.

  3. 1539days says:

    Well, I have to say I liked Abraham Lincoln, Vampire Hunter.

    I watched some of Nikki Haley. I’m sure there’s some minor thing the left will harp on to declare her response and epic fail. So, what are the chances Obama tries to do a State of the Union next year, just before he leaves?

  4. Myiq2xu says:

  5. elliesmom says:

    Apparently. Joe Biden is now in charge of curing cancer. That’s so reassuring.

  6. Jadzia says:

    This sounds awesome.

    I was thinking of Somebody (I think it was Somebody?) last night while fantasizing about taking a little trip to Copenhagen and checking train schedules. It’s actually cheaper to go there than it will be to take the upcoming trip for which I’ve actually reserved a hotel (Rome). Except that when I looked at the itinerary, there was a 4 1/2 hour layover, late at night (9pm to 2am), in Cologne. Nope. Maybe I should just get my act together and save up for a car that I trust to take on long trips up north. (But not for Rome! I hear Italy is not a good place for a nervous driver.)

    • Jadzia says:

      Note: when I say Cologne, I mean at that very train station that’s been in the news. Mama is scared of planes!

    • Underwhelmed says:

      Or a sane one. Seriously. *g*

      • Jadzia says:

        HA HA. Getting to Italy by train if you’re going anywhere but Milan is a complete pain in the ass, but I’d rather do that than drive. I’m still working on dealing with French drivers. : )

        • Ann says:

          Last May we did Rome to Paris via train. We changed trains in Milan and Lausanne, Switzerland. I do agree that it was not easy to go from Rome to Paris via train. After reading the horrible reviews of the Milan overnight train and deciding what should be a wonderful option was not gonna happen (I mean BAD reviews), we went with the daytime route through the Alps.

          Like you, we didn’t want to fly (Charles De Gaulle is a terrible airport, and once is enough to fly out), so after looking at all the trains, reading all the reviews, we went with that route.

          Good luck!

          • cynic says:

            When we went to Europe, we also took a train from Paris to Rome. We had a sleeper car (very cramped), but it was wonderful waking up, looking out the window, and seeing the Mediterranean Ocean. It’s one of those memories that will stay with me forever.

          • Jadzia says:

            I’ve taken the train through Switzerland and it’s beautiful. The Milan to Naples overnight train is, shall we say, no-frills, but fun for the kid. If we do first class we can avoid the shared couchette on the overnight, so I think I’m going to try that (bad reviews notwithstanding) just to see if it’s any better than the 2nd class that we did last time.

          • Jadzia says:

            I do like the sleeper car even if it’s bare-bones because oddly, I get MUCH better sleep on a moving train (*) than anywhere else.

            (*)I learned this, believe it or not, on Amtrak.

    • blowme0bama says:

      HA! My Dad used to say the only direction you could be sure Italians weren’t going to turn was up.

      • Jadzia says:

        Ha ha ha. I was considering trying to find long-term parking in the suburbs or something but really, I’m not sure my nerves could take the highway anywhere in Italy.

  7. Dora says:

  8. Somebody says:

    I heard bits and pieces of his speech. I heard the part about Joe being in charge of cancer and wondered if everybody forgot that Nixon declared war on cancer. The set up to Joe being in charge of cancer was waxing sentimental about meeting the challenge of making it to the moon. That comparison really pissed me off considering that Obama killed NASA.

    • leslie says:

      Biden is in charge of the War on Cancer so that We don’t forget his name when they throw Hillary under the bus — again.
      I didn’t see the SOTU. I’ve heard bits and pieces on teevee this morning. I did see bronco’s face from time to time as I channel surfed. It was always that same “You are all such slow learners” furled brow and squinty eyes look. Someone called it his “disappointed in us” look.

  9. mothy67, says:

    I have been going to a clinic for years. I found that if I was aggressive and informed I got more out of interns than my old GP. Used to be my insurance covered 100% no more I get a bill for 17.86 each time. I looked at the bill. I am being charged 180 per visit. I seriously thought I was doing some good by sticking with clinic. I go in I get weighed, bp talk to doc for ten minutes and gone. I have end stage liver failure. I was given two months 3 years ago. Still kicking. No plans on expiring in the near future. I had to get on medicare . I never use it. I will be 49 in a few weeks. I could not put myself on transplant list. My docs were gung-ho. My siblings all offered to be living donors. There is a risk and they have kids. Nope. I am also not going to take an organ in front of a kid. I am told I have the longest lasting pig valves ever. I will be 49 so my fake valves are gonna be 45 and a half. Ten years is normal shelf life. Noone alive according to my docs has ever gone 20 years. Call me paranoid but I felt like the docs wanted to study me. They were ecstatic about me getting a dead persons liver. I felt like an experiment. I would let them poke holes in me if they were to offer full tuition and room and board to my brat to any school.
    God I am fixated on her education

    • swanspirit says:

      You aren’t paranoid, they definitely want to study you. But that is a good thing, they want you to live as long as possible , so shoot for living to be a hundred at least!❤

  10. swanspirit says:

    I watched as much as I could stand, which was about a total of two minutes or less. It was obvious from the expression on his face that Americans had disappointed him once again. That condescending bastage.

  11. mothy67, says:

    Am I the only person if I won 600 million after taxes that would be a toatal asshole and hide for six months. I’d hide for a year.

    • blowme0bama says:

      No, that’s pretty much my life outside of work now by choice, so …

    • Jadzia says:

      For me, it would be 2-3 weeks, preferably in a chalet someplace snowy with a nice big hot tub. (Think Tahoe!) Then I would quit my editing job and just teach and finish my thesis.

      Lottery fantasies would be a fun open thread topic, no?

      • mothy67, says:

        Agree i’d love to spend a year in an RV leaving fat tips to waitresses in diners. I bet a million doing that for a year would make more of a difference than most charities.

  12. Dora says:

    This why they were released!

    US apologises for Iran naval incursion – Revolutionary Guards

  13. DeniseVB says:

    I missed the SOTO (State of the Obama) too. Just found Vodkapundit’s transcript, this is how is summarized it ….you can read the whole transcript here:

    I can sum this one up quickly.

    This was Obama’s Al Bundy speech, the lowly shoe salesman desperately trying to get everyone to remember that time he scored four touchdowns in one game.

    Er, that is President Obama wanted us to forget most of the last seven years he’s actually been President, and instead remember that time Candidate Obama gave those big speeches everybody loved.

    I’d say even by that modest measure, tonight’s speech was worthy of an Al Bundy nap.

  14. DeniseVB says:

    Looks like BO lost WaPo too😉

  15. DeniseVB says:

    While BO was yapping …. DM has photos and some great graphics ….

    • leslie says:

      While my niece was stationed in the ME – she was in the Navy – she had to wear a veil or hijab anytime she was off the base.

  16. DeniseVB says:

    Transcript of the PresBo’s speechifier at the link, along with fashionista photos of MO and a list of the who’s who who sat in her box.


    • piper says:

      Not up for pictures of our fashionista this AM or reading any of his sophomoric insults, just want him to go away as soon as possible.

  17. Dora says:

    The State of the Union In One Image plus Essential Equipment If You Accidentally Listen to It


    • piper says:

      Bronco’s special guests last night sitting with his beard.

      • piper says:

        Of course, Stinky, Asshole Grumpy and Hungry, their other brothers joined them for the family fart session seeing that this would be the final reunion.

  18. Dora says:

  19. DeniseVB says:

    Scrolling through the newsfeeds ran across an AWARD winning recipe for crayfish😀 You’re welcome….


    • cynic says:

      Sounds yummy, but I don’t have access to crawfish. I’ll have to try it with shrimp. Thanks for the link.

  20. piper says:

    University of California has definitely jumped the shark. No wonder ISIS and the Iranians are laughing at us.

    UPDATED: UCSB to host discussion on ‘safe spaces’ for ‘fat, gay men’
    Peter Fricke
    on Jan 11, 2016 at 8:31 PM EDT

    The University of California, Santa Barbara will host a book discussion next week to discuss “the anti-fat stigma that persists in American culture,” specifically for “fat, gay men.”
    UPDATE: This article has been updated to include comment from UCSB confirming that student fees will be used to pay for the event.

    Link: http://www.campusreform.org/?ID=7154

  21. piper says:

    Ted Cruz Best Response:

    Obama’s Speech Was Less SOTU, More State Of Denial…

  22. taw46 says:

    So, did Iran take 10 crewmen as threat/warning to US? Sure sounds like it in this article.


    • Somebody says:

      According to Louie Ghomert, Ash Cart and John Kerry asked Iran to assist the two boats. Isn’t it odd that we would have mechanical and communication problems on two boats at the same time???

      • taw46 says:

        So, boats don’t have towing equipment? One could not tow the other? Or, both broke down at the same time? And the US ships in the area could not assist them, had to be the Iranians? Got it.

        • dm says:

          As usual, this story stinks to high heaven…everyone (talking heads) noting that our dear prezzy didn’t mention this last night…I’m still waiting for the asshat to mention the OTHER hostages – you know, the ones that have been there for years! At least Trump reminded everyone this morning that BO screwed up the negotiating his precious deal by not guaranteeing their release before proceeding.

  23. Somebody says:

    Nikki Haley said in interviews this morning she did take a shot at Trump in her speech. She also said Ryan and McConnell approved her speech, I’m sure the COC signed off on it too. The establishment is insane, Yeb! is toast and Marco isn’t gaining any traction……..but hey let’s take pot shots at our front runner, smh.

  24. piper says:

    From Deapster over at NQ:
    Passing on some Weasel-Zipper blog comments about the current Iranian-USN flap near Farsi Island in the Persian Gulf:

    What are small, riverine patrol boats doing in the middle of the Persian Gulf? The official report is that the boats were transiting the Persian Gulf between Kuwait and Bahrain. Farsi Island is smack dab in the middle of the Gulf. Riverine patrol boats are meant for shallow water or for short duration operation around a ship at sea. I would assume the boat captain had an operable GPS and a backup.

    They should never have strayed into Iranian waters. I also find it hard to believe that both boats had mechanical difficulties at the same time. One maybe. The other boat should have been able to tow the other one. I think these boats were on some mission and were actively captured by Iranian vessels in open water.

    Also, if the boats were simply transiting to Bahrain, then there was no need to venture so far out into the middle of the Gulf. Remember, the official report said this happened near Farsi Island. And if both boats were crippled, why didn’t the boat captains scuttle them to prevent capture. A couple of well placed grenades (I assume the boats were armed) should easily damage critical equipment or make the boat begin to burn. Something is not adding up.2

    goodknight OldAirman2000 • 43 minutes ago
    There’s only about ten riverine groups, some are deployed in our US ports, some stationed in places like Bahrain and others are deployed from ships within the carrier strike group. … they’re part and parcel of a huge contingency of well armed and aware operational groups.1

    OldAirman2000 goodknight • 32 minutes ago
    I agree. But that doesn’t explain how armed, GPS equipped boats could get so close or into Iranian waters if they were simply transiting between two points. I am a former navigator. I would never have plotted a course that close to Iranian waters so my boat would be in jeopardy unless there was an op that called for that.

    The excuse about mechanical failure seems bogus. Why didn’t the other boat abort the mission and tow it away from Iranian waters? I think the incident happened in open water near Iranian claimed demarcation lines in the Gulf. The Iranians actively pursued and captured the boats with a more heavily armed force and brought them over into Iranian waters.

    Any and all equipment on board was confiscated and analyzed for technical and operational intel. Why did the crew fight or destroy/scuttle the boats? The official response by this administration does not pass the smell test to me.

    • piper says:

      this should rest under taw 46 comment about the navy riverine ships.

      • DeniseVB says:

        Still interesting no matter where it nested😉 I saw Kerry’s supposed to make a statement? Wonder what b.s.he’ll feed us. So many theories jumping around.

        • leslie says:

          If I heard Kerry correctly, he thanked our friend – Iran for rescuing the boats and saving the sailors on board. This may not be an accurate summation as I heard a bit of it and decided the rugs needed vacuuming. When I finished he was still talking and it just reminded me of how much I do not like or trust him and his leader.
          ( I also was reminded that I campaigned for him BECAUSE he is a D and was running against GWBush. And that I should’ve listened to my inner voice even then.)

          • mothy67, says:

            We’ve all screwed up. I did some math– the amount of money I have given since 2000 would pay for one semester at Pitt. Not one politician has met my standards. Same shit would have happened without my momey. I am obsessed with college savings. I started using coupons all savings go to 529 account. I started buying gift cards for everything. I get 30 off groceries a month that’s three sixty a year times 8 equals 4.33 million per every person in America. Kidding but I am vehement about college savings. I get so much unneeded shit put it in the bank. Right now she is 9 and wants to go to Purdue and be a vet. I am counting on sports but I hope to have at least tuition covered in eight years. I am evil. Purdue is out of state. I will move into a trailer park in Indiana and adopt her. She graduates at 17. Immoral perhaps but seems legal. I will live in a can and sell crystal meth. Seriously I obsess over tuition. I think I am looking at 400k in eight years. My home i will sell and live in a trailer. I think it would be fun drinking beer from a can spending my senescence on an aluminum chair swapping stories. I worked in an affluent retirement village. So sad rich old people dying living in fantasy. So strict. Uniforms for every employee. Had to go through a seprate employee guard. No bags no phone. Had to get a shower before each shift and then put on a uniform. It was suppossed to be like a cruise ship. No tipping signed for everything. No time at all several young women filed complaints about sexual harassment. I got it. Place still exists but it is not nearly as rarified.

  25. DeniseVB says:

    Ha !

  26. DeniseVB says:

  27. Myiq2xu says:

    Proving that there is nothing and no one she won’t sacrifice on the altar of her political ambition, Hillary Clinton today sent her daughter Chelsea out to smear Bernie Sanders by claiming his health care plan would “strip millions and millions and millions of people of their health insurance.” On today’s With All Due Respect, Mark Halperin repeatedly said he was “stunned” by the attack. John Heilemann put in blunter terms, flatly calling the attack a “lie.” Last night I suggested that Hillary’s sudden lurch left in proposing a big tax increase on the rich suggested panic on her part. But what she pulled today makes yesterday’s panic pale in comparison. Let’s call it a sign of craven hysteria.

    See more at: http://www.newsbusters.org/blogs/nb/mark-finkelstein/2016/01/12/heilemann-chelseas-claim-sanders-would-strip-millions-health#sthash.Oht9Jn6j.dpuf

  28. Myiq2xu says:

  29. piper says:

    Excellent thread written by Col. Allen West
    A snippet
    “Obama’s vision of the future is centered on an ideological agenda that puts in peril the hopes and aspirations of our children and grandchildren. They will have less economic freedom and certainly less liberty if the Islamic terrorists prevail.

    I have additional concerns from President Obama’s final SOTU address. First of all, if our military was so very strong then why did we have 10 U.S. Navy Sailors detained by the Iranians because the engines on two riverine assault boats malfunctioned? That makes no real sense to me. Nor have we taken care of our Veterans. I wear a ring on my salute hand trigger finger to remind me about the 22 Veterans a day who are committing suicide in America. While we know there are problems in our VA system, no major reform has been made and many perpetrators of this heinous wrong still hold their positions.”

    Link: http://townhall.com/columnists/allenwest/2016/01/13/state-of-the-union-address-n2103959/page/full

  30. piper says:

    Last one:
    Check out these pictures of our sailors with their hands up in surrender to the Iranian forces. Well-done job Kerry and Obama


  31. Myiq2xu says:

  32. Dora says:

    I don’t know who is advising him, but this was a mighty stupid thing to say. Doesn’t he even know who he is insulting? Donald certainly does embody NY values and that’s why we love him! If Ted wants to take on New Yorkers – he should just bring it on. At least New York is in the United States!

    Cruz launches into barrage of attacks on Trump

    And in an interview with Massachusetts radio station WRKO, Cruz made his most personal charge yet, saying Trump “embodies New York values,” and portraying Trump as out of step with an increasingly southern, religious GOP.


  33. Dora says:

    I’d surely rather be at a Trump rally where it’s fun, than have to sit through one of these!

    Ted Cruz campaign rally morphs into creepy ‘prayer revival’ so everyone can pray for him to be president


  34. Myiq2xu says:

  35. Dora says:

    Tell Him Donald!!!

Comments are closed.